We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“A great hotel .”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Almyrida Beach Hotel
Ranked #1 of 7 Hotels in Almyrida
Certificate of Excellence
Chester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
16 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“A great hotel .”
Reviewed August 27, 2013

My husband and I stayed here with our teenage son in July and we had a fantastic holiday,the hotel is well placed in a lovely traditional small village,with lovely tavernas that edge the shoreline of the pretty beach and within easy distance of Chania and Rythemon , where we explored the narrow streets of the old towns and enjoyed a frappe at the Venetian harbour.A car is recommended as the surrounding area ,especially the mountains should not be missed.
We stayed half board as it seemed cost effective,the buffet breakfast was very good and the evening meal was also good but did get a little boring , if you did stay b&b the local tavernas were fantastic and seemed to be reasonably priced as we did have lunch in the village some days.
The hotel is clean, comfortable and very friendly in a brilliant location, it is basic , but is very good value and I would highly recommend it . We would like to return in the future.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Hilary005
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

412 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    267
    117
    19
    5
    4
See reviews for
110
213
10
1
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (104)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Colyton, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed August 21, 2013

I 100% agree with all of the positive comments in recent reviews. This is one of the best and I would strongly recommend it. The hotel staff have to be the most friendly and helpful I have encountered. Almyrida itself is a great spot and has everything you would expect of a seaside village but it's not a big place. (No nightclubs - joy) Having a car helps with a longer stay and I would particularly recommend nearby Kalyves and Georgioupoli as alternative beaches for a change of scene. Well worth a trip to Rethimnon which is a fascinating place with ancient fortress, great shopping in a maze of old quaint streets and a Venetian harbour. (Take the second (easy) exit off the National Road - the first is a nightmare). Finally, Lake Kournas is amazing and you can hire a pedalo to go Turtle spotting or swim in the warm fresh water. Don't worry about the watersnakes - they are the completely harmless Dice snake though I wished I had looked that up before I met one ! There's obviously some great walking to be done around the area but not in August when it's hot hot hot. Lovely sea breeze though. All in all you cannot be disappointed with this hotel - I guarantee it.

Room Tip: During our stay we had two rooms - one with sea view and one at the back - both rooms same standard...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Graham V
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sheffield, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
26 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
Reviewed August 9, 2013

I stayed here with my girlfriend from the 23rd July - 1st August on a half board basis. It was my first time to Crete & I was never disappointed. Our flight was delayed due to storms in London so we arrived 3 hours late. We had missed the dinner sitting at the hotel when we arrived but we were told that if we came back downstairs after dropping our bags dinner would be served for us.

The hotel had set out a plate of Cretan food each for the 3 parties that had their flight delayed. That was an impressive first impression

The room was spacious on the 2nd floor with a private blacony that overlooked the Residence hotel opposite as well as the sea & white mountains. The air conditiong worked & the room was cleaned well everyday. Big thanks to the maids who got rid of all the sand I inevitably kept bringing back to the room after my time on the beach. We had a double bed which was comfortable. The room has a fridge & tv. Toiletries are supplied & the there is a safe in the room which you need to pay 15 euros per week for (reasonable I feel for peace of mind).

Breakfast is served in the Almyrida Residence which serves a fry up & continental breakfast everyday. Try the local honey & yoghurt which are sublime. The service is fanastic & all the waiters & waitresses are so friendly.

Some days we spent the day on the roof of the residence which has a beautiful pool which overlooks the bay. They have a happy hour from 5-7pm there where you can sip cocktails on the loungers (free to hotel guests) for 5 euros each.

The Residence also has a 4 lane bowling alley which is 4 euros per game for adult or 2.50 euros for children. pretty decent lanes.

Dinner was a buffet set out in the Almyrida Beach Hotel which seved Cretan food. There is a wide range of foods to choose from. As well as the Cretan food there is also some continental choices such as pasta most days.

The beach is 1 minute walk from the hotel & it is sandy if you turn left or right. You could rent a lounger for 3 euros each or you could just put your towel down on the floor as there is so much space on the beach which is probably a kilometre long.

The hotel will give you beach towels if you ask so you can save weight in your suitcase. Another tip to save weight would be to leave any books at home as the hotel as a few bookshelves which you can borrow books from for a 1 euro dontation to the local children's hospice.

The are many shops around the village which you can buy beach toys for the kids or mats to keep your towel clean on the beach. There are also other beaches you can walk to if you are willing to walk for 15 mins.

There are so many bars on the beach & all the staff are so welcoming which I felt grateful for as being the only Asian in the village for my whole stay.

There is a bus to Chania which you can take for 2.90 euros from behind the hotel, the front desk will be able to help you with that.

The staff of the hotel were fantastic. They were so welcoming & they were not let down by the qulaity of the hotel which was excellent as well.

By far the best beach holiday I have been on so far. Would highly recommend it.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
7 Thank hareends
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stamford, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed August 4, 2013

I have to say this is the first time I have written a review on here, but this hotel was so fantastic I feel the need to write one. I stayed at Almyrida Beach Hotel from the 23rd - 30th July with a friend and we are both 24.
From the moment we arrived we could tell we were going to have a fantastic time. Our flight coming out was delayed due to the storms and when we finally arrived at the hotel we had missed the evening meal, but we needed not to worry as the hotel had very kindly saved us a plate full of food each! What a brilliant welcome!
Our room was lovely, traditionally Greek. Yes it may be basic, but you don't need a high tech room. The shower I have to say was one of the best I have seen in all the times I have been visiting various different Greek Islands. The room was cleaned everyday to a high standard and we very much enjoyed having our pjs made into different shapes! Very creative!
We stayed half board and ate breakfast in the residence which was lovely. You could have traditional continental food or a pretty good take on a fry up. Evening meal was served back at the beach hotel and the food was again a very good standard. Lovely traditional Greek and Cretan food.
Our days were spent mostly at the roof top adults only pool so we could escape the children! Wow! What a roof top it is! The view across Almyrida is priceless! And we have to say a big thank-you to Manos who served us lunch and the best frappes (and gin & tonics) everyday we were there! As to the other staff, I have never been to a hotel where the staff were so helpful. Seriously you guys do an amazing job! A special thanks to Aphrodite for drawing us a map of Chania, it got us there!

Okay a bit about the area....Almyrida is a lovely small area of Crete. Everyone is ridiculously friendly. We never felt pressured to go into restaurants when we were looking at the menu and people weren't pushing you to buy things, which was lovely.
Although this a quiet area there are a handful of bars on the main road. We spent most evenings in Nikitas sipping raki cocktails by the sea and then moved over to Altantis Beach Bar for a livelier scene! The guys who run this bar are fantastic, they kept us entertained for the whole week! Special love to Alek and the two Giorges', we miss you!

The beach in Almyrida is lovely too. You just have to walk either way to find the sandy and not pebbly part. We paid 6euro for two beds and it came with a complementary bottle of iced water, which was very much appreciated! And the staff even came round and topped your glasses up with ice!

All in all this was the best holiday I have been on in years. Me and my friends are looking at coming back next year already!

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Becca14888
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Canberra
Level Contributor
19 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 42 helpful votes
Reviewed July 31, 2013

We stayed here for two nights the rooms were clean and of good size , breakfast was average but not worth paying for i believe it is better to eat else where . The staff helpful and friendly . We did not use the pools as their was too many people using them . All in all not a bad place to stay for the money .

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Johnny S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
13 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed July 30, 2013 via mobile

My wife and I stayed here for our 1st wedding anniversary and were really pleased with our choice.

The hotel is clean, modern and to a good standard. Our room included air con, fridge, tv which were all free. There is a small charge for using the safe.
We decided to go for the Bed & Breakfast option and were really pleased we did so as the resort has some fantastic Greek restaraunts to eat out in.

The hotel has a 'sister' hotel next door which has recently been built, this is called the Almyrida Residence; this is a little more modern and expensive, however if you are a resident at the Almyrida Beach hotel you have full access to their facilities which include a brilliant roof-top swimming pool.

The resort is quiet, so if you like lots of noise and partying then this is not the place for you.
The beach is good and has clean sand with sun loungers to rent. The sea is nice and calm with hardly any rocks.

We have to say a Massive Thank You to Bryn at the Almyrida Beach for his excellent service at the poolside bar and his great stories!

So would we stay here again? YES!

  • Stayed July 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank Howard3121
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Martley, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
100 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 53 helpful votes
Reviewed July 29, 2013

My wife and son (17) spent a wonderful 2 weeks at in Almyrida - chillling out and relaxing. The facilities are of excellent quality and the staff are incredibly helpful and friendly.

The room was nicely furnished and the aircon (and fridge) worked. The pool is excellent and is always kept clean. The gym is a little basic and disapointing - but hey who goes to Greece for the gym.

Almyrida itself is a small and quiet resort but, with around a dozen restaurants, there is enough to do. The food is of excellent quality - lots of seafood, fish, traditiional Greek and kebabs/gyros - and reasonably priced at around 20 Euros per person including drinks (have the carafes of wine which are excellent value and come in kilo or half kilo sizes).

Almyrida also has great beaches (some pebbly/rocky and watch out for urchins), a diving school and sunsets to die for!

Room Tip: Family rooms are a reasonable size room with a divider so, if you really want privacy, go for 2 room...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank phutchens1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Almyrida
0.0 mi away
Almyrida Residence
Almyrida Residence
#2 of 7 in Almyrida
4.5 of 5 bubbles 185 reviews
1.5 mi away
Kalyves Beach Hotel
Kalyves Beach Hotel
#2 of 6 in Kalyves
4.5 of 5 bubbles 507 reviews
0.1 mi away
Niriides Hotel Apts Studios
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
15.8 mi away
Amalthia Beach Resort
Amalthia Beach Resort
#11 of 110 in Chania Town
4.5 of 5 bubbles 500 reviews
14.7 mi away
Cretan Dream Royal
Cretan Dream Royal
#2 of 22 in Stalos
4.5 of 5 bubbles 477 reviews
68.1 mi away
Creta Blue Suites
Creta Blue Suites
#5 of 13 in Koutouloufari
4.5 of 5 bubbles 518 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Almyrida Beach Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Almyrida Beach Hotel

Property: Almyrida Beach Hotel
Address: Almyrida Apokoronou, Almyrida, Crete 73008, Greece
Phone Number:
Location: Greece > Crete > Chania Prefecture > Almyrida
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Beverage Selection Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Spa Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 7 Hotels in Almyrida
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Almyrida Beach Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 66
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Almyrida Beach Hotel offers exceptional service around the clock with attention to detail. As a guest, you’ll be spoilt for choice: you can take a swim on the beach or in either of the four swimming pools. All guests have access to every facility of every hotel in the Almyrida Resort. Combining the best of both, tradition and hotel facilities, the Almyrida Beach Hotel is unique for first class service, design and attention to detail. Other facilities include massage and access to the spa of the Almyrida Residence Hotel, a conference centre for 80 people, bowling alley and computer rooms. To complete the Almyrida experience, at the snack bar and the restaurant you can try our Cretan specialties and sample one of the many wines from our extensive wine list. The Almyrida Beach Hotel is the best combination for a dreamed vacation. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Orbitz, Bookgreece.com, Cancelon, Evoline ltd, TripOnline SA, Travelocity and Expedia so you can book your Almyrida Beach Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Almyrida Beach Hotel Crete

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing