We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very Overrated”
Review of Mike's Place

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Cavelossim
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Mike's Place
Ranked #7 of 10 Hotels in Cavelossim
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed January 10, 2012

Rooms ok but the noise from the restaurant downstairs is unbearable and very pitched to the Russian market
Better value and quieter elsewhere

Room Tip: well away from overlooking the restaurant
See more room tips
  • Stayed: December 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
6  Thank penfolds_bin_95
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (101)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

80 - 86 of 101 reviews

Reviewed September 20, 2011

we have been here several times, the rooms/staff/food are great, never had a problem with anything , we are going back again in March 2012 and cant wait !
we have not had a problem with card payments (most places have a surcharge for cards and Casa De Chris IS under separate ownership from Mikes place) and the "noise" usually is finished by 11pm at latest, even then its good live music and most people seem to really enjoy it.

see you all soon
Jane and Colin

  • Stayed: April 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank jane143019
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 15, 2011

We were booked by the organisors of a doctors conference.
Its a very bitter experience we had last evening. After our dinner we got the bill and flashed our card. The waiter said the swipe machine is not working so pay cash. We requested them to add the bill to our room which they refused stating that restaurant is a different account (which is false). Later after several minutes of argument they came back stating CREDIT CARDS ARE ACCEPTED WITH 3% service charges.when we asked them to show the rules they could not and we walked out stating either you add the bill to our room guest or we settle them tomorrow.
So be careful while swiping your card.

Till 7am there is not a single person either at the reception or anywhere at the hotel to help us as there was no hot water running in the bathroom. No telephones in the room to call some one or a bell.

Pl avoid this place

  • Stayed: September 2011, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
7  Thank srinivasan r
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 14, 2011

The rooms are very average quality and expensive for what you get.
Breakfast is not good and very basic.
The noise at night is appalling and don't believe it finishes at 11pm because it certainly does not ! You are surrounded by other bars and restaurants so cannot escape the noise. If you are looking for peace and quiet keep well away from here.

  • Stayed: January 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank peacelover70
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 17, 2011

Just come back from 12 days staying at Casa de Cris which is part of Mikes Place. It was certainly better than expected and great value. The room was clean and with plenty of space, had a/c and a ceiling fan so it was always cool. Very pleasant to sit out on the balcony overlooking the garden and Mikes restaurant opposite. Everyone was really friendly and helpful, a special mention for Tony, we never got to say goodbye properly as we left early morning but thanks for all your help and unfailing cheerfulness. Definately go for the boat trip, very relaxing after a few days on the beach and the Wednesday night party was brilliant

  • Stayed: February 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank Mike186253
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 2, 2010

This was our first trip to Goa. My partner and I had booked Mike's Place to stay for our first 3 nights as it was a good location to start our trip. We were given a room at Mike's Place, as Casa De Cris was full. For 2500 RPS a night we were pleased with what we got - a clean A/C room (which was a blessing after a hot day in the sun), nice big bed with white linen sheets. Bathroom was clean, although hot water didn't work but wasn't a problem as it was too hot to have a warm shower.

The staff are what makes Mike's place so great. They will do anything to help you. I especially liked James, who was always there to greet us at Mike's Beach Shack on the beach (the food here is great). James was very helpful and polite and made our first few nights in Goa very special.

Although Mikes place is a little more money than some of the places we stayed in South Goa, it's definitely worth it and I would definitely return.

  • Stayed: November 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank HarrogateTasha
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 22, 2010

beautiful rooms, great service, co-operative staff especially Mike himself, very jovial and a great man with a great family. Very tasty food. Ambience is great. In short, everything a person needs to enjoy is available.

  • Stayed: December 2009, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Buzobull
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Cavelossim hotels
0.2 mi away
Karma Royal Haathi Mahal
Karma Royal Haathi Mahal
#4 of 10 in Cavelossim
920 reviews
0.1 mi away
Radisson Blu Resort Goa Cavelossim Beach
1.1 mi away
Holiday Inn Resort Goa
Holiday Inn Resort Goa
#5 of 10 in Cavelossim
1,575 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.1 mi away
The Leela Goa
The Leela Goa
#1 of 10 in Cavelossim
2,296 reviews
1.7 mi away
Dona Sa Maria
Dona Sa Maria
#6 of 10 in Cavelossim
209 reviews
0.1 mi away
Dona Sylvia Beach Resort
Dona Sylvia Beach Resort
#2 of 10 in Cavelossim
1,684 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Mike's Place? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Mike's Place

Address: Opp: Dona Syliva Resort, Cavelossim 403731, India
Location: India > Goa > South Goa District > Cavelossim
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Restaurant
Hotel Style:
#6 Romantic Hotel in Cavelossim
Price Range: $81 - $98 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 30
Also Known As:
Mike's Place Goa/Cavelossim

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing