We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (131)
Filter reviews
131 results
Traveler rating
29
63
32
5
2
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
29
63
32
5
2
Show reviews that mention
All reviews pool bar pirate boat up hill nice facilities euros per person the hotel reception nice hotel lifeguard on duty on arrival swedish tennis mildly beaches village fridge crete sunbeds
Filter
Updating list...
3 - 8 of 131 reviews
Reviewed May 15, 2018

Everything is quite nice, but not perfect in any way. The food is "OK", staff is not to attentive, but "OK". You can have a quite nice holiday at this resort, but nothing that you will remember too long.

Stayed: June 2017
1  Thank Cecilia H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hege Julianne N, Direktør at Langley Resort Almirida Bay, responded to this reviewResponded August 6, 2018

Dear Cecilia,

Thank you for taking the time to review us on Tripadvisor.
We always want to improve so if you have any more spesific details we are happy to take them into consideration.
Have a good evening.

Best regards
Hege Julianne Nevestad
Hotel Manager
Langley Resort Almirida Bay

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 19, 2017

I stayed 3 nights recently as I was attending a wedding nearby and this was the only choice available. i was pleasantly surprised as the hotel is quite nice and the room was comfortable enough, with good AC in the room.
I didn't use much the facilities but the pool seems nice and not that busy.
Overall a great choice for the price! If you want a 5 star experience, go somewhere else, but for mid-range, this is a great choice. Clean, close to the beach, nice facilities and great service. I am definitely recommend this place!

  • Stayed: August 2017, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank Pablost
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 16, 2017 via mobile

Very basic hotel with no frills. Rooms very modest and that's if you get a remodeled one The rooms that haven't been remodeled look like a hostel. If you have a room far from reception area be prepared to walk up many steps to get to your room and there is no one to help so if you have heavy bags good luck! I asked for extra towels one morning since they give you the cheapest bare minimum and you would've thought I asked for gold
The food could use some improvement as well. This is one hotel I will not be returning to

Stayed: September 2017, traveled with family
Thank tep122017
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 3, 2017

In this review I will also give details of not just the hotel but the resort of Almirida too. If like me you're choosing this hotel for a summer holiday destination, The resort is as important as the hotel.

Firstly the hotel is aimed at Swedish and Scandinavian travellers mainly with young children,That in itself is a good thing because everyone is very polite, Children are well behaved and always supervised by their parents. This means the hotel is very laid back and peaceful, unlike similar hotels that attracted a certain type of British traveller that I always seek to avoid!

Most of the staff are from Scandinavian and all speak English and were very accommodating of their English guests. I was travelling as a single parent with my 13yo old daughter and on arrival (late at night) was allocated a room with a double bed but was immediately changed to a room with two single beds when I went to reception and asked to be moved.

The room itself is a little basic (as expected with a 3 star hotel), However the beds were extremely comfortable, the air conditioning 'Ice' cold and the shower always gave immediate hot water. Infact the bathroom was very nice and the shower also had body jets and a secondary shower head. I suspect the rooms and bathroom had been recently updated as it was in very good decorative order and even looked liked the ceiling had speakers inbuilt for a future upgrade of audio and TV.

Sadly the room's TV hadn't been upgraded and looked liked a 15 year old portable! It gave a snowy picture and had just 3 or 4 channels. But when its 35c outside, with brilliant sunshine and a huge pool, we didn't come here to sit in and watch TV.

The room could have done with a little more storage space - for example one large cupboard didn't have any shelves inside. But the room did have a virtually new full sized fridge for keeping drinks cool. Sadly there where no tea / coffee making facilities and us 'Brits' do miss our morning Cuppas!

Our room was fortunate to be south facing which meant it was sunny all day on the balcony and we had a great view of the pool and looking down onto the village of Almirida and the bay. However our balcony was completely covered by the balcony above meaning it not ideal for Sunbathing, but perfect for an evening drink before dinner.

A lot has been written about the pool. Its the hotel's main feature and it is huge. It features lots of different depths making it suitable for all ages abilities and it has a young kids sectioned area too. The pool also has a lifeguard on duty daily from 10am-6pm which makes you feel quite safe when you have kids.

I travelled the last week of July (2nd week of British School Holidays) so peak season and there was never a problem getting a sunbed around the pool, even when returning late afternoon from the beach.

The hotel also offers a full range of daily activities (extra charges for the excursions). The one trip we wanted to do was the Pirate Boat trip. Its weekly on a Wednesday, but needs booking the day before...So don't arrive late on a Tuesday flight, like we did if you want to do this trip. Particularly as it leaves at 8.30am. At 46 euros there are cheaper options of this trip in the town, but they won't pick you up from the hotel!

A daily kids club for 3-12yo is also available with a full range of activities. I don't know what the charges are because my 13yo thought she was now 'too big' to go.

So, so far everything good, then why only the three star rating?! Well the hotel does have some limitations (so which are not all admittedly its own fault), which limit its appeal.

Firstly it is located quite remotely just out of the village, up a steep hill. Our transfer driver from the airport got lost and couldn't find it. Once he had, the bus struggled to get up the steep part of the hill.

The elevated position gives wonderful views over the Bay but doesn't make it a good option for people with mobility issues. The walk to the town and beach is almost 1km and coming back is all uphill. In 35c+ of heat, it isn't for everyone. Personally I think you'd be better off ditching the private transfers from the airport and hiring a car for the duration. parking is free and travelling down to the beach there was always free parking spaces nearby.

The hotel is built on a series of terraces, meaning there are steps everywhere. From the hotel reception to our room there where 40+ steps and that doesn't include the 20 or so leading upto the reception - So pack your cases light. The hotel is so relaxed anyway you don't need anything other than, shorts. t-shirt, swimmers, flip flops and your sunglasses.

The hotel has very limited 'dining' options. Just one restaurant serving lunch from 12.30 to 2.30pm with just a couple of options (which did change daily). It was usually good value at 9 euros for the special, but you'd be lucky in a larger party to find something on the same day that everyone wanted.

Dinner was limited too and only served up until 9pm. We preferred to eat later as most days were not returning to the room until around 7pm (after a day at the beach and late afternoon by the pool). A lot of the buffet options where placed outside from 6pm and consequently in 35c of heat, I didn't fancy eating it later in the evening, so our only option was to eat in the village. All the hotel seating was outside too and that isn't always where you want to be when eating, particularly as one of the major problems this hotel has is - Crickets, the noise will drive you crazy. It isn't just a little bit noisy - its constant, all day and at its height they sound like somebody is "strangling a cat".

I noticed for dinner the hotel did a wine 'recommendation' offer. I don't drink, but 39 euro's for the recommended bottle of wine (even with taking into account a rubbish Sterling to Euro exchange rate) seems very expensive to me.

Breakfast was 10 euros but charged an extra 3 euros for a frappe which then at 13 euros per person started to make breakfast seem expensive. Continental breakfast was available in the village for around 5 euros.

The hotel also only has one bar - the outside pool bar, with limited relaxed seating and no ambience, therefore nobody really used it in the evening, expect maybe for a coffee on the way down into the village in an evening. Again probably because of the noise of the crickets.

The other 'insect' issue here is, unfortunately Mosquito's. You can't see them, but they're there and you will get 'bitten' if sitting by the pool! So make sure you take insect repellent. You can buy it in the village, make sure its the first job you do when getting there - or take it with you.

The village of Almarida is quite small. It has a nice shallow bay. One side is very sandy and free sun loungers are available if you buy your drinks and take lunch at the bars that own them. Lunch for two and a few coffee's and soft drinks during the day was usually around 40 euros and we got to sit on comfy sun loungers at the edge of the crystal clear waters!

The bay is patrolled by a lifeguard but a word of caution about this bay. For the most part its very shallow and you can walk across from one side to the other in waist high water. During calm days its a super safe bay. But this bay can get very very windy and it whips up the waves quickly and it becomes quite rough. My daughter and I are strong swimmers, but I did feel 'rip currents' when it was rough and we witnessed one girl pulled from the water by a lifeguard when it became rough and she got into difficulty by the rocks where the water was deeper. Infact on the windy days (and we had a couple) I went to other beaches in Plaka and Kalives. I can't stress enough it did become very very windy and chilly sat in it.

Eating out in the village was generally a nice experience, sitting overlooking the bay by the waters edge. A main course and a couple of soft drinks with a coffee was around 35 euros. I don't drink alcohol but if you drink It wouldn't cost much more as a large beer bizarrely was the same price as a coffee.

There is no 'nightlife' as such. A couple of bars that play music til quite late, but they're not clubs and don't get busy. If you after nightlife - Stay somewhere else, you won't find any here.

After a couple of days of walking around they same type of shops selling the same 'souvenirs' you'll be bored and want to go somewhere else. Plaka the next village is walkable as its only 2km away. There is a taxi firm in the centre of the village to take you further afield like Kalives about 5km away. I found the taxi's expensive and reckon if I had not paid for airport transfers and not paid for taxi's the total cost would have paid for car hire at the airport.

Hiring car's in Almarida itself is expensive. Around 60 euros a day for a Fiat Panda, with little discount for longer hire periods. So book before you go.

If you have already booked or considering booking, You'll have a great time. This is a good hotel and its comfortable and very clean. The resort centre is also relaxed and quiet. The one thing that will enhance you stay is car hire, I can't stress that enough but do it before you go.

We stayed in room 507. If you're after a twin room with single beds, I can recommend this room. its quite large and comfortable having recently been refurbished. It is at the highest part of the hotel, but if you've hired a car, you can drive around upto the block and save walking the 40 plus steps from reception.

The one really negative aspect to the hotel is its wifi. Its nothing short of terrible. Its so bad, its unusable . So don't think about streaming music or movies - You will not be able to do it. Make sure you have a data plan on you phone before you travel - 3g was quite okay (no 4g available) although not good enough for streaming services.

  • Stayed: July 2017, traveled with family
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank MaxFatta
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 28, 2016

Very relaxed place, a lot families with children. Hotel staff were quite hospital and atmosphere was nice. Rooms where nice and cozy. Only place were the staff don't get high marks is the reception, they were generally mildly unfriendly.

Did the work needed without any real problems but no reason for me to visit again.

  • Stayed: July 2016, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Thank Eetu N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews