We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Remember,This is India.”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Gaffino's Beach Resort
Ranked #10 of 10 Hotels in Cavelossim
Reviewed February 15, 2010

Just returned from a two week stay at Gaffinos and enjoyed it thoroughly. If you go to Gaffinos Hotel remeneber is basic and it is India. Dont go with ideas of any form luxary. Quality is based on the price you are willing to pay. If you want an all inclusive (you could be anywhere) sort of hotel go to the Leela or Don Sylvia. Go with an open mind and you may go back again.

  • Stayed: February 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Travellinglarge
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (28)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

13 - 19 of 28 reviews

Reviewed March 26, 2008

Stayed here for 2 weeks. The hotel was Ok for 2 star, what we expected for Goa. The rooms cleaned daily with new towels, maid service good.
The problem with gaffinos is the Bar/ waiter staff, the worst service weve had in Goa over 10 years of visiting. They all had a bad lazy attitude to sevice.
Would not stay there again or recommend to anyone.
It never spoiled our holiday, as we use the hotel as a base to leave from, more than stay. But things should be better at this hotel.

  • Stayed: March 2008, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
6  Thank theworld
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 10, 2008

My wife and I stayed there from 30 December 2007 for 3 weeks. They serve some of the best food in Goa and the restaurant is very popular with other tourists
you have to remember it is 2 star but it is kept very clean and the staff are fantastic. I had to go into hospital for 5 days and the staff, especially the manager were very helpful.

We are going back for 4 weeks in December 2008

  • Stayed: January 2008, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Thank jimmymac2008
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 21, 2008

We stayed at Gaffinos Guest House for a week at the end of January.

Arriving at 6:30 am in the morning courtesy of Laurencino from the Palm Grove (we organised from England via a recommendation from Goan Jock) We had a good journey and thoroughly enjoyed the drive to the hotel. There is a full trip report within the forums.

On arriving at Gaffinos, it was closed up, and we had to spend a while banging on the door to be let in. Our room wasnt ready, and we had to sit around without the offer of a coffee or refreshment for an hour and a half until the manager arrived. He then let us have another room so that we could move in quickly and not have to wait any longer. Ordinarily I can accept that rooms are only ready from a certain time in the day, but Thomas Cook do say that you get 8 nights not 7 in the resort, meaning that your rooms should be there for you when you arrive. Not so in this case.

It is a fairly clean small basic guest house, with a main restaurant area which serves as bar, reception as well. To get to the rooms you have to walk through the restaurant area, and rooms are then upstairs.

The room we stayed in was quite small, (room 204 or 205 - I forget) but adequate. Very basic - it had single space wardrobes at either side of the double bed - the clothes rail was facing you rather than horizontal across the space. Not much drawer space, but for one week it was ok for us. There were two working reading lights built into the bed head, and a main light in the centre of the room. A small mirror with fold out table underneath it and a room chair.

Good locks on both the main door and also the balcony door - it is impossible to get in the room from the balcony from the outside if you have locked it from the inside - ie there is no key hole.

There was a small balcony with two plastic chairs - which overlooked the yard and the kitchens of the restaurant next door, with a slight view to the backs of the Goan Village restaurant.

The bed was a quite large double, with a fairly uncomfortable mattress but unusually plump pillows, so sleep if you could get it wasn't too bad at all.

The bathroom was large and modern. It looked like it had been recently renovated as the tiling and grouting was all spotless and the loo, sink, mirror and shower were all very modern appliances. The shower was a massive open space and a good spray, with hot water all the time - so no complaints there.

There is safe deposit boxes on the first floor, and you pay for these at 50 rupees a day. We paid for them at the end of the holiday. You can gain access to them anytime by yourself, you don't need anyone from reception to allow you to do it.

Because it is a guest house, there isn't a 24 hour reception but security is sort of ok, as the door outside is locked at some point and a young guy sleeps on the floor in the restaurant overnight to cover for any guests returning late, or any new arrivals. He sleeps in a little sort of cage made out of netting, on the floor..

We had maid service everyday, with clean towels and clean bedding every other day (I think). The towels arn't massive by any means and a bit threadbare sometimes. One each.

Free breakfast is a juice (not fresh) quite good coffee or tea (never had) and two slices of toast (made fresh for you) with butter and a jam of sorts (usually the bright vibrant pink 'fruit' one and occasionally a da-glo orange marmalade). And your breakfast is served from about 8:30 until 11:30 ish, so that was nice knowing that you didn't have to rush. Having said that, when we discovered River View - we went there for breakfast instead.

Some staff were friendly-ish, and others quiet. The ' manager' seemed efficient, but the owner we found to be quite stand-off and arrogant in his attitude to people, and not at all friendly. Very self important.

There is a book cupboard at the side of the 'reception' desk where you can either swap a book, or buy one for about 45 rupees. The books tended to be English.

Gaffinos Guest House is the sister 'hotel' to the Mobor Beach and you can use the facilities of this hotel if you want to. There is always a taxi going between the two and invariably if you want to go up, they will take you for free. It has a tiny tiny pool that you can use if you want, which we didn't, and you can gain access via the hotel (a little path at the side) to the beach. You have to walk down a bright orange road for quite a while to get to the beach and you get to view the new villa building work which is going on down the side. The little road ends in G & Gs - the groups beach shack.

We ate at G Gs once on the first day and didn't rate the food at all. We also tried the Beach Party and we thought it was shocking - we paid a set price for a buffet that didn't match the menu we were told about previously, that didn't get served up til very late, for a disco that was quite frankly insulting, and for one single firework.

We later discovered that other Beach Parties allow you to choose from the existing menu, have amazing fireworks, DJs that cater for their guests, not for the personal guests of the owner and the DJ, and other entertainment such as Goan Traditional Dance and Fire eaters. Avoid G Gs Beach Party if you can. Try the others instead.

We did not eat in the hotel at all so can't comment on the food at the main restaurant, although it did seem to have plenty of people sitting down when we walked through in the evening. Often the same faces though.

To get to the beach after the first day, we walked down the street (out of Gaffinos turn left and keep going til you see the signs for River View. The little road to the beach is opposite this. This seemed to be the best way to the beach. The beach was quieter, and if you kept walking to the left after getting to the beach, you found amazing quite stretches of beach, with hardly any sellers. About a 15 minute beautiful walk in this direction you would come to Bettys Beach Shack plus a few others.

In terms of situation we found Gaffinos to be in a very convenient spot. Close to some excellent restaurants, a couple of good convenience shops for things such as water, crisps, toilettries and bottles of drink to take home. it was a little bit of a walk to the beach, but nothing shocking - and it allowed you to wander down passed Louisa-by-the-sea shops so there was plenty to see whilst you were walking.

We used a Gaffinos taxi to take us back to the airport on the last morning (we left at 4am!) and it cost 700 rupees. The journey was good, and the taxi driver (anthony) entertaining. Had we been there longer we would definately have hired him for a day to visit more of South Goa (and North) as he was very informative and humerous on our very very short journey back.

Our main gripe was the endless barking of dogs at both sides of Gaffinos which kept us awake most nights. Ear Plugs are a must if you are staying here, but even with ear plugs, once the noise started it was pretty difficult to block out. Its probably only this reason that we would not consider staying there again, as I believe it is quite cheap to rent rooms there compared to other places.

But a good nights sleep is worth another tenner a night in my book, so would try any of the other guest houses/hotels first next time.

  • Stayed: January 2008, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank hardworkingdreamers
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 20, 2008

just got back from gaffinos yesterday, all i can say very very basic and if you get room 102 refuse it......... There is no window its above the bar and in the room next door which the owners son lives in has a drum kit........... ALL i can say if you book think twice. oh and the staff are arragant.

  • Stayed: February 2008, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank ballygomartin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 12, 2008

Have just arrived back from a to week stay at Gaffino’s and am surprised that there are no other reviews on here as it seemed like quite a popular and well known hotel.

We were told before arriving that Gaffino’s was basic and that’s probably the best way to describe it. The rooms are fairly small with a double bed (which must have been Queen sized if not King) cupboards on either side and a standard bathroom with shower, toilet and sink. The décor is rather dated and the walls could do with a lick of paint but it was clean which was the main thing! The shower was really powerful and nice and hot. The rooms were cleaned daily if you leave your key at reception and fresh towels and toilet paper left daily as well. We had a room without A/C but all the rooms have a ceiling fan which is pretty powerful on full blast so didn’t feel we needed A/C that much!

The hotel doesn’t have a pool but you have use of the pool at the Morbor Beach up the room. To be honest we didn’t use the pool at all, it seemed badly situated at the Morbor and only got the sun in the morning and was completely in the shade by the afternoon so we just went to the beach instead! The staff at the hotel are extremely attentive and helpful, they even gave us room service when we were ill from a stomach bug and couldn’t leave the room for 3 days! The hotel also has a very nice restaurant which is usually full every night and does local dishes and also some things for people who’s stomachs aren’t that strong!

Now for the downside. When we stayed there the properties on either side of the hotel both owned dogs. There are a lot of stray dogs in Cavelossim and in the middle of the night they all seemed to congregate outside our hotel and wind each other up. The first night we got there they barked ALL NIGHT. It was like having a dog in the room with you it was so loud! We complained the next morning and to be fair the hotel complained to the dog owners and it seemed to get better after that. We also invested in some good earplugs, which may have also helped!

All in all the hotel was fine, nothing to rave about but if you just need somewhere to sleep at night then it does the job. There certainly seemed to be people there who stayed their every year so that must say something! We may have been unlucky with the dogs but it would certainly put me off staying there again and I would be inclined to stay elsewhere in Cavelossim where I to visit again.

  • Stayed: January 2008, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank helenmb20
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 15, 2017
Google Translation

Room Tip: Номера на левой стороне отеля имеют балкон и окна с выходом на правую сторону. Там чистый воздух, на...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2017, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
3  Thank oksana3840
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Cavelossim
0.0 mi away
Colonia Jose' Menino Resort
0.0 mi away
Karma Royal Haathi Mahal
Karma Royal Haathi Mahal
#5 of 10 in Cavelossim
921 reviews
0.0 mi away
Radisson Blu Resort Goa Cavelossim Beach
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.0 mi away
Dona Sa Maria
Dona Sa Maria
#6 of 10 in Cavelossim
209 reviews
0.0 mi away
The Leela Goa
The Leela Goa
#1 of 10 in Cavelossim
2,296 reviews
0.0 mi away
Holiday Inn Resort Goa
Holiday Inn Resort Goa
#4 of 10 in Cavelossim
1,575 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Gaffino's Beach Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Gaffino's Beach Resort

Address: Mobor Beach, Cavelossim 403731, India
Location: India > Goa > South Goa District > Cavelossim
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #10 of 10 Hotels in Cavelossim
Price Range: $24 - $27 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2 star — Gaffino's Beach Resort 2*
Number of rooms: 16
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Orbitz, Agoda and TripOnline SA so you can book your Gaffino's Beach Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Gaffinos Beach Hotel Cavelossim
Gaffino's Beach Resort Goa/Cavelossim

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing