We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great place”
Review of Mike's Place

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Cavelossim
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Mike's Place
Ranked #6 of 10 Hotels in Cavelossim
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed February 17, 2011

Just come back from 12 days staying at Casa de Cris which is part of Mikes Place. It was certainly better than expected and great value. The room was clean and with plenty of space, had a/c and a ceiling fan so it was always cool. Very pleasant to sit out on the balcony overlooking the garden and Mikes restaurant opposite. Everyone was really friendly and helpful, a special mention for Tony, we never got to say goodbye properly as we left early morning but thanks for all your help and unfailing cheerfulness. Definately go for the boat trip, very relaxing after a few days on the beach and the Wednesday night party was brilliant

  • Stayed: February 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank Mike186253
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (108)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

90 - 96 of 108 reviews

Reviewed December 2, 2010

This was our first trip to Goa. My partner and I had booked Mike's Place to stay for our first 3 nights as it was a good location to start our trip. We were given a room at Mike's Place, as Casa De Cris was full. For 2500 RPS a night we were pleased with what we got - a clean A/C room (which was a blessing after a hot day in the sun), nice big bed with white linen sheets. Bathroom was clean, although hot water didn't work but wasn't a problem as it was too hot to have a warm shower.

The staff are what makes Mike's place so great. They will do anything to help you. I especially liked James, who was always there to greet us at Mike's Beach Shack on the beach (the food here is great). James was very helpful and polite and made our first few nights in Goa very special.

Although Mikes place is a little more money than some of the places we stayed in South Goa, it's definitely worth it and I would definitely return.

  • Stayed: November 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank HarrogateTasha
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 22, 2010

beautiful rooms, great service, co-operative staff especially Mike himself, very jovial and a great man with a great family. Very tasty food. Ambience is great. In short, everything a person needs to enjoy is available.

  • Stayed: December 2009, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Buzobull
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 28, 2010

Just arrived back from Cavelossim where we stayed at Casa de Cris/Mikes Place. We were met on our arrival by the hotel manager Tony, absolutely lovely man who appears to work all the hours god sends, very friendly and knowledgable on the area any questions just ask.
We were allocated rooms 207 & 208, i had 208 which had a balcony and also a large picture window over looking the front of the hotel,i had read somewhere on tripadvisor that all the windows had mirrored glass where you can see out but no one can see in, this was true in the case of the balcony windows but not the large picture window, which i had been walking around in front of, it was only when we were walking back to the hotel one afternoon and i looked up to see that i could see directly into my room, so i apologize now if i inadvertantly displayed myself to any of you!! The room was spotlessly clean, air conditioning very quiet, spacious, electronic safe in the room, huge bed the only down side being the bed was very hard, which may be ok for some apart from that everything was great.
Breakfast was supplied at Mikes Place - the restaurant side of the business we were given
a choice of juices
tea or coffee
toast with jam/marmalade
Eggs (boiled, scrambled, fried, poached or omelettes)
Live Music was on 4 nights whilst we were there but pleased to say it all stopped promptly at 11pm so we slept peacefully. The hotel also owned two beach shacks one which was approx 10minutes walk away and the other about 25 mins walk, if you want to visit the one which is further away just let the waiters know when you are having breakfast and they will arrange a lift down and back for you, this also applies to party nights at the beach shacks - so you dont have to worry about how your going to get home after a few drinks.
Also went on a boat trip organized by Cris Cruises which is also owned by the same family, it cost 750rps per person and definitely the best money i spent whilst in Cavelossim, the trip lasted just over five hours during which we went out to sea and found some dolphins then we made our way back up the River Sal which was absolutely beautiful and teaming with local fisherman and local people all going about their lives around and on the river, all the time we were kept supplied in drinks soft or alcoholic - your choice - also we had a duet playing a guitar and singing to us all. Lunch was also included which consisted of
Garlic Prawns followed by kingfish steak with rice, a vegetable curry, also another dish which escapes me followed by fruit salad for pudding, and if you didn't like fish they offered a chicken dish instead. A definite must do trip if you go to Cavelossim
All in all a lovely place and would stay there again if given the chance.

  • Stayed: April 2010, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
8  Thank bensonsmum7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 17, 2010

Having been to Goa on several occasions and stayed at various hotels, found Mikes Place a fantastic place to stay . The restaurant is also highly recommended. Mike , james and all the staff are so friendly and helpful, thus guaranteeing a really relaxing holiday experience. Would no longer stay anywhere else after staying at Mikes Place. Returning yet again in March 2010.

  • Stayed: November 2008, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
4  Thank julesward62
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 1, 2008

Excellent place to be in Goa - Reasonable price with Goan atmosphere, entertainment, good food and plenty to enjoy on beach across the place. Lots of sports activity and nature to explore.

  • Stayed: March 2008, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
6  Thank TonyDelhi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 27, 2017 via mobile
Google Translation

Stayed: October 2017, traveled as a couple
Thank JFF35
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Cavelossim hotels
0.2 mi away
Karma Royal Haathi Mahal
Karma Royal Haathi Mahal
#4 of 10 in Cavelossim
1,038 reviews
0.1 mi away
Radisson Blu Resort Goa Cavelossim Beach
1.1 mi away
The Leela Goa
The Leela Goa
#1 of 10 in Cavelossim
2,377 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.1 mi away
Holiday Inn Resort Goa
Holiday Inn Resort Goa
#5 of 10 in Cavelossim
1,664 reviews
1.7 mi away
Dona Sa Maria
Dona Sa Maria
#7 of 10 in Cavelossim
222 reviews
0 mi away
Gaffino's Beach Resort
Gaffino's Beach Resort
#10 of 10 in Cavelossim
28 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Mike's Place? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Mike's Place

Address: Opp: Dona Syliva Resort, Cavelossim 403731, India
Location: India > Goa > South Goa District > Cavelossim
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Restaurant
Hotel Style:
#6 Romantic Hotel in Cavelossim
Price Range: $31 - $201 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 30
Also Known As:
Mike's Place Goa/Cavelossim

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing