We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Superb beach, but the resort could have been better”
Review of Bamboo House Goa

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Cavelossim
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Bamboo House Goa
Reviewed October 7, 2012

Mobor beach is extremely beautiful, clean and highly recommended. The resort has fairly comfortable bamboo huts, but they could have been made better. There was a power cut during our stay unfortunately (for a large part of the day) and during this time, we had no running water either since the water pump could not be run. The resort does not have any backup power - which could be an issue. The food is good but expensive - the rooms themselves are also overpriced.

The rooms don't have ceiling fans, there are only pedestal fans - which may not suffice in peak summer. The bathrooms could also have been designed better.
The location of the resort is fantastic.

  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank archana_mrao
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (139)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

79 - 85 of 139 reviews

Reviewed October 5, 2012

Located between the back-waters and the mobor beach this property offers a very comfortable stay at a stone throw distance from the beach. There is a private access to one of the most beautiful beaches around which is the USP of this place. Hospitality is top notch and Amardeep and Aman made sure that our stay is comfortable. Movement to the nearby localities is restricted with lack of any transportation option which really was not a problem for us as we wanted to stay at the property and on the beach. If you want to move around renting a bike can be an option. Overall a very pleasant and relaxing experience!

Room Tip: Try to get one nearer to the beach.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Bharat_BigB
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 24, 2012

For people who prefer nature over the industrialized hotels on a holiday, this is the best destination. We were 4 friends and stayed here for 3 nights and everything was just perfect. The people managing this place are very warm and welcoming. Cottages are very well maintained and linen was perfectly clean.
But the most beautiful part is that - it has a private beach and there is absolutely no one except the guests of this resort. Leela is around 1 km by the beach, which was highly crowded even during the month of May.
The seaside restaurant (blue whale) had perfect food and Roque - the owner of the restaurant was equally pleasant suggesting his best dishes. We had our best Goan food in this restaurant among a few others in Goa.
Highly recommended for couples, but the best time to visit will be Nov-Feb

Room Tip: If given a choice, choose the cottage closest to the beach
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank brishikesh
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
amarbedi, Owner at Bamboo House Goa, responded to this reviewResponded June 1, 2012

Big thanks to you. It is always a pleasure to hear that from our guests and an honour too..

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 18, 2012

Hi Friends, I went with my wife to Bamboo house in April month end for a small vacation. The total experience was very good. The location, beaches and Mr. Amandeep attention.

When I was staying in Bamboo house, The feeling was we are staying nature and enjoy all nature and private beaches.

Morning we spent time for watching sun rise and evening sunset.

Beaches are very clean and lonely. Anybody can spend good time on beaches. I really appreciate Bamboo house ecological concept.

I found only one thing need to be improved - That is Room Fan. It works very slow. Security is taken care from Dogs.. I didn't find any issue with them. Amandeep take care of them.

Rest all arrangements like Beds, Linen, Hot water, Bathroom and Gardens are well maintained.

I spent time in near by Leela hotel shack also, and SAM'S Beach Shack also.. Which is 5 min walks from Bamboo house beach side. It was very good experience to have candle light dinner near beach, enjoying sea breeze.

Room Tip: Prefer rooms near by Beach, you can enjoy nice view and sea breeze. Carry enough cash for your req...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank uttamkumar r
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 14, 2012

I went to Bamboo house with my wife in mid Feb and was extremely pleased by the place. The bamboo huts are very aesthetically done keeping in mind all the needs of a traveler (The huts even had plug points on both sides of the beds). The toilet / bathing area, the linen, the towels, everything there was very clean, and all of this significantly added towards spending a comfortable time there.
Also, the place is very quiet and is mostly frequented by foreigners who stick to their own business making the stay very peaceful and uninterrupted. The beach is brilliant - Given that Goa's finest hotel (The Leela Kempinski) is practically right next to it, I don't think I need to explain my point further. The small staff is very hospitable. Amandeep, who was there when we went, was very helpful and prompt towards all our requests.
However, the only drawback I felt was the absence of a good bike rental near that place which obviously will not bother people who are coming to Goa to just kick back and relax. So if one can arrange for a bike / car beforehand, Bamboo house will prove to be a very good option to stay at.
Overall, I rate the place 4.5 stars on 5. Good Job Mr. Amardeep and Amandeep.
Tip - If you're coming from the airport, DO NOT take the prepaid cabs. Apparently, you can strike a cheaper deal directly with the cab driver for this place (or any other place). We paid Rs 600 + tip to reach here (While the prepaid rate was approx Rs 900).

Room Tip: All the rooms are pretty good and there's no advantage as such of one particular room over the o...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank Vikram S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 25, 2012

It was a very nice place to spend the Easter weekend. This place is built with a nice concept in mind - ecology. Rooms are spacious..gets pretty hot during the day....since its concept is ecological, it does not have air condition in its room, u will be provided with a fan though. The nights get pretty cold...so your sleep is unaffected. The beach outside is very clean and also the water sports activities are available nearby.. the restaurant serves good food. Lots of shacks on the beach where you can enjoy some good food and drinks..The owner/caretakers are very helpful and prompt service can be expected. It is a bit far off from the main city..so if you want to do some sight seeing, the you will have to travel early or hire a car for the days travel. Overall it was a goood experience...would recommend this place to all the Eco-lovers .

Room Tip: All shacks are the same..
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Vivek_Ganesh
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 2, 2012

I stayed with my wife and 2 year old son in bamboo house for our Goa vacation this march. I found it as a wonderful no nonsense place in south goa, here are few good things and not so good about this place.



+ Quiet place, wonderful beach, more like a private one, nobody to bother you except for some dogs around, who provide some security to this lonely area but sometimes they do annoy the guests who are not so dog friendly. There is a security guy who is watchful during night times.



+ Nice and welcoming staff

+ Comfortable bed, clean bathrooms and wash area.

+ Close to nature, thatched roof, bamboo walls, grills and windows

+ Nice landscaping, the view outside your cottage.

+ The shack so close to the beach, great place to have a quiet dinner, listening to the music of the waves and cool breeze from the sea.



- This place is not a good choice in summer time since by the theme of this hotel there can't be an A/C, there is a floor fan but that may not be of much help during peak summer months.

- The restaurant shack is tad expensive by the standards offered, Beer bottle for example cost double the MRP, a dinner for 2 will cost approx 1k with a bottle of beer each.

- The toilets are meant for westerners and not by Indian standards.

- The floor tiles in the bathroom are callously laid out, water keeps flushing from the wet area to the dry area, I complained about this to Aman - the care taker, he offered me another cottage, but since my stay was short I didn't want to waste time shifting. Some user in trip advisor had pointed out the same problem with the cottage, may be I too got the same one. the management however seem to be unmindful of the earlier feedback from the guest.

- The whole hut appear to be fragile because of the bamboo concept that at times you feel little insecure. But that is the way it is designed.

- There is just a jute see through curtain between the bathroom and the bedroom. lacks privacy.

- The main door of the cottage doesn't have a proper lock, perhaps that gives little insecurity to some.

- The journey from margaon to mobar by local bus, they drag at irritatingly slow speed.

- No room service



Many of the -ves that I mentioned here are probably expected of this kind of concept hotel but for those who are conscious or particular about some of these aspects can look for another place.



Suggestions:-

*There is a good restaurant, reasonably priced, called Kinara about 3 Km from radisson hotel at cavelossim on the right side of road.

*Hire a bike for local sight seeing, they charge 250/day for Honda activa, but we paid 300.

*Water sports at the beach in front of hotel leela which is 10 mins walk along the beach from your cottage. I don't know the normal rates of these water bikes but they charged Rs 300 each for less than 2 minute ride in that. Expensive hmmm...


Having said that we were happy with our overall experience at bamboo house.

Room Tip: Ask for the cottage without water logging inside the bathroom
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank waymoon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Cavelossim
2 mi away
Radisson Blu Resort Goa Cavelossim Beach
0.8 mi away
Holiday Inn Resort Goa
Holiday Inn Resort Goa
#4 of 10 in Cavelossim
1,617 reviews
0.8 mi away
The Leela Goa
The Leela Goa
#1 of 10 in Cavelossim
2,326 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.5 mi away
Caravela Beach Resort
6.9 mi away
Taj Exotica Resort & Spa Goa
1.9 mi away
Karma Royal Haathi Mahal
Karma Royal Haathi Mahal
#5 of 10 in Cavelossim
942 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Bamboo House Goa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Bamboo House Goa

Address: 95 Bamboo House Goa 1, Cavelossim 403731, India
Location: India > Goa > South Goa District > Cavelossim
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 7 Specialty Lodging in Cavelossim
Number of rooms: 10
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located on the most beautiful, serene and peaceful beach of South Goa. 10 aesthetically, hand made Bamboo cottages await you amongst a well laid landscape. The cottages are unique in design, interiors and are well equipped. Spacious, comfortable and above all- close to nature. All you hear is the birdsong and the rush of waves.The restaurant serves you the choicest of food and has been rated excellent on various travel sites/magazines.We believe strongly in the environmental cause and thus maximum care has been taken taken to lessen the impact on mother nature. Hot water comes through solar heating, waste is handeled responsibly and the waste water gets treated by organíc bacteria and released back to irrigate the trees.Corporate Social responsibility is not just a word but for us an everyday task.Our staff has 2 mothers working with us and their children are with them. They can adjust their work as to their own plan and childrens, needs. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Bamboo House Goa Cavelossim

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing