We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Beautiful setting for a lovely hotel”
Review of Alte Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Alte Hotel
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Alte
Bristol, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
71 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 63 helpful votes
“Beautiful setting for a lovely hotel”
Reviewed August 11, 2014

My girlfriend and I just returned from a week in Hotel Alte. The entire experience was fantastic, completely relaxing, all our needs catered for, and we feel fully refreshed - exactly what you want from a holiday.

The hotel is located about 1 hour drive from Faro, which has the main airport, and half an hour from Albufeira, the nearest big city. But the town of Alte, a 5 minute walk from the hotel, is a lovely (albeit small) place, which contains a fantastic cafe, a couple of nice restaurants, a swimming lake, a nice church, museum and a variety of shops. The town itself is very traditional, and not at all touristic - unlike Albufeira, which has more Chinese and Indian restaurants that traditional portuguese ones. Being a distance from the touristic areas means you can really escape for a while.

The hotel itself is staffed by a lovely group of people, who made our stay a pleasure. Even when I accidentally broke our room key, I was simply told "it happens", and the receptionist refused to take money to replace the key. The room we stayed in was a great size, with a lovely balcony which overlooked the pool and half of the Algarve. The room had a shower/bath with brilliantly hot water, air conditioning included (it is quite common for hotels to charge extra for this), and we paid 10 Euros to hire a mini-fridge for the week (which was placed in our room) allowing us to store our own food and beer, which was fantastic. Our room was cleaned every day, with the bed being made, towels replaced and the floor cleaned - a service which goes above a lot of 4* hotels I have stayed in, and truly appreciated by us. It is so nice to walk into a cleaned room every evening.

The pool is lovely, refreshing and kept clean. The garden area next to the pool is fully equipped with deck chairs and umbrellas for shade. There is also a large indoor and outdoor restaurant area with the same breathtaking views, as well as a small "games room" which is pretty empty, but I noticed it being used by some parents with young children. There is also a tennis court and beach volley-ball court - both are free to use.

Breakfast is a buffet, served until 10.30 (meaning you can have a late start) and always serves the same items - but there was enough choice to keep us satisfied for the week - croissants, bread, cereals, fruit, hams, cheese, jams, teas, coffee, yogurts, scrambled eggs etc.

The only two complaints I have are minor - the bed was slightly uncomfortable, and the restaurant food was not so good - From prior reviews I expected fantastic food, but we only had one dinner at the hotel on the first night, and it was so poor we decided to avoid it for the rest of the holiday. I had swordfish which, I'm sure, was cooked from frozen, and served with a tiny handful of boiled veg and some potatoes - flavourless and uninspired. But only having one meal there, we could have just been unlucky, and there are plenty of other places to eat.

In terms of general advice, I would suggest hiring some form of transport while in the Algarve. My girlfriend and I did not originally plan to hire a vehicle, but when we tried to take a bus to Albufeira the only bus left at 8.30am, and involved multiple changes - so we ended up hiring a scooter (for which you only need a UK car drivers license), which was fantastic, allowing us to visit the entire region with ease, and get to lots of places not accessible by public transport. It is also worth looking at local websites while in the Algarve, as we managed to get to see a Medieval festival and a folklore festival, just by looking at the local listings online.

Overall, a highly recommended hotel in a stunning location.

Room Tip: Get a room with a balcony and a sea-view, room 212 was fantastic!
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
6 Thank mckplus
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

124 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    36
    48
    27
    8
    5
See reviews for
27
61
5
5
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (19)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Cambridge, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
157 reviews
36 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 53 helpful votes
Reviewed March 29, 2014 via mobile

A great little hotel set in the hills above Alte. We were staying there as part of a cycling holiday and a great place to be based. The staff were very friendly and welcoming and made the stay very pleasant and the food both for breakfast and the evening meals were really good. The wild boar is recommended as are the large selection of fish dishes

Stayed March 2014, traveled with friends
Helpful?
2 Thank Saimanjai
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bedfordhsire UK
Level Contributor
25 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed March 21, 2014

My husband and I have just spent four nights at the Hotel Alte, a quiet haven overlooking the green hills towards the Algarve coast in the distance. From our arrival to our departure all the staff where attentive and friendly always ready to offer help, or suggest places to visit in the area. The room was of good size and comfortable. The Grounds including a tennis court and swimming pool were very well maintained. The hotel was a little further out of the village than we imagined albeit only a 15 - 20 minute slight uphill walk. A very enjoyable memorable stay.

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Discerning59
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bangor Northern Ireland
Level Contributor
63 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
Reviewed January 19, 2014

The hotel speaks for itself with it's great vistas over the surrounding valley and citrus groves really good on days of clear visibility this view stretches the ege distant shoreline of the Algarve.The staff and quality of the food and wines make this a great spot for enjoying the realAlgarve and not the swamp that is the coastal sprawls of Praia da Rocha and Albufuria.Great selection of meats,seafood not to forget the excellent cataplanas.
So make sure you take that left turn just after entering the outskirts of Alte to experience a quiet lunch with a stunning view

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Brian R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Warrington
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed July 30, 2013

We've just come back from a ten night break at Alte Hotel, and we will certainly be going back again. We were slightly apprehensive that there may only be one cafe/bar in the village. In reality, there were about 6, we sampled drinks in most of them, and an evening meal in one of them. In all honesty though, the food in the hotel (we stayed half board) was really good so we ate there most nights. The hlaf board menu was slightly reduced version of the main menu but still sufficient choice, especially as you are able to select the chefs meal of the day which changes daily. If you are lucky enough to be there on a Sunday, make sure you try the Wild Boar Stew- it is AMAZING, and the dessert of the house is scrumptious!!

The staff were super friendly and couldn't do enough for you, rooms were spotless, and most of the time we had the whole pool area to ourselves as most residents had hired cars and went out for the majority of the day sight seeing- we found it a bit like our own private pool, with the luxury of an onhand waiter and chef! Bedrooms were good size and spotless, fresh towels everyday.

The gardens at the back of the hotel were really beautiful and serene and our little girl enjoed 'tickling' the frogs to get them to jump into the pool. The only small thing we would mention is that the pool area was a little tired and would benefit from a few new tiles here and there.

An excellent find, close to a beautiful village which enabled us to have a glimpse into the real Portugal - we hope to return again, and are certain you wouldn't be disappointed!

Room Tip: Ask for pool view-that way you get to look over mountains and out to sea
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Claire C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bath
Level Contributor
15 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed July 1, 2013

Stayed for one night just before moving in to our new house in a local village. The Hotel is situated a couple of hundred yards from the lovely village of Alte which is well worth a look ,has a great market on Thursday mornings and has a number of restaurants and bars again with fantastic views towards Paderne. The Hotel staff were really friendly, the room comfortable,
immaculately clean, nice pool and sunbathing area. We had dinner that evening and had the set meal which was 12 euros each and tasty and plentiful. Breakfast was typically southern European, plentiful with lots of choice albeit nothing hot. Bill for the night for an ensuite was about 40 euros. This Hotel was very quiet but I am told does weddings and functions on occasions and can be busy. Some of the décor is a little dated perhaps but I would recommend this hotel without reservation.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank plunt
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nottingham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
30 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 42 helpful votes
Reviewed April 9, 2013

Before arriving at the hotel we stopped off in the village of Alte, and what a charming place it is too. If you decide to visit the village then you could do worse than to stay at the hotel which bears the same name. Situated about half a mile up hill from the village Alte Hotel enjoys spectacular views over the surrounding countryside which extend, on a clear day, to the ocean to the south. The hotel itself is built on the hillside and car parks, public areas and bedrooms, swimming pool and gardens are on split levels. In every respect this hotel offered everything we were looking for and we took the 'promotional' half board offer for an additional Euros12.50 per person for dinner. The meal and house wine were good and a window table in the dining room was a great place to watch the sunset. The staff spoke English to an acceptably high standard and were all very obliging and efficient. There were a number of negative points which need mentioning. 1) The internet did not work. 2) The bed linen and pillows were very disappointing. 3) There was no bedside lighting in the room. 4) The single power point in the bedroom was broken and in a dangerous condition. 5) There was a great deal of ambient noise from the hotel pool filtration pump/plumbing/heating/aircon(?) throughout the night (not, I should stress, from the excellent heating in the room itself). 6)The views from the hotel, typical of this area, included many orange groves, so why on Earth are guests at breakfast offered a disgusting chemical-tasting substitute for the real thing? All in all though the Atle Hotel is good value, well worth a stay and a great asset to an area just a short drive from the beaches. If you fancy a couple of nights of cool mountain air away from the heat and bustle of coast, look no further.

Room Tip: The hotel was very quiet when we stayed so unable to suggest best location. We overlooked the pool a...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Willex
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Alte
14.2 mi away
Colina dos Mouros
Colina dos Mouros
#1 of 1 in Silves
266 reviews
20.6 mi away
Hotel Made Inn
Hotel Made Inn
#18 of 76 in Portimao
297 reviews
12.2 mi away
Torre Velha Hotel
Torre Velha Hotel
#77 of 154 in Albufeira
253 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
20.6 mi away
Villa Termal das Caldas de Monchique Spa & Resort
20.5 mi away
Hotel Globo
Hotel Globo
#65 of 76 in Portimao
210 reviews
21.2 mi away
Mirachoro Sol
Mirachoro Sol
#54 of 76 in Portimao
173 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Alte Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Alte Hotel

Property: Alte Hotel
Address: Estrada de Sta Margarida Montinho, Alte 8100-012, Portugal
Location: Portugal > Algarve > Faro District > Alte
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Alte
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Alte Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 30
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Hotwire, TripOnline SA, Priceline, HotelQuickly and HRS so you can book your Alte Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Alte Hotel Algarve, Portugal

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing