We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“amazing place!”
Review of Ocean Village Club

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Ocean Village Club
Ranked #6 of 29 Hotels in Diani Beach
Certificate of Excellence
Warsaw, Poland
Level 1 Contributor
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“amazing place!”
Reviewed January 22, 2013

the hotel definitely deserves a recommendation, together with my wife we spent great 10 days in Kenya at the Ocean Village Club:

- Surroundings

the hotel is right at the beach, about 45-60min drive from Mombasa Airport. The Beach is very large, and doesnt seem crowded, even in "rush hours". The coast is very beautiful, ocean warm, water clear, need I say more ? :)
Oh, there are a lot of beach boys, but a firm "leave us alone" earns you a quiet walk

- Rooms

we took the deluxe beachfront room and it was great, very spacious, clean, comfortable, bathroom w/ a bathtub, nice porch w/furniture ... loved it

- Service

also very good, the women at the reception desk though are quite shy and somewaht afraid to help, other staff though are very funny, eager to talk and very helpful. I really like the guys at the bar (Patrick) and the animation team, also Tony watching over the pool and towels was very polite and eager to help

- Restaurant

ok, with a variety of foods to choose from, for 10 days it was ok, but if you plan a longer stay, the breakfast buffet can be monotonous

- Bar

ok, wouldn't hurt to add a few kinds of drinks though. also it would be great of the hotel could add some more (international) brands to the bar.

- other
evening activites range from local bands, snake show to masai dance, also the animation team is there to talk if you are up to it :) I was satisfied

few words of advice:
- keep away from the monkeys - these are still wild animals and after a bite you have to take 5 rounds of quite painful injections
- go to a 2 day safari (cost ca. 350USD) - great experience
- buy gifts/souvenires at a local village (75% discounts vs beach prices)

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank RPantera
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

503 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    333
    144
    14
    8
    4
See reviews for
128
250
23
7
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (41)
Date | Rating
  • Czech first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Baarn, The Netherlands
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed January 21, 2013

Situated at perfect beach,white Sand,clean,Nice view!!
Rooms are excellent ( we had a deluxe room,with sea view)
Staff is very very friendly with a happy smile.The food is very good and fresh.
Hotel is clean.

Room Tip: Deluxe room
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Dominique198
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed January 16, 2013

very good accomodation, small pool, poor entertainment - comaring with turkis resorts for example. it is quiet and small, good for groups but have no entertainment for kids. All in all a pleasant holiday location.

  • Stayed January 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank irina-gheorghiu
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bucharest, Romania
Level 4 Contributor
37 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
Reviewed January 16, 2013 via mobile

Hello, for whom is thinking to gp tobthis hotel, i highly recomend it! It is really great, the superior rooms which we wre upgreaded are really luxurious! The staff is friendly in the good way! They work really hard to make our stay pleasent! The food is really tastey! The hotel is only AI, but if u think to the AI from turkey or greece, well, its a big difference, but we dont come to kenya for the AI;). So , here i eat tje best fish everrr! So, i have no idea how other hotel are here, but this one looks one of the best! I forgot to mention the awsome garden full of monkeys. Details when and pics when ill arrive home!

  • Stayed January 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Cristina_Cris
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nairobi, Kenya
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed January 3, 2013

We checked in the hotel on the 28th December 2012 till the 2nd Jan 2013. The hotel looks very nice. The rooms have been done up nice but the B block rooms have issues with water leakages in the bathroom and the main thing about the rooms is AC they do not work you only get warm air coming through them.. I had to change the room 4 times in 5 nights. The acting Manager has no clue about the hotel not very helpfull. you get the same food everyday for lunch and dinner. Rice, Potatoes, Vegetables, Crepe/pancake, and Pasta and in BBQ section is always beef and Seafood fish only. There is no Animation team which have programs during the day. i would not suggest any one to the use the hotel for now till they sort out the Facilities in the hotel. The bar man Patrick is the best.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank 324JNR
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Joao C, Manager at Ocean Village Club, responded to this review, January 8, 2013
First of all we are deeply surprised by the contradictory ratings given by this gentleman:
location, sleep quality and room all received four stars out of five.
Also for cleanliness and service this gentleman rated three out of five. And yet the overall rating is two out of five stars.
The client main complaint was that the air conditioners were not efficient enough.
However it became apparent when this client gave us his calling card showing that he is the Kenya importer of a brand of air conditioners different from the ones we have in use. He even approached our management and insisted that we should consider changing to his brand instead of ours.
I hope this clarifies the issue.

Kind regards,
Joao Carvalho
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Darmstadt, Germany
Level 4 Contributor
30 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
Reviewed December 16, 2012

THE HOTEL:
The atmosphere of the place is incredibly pleasent and relaxing - thanks to a very friendly and obliging staff, a small number of rooms (and therefore a handable number of guests), and very nice beach, pool, garden, and dining areas. Staying there, you feel more like beeing part of a big family than staying in a hotel!
The staff is very courteous, well trained, and also creates a familial atmospehere by taking its time while talking to the guests. Everyone (barkeeper, waiters, room keepers, gardeners, maintanance personal, security people, ...) were very friendly.

The Ocean Village Club decided to have only a handable number of rooms and the access to the dining area is only allowed to guests (in contrary to other hotels). Thereby, the guests get to know each other very easily what also strengthens the impression of a big family.
The beach, the pool, most of the activity areas, the bar, and the restaurants are arrangend in a compact and very beautifully created garden. It is very easy and relaxing to shift from one activity (i.e. beach) to another (i.e. lunch). Nevertheless, the single places are big enough and nicely seperated from each other, allowing either social interaction or quiet relaxation.

Breakfast, lunch, and the buffet at dinner are very delicious and diversified. The bar is opened the whole day, with nice cocktails and fruit drinks - all inclusive. Only if you order imported drinks (like foreign wines) you have to pay extra. But there are also included local wines, which are served in carafes.
Each evening, there is some entertainment like Massai-dancers, artists, or music bands that are all very good.

We arrived at the 1st of december for a two-weeks holiday as one of the first guests after the reopening of the hotel. Out of our point of view, the new start of the hotel was perfect! Only some details were still in the making process but for the guests there were absolutly NO disatvantages. In the first week, there were only a few guests while in the secound week, the hotel was more or less half-full.

THE BEACH:
Thanks to a reef approx. 1 km in front of the beach, the water is very quite, comfortably warm, and not very deep. At low tide, it seems almost possible to walk from the beach to the reef.
Beside good and sandy areas to swim, there are quite some reefs and water plant regions with sea urchins in it. So generall,y we wore shoes while swiming in the sea.The influence of the tides is high, but swimming is almost possible at any time. The beach itself is sandy and very nice. Especially after a windy period, there are some water plants also at the beach.

Only the very high number of dealers, the so called "beach boys", are able to frequently ruin romantic walks at the beach. Some of them follow you for the whole walk, wait for you until you come out of the water, and also follow you back to the hotel. They really are annoying, but a problem at the whole beach and not of a specific hotel. Once you have been at a shop in Mombasa, you also get to know that what they sell is very expencive, still after a good negotiation. Good tip: If you are polite, they follow you everywhere. Ask them directly to leave you.

OUTSIDE THE HOTEL:
Down to the villige of Ukunda there is a long beach road with other hotels, night clubs, and shops. A good place to go for an ATM and to go shopping is the crossroad between the beach road and the street to Ukunda. CONSIDER: In the hotel the is no ATM and the exchange of money is quite expensive. Its easy to reach the crossroad by the local busses (Matatu), which costs approx. 50 Schilling (= 45 Eurocents) one way for each person. They frequently pass the hotel (approx. every minute). A taxi is more expensive by far.
Especially during the day I don't see any problems to leave the hotel. Also at night, we always felt save, but generally it is recommended to take care outside of the hotel during night time.

ACTIVITIES:
A very nice activitiy we did was a diving tour to the mentioned reef, which one can get for 15€ from one of the beach vendors. Bigger activities (safaris, ...) one can book at the hotel. It is possible to safe some money at one of the beach dealers or at the offices which are located i.e. at the Barkley-Center at the previously mentioned crossroad.

CONCLUSION: It was a perfect holiday, and we would love to visit the club again!

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
12 Thank To B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed January 1, 2012

Very accomodating. Great value for money. This hotel seems to do lots of business with French travel companies so the hotels first language is actually french however all of the staff speak English. The only downside is that you might struggle to converse with your fellow holidayers.
The food (all you can eat) was delicious although by the end of the week became a little monotonous despite the menu changing every day. The fish served was absolutely deliious. The wine unfortunately was terrible which dramatically limited the choice of alcohol.
Our room was very nice, better than we expected, but lacked a TV.
The beach boys could be a nuiscence but they were not allowed onto the sandy sunbedded hotel area which was the best place to sunbathe anyway. All of the hotels on the beach had the same problem with beach boys so no matter which one you stay at, high or low end, you would still encounted this problem if you wandered onto the beach,
Overall we were very impressed with this hotel and we had a fabulous holiday.

  • Stayed November 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank beckspec
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Diani Beach hotels
0.3 mi away
The Sands at Nomad
The Sands at Nomad
#8 of 29 in Diani Beach
423 reviews
1.9 mi away
Diani Sea Resort
Diani Sea Resort
#5 of 29 in Diani Beach
987 reviews
1.8 mi away
Waterlovers Beach Resort
Waterlovers Beach Resort
#2 of 29 in Diani Beach
383 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.8 mi away
Southern Palms Beach Resort
Southern Palms Beach Resort
#10 of 29 in Diani Beach
1,324 reviews
0.7 mi away
Afrika Pearl & Spa
Afrika Pearl & Spa
#17 of 29 in Diani Beach
156 reviews
0.3 mi away
Baobab Beach Resort & Spa
Baobab Beach Resort & Spa
#4 of 29 in Diani Beach
1,501 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Ocean Village Club? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Ocean Village Club

Property: Ocean Village Club
Address: PO Box 88 Ukunda | Diani Beach Road, Diani Beach, Ukunda 80401, Kenya
Phone Number:
Location: Kenya > Coast Province > Ukunda > Diani Beach
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Spa Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#3 Spa Hotel in Diani Beach
#3 Top resorts Hotel in Diani Beach
#5 Romantic Hotel in Diani Beach
#6 Luxury Hotel in Diani Beach
#6 On the Beach Hotel in Diani Beach
#10 Family Hotel in Diani Beach
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Ocean Village Club 4*
Number of rooms: 74
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
As promised Ocean Village Club has, after major renovations, reopened on 1st December 2012.Most of the standard rooms have been demolished to make place for new Grand Tropical rooms. These rooms are between 42 and 50 square meters (plus spacious veranda) have both bath and shower, flat screen satellite T.V. minibar, personal safe, telephone, poster bed, Wi-Fi and teak furniture. The overall concept remain the same: Ocean Village Club aims to give exceptional value for money, a smart, understated, environment for Clients that wish to relax, unwind, enjoy the sun, the beach, the ocean. As always Ocean Village Club has resisted the temptation to build too many rooms as the underlying philosophy is that of creating an environment where clients feel part of a privileged family, not just numbers... as always... better yes, bigger no!! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, TripOnline SA and Agoda so you can book your Ocean Village Club reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Ocean Village Club Hotel Diani
Paladien Ocean Village Diani

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing