We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Another great stay in Arillas”
Review of Makris Apartments

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Arillas
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Makris Apartments
Ranked #3 of 6 Arillas B&B and Inns
Reviewed December 11, 2012

Thanks to all at the Makris for a great holiday this year. Great location- approx 10 mins stroll into Arillas
and they are just before the turn up to Afionas. Apartment was spacious and clean- family who run it
absolutely great. Definitely recommend hiring a quad- handy for going up to the village or down to Aghios Georgios for exploring. There is so much to do on this coast that it is understandable how people return year after year. Believe they can be booked direct this year - which is great if doing
your own packaging. We booked via Thomas Cook on this occasion but would have no worries re
booking direct. Pool area and bar great - nice and safe if you have children with you. Great view of the sunset - but as always well worth going down to the Horizon or infact any place on the front. Arillas has it all - Corfu at its finest.
Deb

Room Tip: Front facing apartment to watch the sun go down-if not venturing out.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
9  Thank DebHansel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (36)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

31 - 36 of 36 reviews

Reviewed September 24, 2012

just got home from makris the apartments are lovely as is pool area and bar. its family ran and they are hapy to help you. we stayed in 2 bed apartment with a new baby and it had plenty of room (bare in mind they dont have travel cots at hotel) it is set out of the resort but there are restaurants along the walk into the centre. worth a visit if you want a relaxed holiday.

  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank ajhakin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 27, 2012

Myself and partner made a very last minute booking specifying Arillas as we'd visited once before and were not disappointed to end up at the Makris apartments. They are set back from the main part of the resort (by a 10 minute walk) and have fabulous views of the surrounding countryside and sea.

We were in a 2 bedroom apartment, which was huge for the two of us. The decor is old fashioned but spacious and clean and the facilities were fine. Having three balconies with fab views was a bonus. The pool area is good - clean and with plenty of sunbeds. These were hardly used at all until the afternoon when we visited so had the pool to ourselves in the morning! The pool bar serves the usual drinks and also serves simple reasonably priced hot and cold snacks - which were perfect if you don't fancy the walk down to the resort front. We didn't cook in the apartment so can't comment on the kitchen equipment, but there seemed to be everything you'd need to prepare your own snacks.

I can't recommend the resort of Arillas highly enough. It's small and friendly with enough bars and restaurants to keep you happy for a week or two. The food in the restaurants is really very good - not expensive and good quality. If you eat at the right time on the sea front you can also witness the fantastic sunsets that disappear over the sea while you eat - so pretty! The beach is good, the resort has a 'safe' feeling and there's also few shops to buy souvenirs/provisions from. All in all it's a lovely place.

I would recommend Makris if you're after simple but nice, quiet apartments and would definitely recommend Arillas.

  • Stayed: June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
12  Thank LeisureRules
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 25, 2011

We stayed in a 2 bed apartment with the kids and my parents had a studio below. Massive apartment, with sofa bed, and could have slept 6 comfortably. My first trip to Greece and the plumbing was surprising but not problematic. The apartments were clean and tidy, with fabulous views to the sea and countryside. It was a good 15 min walk to the sea but the pool was fantastic and cleaned daily. Nice poolside bar, friendly staff. Lots of small scale apartments and no discos gave the place a really relaxed and friendly feel. We never had a bad meal out, and the food was excellent value. The beach is narrow but well kept, the people were always friendly. My parents are seasoned Greek travellers and booked to go to the Horizon 2 months later. We are going back this year.

  • Stayed: July 2010, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
9  Thank jude101
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 29, 2010

This was our first visit to Arillas,we loved it.The sunsets were fantastic,there are plenty of eating places to choose from and all happy to offer child portions.We had really hot weather all week until a windy Saturday washed the beach away ! however it made for some spectacular waves.Our accommodation ( 1 studio and a 2 bedroomed appartment ) was clean but basic ,The rooms were nice and big if a little shabby,the bins were only emptied every other day and no clean towels during the week stay. The bar staff were polite enough but not friendly ,they just talked to their greek friends all the time.The nicest person was the old lady who brought her donkey to graze every day.
We would go back to Arillas but stay somewhere else. N.B. no cash machine.

  • Stayed: July 2010, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank geordiegirl24
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 9, 2010

we have stayed here for the past 6 years and intend going back as often as possible. The apartments are fairly basic but are really clean. There is a pool and sunbeds which are free to use.No need to reserve them as there are enough to go round. The breakfast is really worth trying and will keep you going for most of the day. All in all, a great place to stay if you like a fairly quiet holiday.

  • Stayed: June 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
11  Thank MUFCmike
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Arillas hotels
7.7 mi away
Tria Adelphia
Tria Adelphia
#2 of 8 in Arillas
151 reviews
7.5 mi away
Nikos Apartments
Nikos Apartments
#5 of 6 in Arillas
12 reviews
8 mi away
Arillas Studios
Arillas Studios
#6 of 25 in Arillas
24 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0 mi away
Akti Arilla Hotel
Akti Arilla Hotel
#4 of 8 in Arillas
84 reviews
0 mi away
No photo provided
Irene Studios
#13 of 25 in Arillas
2 reviews
8.1 mi away
Mathraki Studios
Mathraki Studios
#2 of 25 in Arillas
109 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Makris Apartments? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Makris Apartments

Address: Arillas, Greece
Location: Greece > Ionian Islands > Corfu > Arillas
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 6 B&Bs / Inns in Arillas
Number of rooms: 14
Also Known As:
Makris Apartments Hotel Arillas
Makris Apartments Arillas, Corfu, Greece

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing