We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Leave it to the Chef: He Knows Your Palette Better Than You”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of Brede Spisehus

Brede Spisehus
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: European, Danish
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Romantic, Large groups, Special occasions, Business meetings, Families with children, Kids
Dining options: Dinner, Late Night, Lunch, Highchairs Available, Outdoor Seating, Private Dining, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Waitstaff
Chicago, Illinois
Level Contributor
70 reviews
41 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 43 helpful votes
“Leave it to the Chef: He Knows Your Palette Better Than You”
Reviewed August 18, 2013

I went with the prix fixe three courses. I was not disappointed. It was a trek on our bikes from Copenhagen, but the location is exquisite and unparalleled. Make a reservation, listen to the waiter's recommendations, and enjoy the French part of this restaurant: you make one choice, and they do the rest. The kitchen doors are open. I wouldn't take young children here, but I would definitely choose this place for any kind of special occasion. If I had just a few days in Copenhagen, and the opportunity for one big dining splurge, I would gladly do it here.

  • Visited August 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Kristin B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

125 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    64
    46
    10
    3
    2
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Reykjavik, Iceland
Level Contributor
26 reviews
16 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 40 helpful votes
“An enjoyable, relaxing experience”
Reviewed July 6, 2013 via mobile

A quality restaurant in the woods. Taken here by friends who know Lyngby, not the sort of place you wander into by coincidence. Nice atmosphere on a beautiful summer evening -nearly full on a Tuesday night, the crowd well-to do, upper middle class. Very well kept, traditional dining room, with views over the kitchen. We all went for the menu of the day, a three course set meal, good value, excellent food, in every way and attentive service.

Visited July 2013
Helpful?
Thank Nagranni
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pandrup, Nordjylland, Denmark
Level Contributor
95 reviews
56 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
“Soooo good eating place”
Reviewed May 19, 2013

The food is fantastic and the service also. We tend to go there, when we visit the neighborhood for whatever reason (work, family etc.). They haven't disappointed us yet

Visited August 2012
Helpful?
Thank Henning J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Copenhagen, Denmark
Level Contributor
49 reviews
29 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
“Another tripadvisor gem”
Reviewed May 8, 2013 via mobile

I would never have thought to go here by myself, it's well hidden. Great outdoor terrace with a view of the lake. Very nice building. Staff was helpful and pleasant. We had very good wines at about 500kr/bottle but the cheaper options are very limited. The menu of the day was excellent value and was great, but if you happen to not want that, then the a la carte was a bit pricey. Great for larger parties.

  • Visited May 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Evan S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Colorado Springs, Colorado
Level Contributor
92 reviews
48 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 76 helpful votes
“Authentic old world charm”
Reviewed October 9, 2012

I hesitate to give away our favorite restaurants, because I want them to stay just the way they are! As a expatriate living in Denmark, this is one of our favorites. The building is the old canteen for the adjacent clothing factory, and has been restored to its original old charm. The first time we ate here it was for St. Morten's Day, a day Danes celebrate with roast duck. We've come to this restaurant for lunch as well... every time the food and service have been wonderful. And I always take note of how clean the restrooms are - which is often a problem in Denmark. Here, they are spotless.

  • Visited October 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank blackhillssilver
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Brede Spisehus also viewed

Kongens Lyngby, Lyngby-Taarbak Municipality
Kongens Lyngby, Lyngby-Taarbak Municipality
 
Kongens Lyngby, Lyngby-Taarbak Municipality
Kongens Lyngby, Lyngby-Taarbak Municipality
 

Been to Brede Spisehus? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing