We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A little bit of Paradise”
Review of Flamboyant

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Flamboyant
Ranked #7 of 20 Diani Beach B&B and Inns
Diani Beach, Kenya
Level 6 Contributor
69 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
“A little bit of Paradise”
Reviewed March 20, 2014

We were privileged to spend 3 nights at Flamboyant in September 2013. We were treated like royalty! The Hotel is clean, neat and beautiful, has it's own private entrance to the beautiful beach, staff are beyond friendly and our meals were fantastic. Nancy, Salim and Jeoffrey went out of their way to ensure we were happy, not thirsty, not hungry and even prevented some sunburn! The rooms are very spacious and you instantly feel at home. The view is also breathtaking. HIGHLY RECOMMENDED!

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Esme v
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

48 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    32
    8
    3
    3
    2
See reviews for
14
15
3
2
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (15)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Any
English first
Clarksville, Tennessee, United States
1 review
Reviewed October 14, 2013

I stayed at The Flamboyant 4 years ago. One because the owner George Barbour was a very longtime family friend of my family and used to rally with my uncle and grandmother and two, Flamboyant is Paradise. Fantastic hospitality, outstanding clean rooms, awesome service, beautiful decor, and spectacular view! Thanks George. I will return again one day!
Pauline Collinge Chaney

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Pauline C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
20 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed September 10, 2013

I've stayed here twice this year so far, and enjoyed both visits. The staff are friendly and helpful, and I must mention Nancy, who goes out of her way to check on guests and make sure you're enjoying your stay. The rooms are big and spacious, with mosquito nets, en-suite bathrooms and air conditioning. Overall a fantastic place to stay in Diani and I will definitely be returning. Only fault I can think of was that the WiFi didn't work, but there's a beach, a cave restaurant, a bar and amazing pool nearby anyway so it's not major.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Wandafulll
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brisbane, Australia
Level 6 Contributor
157 reviews
68 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 165 helpful votes
Reviewed July 18, 2013

Like staying at a friend’s luxury beach-front home ... that’s what Flamboyant Diani Beach feels like. And that’s what it once was; the home of owner, George Barbour. But what makes its transition from family home to boutique hotel truly magnificent is the team of staff – headed by the “every hotel should bottle her”, Nancy – who make you “feel” like family. This is not luxury of the world’s Top Hotels-kind, but luxury in the rarely-so-well-executed-personalised-service and hard-to-beat-location kind. Rooms are “shine, wax and polish” clean but bedding is basic; (which nothing a few fluffy pillows and luxury bed fittings couldn’t quickly fix). There’s lovely body lotion, shampoo and bath-wash in the shower (but no conditioner) and laundry is included in your room rate! Rooms are air-conditioned but if, like me, you prefer open windows, don’t leave phones or other easily-lifted items around that inquisitive monkeys might pinch. Overlooking the pool, the dining terrace feels particularly fabulous for breakfast and, with relaxing lounges, is an easy place to laze away an entire day. The pool itself gets great all-day sun and there’s plenty of shady areas where you can move your sunbed and take a nap. It has a swim-up bar and though not “staffed”, the team will get you what you need upon request. The beach is a short path from the pool and plenty of trees (and Maasai guards) provide privacy and security without ugly fencing. The Forty Thieves Beach Bar, right next door, is a great place to hang and watch the local beach culture (including Beach Rugby games organised and umpired by George). It has an all-day swimwear-clad clientele which switches out to a dining crowd from just after sundown to about 10pm, and then the music starts pumping and 20-something backpackers come from all over Diani to party. Within the same “walking” triangle, and also owned by George, is the absolute must-do Ali Barbours Cave Restaurant. It’s an actual cave converted to an open-air restaurant, perfectly preserved, with only lighting and sound renovations in the main dining area and the obviously required modifications to the kitchen and toilets. Note: it is a “night out” so dress accordingly; not beach casual – the mistake I made! Frankly, you don’t really need to venture further than these three places to have an extraordinary time, but if you must, Nancy, or any of the team, can organise trusted and reliable drivers and will negotiate the fare for you. Airport transfers to and from were included. Do note that there is a difference in menus depending whether you book “Bed and Breakfast” or “Full Board” and I recommend checking them out (they’re quite different) before deciding which option is better for you. From the time I arrived, to the time I departed, I loved Flamboyant Diani Beach. I wanted to stay forever. If ever my circumstances return me to this beautiful place, it is Flamboyant, and Nancy and her team, I hope to meet again!

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank SoozSolo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne
Level 4 Contributor
25 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 44 helpful votes
Reviewed July 14, 2013 via mobile

There aren't many places left in the world where the entire experience is marked by the hospitality and professionalism of a true host or hostess. Nancy is an integral part of what makes the Flamboyant experience wonderful. Her welcoming and genuine kindness hits you as soon as you walk through the door. We couldn't have felt more at ease if we were serviced by the queens staff!

The history of the wonderful building is another of its unique and appealing attributes. Home to George and his family, the joy that this family must have experienced strikes you throughout your stay as you ponder why you weren't one of George's children - blessed souls!

The beach is stunning and the bar next door great for an afternoon sundowner, or a big night if you want to skip the light fantastic. The cave restaurant is a unique fine dining experience not to be missed. The staff at all 3 venues made us feel extremely welcome.

We stayed in room 2 which I think was the original master bedroom. We loved it. Great spacial and light qualities. This place has been well kept and has aged well.

We took advantage of the African massage at Leopard Hotel, it was absolutely awesome. We went back a second time.

If you don't like big crowded hotels, you'll love this place. The beach is awesome and we really enjoyed the boat tour.

Areas for improvement are wifi not realiable and menu could have more variety.

We would definitely come back.

  • Stayed July 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank VivaTravelcuba
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nairobi, Kenya
Level 5 Contributor
63 reviews
34 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 56 helpful votes
Reviewed July 2, 2013

This is a small, private house style hotel with about ten rooms, one of which is a suite and another one with a balkony. Has a small swimming pool. Has direct access to a very good sandy beach. It is surrounded by undeveloped properties on both sides so the only people you will see are other guests from this same hotel and visitors to Forty Thieves Bar nearby. Beach boys are pretty annoyng though, but this seems to be a problem throughout Diani Beach area. All rooms are facing beachfront, but you actually won't see the ocean behind the trees. No TV. Breakfast is pretty dull. Staff is descreet but helpfull.

Room Tip: Room 5 has a balkony. Ask for rooms on the second floor
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Mikhail S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
All over Europe
Level 5 Contributor
54 reviews
54 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 80 helpful votes
Reviewed February 20, 2013

Spent 3 nights at Flamboyant with my partner and inlaws, and from the moment we walked through the door we were impressed. The premises are well kept, very clean rooms and outdoor areas. Direct access to the beach, the very colorful Fourty Theives bar right nearby, and the wonderful Ali Barbour's cave restaurant literally a 2 minute walk away. The view from Flamboyant is also stunning. But despite the paradise it is really the service that sets Flamboyant apart from others. The staff go out of their way to make you feel at home, and to set up any activities that you want. For example, they worked so hard to find us a table in Ali Barbour's despite it being booked up, and were successful! They also grilled the fresh yellowfin tuna we caught and served it up for dinner! The rooms are not over-the-top luxury, but they have A/C and are sparklingly clean. This is the only place we have been in Diani that we will go back to!

Room Tip: Try to get the upstairs ones with a balcony so you get a good view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank TripTestDummy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Diani Beach hotels
1.1 mi away
The Sands at Nomad
The Sands at Nomad
#8 of 29 in Diani Beach
423 reviews
0.5 mi away
Diani Sea Resort
Diani Sea Resort
#5 of 29 in Diani Beach
987 reviews
2.1 mi away
Afrika Pearl & Spa
Afrika Pearl & Spa
#17 of 29 in Diani Beach
156 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
Waterlovers Beach Resort
Waterlovers Beach Resort
#2 of 29 in Diani Beach
383 reviews
3.4 mi away
Southern Palms Beach Resort
Southern Palms Beach Resort
#10 of 29 in Diani Beach
1,324 reviews
2.9 mi away
The Maji Beach Boutique Hotel
The Maji Beach Boutique Hotel
#1 of 29 in Diani Beach
263 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Flamboyant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Flamboyant

Property: Flamboyant
Address: Ali Barbour, Diani Beach, Ukunda 80400, Kenya
Location: Kenya > Coast Province > Ukunda > Diani Beach
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #7 of 20 B&Bs / Inns in Diani Beach
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Flamboyant 4*
Number of rooms: 10
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Flamboyant is a family home where guests return time and again for its unparalleled service in an intimate and friendly atmosphere. Set in a lush tropical garden, overlooking the beautiful beach of Diani on the south coast of Mombasa, Flamboyant is the perfect retreat for an exotic and a romantic escapism. Welcome! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Agoda so you can book your Flamboyant reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Flamboyant Hotel Diani

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing