We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Lovely place”
other traveler has booked this property
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Inquiry
Excellent
14 reviews
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Inquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Villa -
2 Bedrooms, 2 Bathrooms, Sleeps 8
Almyrida, Chania Prefecture, Crete

Reviews from our community

Excellent - based on 14 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
English first
Any
English first
Sheila B
Lutterworth, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Lovely place”
Reviewed May 31, 2017 for a stay in May 2017

This was our second stay at this lovely villa. It's in a beautiful setting, quiet and private, but very close to amenities at the beach resort of Almirida and the lovely old inland village of Gavalachori. The owners respond well to comments and suggestions, the place is kept very clean, the pool is super and all in all we had a relaxing and comfortable stay. Would definitely book again, prices are reasonable, (we took advantage of an offer), and the plumbing is British!!

Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Jun 6, 2017
Many thanks for your review. We are continually aiming to make improvements as and when they become possible - for example this year all beds have 2-inch thick memory foam mattress toppers, and the TV is a new 28-inch Smart Samsung. We are also glad you like the pool, it is in a lovely position and the new walk down steps are very sociable for sitting on the edge with a glass of wine at sunset!
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SFD5
London, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
17 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“A perfect place to stay”
Reviewed December 5, 2016 for a stay in June 2016
1
person found this review helpful

This villa was exactly as described but descriptions do not do full justice to the wonderful peace and quiet. The villa is very well equipped for self catering with a brilliant supply of kitchen equipment - the first place we have rented with sharp knives! We were given very accurate directions which were immensely helpful when finding the villa. The villa is near good beaches and particularly near Almirida with a range of restaurants and bars. Do not muss the Pear Tree which offers avery good range of fresh foods. Almirida is quite accessible but moving around is best with a car. There was enough shade for when it was very hot however a private pool with a shaded terrace was such a bonus.
We had a wonderful holiday at Villa Angelos and look forward to returning.

Traveling group: Spouse/Partner
Your age range 65+
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Dec 6, 2016
Many thanks for your review. We know that little things like sharp knives are important to our guests so we try to take care of the details as well as the bigger things such as the fabulous new pool we have just had built at Angelos. Every year, we continually make improvements - the TV, for example, is being upgraded to a much bigger LCD for 2017 season. Hope to welcome you back again soon!
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
A TripAdvisor Member
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Superb villa in fantastic scenic location”
Reviewed October 31, 2016 for a stay in October 2016
1
person found this review helpful

My wife and i have just returned from a superb 2 weeks holiday at Villa Angelos, the villa was just as described and looked in all the adverts,internally very clean and comfortable and the external dining/relaxing areas very good,the pool was superb both in size and quality.The region of Almaryda and Gavalachory and indeed western Crete in general was stunning with spectacular scenery,small coastal resorts/fishing villages and quaint little mountain/hillside villages,it is really worthwhile hiring a car and exploring the region,we found in general road signs were very good,some of the mountain roads were incredibly spectacular allthough my wife was glad to get back to sea level on one or two occasions.Our evenings were spent eating in and drinking in Gavalachory,Almaryda and Plaka all having good Tavernas with friendly hospitable host and very good house wines.. We walked into Gavalachory 3 or 4 times,it was only 15/20 minutes but we were definately glad we took the owners advice and invested in a very good pocket torch for the journey back.We did the approx 30 minute walk down into Almaryda several times but as taxis were fairly reasonable did not attempt the walk back up the hill. Plaka was a little further afield so we cut back a little on the very good house wine and made the short drive.I must mention for lovers of the great British breakfast the very fortunate find of a fantastic English butchers(Jons) in nearby Vamos,who sold some of the best bacon and sausages etc that i have eaten in years.
This was our first visit to Crete and we are so glad that we chose this Villa and Area we will certainly return.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Everything very good..
Liked least: If being picky the TV but i understand it is being replaced very soon.
Traveling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Families with young children
Large groups
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Nov 1, 2016
Manythanks for your detailed review and we hope to welcome you back soon!
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
John G
Fleet, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
57 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
“Lovely villa in the Cretan countryside just a short distance from the sea”
Reviewed September 16, 2016 for a stay in September 2016
1
person found this review helpful

This was our fourth stay at one of the villas in St Basil's Olive Grove and it was a delight, as always. Villa Angelos was clean and comfortable and we made full use of the beautiful private pool. This villa, like all the others, enjoys lovely views and a good deal of privacy.The local managers are efficient and friendly. Nothing is too much trouble. The nearby village of Gavalachori is charming and the seaside village of Almyrida has a good range of tavernas, shops and seaside activities.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Beautiful Location and lovely private pool.
Traveling group: Extended Family
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children Large groups
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Sep 28, 2016
We are delighted to have a large number of returning guests. Their reviews are especially important as we do our best to maintain the quality and service of our villas
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
whitem146
Sutton, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Lovely secluded villa”
Reviewed June 21, 2016 for a stay in June 2016
1
person found this review helpful

This is a lovely villa with a private pool. It is close to amenities and is easy to find although take a torch if you are walking at night as there are no street lights!

The villa is well presented and the photos do not do it justice - it is really lovely and spacious. All the facilities were excellent - we did not use the cooker or BBQ as we decided to eat out each night but everything was clean and tidy.

If you are looking for a lively holiday then this isn't for you but for a quiet private holiday with great views of the mountains and the noise of crickets, birds and goats then I cannot recommend this villa highly enough.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: secluded
Liked least: hard beds
Traveling group: Spouse/Partner
Your age range 50-64
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children Large groups
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Jun 22, 2016
The villas are in a very quiet and peaceful location but only 1km from the nearest village and 2km from the beach where there are some fantastic bars and restaurants. We think it offers the best of both worlds. Peaceful but not remote.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 3, 2015 for a stay in July 2015
2
people found this review helpful

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Proximity to Almyrida and Gavalochori (walking distance to tavernas)
Traveling group: Young Children
Your age range 35-49
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveler and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Management Response
Aug 3, 2015
This review really highlights some of the key aspects of the holiday experience that the villa and the local area offers. Our local staff are able to offer great advice on other places to visit and restaurants to try out. There are some great ones up in the mountains which offer wonderful views as well as great food.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Aquarius1...
Essex
Level 4 Contributor
34 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
“Best of both worlds - Peace and tranquility and only a short drive to Almyrida”
Reviewed June 30, 2015 for a stay in June 2015
1
person found this review helpful

This is the second year we have booked with John and again he was very efficient and helpful. We loved the location for its peace and quiet and privacy but found that the '10 minute walk' to get bread was far more arduous than we had anticipated. The road undulates very steeply and in the heat is not for the feint hearted! We also walked back from Almyrida one evening very late and it was still too hot for us. Tip: if you are going to walk at night, take a torch as it is very dark. The villa is very spacious and the patio doors lead straight out onto the large shady terrace which even has comfy chairs. The pool is lovely and warm as it is in the sun all day and the lilos were a welcome bonus. There are wonderful views in all directions from the villa which you could never tire of. One little niggle - the kitchen is quite small as it is separated from the lounge by a worktop which makes it difficult for more than one person to be in there at once. All in all would recommend this villa to those who like their own space; we would certainly return.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The privacy and peace and quiet
Liked least: The undulating trek in the heat from both Almyrida and Gavalohori. The small kitchen.
Traveling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Older travelers Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Jul 1, 2015
The walk to the nearest village is about 15 to 20 mins and it is quite hilly in parts. We hope that the beautiful scenery on the way makes it worth it and the walk back is a great way to work off an evening meal! There is a very good local taxi service as an option. We designed the inside space of the villa to include a well equipped kitchen as well as space to relax and eat when our guests want a break from the sunshine.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a vacation rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from inquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travelers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travelers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing