We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“just amazing”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
SK Place Crete Luxury Seafront Villas
Zurich, Switzerland
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“just amazing”
Reviewed May 30, 2011

we stayed in villa ammos (1 of 3 villas) for 3 weeks. we enjoyed the breathtaking sea-view over the bay of almyrida and many marvellous sunsets. the villa's interior design is cosy and at the same time modern. there's a fully equiped kitchen, 3 bedrooms and 3 bathrooms and a minigym – very comfortable and quite luxury. you can find the sauna and the steam bath for 1 person at the ground floor. the pool is quite big and allows a stunning view over the sea and the snowy mountains. housekeeping and owners are very courteous and friendly. almyrida offers some nice mini markets, a sporting center for surfers, tavernas, car rental and a pharmacy. the two beaches are quite small but nice. if one would like to have a larger selection of food, he has to visit chania, about 20 minutes by car. for trips of all kind almyrida is well situated. the sk place is suitable for quiet stays as well as for partying groups. we enjoyed our stay very much and would like to return one day.

Stayed May 2011, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank fabienneammos
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

93 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    90
    3
    0
    0
    0
See reviews for
59
14
Solo
0
2
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (8)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Ponte Vedra Beach, Florida
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed February 15, 2011

We stayed at the Almyra Residence for seven nights in September 2010. It is located on a beautiful hill overlooking the Aegean Sea.

Our party consisted of us (the parents) and our two grown children and their spouses. The villa had three bedrooms and three bathrooms. The beds and pillows were super comfortable. All three bathrooms were equipped with the luxuries you would expect at a 5-star resort: jetted tubs, high-end bath soaps and shower essentials, and luxurious bath towels.

There was maid service six days a week, as well as pool service twice a week. It was a special treat to have a break truck arrive at our villa every morning around 10:00 with all kinds of fresh breads, croissants, and rolls. This went with the homemade orange marmalade made by the owner and waiting for us in the refrigerator upon our arrival.

We loved the architectural design of the villa – it was modern with an open floor plan and had floor-to-ceiling sliding glass doors facing out toward the sea. When they were opened up, you felt like you were outside when you were in the living room. We had our own pool and a covered pergola with sofas for us to enjoy a novel or nap. Every detail was thought of – beautiful lighting both inside and out, indoor and outdoor dining tables, and a gate with a code at the entrance to the villas to make us feel safe.

The owner, Katerina, was very helpful and helped us with day excursions including a day trip to Knossos, an evening in Chania, and everyone’s favorite – a boat trip on the south shore of Krete. She also arranged our car rental and got a much better rate than we were able to get from the U.S.

There is no way to adequately describe how perfect this villa was. The village of Almyrida was small enough to feel safe for exploring and running. In the sea in front of the villa, there was a cave to explore and cliffs to jump off of. Every view every hour of the day was a feast for the eyes. Clear blue water, many places inside and outside to enjoy, and the sunsets were exquisite. Just writing this makes us long to go back and visit.

If you are looking for a little piece of paradise, you will find it at SK Villas.

  • Stayed September 2010, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank TravelHopJ
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chicago, Illinois
1 review
Reviewed December 19, 2010

Our family was looking for a nice get away for a week by the sea not spending an arm and a leg... WOW did we find it!
New lovely 3 bedroom villa with a killer view. 5 minute walk to the beach and just a couple more minutes to the quiet charming village nearby. Great location to other towns and sites - lots to see and do on the Island. We LOVED our time here! Would definitely recommend this beautiful little villa especially to those with kids!

  • Stayed December 2010, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ButcherAdventures
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
Reviewed October 19, 2010

My wife and 2 children visited the gorgeous Villa Ammos 2 weeks ago. Having seen the pictures it looked perfect but would the reality notch up to it. You bet! Breathtaking views of the sea over the pool with the mountains to the left framing it beautifully. Katerina really has put such love and thought into these villas I really couldn't fault it. We arrived late but within minutes she had called a local taverna to deliver us a delicious dinner. Our children loved the pool and the sea ( only 5 minutes away) and we could tell how happy they were. We hope to return next May as we really fell in love with SK Place. Thanks again Katerina for a truly wonderful week at your beautiful villa. x

  • Stayed October 2010
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Matt M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Francisco
Level 5 Contributor
78 reviews
29 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 41 helpful votes
Reviewed October 17, 2010

For our vacation to Crete we searched exhaustively for that "perfect property", and we found it with SK Place. Their website does not embellish in any way, and we were suprised to find the villa actually exceeded our admittedly high expectations. The Villa is a very unique rental property in Crete...it is literally steps to a fantastic family beach and small town with numerous quality restaurants and activities. The owners were amazing, answering our questions and dealing with any requests promptly and warmly. The quality of the villa is superb, from the manicured front lawn from where we enjoyed sunsets, to the air conditioned and immaculate interior. This is a perfect location for families who want to explore Crete from a relaxing, safe and convenient base.

  • Stayed September 2010, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank AffordableComfort
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Greater Adelaide, Australia
Level 6 Contributor
128 reviews
47 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 87 helpful votes
Reviewed September 18, 2010

These three villas are within walking distance of the tavernas and shops, but you are a world away from the tourist village of Almyrida in terms of peace and luxury.

You are far away from the lines of sun lounges on the beach and adjacent sports bars when you are relaxing on your wonderful patio with glorious views of Souda Bay and beyond.

The villa Ammos is decorated on a beach theme and was immaculate ( due to the attention of the two wonderful and personable housekeepers each day). The owners seemed to have anticipated every guests needs in advance and the bedding, toiletries, towels and kitchen set up were all first class.

No, it is not cheap, but is it value for you money - yes!

  • Stayed September 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Adelaidian10001
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Saint Petersburg
Level 3 Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed August 5, 2010

We spent 3 weeks in Almyra Residence, one of three villas in SK Place in 2009. We loved every and each day spent in this place so I booked another 3 weeks in advance for this year.
Villas are located at the end of the village in quite and peaceful place. Just 5 minutes of plain walking by foot and you can reach a beach and all village facilities like restaurants, shops, etc.
The village itself is calm and lovely. Nothing antic but very suitable for relaxing vacation especially with a little children. The main attractions are two beaches, one in opposite to another.
No waves even the rare wind blows occasionally. It is hard to beat Almyrida's beaches all over Mediterranean if you are looking something to bath or swim young children any ages in open sea water. The water was warm till the end of October. There were no heat in the air late September and October as we came. Almyrida bay is inside huge Souda bay and defended against rough sea in every angle. Almyrida publics dominated by English people but there are a lot of Scandinavians as well so no problem to be understood if you are speaking English.

Chania is in the short approximately 30 min ride and the Venetian town is beautiful especially at the evening. Good place for romantic dinner, you can find fish restaurants and traditional taverns there. Nothing interesting to do a shopping there but relax and enjoy things around, you are in the Greece not in Paris or Milan. Just some touristic goods can be purchased there in unhurried manner at the evening. To tell you the true it is not so easy to drive through Chania and find a parking place in the Harbor but it worth. The best option can be use GPS I think.
Try to go a little bit inland and you will reach Vamos there you can find one of the best grilled lamb to eat right on the main square. Or just sit open air and order a Frappe that is pretty nice at this place too.
You will be provided with all necessary information about nearby areas in SK Place so don't worry and keep your practical guides at home. I am not kidding you but SK Place information is extremely useful and updated. If anything was missed you have a high speed Internet connection at villas to get information.

As for villa itself all other contributors said many good words and I can share their opinions at 100%. Villas are the first class properties so it worth every penny you consider to spend.
They are designed and owned by local Architect and I was really impressed by each details. No money was spared during construction so the result is exceeding your expectations.
Panoramic sea view is fabulous. You can take a breakfast and sunset dinner and observe 180 degrees Souda bay and mountains behind. I am travelling a lot across Europe, South America and Africa and can say that Almyrida sunsets are one of the best definitely.
If you need something during your vacation you will be assisted by Authentic Crete agency which will provide you with top-notch concierge service including but not limited by car hires, excursions and any local tips. They assisted us with our 2 days visit to Santorini.

At the resume, this place is about how to do things the best.

  • Stayed October 2009, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank depeche_critic
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Almyrida
0.4 mi away
Niriides Hotel Apts Studios
0.3 mi away
Almyrida Beach Hotel
Almyrida Beach Hotel
#1 of 7 in Almyrida
443 reviews
0.3 mi away
Almyrida Residence
Almyrida Residence
#2 of 7 in Almyrida
206 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
20.2 mi away
Caramel Grecotel Boutique Resort
1.7 mi away
Kalyves Beach Hotel
Kalyves Beach Hotel
#3 of 6 in Kalyves
559 reviews
2.9 mi away
Kiani Beach Resort
Kiani Beach Resort
#1 of 1 in Kalami
1,098 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to SK Place Crete Luxury Seafront Villas? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about SK Place Crete Luxury Seafront Villas

Property: SK Place Crete Luxury Seafront Villas
Address: Almyrida, Crete 73008, Greece
Phone Number:
Location: Greece > Crete > Chania Prefecture > Almyrida
Amenities:
Beach Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Spa Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 22 Specialty Lodging in Almyrida
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$$
Hotel Class:5 star — SK Place Crete Luxury Seafront Villas 5*
Number of rooms: 3
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
SK PLACE is a luxury development of three very spacious independent Villas overlooking the sea on the edge of the pretty fishing village of Almyrida with breathtaking views across the Aegean towards Souda Bay and magnificent panoramic views of the White Mountains. Each villa reflects a different architectural approach with either modern (Almyra), island style (Ammos) or traditional Cretan (Anemos) characteristics. The stylish interior décor combines simple elegance with subtle accents of comfort and luxury. Enjoy the most wonderful restful sleep in superior quality Swedish beds from “Dux,” relax on sumptuous sofas or dine out under the stars and have peace of mind with easy to use electronic control systems for satellite TV, music and air conditioning. The interior spaces flow seamlessly to the outdoor areas through the extensive use of glass, allowing the spectacular scenery to be embraced from inside or out. Whilst the lush colourful gardens of bougainvillea, citrus trees, laurels, jasmine and herbs diffuse their irresistible perfumes, be transported into the abyss of endless blue from your swimming pool overlooking the sea and beyond to where the horizon meets the sky. From the intimate atmosphere to the luxurious surroundings brimming with character and charm, we have thought of everything to make your stay unforgettable. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com and Priceline so you can book your SK Place Crete Luxury Seafront Villas reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
SK Place Crete Luxury Seafront Villas Almyrida

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing