We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Another fantastic holiday at Villa Angelos.”
other traveler has booked this property
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Inquiry
Excellent
14 reviews
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Inquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Villa -
2 Bedrooms, 2 Bathrooms, Sleeps 8
Almyrida, Chania Prefecture, Crete

Reviews from our community

Excellent - based on 14 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
English first
Any
English first
GlobeTrot...
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Another fantastic holiday at Villa Angelos.”
Reviewed October 9, 2017 for a stay in September 2017

Following our superb holiday to Villa Angelos at roughly the same time of year 12 months ago i am very pleased to report that once again my wife and i were not disappointed ,if anything the Villa had slightly improved with the interior having a new flat screen TV and refrigerator,the external dining/sitting and pool areas all as good as they were last year.The surrounding beach and inland towns and villages just as charming and friendly as we found them last year.The scenery still captivated us both particularly in the rugged mountain areas,each time you turn a corner the views are magnificent and occasionally quite scary.The food and drink in Almyrida/ Gavalachori and Plaka was fantastic with exceptional hospItality particularly Takis taverna in Plaka who we found to be very generous with there house wine.The one thing that wasn't as good as last year was the weather (we do not hold anyone responsible for this ) we actually had 3 or 4 days of rain but only one day was so bad that it stopped us from going out,at least until we had to eat that evening. This was another fantastic holiday/

Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Oct 16, 2017
Thanks for the lovely review. We try to improve the villas every year, and you will have noticed the mattress toppers to provide extra comfort as well as the new TV and fridge. The local restaurants too, improve year on year, and there are now three exceptional places to eat in Gavalochory. You can see a lot more about us on Facebook if you search for 'Saint Basil Olive Grove: Villa Holidays in Crete' and please fee free to post any appropriate holiday photos on our page!
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
John G
Fleet, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
64 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
“Each year it gets better and better”
Reviewed September 16, 2017 for a stay in September 2017

Villa Angelos is now our favourite of the villas in this delightful, private, peaceful and scenic location. The owners and their local team ensure that the villas are clean and well maintained, and every year there's evidence of their commitment to maintaining high standards and making improvements.

This year it was foam mattress toppers, a new fridge and a flat screen TV. Last year it was modifications to make a very good pool into an excellent one.

Just over 2km from the sea, and close to the charming village of Gavolochori, the villas at St Basil Olive Grove are an ideal base for enjoying and exploring NW Crete.

The villas have been sensibly designed to suit the needs of holiday makers, and for Brits, the facility of having UK style plumbing is a major plus.

Fans and air con ensure comfort; we've found that the inevitable evening breeze lowers the temperatures to a very pleasant 19 -21, so night times are not impossible. the balconies outside each of the upstairs bedrooms ensure that sun worshippers can follow the sun, and those who prefer the shade can nevertheless sit outdoors.

Family friendly, the villas are furnished and equipped sensibly and practically, (Unlike the French gite where grandmere's prize possessions were still all about us!)

There's a good relationship with the local AutoClub car rentals which is another plus.

And it's possible to stay for a fortnight and eat out at a different restaurant or tavern every night, and be delighted at the choice and standard of the food.

Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Oct 16, 2017
Many thanks for your lovely review. Hopefully you will come again next year to see the next round of improvements, We will be adding a waterproof covering to the pergola over the main patio so you will be able to sit outside, should you get an occasional rainshower.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
shirlsast...
manchester
Level 5 Contributor
13 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
“Villa Angelos”
Reviewed July 29, 2017 for a stay in July 2017

Just returned from the fantastic Villa Angelos in Almyrida. All we can say is it is Home from home providing all amenities. There is a great pool with spacious surrounding area. A 20-25 minutes stroll to Almyrida. Lots of lovely restaurants on sea front. Few cafes where can get lunch. There is also 10-15 mins walk to village Gavalochori where you will find handful tavernas serving great food. There is also a bakery and small supermarket in Gavalochori. Taxi available back to villa from Almyrida is between 6-8 euros so no point in walking back home.

Almyrida is lovely with plenty of places to eat & drink and few shops. There is a bus to Chania which takes around 20 mins costing 6 euros return.

Can't fault villa and would recommend to anyone.

Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Oct 16, 2017
Thanks for your reply! We think our little corner of paradise is the ideal place for family holidays with all the ingredients you need for the perfect holiday: a great pool, comfortable accommodation, high quality tavernas nearby .... plus those fantastic views from every balcolny!
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Peter D
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Great for groups”
Reviewed June 26, 2017 for a stay in June 2017

We previously stayed at the neighbouring Villa Helios as a couple in September/October 2014. We enjoyed ourselves so much that this time we brought six friends to stay at Angelos next door. The views from the upper rooms of the mountains are spectacular. The villa is situated between the sea and the village of Gavalachori which is picturesque and has at least two great restaurants we have eaten in. The swimming pool at Angelos has been refurbished and is very inviting. The villa is simple but comfortable and offers extremely good value. Look forward to returning to Crete and Gavalachori!

Your age range 25-34
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Oct 16, 2017
Thanks for your lovely review! Yes indeed, our villas are ideal for groups. After several family holidays in Spain, all with slightly disappointing accommodation, when we took the opportunity to build our own villas in Crete we designed them with families in mind. Many people have built their villas and then decided to rent them as an afterthought, which means they have their dining room and kitchen upstairs, with bedrooms downstairs (the Greek way). This is not ideal if you are a mother coming downstairs while balancing a tray of food on one hand and a toddler in the other. Our kitchens are all on the ground floor, with an open plan dining area which overlooks the pool so parents can keep an eye on their children even while preparing food in the kitchen. And we are the only villas in the area that we know of where the pools have been designed right from the start to have gates around them.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sheila B
Lutterworth, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Lovely place”
Reviewed May 31, 2017 for a stay in May 2017

This was our second stay at this lovely villa. It's in a beautiful setting, quiet and private, but very close to amenities at the beach resort of Almirida and the lovely old inland village of Gavalachori. The owners respond well to comments and suggestions, the place is kept very clean, the pool is super and all in all we had a relaxing and comfortable stay. Would definitely book again, prices are reasonable, (we took advantage of an offer), and the plumbing is British!!

Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Jun 6, 2017
Many thanks for your review. We are continually aiming to make improvements as and when they become possible - for example this year all beds have 2-inch thick memory foam mattress toppers, and the TV is a new 28-inch Smart Samsung. We are also glad you like the pool, it is in a lovely position and the new walk down steps are very sociable for sitting on the edge with a glass of wine at sunset!
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SFD5
London, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
17 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“A perfect place to stay”
Reviewed December 5, 2016 for a stay in June 2016
1
person found this review helpful

This villa was exactly as described but descriptions do not do full justice to the wonderful peace and quiet. The villa is very well equipped for self catering with a brilliant supply of kitchen equipment - the first place we have rented with sharp knives! We were given very accurate directions which were immensely helpful when finding the villa. The villa is near good beaches and particularly near Almirida with a range of restaurants and bars. Do not muss the Pear Tree which offers avery good range of fresh foods. Almirida is quite accessible but moving around is best with a car. There was enough shade for when it was very hot however a private pool with a shaded terrace was such a bonus.
We had a wonderful holiday at Villa Angelos and look forward to returning.

Traveling group: Spouse/Partner
Your age range 65+
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Dec 6, 2016
Many thanks for your review. We know that little things like sharp knives are important to our guests so we try to take care of the details as well as the bigger things such as the fabulous new pool we have just had built at Angelos. Every year, we continually make improvements - the TV, for example, is being upgraded to a much bigger LCD for 2017 season. Hope to welcome you back again soon!
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GlobeTrot...
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Superb villa in fantastic scenic location”
Reviewed October 31, 2016 for a stay in October 2016
1
person found this review helpful

My wife and i have just returned from a superb 2 weeks holiday at Villa Angelos, the villa was just as described and looked in all the adverts,internally very clean and comfortable and the external dining/relaxing areas very good,the pool was superb both in size and quality.The region of Almaryda and Gavalachory and indeed western Crete in general was stunning with spectacular scenery,small coastal resorts/fishing villages and quaint little mountain/hillside villages,it is really worthwhile hiring a car and exploring the region,we found in general road signs were very good,some of the mountain roads were incredibly spectacular allthough my wife was glad to get back to sea level on one or two occasions.Our evenings were spent eating in and drinking in Gavalachory,Almaryda and Plaka all having good Tavernas with friendly hospitable host and very good house wines.. We walked into Gavalachory 3 or 4 times,it was only 15/20 minutes but we were definately glad we took the owners advice and invested in a very good pocket torch for the journey back.We did the approx 30 minute walk down into Almaryda several times but as taxis were fairly reasonable did not attempt the walk back up the hill. Plaka was a little further afield so we cut back a little on the very good house wine and made the short drive.I must mention for lovers of the great British breakfast the very fortunate find of a fantastic English butchers(Jons) in nearby Vamos,who sold some of the best bacon and sausages etc that i have eaten in years.
This was our first visit to Crete and we are so glad that we chose this Villa and Area we will certainly return.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Everything very good..
Liked least: If being picky the TV but i understand it is being replaced very soon.
Traveling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Families with young children
Large groups
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Nov 1, 2016
Manythanks for your detailed review and we hope to welcome you back soon!
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a vacation rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from inquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travelers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travelers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing