We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Clean, competent, comfortable but basic”
4 of 5 bubbles Review of Scandic Eremitage

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Scandic Eremitage
Ranked #1 of 2 Hotels in Kongens Lyngby
Edinburgh, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
182 reviews
64 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 91 helpful votes
“Clean, competent, comfortable but basic”
Reviewed May 31, 2012

Room was pretty "standard" hotel fare - a box with a chunk out the corner for bathroom a desk and sofa but it also opened onto a balcony,breakfast is a buffet with moderate range of choices, evening menu somewhat limited and to my eye quiet pricy (but this is Denmark) - I would not have eaten in given the hotel's location right in the town but it was pouring with rain - after 1st night I discovered the shopping-centre lifts go down to the mall, which while the shops are shut gives an out-of-the-rain walk-way for a fair way.

I used the conference centre which was very efficient, big room, supply of stationary and good AV plus every request eg extra tables and altered layout was swiftly serviced. There was a constant supply of food - bread and cheese and more in the morning, snacks, friut and more throughout the day. Only reservation is the windows all started above head hieght which made for a 'boxy' feeling.

Room Tip: Mine was on the 8th floor quiet and good views. I'd guess they are all quiet Lyngby doesnt seem...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Simon H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

327 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    41
    135
    92
    38
    21
See reviews for
91
61
13
142
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (28)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Copenhagen, Denmark
Level Contributor
31 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed May 28, 2012

The hotel is at an excellent location. It is within a shopping complex. In addition, almost everywhere else in Lyngby is a walking distance from there. The rooms are simple, clean and tidy. However, do not expect any extra care like a bell hop to help with luggage. Wi-fi is available but can be erratic. It is not dependable especially if you have more than one device. Breakfast is a bit lack-luster but not bad.
In summary, it is simply good for a business trip sleep-over and not for a family getaway...

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank GreenYellow
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
North England
Level Contributor
217 reviews
88 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 87 helpful votes
Reviewed January 13, 2012

I enjoyed my stay at this hotel. The room was well furnished and everything was clean and bright. The food was good and reasonably priced. It is an unusual hotel because it does not occupy a large piece of land so has only about 20 rooms on each floor but has 9 floors of bedrooms and so it is tall and slim.

  • Stayed January 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Bobotheviking
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Grahamstown, South Africa
Level Contributor
16 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed October 11, 2011

I was staying here for a conference at the nearby university, and this was very convenient and comfortable. I thought it was expensive (fortunately my employer was paying!), but the rooms, service, and breakfasts were all very good.

The rooms are very comfortable and stylish - I enjoyed the Scandinavian simple design with lots of natural wood finishes. The staff were very friendly and helpful. The free Internet access worked well.

However, the best aspect of my stay was the breakfasts - in a word AMAZING! There is an excellent range of cereals, breads, hot dishes, cold dishes, and, as other reviews have noted, the best Danish pastries ever!

The location is odd (above a shopping centre!), but very convenient with many restaurants and fast food outlets in the area. The train station is very conveniently located if one does need to travel into central Copenhagen with very regular services. I also enjoyed the ability to go walking and within five minutes be in the beautiful parks and natural areas (especially around the lake) that surround Kongens Lyngby. There is also some fascinating history in the area (for example, the remains of the defensive canal system are all around if you know what you're looking at).

  • Stayed August 2011, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank TheAlienProf
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
The Hague, The Netherlands
Level Contributor
25 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
Reviewed August 25, 2011

Helping my daughter settle into her student accommodation in the Lyngby area, I spent two nights at the Scandic Ermitage close by. I thought my stay was very good. Staff were friendly, free use of the connecting shopping centre's carpark came in handy for our rental car, and I appreciated the free wifi service throughout my stay. There are two decent PC's in the lobby if you don't have our own laptop, notebook etc with you.

The room was spacious and clean. Not much of a view apart from the shopping centre roof but I didn't mind. The bathroom has a decent size and was also very clean. Just don't expect any amenities that you would get in a four or five star hotel. There's a combined shampoo-showergel flask for guests to use and that's about it. Again it didn't bother me, but next time I'm going there together with my better half, I would tell her to bring her own shampoo's, gels etc.

I had breakfast once during my stay and it looked good. Didn't have dinner so can't comment there. One evening I went down for a drink in the bar, which is located in the lobby area as well. Spent an hour or so there without anyone else there, except a member of staff. I was just amazed how quiet it was. Perhaps that was why I got a very good last minute rate through the hotel's website. Given the quality of my stay I thought it was great value.

The adjacent shopping centre is pretty good. Lyngby seems to be a pretty upmarket residential area with lots of green areas around and woodlands nearby. Just beware that the drawback of that for some could be that there's not much to do in the evenings or on Sunday's as I discovered. I think the shops are open once a month on a Sunday, but if they're not the area is very very quiet. Even the hotel's restaurant wasn't open for lunch.

Still I have no hesitation in recommending the hotel if you need to stay in this area. I will gladly return here and bring my wife to visit our daughter in a few weeks time. Because she lives in Lyngby the Scandic Eremitage works fine for us, but I think would choose a more central hotel if you just come for a citytrip to Copenhagen.

  • Stayed August 2011, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Mesya
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Shropshire
Level Contributor
32 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
Reviewed August 5, 2011

Stayed here for three nights in a junior suite, a really great room. Breakfasts were delicious plenty of choice for all, including vegetarians. The best Danish pastries ever! It's quite difficult to find because of it's location but once there everything is nearby, the S tog train to Copenhagen is excellent value and takes you straight into the centre in about 25 minutes.

Stayed July 2011, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank ShropshireKitKat
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dudley, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
109 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 57 helpful votes
Reviewed July 26, 2011

This scandic is within walking distance of the S Line train and local bus stops, you can even lend a bike if you wish. its really clean and the food is of a high standard. Reception are really helpful they can advise yo with most info that you need and advise on the best places to eat and travel to.
there is free wifi in the hotel and it was a good signal from our room.

  • Stayed July 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank RichardBarkwaySmith
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Kongens Lyngby
2.1 mi away
Gentofte Hotel
Gentofte Hotel
#59 of 116 in Copenhagen
241 reviews
1.2 mi away
Schaeffergarden
Schaeffergarden
#1 of 5 in Gentofte Municipality
112 reviews
2.5 mi away
Sinatur Hotel Frederiksdal
Sinatur Hotel Frederiksdal
#2 of 2 in Kongens Lyngby
107 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.2 mi away
Kurhotel Skodsborg
Kurhotel Skodsborg
#1 of 1 in Skodsborg
276 reviews
10.4 mi away
Crowne Plaza Copenhagen Towers
3.6 mi away
Skovshoved Hotel
Skovshoved Hotel
#2 of 2 in Charlottenlund
125 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Scandic Eremitage? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Scandic Eremitage

Property: Scandic Eremitage
Address: Klampenborgvej 230, Kongens Lyngby 2800, Denmark
Location: Denmark > Zealand > Copenhagen Region > Lyngby-Taarbak Municipality > Kongens Lyngby
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 2 Hotels in Kongens Lyngby
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Scandic Eremitage 3.5*
Number of rooms: 120
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Scandic Eremitage is situated in "The Green Area" near the forest, beach and sea, yet it's right in the heart of Lyngby. The hotel is easy to reach - just a few minutes from the E47, at exit 16 - and is near the train station in Lyngby. The hotel was thoroughly renovated in 2002, while at the same time the entrance was moved to the second floor. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotwire, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Travelocity, Cancelon, TripOnline SA, Cheap Tickets and HotelQuickly so you can book your Scandic Eremitage reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Scandic Eremitage Copenhagen
Scandic Eremitage Hotel Copenhagen
Scandic Eremitage Denmark/Copenhagen - Kongens Lyngby

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing