We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (233)
Filter reviews
233 results
Traveler rating
38
108
60
14
13
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
38
108
60
14
13
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsmalshej ghatmtdc resortvalley viewsuper deluxe roomsshivneri fortgovernment propertychildren playplay areagovt runcottage roomexcellent locationlcd tvduring rainy seasonample spacenon vegmaintained resortwestern ghats
Filter
Updating list...
21 - 26 of 233 reviews
Reviewed December 3, 2017

Malshej Ghat is a beautiful place which is not commercialized and offers serene natural beauty to the visitors. We visited the place during December and still it was so nice, we could just imagine how beautiful the place would look during the monsoons. They have created railings at the view points to visit the deep valleys very closely. We discovered that there was an Eco point as well!
The MTDC Resort is located right at the edge of the hill and it is the best place to stay in Malshej. The resort is very well maintained and clean, service is prompt, staff is very helping and there is a very good restaurant as well which offers very tasty food at reasonable rates. The play area for children has many equipment and all of them are well maintained. We had opted for Super deluxe room and the view from it's balcony was simply awesome. Overall we were very happy to stay at this nice place. Only point where I felt they could do a little more maintenance was the grass at few places which had dried up.

Room Tip: Super Deluxe and Valley View rooms provide best view
  • Stayed: December 2017, traveled with family
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank deepakporwal
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 28, 2017

The MTDC resort offers beautiful views and is situated by the edge of the valley. The rooms are very spacious and clean. The mattress were very comfortable and bathrooms fitted with water heaters. We anticipated a great evening with mist as the location was great and definitely we were not disappointed in the night as we wandered around until 10:30 pm.

Wow morning views of the valley nearby MTDC was awaiting for us. 5:45 and we were on the valley front - 1 km walk offering great view of the valley, tunnel and sunrise. We spent close to 90 minutes here enjoying the mesmerizing beauty.

  • Stayed: September 2017, traveled with friends
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
2  Thank Karthik R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 7, 2017

MTDC all over has this knack of having their hotels at best of location, but are in no position to offer anything more. Poor maintenance & sulky staff.
If you can ignore these criteria, this place has the best view of the valley (Valley view rooms offer the view). During monsoon its misty, visibility is at times 20 feet only. Keep the room open and the mist/cloud actually moves in!
Restaurant looks "ok" but the food is actual value for money. There are places of interest in and around this place, but you can actually unwind without going out!

Room Tip: Valley view rooms offer the best view
  • Stayed: September 2017, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Thank Manyata
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 29, 2017 via mobile

I visited the MTDC Resort with my wife and son. We stayed in a Super-Deluxe non-A/C room. Reading the reviews here, we expected the worst. But contrary to what many people have said here, we found the facility maintained very well. Room was clean, toilet clean and well-maintained, intercom, TV and geyser working fine. When we had a doubt about the geyser (the light were not coming on and hence we thought it wasn't working), the staff appeared within five minutes. The rooms are cleaned every day, thoroughly.

Talking about the staff, we were astonished with their prompt service. They engage you in some great conversation and provide every detail. All of them were alike in this regard. Our taxi driver ditched us at the last minute after seeing the downpour, but the MTDC staff arranged for a Cruiser for us to get to Kalyan (you don't get any other vehicle there).

The restaurant serves good food, both veg and non-veg. The restaurant staff was also quite friendly and we did not face any problems.

The kids play area is quite good with swings and slides, all wet, but clean.

The viewpoint around the resort offers breathtaking view of the valley. There is a paved pathway to walk around. The reverse waterfall there is quite and experience.

Now to clear the air on what could have prompted negative reviews. It rains heavily here and because of the location of this resort, wind blows from all sides. Again, because of the mist, there is not an inch outdoors that is not wet. But the rooms are quite dry, except for a little seepage on the wall (which doesn't make the wall wet), which is to be expected. Considering these conditions, the staff there have a tough task at hand, and they are doing a commendable job.

Stayed: August 2017, traveled with family
2  Thank SujithGNath
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 25, 2017

Malshej is a great location. Specially during monsoon. Covered with clouds and rains. Don't forget to take your raincoat as umbrella will be a waste is gusty winds. MDTC holel however is very poorly maintained. Rooms with soggy walls, dirty and torn linen. Outside floor was slippery due to mould and dirt and we witnessed a guest slipping and falling badly. Absolute turn-off! There is a restaurant in the hotel which is moderately priced but again the ambience and cleanness is very average. Only good thing about the hotel was they we gave a special request of ground floor room for our parents and we got it.

Stayed: June 2017, traveled with family
1  Thank Ayan B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews