We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Beautiful cottages & gardens”
Review of Bamboo House Goa

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Cavelossim
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Bamboo House Goa
Reviewed February 28, 2014

We have just had 6 nights here. Beautifully constructed cottages, spacious, clean & very comfortable. Lovely comfy mattresses on bamboo beds. The bathroom was fab as you could be having a shower & were able to watch the eagles from the window! Also good that the washroom is split so you don't get water over the whole floor when having a shower. Good to have tea making facilities & also a cold water dispenser at reception to fill your water jug. The gardens were lovely & so well tended, it was lovely to watch the Ibis & crows having a bath in the garden sprinklers. Early evening the sky was crowded with Red Kites, Sea Eagles etc. the setting is lovely as you can watch all the fishing boats coming & going on the river behind the cottages. However, that can also be a downside as at times they is a very strong smell of drying fish that wafts through your cottage. The beach by the cottages is lovely as so quiet & just The Blue Whale shack for lovely food. Another small problem was the amount of dog barking throughout the night, this caused us to be constantly woken for the first 3 nights as of course you do hear everything in the cottages. One night we could see 6 dogs lying on the terrace of the opposite cottage & they just kept starting each other of barking & howling!

Room Tip: All cottages same so all good.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank becky b
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (139)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

24 - 30 of 139 reviews

Reviewed February 25, 2014

We had the good fortunate to stay in this wonderful place for 3 weeks in Nov/Dec last year - we loved it so much we returned again in February this year for another 2 weeks - as soon as we arrived we felt as if we hadn't been away. Everyone at the Bamboo house made us feel welcome and nothing was too much trouble. We were fortunate last year to meet Amar and he spoke of his love of this special place and what he wanted to achieve - a place to stay that creates a peaceful , resourceful environment and he has managed this in abundance! The huts are clean and simple and yes the beds are very comfortable. The frogs in the bathroom are a bonus....they eat the flies!
The beach is lovely and quiet and look out for the bee eater and kingfisher that are regular visitors.
A special mention for the Blue Whale shack - Roque is the perfect host and Kelsa is delightful to all who visit there. The food is second to none and the tandoori fish is highly recommended. I initially thought I would get bored just spending evenings at the shack but this is definitely not the case - because the resort is so small you quickly make friends with people from all over the world.
Both the shack and the Bamboo House care for 6 dogs that are very friendly and loyal - a new puppy turned up when we were there - Ricca - she won over many hearts........
We definitely will be returning! Hilary and David

  • Stayed: February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank hilary l
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 23, 2014

Staying for 2 nights, we were surprised that WiFi available, we even managed to FaceTime our family and show them how nice this place is. The huts are very comfortable, there is tea and coffee, (no bottled water although we didn't ask) there is hot water (eventually) and flushing toilet. The towels and sheets are decent but the mosquito net could do with a wash. There is a safe but it is not anchored to anything.

As far as we are concerned the dogs(about 6 last night) are a bit of a problem, they had several howling matches in the night disturbing our sleep. They appear to be very friendly in the day but certainly don't sound it at night. It is not clear that they belong to the owners, it's normal out here to see roaming dogs anyway.

I don't wish to complain but there is sometimes a waft of drying fish from nearby, this is certainly not the owners fault.

However, this is probably one of the most beautiful places to stay, the beach is fantastic and this place is on its own at the end of the Spithead where the river meets the sea. The owners are very nice and the food is very good in the Blue Whale beach shack.

  • Stayed: February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank davidTR
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 19, 2014

We stayed 2 nights. The huts are comfortable & clean, with hot water (which isn't always the case in other places)- they're huts though so you can have frogs from time to time in the bathroom and the light woke us up very early in the morning. One important thing to note though is that the boat port is just behind the resort so it's very noisy early in the morning- so if you want a real quiet place it's not the perfect location. Also, if you want to have a deck chair on the beach, make sure to get their early- the 1st day we arrived at noon and they were all taken, some even reserved by tourists not staying in the resort who had booked them for their outside friends who hadn't even yet arrived- which was really annoying. This is a shame as the staff is nice and the food good, the beach really pleasant and quiet.

  • Stayed: February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Theobruin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 19, 2014

We stayed here in January 2014 on recommendation of a friend. We arrived at 2.30am exhausted, we where greeted, shown to our cottage and given fresh water for a cuppa, which we needed badly. The beds (with mosquitoe nets) where so comfortable. Slept exceptionally well. The wildlife never stop singing and this only adds to the magic of the place. Our cottage was literally 2 mins walk to the blue whale shack on the beach. The food served at the shack was exceptional and VERY reasonable. The beach is very, very clean and isolated. You really do feel like you are on your very own beach. There are three dogs that patrol the grounds pepper,pickle and chilli. All are friendly and enjoy a cuddle in fact two of the the dogs stayed in my cottage one night! This place is magical and is excellent value for money. Nothing was too much trouble. Cavelosim town is just a short taxi ride away around 300 rupee. There are numerous bars and restaurants and plenty to do, trips etc. We have booked for January 2015 and can't wait to return! Thank you so much for a memorable holiday

  • Stayed: January 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank michellecake18
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 7, 2014

The thinking is sound but a lot more care needs to go into details and implementation. Well-designed bamboo huts- but noisy and a bit run down. Comfortable bed and clean linen, but low watt bulbs and inadequate lighting. Pretty bamboo furniture, but no comfy chair for lounging. Lovely garden, but nowhere to socialize apart from the poor quality expensive cafe. Beach on the doorstep, but broken sun-beds and iffy estuary next door (walk up 800 metres for a cleaner sea). Very helpful and friendly- but amateurish- management.
This could be a great holiday place but it felt a bit unsociable and sad after dark. It needs an attractive gathering place with good food, drinks and snacks to liven up the atmosphere and people who enjoy taking an active interest in making it an attractive venue for their guests. Small touches, like push-bikes, fresh coconut water, more privacy (low hedges?) around each hut would personalize the hospitality on offer.

  • Stayed: January 2014, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank unatuna4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
amarbedi, Owner at Bamboo House Goa, responded to this reviewResponded February 8, 2014

Your frank critic is really appreciated. We are very much aware of the fact of not providing evening entertainment. The guests we cater to expect rather a quiet and serene atmosphere, away from the usual and abundant noise . And the number o cottages is kept intentionally low so that we can entertain the need of our guests individually.
Thanks again for your stay.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 7, 2014

We had five days here before moving on with our travels. Once having got used to living with the basics, it was an incredibly wonderful place to be. Staff are lovely and helpful, fresh bottled water on tap, few minutes walk to the wonderful clean beach, fabulous swimming in the sea and good food at the Blue whale just down from the beach huts. Very comfortable beds, Internet access and kettle - a perfect place to crash out. Only a taxi or bus ride away from the more active Cavelossum which has more shops and restaurants.

By the way the dogs that live here are all very safe having been innoculated and are cared for. They dont bother you.

  • Stayed: January 2014, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank shiraz1cat
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
amarbedi, Owner at Bamboo House Goa, responded to this reviewResponded February 9, 2014

Thanks for those great and honest comments. Looking forward to having you with us in the near future again.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Cavelossim
0.8 mi away
The Leela Goa
The Leela Goa
#1 of 10 in Cavelossim
2,296 reviews
0.8 mi away
Holiday Inn Resort Goa
Holiday Inn Resort Goa
#4 of 10 in Cavelossim
1,572 reviews
2.0 mi away
Radisson Blu Resort Goa Cavelossim Beach
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.5 mi away
Caravela Beach Resort
0.7 mi away
MAYFAIR Hideaway Spa Resort
1.9 mi away
Karma Royal Haathi Mahal
Karma Royal Haathi Mahal
#5 of 10 in Cavelossim
921 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Bamboo House Goa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Bamboo House Goa

Address: 95 Bamboo House Goa 1, Cavelossim 403731, India
Location: India > Goa > South Goa District > Cavelossim
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 7 Specialty Lodging in Cavelossim
Number of rooms: 10
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located on the most beautiful, serene and peaceful beach of South Goa. 10 aesthetically, hand made Bamboo cottages await you amongst a well laid landscape. The cottages are unique in design, interiors and are well equipped. Spacious, comfortable and above all- close to nature. All you hear is the birdsong and the rush of waves.The restaurant serves you the choicest of food and has been rated excellent on various travel sites/magazines.We believe strongly in the environmental cause and thus maximum care has been taken taken to lessen the impact on mother nature. Hot water comes through solar heating, waste is handeled responsibly and the waste water gets treated by organíc bacteria and released back to irrigate the trees.Corporate Social responsibility is not just a word but for us an everyday task.Our staff has 2 mothers working with us and their children are with them. They can adjust their work as to their own plan and childrens, needs. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Bamboo House Goa Cavelossim

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing