We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Stunning view from rooftop but a case of style over substance”
Review of Almyrida Residence

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Almyrida Residence
Ranked #2 of 7 Hotels in Almyrida
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed October 13, 2013

We were kept waiting over 20 minutes in reception as the manager was "too busy" to decide if there was a room available for us. We were asked at least 6 times if we would prefer the rather downmarket sister hotel across the road. We were eventually granted a room with a mountain view... It actually was overlooking an ugly concrete underpass. The room seemed ok apart from the view but the soundproofing was truly appalling. It felt as though the occupants next door were actually in our bathroom rather than their own. We were above the restaurant so the noise from breakfast service wakened us around 06:45. The wifi was also poor with a different login/password required for each device. We were also constantly interrupted following our arrival, firstly by a maintenance guy who spent some time in the bathroom but didn't repair either the toilet roll holder or the shower rail which were hanging off the wall. The we received a call saying that the previous residents would need access as they had left their passports in the room safe- they never arrived which was strange but stopped us from relaxing.

Room Tip: Don't accept a mountain view room, it's a car park & underpass view
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Jimpw
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (245)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

148 - 154 of 245 reviews

Reviewed October 13, 2013

We spent a week in September at this lovely hotel and were sad to leave.

The entire staff was amazing!
Very friendly and helpful service, attentive and professional, with a relaxed feeling. My elderly in-law-parents stayed with us, and the whole staff did everything to make our stay a memorable one.

My husband said that at some level of the organization, there must be a real “leadership guru”, as the staff was really doing its best at all times, and genuinely seemed to enjoy doing that.

Rooms were nice and comfy and spotlessly clean. We had a bathtub, but there are also some rooms with walk-in-shower. There was a small fridge in the room, which was a big bonus.

Breakfast was always one of the highlights of our day. We enjoyed having our delicious breakfast at the roof top terrace watching the lovely scenery. A great way to start one´s day!

There are two swimming pools at the hotel, one at the roof-top terrace and one at the ground floor, never a problem of finding a free sunbed.

In the evenings, the Roof Garden restaurant “Thea” serves a la carte dinner, we ate there in three evenings during our stay. The food was delicious every time, international cuisine with a Cretan touch.
If you want to taste food cooked the way “Cretan mama” would do, go to restaurant Alisahni at the beach street. Alisahni is a family restaurant with very tasty Cretan food with a friendly service.

Overall, I can only praise Almyridas Residence. We want to thank the whole staff for giving us a wonderful holiday experience. We will be back!

  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Pirjo_Jari
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 25, 2013

This is a very small resort with not much to do so ideal if you want peace and quiet. The Residence is very modern but the sister hotel next door The Beach has a lot more homely feel to it which we preferred. The staff are very friendly and will go out of their way to help you. The swimming pools are all very nice our favourite being at the Beach plus we never had a problem getting a sunbed. As there was only entertainment on three nights of our holiday we were at a loss as what to do at night after dinner so went to Captain Jacks just round the corner to have a drink. Prices were reasonable but not many people about. After reading several reviews about how fantastic the food was We were somewhat disappointed and it was only Luke warm most of the time. Taking water to the swimming pool area or to dinner was not allowed and you have to buy it at the hotel and pay their prices. We thought this was unfair and water should be provided at dinner. Several guests were told to stop drinking their own water and we watched amused as guests hid it under their tables. If you want a meal that is hot go to the Roof Garden and pay. The balcony does not give you any privacy as the sides are glass.The housekeepers are fantastic and do a great job in your room with fresh towels and good quality bed linen. The comfort of the bed was the best I have had, even better than my own!. If you want a lively holiday this won't be the place for you.

Room Tip: Book a room with a walk in shower as standard rooms only have a shower over the bath with a horrible...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank JohannaSuffolk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 21, 2013

When we arrived at the Residence we discovered they had somehow overbooked and we were asked to stay the first 4 nights in one of their other hotels (Almyrida Studios which are apartments at the other end of the bay). It was a bit disappointing that we only had the last 3 nights of our holiday in the Residence. However, the staff looked after us very well and gave us probably the best room in the hotel with a sea view and two balconies. Throughout our stay we had breakfast at the rooftop restaurant with stunning views and a fabulous infinity pool (adults only). Just a few yards away is the beach and the sister hotel, Almyrida Beach with its own Windmill pool and bar which we also visited. We also sampled the buffet meals which were very good. The town of Almyrida itself is only small and quiet but plenty of tavernas and bars. Everyone we met was very friendly and we will definitely go back.

  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank GillB56
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 18, 2013

Mid September 2013 : just back from an excellent stay at the residence. very relaxing brek. the staff is absolutely fantastic, apart from the very lovely beach just a few metres away, we spent quite some time on the roof garden of the hotel for very good meals in a nice atmosphere. Also enjoyed a lovely musical ( and dancing) evening.
I certainly recommend the almiryda residence hotel.

  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank 46michele
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 29, 2013

After deciding we would go to Crete I used Trip Advisor to find a hotel. There are so many and the feedback on the Almyrida Residence came across very consistently that this is a great hotel - not too big or small with good food and facilities.

We were delighted with the hotel. The manager, Fofi, was very helpful and responsive on email when we had questions before we went. Our rental car broke down on the way and they sent a cab to pick us up, helped us with luggage and throughout our stay the quality of guest service was excellent.

It is situated next to it's sister hotel Almyrida Beach and they are right in the middle of this very small, charming beach town. The Residence seems like a nicer hotel than the beach as it is more modern. There are three pools across the hotels, breakfast buffet on the terrace is great, the dinner buffet was quite extensive and when our kids didn't want the flavoured pasta they made plain pasta for us. There was a pool table and bowling. It is two steps from the beach. We ate at beach cafes for lunch and there is a good choice although not too many.

We stayed in a mezzanine room wtih our kids which had loads of space and was very comfortable.

The beach is a small bay, clear water, very shallow, great for families. We took a boat ride and did some good swimming, It was a shame to leave.

We would highly recommend this hotel and the beach town.

Room Tip: If you are going as a family ask for a Mezzanine room with sea view. They have some entertainment a...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Michelle E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 27, 2013 via mobile

The hotel staff work so hard here. This is one of the most amazing hotels amongst the Greek islands.
The beach is on the door step. It has an adult infinity roof top pool with a delightful quaint spa with professional staff. The hotel is split between the beach hotel and the residence. We stayed in the residence side. The windmill side is really for the kids but looked good too!

The rooftop area in our hotel has a lovely restaurant too. It also has a new professional bowling alley!! The upgraded room we had was a junior sweet with two balconies and with a huge bed. We recommend the spa as the masseuse here is a trained physio therapist. She sorted out my football injuries. The local restaurant are all a few steps away with sea views over the waters edge. The local gyros are amazing and all the locals here get on and are so polite. We recommend a trip into Harnia to experience the markets and the old town. Enjoy! You won't regret it! We're coming back!

  • Stayed: August 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Trevis58
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Almyrida
0 mi away
Almyrida Beach Hotel
Almyrida Beach Hotel
#1 of 7 in Almyrida
488 reviews
1.5 mi away
Kalyves Beach Hotel
Kalyves Beach Hotel
#2 of 6 in Kalyves
692 reviews
0.1 mi away
Niriides Hotel Apts Studios
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
9.3 mi away
Royal Sun Hotel
Royal Sun Hotel
#8 of 111 in Chania Town
682 reviews
16.7 mi away
Oscar Suites & Village
Oscar Suites & Village
#3 of 31 in Agia Marina
436 reviews
2.8 mi away
Kiani Beach Resort Family All Inclusive
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Almyrida Residence? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Almyrida Residence

Address: Epar. Od. Kalivon-Kefalas, Almyrida, Crete 73008, Greece
Location: Greece > Crete > Chania Prefecture > Almyrida
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 7 Hotels in Almyrida
Price Range: $82 - $200 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Almyrida Residence 4*
Number of rooms: 44
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
In Almyrida Residence Hotel, we pride ourselves in being able to cater to your every need. As our guest, you will have access to an array of facilities that will complement your visit. Starting your day with a rich breakfast, your next decision is to choose one of the activities the area has to offer. Sunbathing, reading a book, hiking and cooking are just a small idea of what we can offer. A Professional 4 lane bowling alley is waiting for you in the Almyrida Residence, to add an extra touch of competition and fun. The guests of the Almyrida Residence have access to 4 swimming pools, one of which is located in the roof garden of the hotel, on the 3rd floor, offering amazing views, and great cocktails. On the Roof Garden, you'll also find Thea Restaurant, with panoramic views of Souda Bay and the Lefka Ori (mountain range). Indulge in the joys of Cretan and European gourmet cuisine and accompany your meal with a bottle of wine from our excellent wine list. The Roof Garden pool bar serves exotic cocktails made to order by our friendly and accommodating staff. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline and TripOnline SA so you can book your Almyrida Residence reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Almyrida Residence Crete

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing