We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“These Guys do much more than just business”
Review of Bamboo House Goa

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Cavelossim
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Bamboo House Goa
Mumbai
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“These Guys do much more than just business”
Reviewed February 8, 2013

Firstly i would like to tell you that this place is run by a 'Chacha Bhatija team' who have set their priorities right, which is CUSTOMER SATISFACTION. I had booked the place for 3 nights somewhere in November and had to cancel it twice due to circumstances not in my control. I had initially anticipated that the management woudnt be refunding my money and it would be a loss. But these guys had understood the problem and pleasantly accepted the bookings in Jan though it was a season time for them.
The property is beautifully located and its just a kilometer away from Leela. The beach is just a 10 second walk from the huts. Its quite a secluded place and its usually packed with foreign tourist. Amandeep takes care of the property and is quite helpful.
I would quickly list down the pros and the cons
Pros:
1 Superb scenic and secluded location
2 Very well maintained property and very neat and clean huts
3 Equal treatment to all the guest (the reason why i am mentioning this here is in GOA now you would find more foreigners than Indians especially if u are staying over the weekdays. And as an Indian, you would experience a neglected treatment at restaurants, hotels, shops.)
4 fair price
Cons
1 Pricey restaurant (however the food was good)
2 Security should improve a bit (i know the look of the property will get killed but i know Amardeep you would surely have some smart solutions)
3 No provisions for a joint double bed.

Room Tip: All the rooms are good ... no preferences
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank jaydeepmavani
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
amarbedi, Owner at Bamboo House Goa, responded to this review, February 10, 2013
Our focus remains and stays on our guest. there is no question at all to treat someone differently due to his or her heritage, culture and all that. I am really pleased that you felt comfortable with us.
Due to the sickness of a family member, the night watchman was off-duty, but is now back. We were patrolling the resort during the night at regular intervals though.
By the way , we do have cottage ( actually the majority) which have double beds. You got a cottage ( due to we being totally full) with 2 single beds ( but joined together). I am sure we can make it up for that dring your next visit.
Do feel welcome anytime and thanks again for the constructive review.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

139 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    97
    32
    7
    1
    2
See reviews for
24
67
13
1
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (37)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed January 29, 2013

This is a truly wonderful place to stay for anyone who enjoys a beautiful location. The bamboo houses and all within and around them offer a comfortable and harmonious environment . The bamboo fittings and furnishings are functional and lovely. The linens and beds are bliss. Watching the gardens being tended and visited by birds and butterflies gave our stay a dreamlike quality.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Mary C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
amarbedi, Owner at Bamboo House Goa, responded to this review, January 30, 2013
Thanks you so much for the review.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Barcelona, Spain
2 reviews
Reviewed January 29, 2013

We stayed 5 nights and enjoyed this mini-resort which is ideally located in the south of Goa.

The beach is one of the cleanest, unpopulated beaches I´ve seen in India, and definitely in Goa. And the best thing is that the cottages are only a hop, skip and jump from the water. In general, Bamboo House has a very relaxed, laid back atmosphere. The staff, Amar and Aman, are welcoming and understand how to service their clients in a helpful, non-intrusive way. I think there are very few places like this where you can get personal attention from the owner to ensure you are well taken care of. We relied on them to make all of our bookings for motorbikes, taxis, etc. They were more than happy to do it and tried their best to acquire the lowest price for us. We appreciated this gesture on their part.

The rooms were nice. Simple, but clean. Usually bathroom cleanliness is of high priority to us and Bamboo House met this expectation. We made thorough use of the lounge chairs just outside our cottage. Surprisingly, there were not many mosquitos and other irritating insects. The property seems to have been well fumigated.

The Blue Whale restaurant has amazing food. I don´t think there´s any need to go to other restaurants when you stay here as the food quality elsewhere just doesn´t compare. However, the prices are quite steep. We were aware of this from reading previous reviews but if the hope is that clients eat here for every meal, then the management will have to improve upon this aspect. All said, we appreciated the peek they allowed us into the kitchen to get some hints on their delicious recipes as well as the early morning market outing with the chef to buy the local ingredients. It was a nice touch.

We were initially concerned that Bamboo House would be far too removed from other places but this was not at all the case. In the first place, I wouldn´t want to be in the midst of all the Goa hustle and bustle which can be quite chaotic. And renting a motor scooter was easy enough that we could move around with the kids on the back of the bike. I highly recommend spending a day driving around the back waters this way. You will see a lot of local people and local activity which you won´t see otherwise. But be back by nightfall as its not the safest thing to be riding around in the dark!

Staying at a place like Bamboo House is far more personable and charming than staying at a hotel. One feels truly satisfied when the staff takes genuine interest in ensuring you have a pleasant stay.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank SVeggia
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
amarbedi, Owner at Bamboo House Goa, responded to this review, January 30, 2013
Thanks for the review. We hope that we can deliver even much more on personalized service and quality to our guests in the future. Every review is welcome..
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Copenhagen
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed January 27, 2013

We consider us lucky to have spent 9 days at this unique and wonderfull retreat on Mobor beach. The mini resort is located all to itself on Mobor beach, where you can enjoy the scenery and ocean in a very relaxed atmosphere away from the crowds. Amar the owner has created a unique place based on sustainability and friendliness. The huts are build of bamboo and are extremely comfortable with excellent toilet and shower facilities and the surroundings are beautifully kept. Here you can enjoy a unique blend of comfort, tranquility and nature.
We stayed in one hut for the whole family of two adults and three children aged 10, 8 and three, which worked very well. The kids could play near the beach and truly enjoyed the resorts three friendly dogs. The service is extremely friendly and unintrusive, and we got lots of help with making travel arrangements and local trips. The beach is perfect and the local restaurant has excellent food, reasonable prices a great atmosphere.

We wholeheartedly recommend Bamboo House if you are looking for a place to go as a couple or family.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Nicolai F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
amarbedi, Owner at Bamboo House Goa, responded to this review, January 29, 2013
Hi ,

the pleasure was entirely mine to have hosted your family and you with us. Thanks for the review. I hope one day to play with Mr Vader again soon.
P.S. The sandcastles you made are still being missed.

Regards and Love to the family and take care...
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Norfolk, UK
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed January 19, 2013

My husband and I have just returned from what I can only describe as "the perfect retreat"! Bamboo House is everything that Amar the owner has wanted it to be, but its so much more!! When we originally booked our expectations of the hut was basic, what we found was an exceptionally comfortable, well equipped hut, with a very large, very comfortable bed, a large bathroom and shower area with constant hot water and even a kettle, with tea and coffee! The surroundings are lush and extremely well maintained, and so incredibly peaceful - with only the crows breaking the silence!

The position of Bamboo House is perfect, hidden away from the big hotels where you share the beach with only the many black kites that fill the sky, but only a short walk to the bus stop, an experience not to be missed.

Amar and his staff provide fantastic friendly service without being intrusive. We were there over New Year and had not expected any special dinner, however Amar and his staff laid on a buffet dinner the quality of which would compete with any top hotel, the night was topped off sitting on the beach bubbly in hand watching an amazing firework display, courtesy of the hotels further down the beach.

The Blue Whale restaurant provides wonderfully tasty, inexpensive food, served by the very lovely Rocky and the happiest waitress with the biggest smile I have ever had the pleasure to meet - kalsa.

To sum up, if you are looking for an escape from the crowds and total relaxation then this is definitely the place for you.

Thank you Amar - keep doing what you are doing!

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Jill F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
amarbedi, Owner at Bamboo House Goa, responded to this review, January 22, 2013
Thanks and it is so very helpful for us to receive an objective feedback. It was a wonderful time with you both too at the resort and I personally am looking forward already to our next meeting. THANKS again and hope to see you both soon again at Bamboo House.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Germany
Level Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed January 17, 2013

Stayed there in Dec/Jan for 5 nights.
Resort:
The rooms are immaculate clean and well kept, enough space to hang your clothes (I particularly appreciate open shelves instead of moldy closets!). Bathroom spacious too with hot (!) water and hooks to hang your stuff. Cottages are surrounded by well kept gardens. Bathtowels and beachtowels are provided (particular of advantage if you travel around as you do not have to bring your own towels). Nice verandah with chairs to while away the morning. We also like the approach of treating waste water, conserving energy. Extremely helpful and friendly staff.
Restaurant:
We had Tandoor food each evening - great Naan, great Tandoori chicken. New year´s eve
dinner buffet was excellent and sumptuous. Unfortunately the music was way to noisy and DJ could not be convinced to switch to a different selection. In general the menue caters to all tastes (including children), I would love to see a wider selection of Indian vegetarian dishes.
Location:
Remote and quiet, great clean beach, we had to share it with only a handful of other people (mainly guest of Bamboo House).
Conclusion: we´ve seen quite a few beaches and beach resorts. This is definitely one of our favourite places although we find it a bit pricy (well, Goa is anyway and particularly around Christmas time). Will definitely come back next year!

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Singapore00
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
amarbedi, Owner at Bamboo House Goa, responded to this review, January 22, 2013
THANKS a lot for the excellent feedback. Really appreciated. You and your family are always welcome to be with us anytime .
P.S. The dogs already miss the special care they received..
:-)
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Piacenza, Italy
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed January 15, 2013

Me and my girlfriend stay in Bamboo House Goa only two night, but the best of all our holliday in India!!!! Place is wondefull, you go to sleep with the music of the see, get up with birds....brekfast with food in the sand and then beach and sea close to the jungle!!!
The room are large, clear and fresh. Bathroom clear, big and very nice. The floor in black stone is fresh and comunic the idea of the clear, that in not so comun in India...
At last the staff is the best of all my holiday.

Marco Franchi Italia

Room Tip: All the rooms are good, but to stay close the sea it is alwais better
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank marco f
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
amarbedi, Owner at Bamboo House Goa, responded to this review, January 22, 2013
The days spent with you both were just splendid. The time went so quick. THANKS to both os you, and you are always welcome back in Bamboo House.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Cavelossim
0.8 mi away
The Leela Goa
The Leela Goa
#1 of 10 in Cavelossim
2,215 reviews
0.8 mi away
Holiday Inn Resort Goa
Holiday Inn Resort Goa
#5 of 10 in Cavelossim
1,515 reviews
2.0 mi away
Radisson Blu Resort Goa Cavelossim Beach
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.7 mi away
MAYFAIR Hideaway Spa Resort
2.0 mi away
Karma Royal Haathi Mahal
Karma Royal Haathi Mahal
#4 of 10 in Cavelossim
895 reviews
3.5 mi away
Dona Sa Maria
Dona Sa Maria
#6 of 10 in Cavelossim
209 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Bamboo House Goa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Bamboo House Goa

Property: Bamboo House Goa
Address: 95 Bamboo House Goa 1, Cavelossim 403731, India
Location: India > Goa > South Goa District > Cavelossim
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 7 Specialty Lodging in Cavelossim
Number of rooms: 10
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located on the most beautiful, serene and peaceful beach of South Goa. 10 aesthetically, hand made Bamboo cottages await you amongst a well laid landscape. The cottages are unique in design, interiors and are well equipped. Spacious, comfortable and above all- close to nature. All you hear is the birdsong and the rush of waves.The restaurant serves you the choicest of food and has been rated excellent on various travel sites/magazines.We believe strongly in the environmental cause and thus maximum care has been taken taken to lessen the impact on mother nature. Hot water comes through solar heating, waste is handeled responsibly and the waste water gets treated by organíc bacteria and released back to irrigate the trees.Corporate Social responsibility is not just a word but for us an everyday task.Our staff has 2 mothers working with us and their children are with them. They can adjust their work as to their own plan and childrens, needs. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Bamboo House Goa Cavelossim

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing