We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Pleasantly Surprised!”
Review of Alte Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Alte Hotel
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Alte
Certificate of Excellence
Evora, Portugal
Level Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Pleasantly Surprised!”
Reviewed October 29, 2011

We stayed for 2 nights incl. breakfast on a special rate that was so special in fact (as cheap as chips) that we expected to get no surprises, no extras, just basic bed & coffee. But .... we were in for surprises alright! We got to the hotel late, at 9pm, tired from a 3 hour drive through a storm and hungry, with 2 hungry tired kids in tow. The first thing we did was to sit in the Cataplana restaurant and eat dinner. The meal was simple but of the quality of the meat was fantastic ... so tender! The next priority ... because of the storms I came with a huge bag full of wet clothes that I didn't get the chance to run through a drier, hoping to find a place that would dry our clothes. Before I even finished asking, the clothes were whisked away. Not only did they dry our clothes, they ironed them and folded them ever so neatly and they were all ready for me at 8am! and ... they did not charge for this HUGE favor! Just for that I will be back! The kids stayed free. The rooms and the entire hotel was absolutely perfectly warm ... no need to even use the a/c even though there was a gail blowing outside! That was very important to us and the children's comfort. Breakfast was not very varied but more than we expected for the price we paid so no complaints there! We ate dinner at the hotel restaurant the 2nd night and again it did not dissapoint! Big portions and of the highest quality! The hotel was extremely clean and our rooms tidied up & cleaned perfectly while we were out. For a 3 star we didn't expect so much! We have experienced some really dodgy 3 star hotels! A simple, clean, comfortable, warm place to stay! Would stay again! Improvements: more staff connectivity with guests, a remodeling could boost this hotel to a 4.star easily, especially given it's location ... a beautiful view!

  • Stayed October 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank MichelleAzinheira
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

124 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    36
    48
    27
    8
    5
See reviews for
27
61
5
5
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (19)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Ashington, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed August 2, 2011

We stayed at the Alte Hotel for 4 nights and had the most wonderful relaxing break, just what we needed, sunshine, peace and quiet, excellent food, stunning views and very friendly, efficient staff. Our hotel room was very clean as the rest of the hotel, the only negative comment I can make is the pillows on the beds were very firm. We cannot speak highly enough of the staff they were very accommodating even letting us have our room until 3pm on the day of our departure so we could shower before leaving. We stayed half board. The breakfast was the usual continental style but there was always sufficient. Our evening meal menu was limited but the food was fabulous, could not fault it. Some lovely walks in the area although not for the faint hearted, the Alte is on a steep hill and the climb back from Alte village certainly gets the heart pumping. You can stroll the cobbled streets of Alte and take in the architechture and the natural springs, although not a big place there are bars and cafes for refreshments. You can also walk up to St Margarida and there is a lovely track which takes you over the hillside and eventually drops down into Alte, the views are breathtaking. If you are looking for lots of nightlife near the beach this hotel is not for you, but if you are looking for tranquility in a beautiful location I would highly recommend the Alte Hotel!!

Room Tip: Room facing onto the tennis courts are cooler although fab views all around.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank madmarchhare15
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
UK
Level Contributor
12 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
Reviewed May 26, 2011

Hotel - Pretty, kind of quaint, clean, well laid out. Lemon, orange and fig trees grow round about it!

Location - Stunning.

Staff - Friendly, cheerful.

Food - Very very good. They do charge on the wines though!

Pool - Small but clean and quiet with beautiful views.

Apartments - Decent size, very clean.

Room service - Brilliant.

My husband and I spent our honeymoon here and fell in love with the place. The little village of Alte is beautiful and you can spend ages just wandering around the cobbled streets and quaint white houses. The hotel is very good, very clean, quiet and friendly. The staff are very helpful and you don't have to pay extra for a smile! I would describe this as a family friendly hotel.

  • Stayed July 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank portugaleveryyear
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Liverpool, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed August 17, 2010

Stayed at the alte in july 2010 was disappointed. the alte is a clean hotel thats its only good point! the location is terrible there is nothing for miles not even a bar or a restraunt! the hotel is as quiet as a funeral parlour. the rooms are dindgy and old! and the hotel has not been refurbished for a long long time. the pool is also TINY! i would not reccomend the alte hotel for a holiday!

  • Stayed July 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank k8tyb
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
estoval dos mouros
1 review
Reviewed December 2, 2009

we stayed at the alte hotel while our villa was built. the rooms are clean and the service good. meals are average breakfast has improved since we first stayed wonderful views of the algarve from the hotel....

  • Stayed July 2008, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank plumber_9
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
fb123
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed August 14, 2009

You definitly get more than your money's worth..
Excellent customer service, very very friendly staff.
Breathtaking views from the hotel.
VERY clean rooms and bathrooms.

However, if your into the nightlife and the city, it is not a very ideal location as it is about 25-30 min drive away from Albufeira! But for those wanting to escape the busy city- its perfect!
I wouldnt shy away from recommending it to anyone..

  • Stayed July 2009, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank fb123
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Blackpool, England
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed August 11, 2008

We stayed here for 2 nights, in 2 rooms, from 9th to 11th August.

The Positives:
• Self-Service one off evening meal was nice (and staff were ok that night). - Was in restaurant away from main areas due to christening.

The Negatives:
• My room absolutely stank of smoke, despite a no smoking sign, and after a complaint to reception, they finally put some air freshener in which didn't help.
• Breakfast was poor, stale old bread, cheap sausages, and some juice.
• The hotel is very noisy.
• The shower rail isn't fixed on with anything, and continuously fell down (hitting me one time)
• The other evening meal we waited 1 hour and 15 minutes for starters, a further 45 minutes for mains, and we left without desserts. On asking we were promised plates, which never arrived. (We were the second group of people in – and there were about 6 members of staff!)
• The staff make you feel like everything is a hassle.

Overall, what a waste of money! The location is miles away from anywhere, and the hill down to the town of Alte is quite steep. There is also very little there. There are about 3 sets of stairs up to the hotel – which makes luggage difficult! I slept very little due to noise, and the room wasn't very pleasant or comfortable.

Staff – Mainly miserable and made you feel in the way. 2/5
Location – Middle of nowhere! 1/5
Room – Old, smelly, falling to pieces. 1/5
Noise – Very noisy. Hardly slept at all. 1/5

Would I stay again? No – never! This hotel is a DISGRACE and I was so disappointed to stay here. I was actually looking forward to returning to the UK (which never happens on a holiday!).

  • Liked — Leaving
  • Disliked — Staying there
  • Stayed August 2008, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Adzha
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Alte
14.2 mi away
Colina dos Mouros
Colina dos Mouros
#1 of 1 in Silves
3.5 of 5 bubbles 260 reviews
12.3 mi away
Pinhal do Sol Hotel
Pinhal do Sol Hotel
#26 of 48 in Quarteira
3.5 of 5 bubbles 789 reviews
11.0 mi away
Loule Jardim Hotel
Loule Jardim Hotel
#1 of 3 in Loule
4.5 of 5 bubbles 396 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
16.4 mi away
Lagoa Hotel
Lagoa Hotel
#5 of 5 in Lagoa
4.5 of 5 bubbles 40 reviews
13.8 mi away
Holiday Inn Algarve - Armacao de Pera
9.9 mi away
Falesia Hotel
Falesia Hotel
#4 of 154 in Albufeira
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,841 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Alte Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Alte Hotel

Property: Alte Hotel
Address: Estrada de Sta Margarida Montinho, Alte 8100-012, Portugal
Location: Portugal > Algarve > Faro District > Alte
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Alte
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Alte Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 30
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Hotwire, Priceline, Cheap Tickets, TripOnline SA, HotelQuickly and HRS so you can book your Alte Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Alte Hotel Algarve, Portugal

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing