We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“A Fantastic Paradise”
other travelers have booked this property
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
breathtaking 360 degree roundview platform
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Inquiry
Excellent
24 reviews
breathtaking 360 degree roundview platform
Guest House
Villa Kapungu
Living Room
Living Room
Main House Bedroom
Guest House Bedroom
Main House Bathroom
Kitchen
Dining Table and Coffee Lounge
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Inquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Villa -
4 Bedrooms, 4 Bathrooms, Sleeps 8
Diani Beach, Ukunda, Coast Province

Reviews from our community

Excellent - based on 24 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
English first
French first
German first
Any
English first
Quest1812...
1 review
“A Fantastic Paradise”
Reviewed May 12, 2019 for a stay in February 2019

We visited the lodge in February and had a wonderful stay. We were a group of eight people and the lodge provided enough privacy for everyone. The grounds were very well maintained, with a close attention to detail. The entire staff was warm and welcoming, and we particularly enjoyed the food. The chef prepared excellent meals - each dinner was a wonderful experience, with fresh ingredients and prepared with great skill. The gardener and the housekeeper were also very attentive, and made us feel at home on the property. The owners provided a detailed list of ideas for day excursions and tours. We look forward to returning again in the future. Many thanks and warm regards from the Jagersbergers and friends.

Date of stay: February 2019
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
James M
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Private and relaxing”
Reviewed January 11, 2019 for a stay in December 2018

The staff were very friendly and helpful. House was large and beautiful. Pool was ever so nice to sit next to and relax.

Minor issues would be, it is on the flight path for Ukunda airstrip so a couple times a day you will get a stream of planes coming through. It didn't bother us but our home in Nairobi is also close to the Wilson airport flight path so we are used to it. Just thought I would mention it in case it does bother others. Otherwise, this is a perfect family vacation home.

Please note that electricity is NOT included in the bill. So you should prepare for this ahead of time.

Date of stay: December 2018
Your age range 35-49
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Andre T
Zurich, Switzerland
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Amazing”
Reviewed December 25, 2017 for a stay in October 2017
1
person found this review helpful

Were a group of 6 adults (family + friend), we were 2 couples and 2 singles. Firstly, the villa is just as good as in the pictures, if not better. Second, the rooms were perfect, true double beds with on suites for each one. The pool was brilliant, and the grounds well maintained.

The staff are very hospitable and really made the difference to our stay. The chef did our food shopping, cooked us any meal we wanted and is a genuinely nice man. His deserts are delectable. The grounds keeper worked all day, keeping the gardens perfect, solving any intermittent issues with the internet, cleaning the pool, etc. The maid cleaned our rooms, washed our clothes and even fetched the local newspaper for my father in the mornings!

Diani beach is a short walk away, with the path to the beach just across from the compound. Tuk tuks are available everywhete in case of need. There are quite a few very nice restaurants nearby, which was a pleasant surprise.

I would recommend to get the transfer with tikbut - a very impressive driver. Also, stay longer than the week we did - you will not regret it.

Everyone loved it and didn't want to leave! I am definitely returning next year.

Date of stay: October 2017
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Inspire43...
Al Kura, Saudi Arabia
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Amazing!”
Reviewed January 24, 2017 for a stay in September 2016

We cannot recommend Villa Kapungu highly enough.  It was one of the most beautiful properties we’ve ever rented and the setting for an amazing vacation. 

We visited Diani beach with friends, so we were four adults and five children in total, the children ranging from 4 to 11 year olds.  The villa was the perfect size for us all, allowing for a cozy time when we were together and enough privacy for the two families due to the separate buildings.  The property is absolutely beautiful and the tasteful decoration nothing short of impeccable.  The staff made us feel incredibly welcome. 

Diani Beach had one pleasant surprise for us after another.  We had lunch and snacks and drinks at the nearby Forty Thieves beach bar daily and dined at the gorgeous Cave restaurant once, both of which were true gems that we were lucky to find and enjoy.  There were a few vendors at the beach that were slightly bothersome, that was really the only downside to Diani.  But the loveliness of the beach surpassed that - we even witnessed the moon rising bright red from the ocean one night.  What a treat!   

The house staff was fantastic.  Katana helped us in every single way to make us feel at home and even taught us a few karate lessons, really great fun for all.  Kalama, the cook, prepared the freshest food for our meals.  The maid Dorcas babysat our children so we could have a dinner out.  We felt incredibly safe there, with Augustin watching out for us at every moment.  We are incredibly grateful to these people for making our stay so pleasant, peaceful and enjoyable. 

We left Villa Kapungu wishing we could have stayed longer, and longing to come back for another unforgettable vacation.  Really grateful for such an amazing experience!    

Date of stay: September 2016
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Iann
England
Level 3 Contributor
17 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“Fantastic Villa”
Reviewed February 23, 2016 for a stay in February 2016

This is a truly fantastic villa with a great pool and garden. An oasis of luxury and calm that is highly recommended. The staff were great too, so an overall a 5* experience. We hope to be back next year.
The Diani town and resort has seen better days, but the white sandy beach is exceptional. Suggest you politely resist the beach boys who will try to sell you anything and everything.

Date of stay: February 2016
Traveling group: Spouse/Partner
Your age range 50-64
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
uli153
London, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Stunning villa, garden and pool.”
Reviewed January 31, 2016 for a stay in December 2015
1
person found this review helpful

We would highly recommend this villa and the surrounding location in which our family of 4 enjoyed 6 days over Christmas.

It’s a really exceptionally beautiful pair of properties and garden, which the website pictures can’t truly capture. Our top highlights were: the private pool, views from the roof balcony, interior décor/artefacts, fresh fish hand-delivered by a local fisherman, and the cute resident tortoises!

We received a very warm & cheerful welcome from the lovely staff and enjoyed their hospitality and company during our stay. On Christmas Eve, Katana (staff manager/ handyman) and Augustine (watchman) gave us an impressive karate demonstration, and it was really fun to share Christmas lunch altogether. With the wonderful Katana we went to the local church on Christmas eve and also to a Kenyan family community to experience how live is so very different to anywhere in Europe.

There are many comfortable lounging options around pool and villa for reading, relaxing and playing games – so with delicious food being prepared to your requested taste, we could have happily spent all 6 days exclusively at the villa!

There is not much that could be improved… use of a couple of bikes would have been appreciated, and perhaps some more orientation information e.g. where to buy food; rough cost of tuk-tuk journeys to shops and other parts of Diani beach; recommended restaurants, etc.
Adding the name of the gated community to the receipt would also be useful to know in advance, as it was hard to locate Villa Kapungu without this.

We are looking forward to returning in the future, but with another family next time, to more fully utilise all the accommodation and facilities.

Date of stay: December 2015
How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Villa, pool, garden and staff
Liked least: Lack of toiletries, at least to cover a couple of days before having to shop
Traveling group: Young Children
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children Large groups
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Philip B
Norwich, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
31 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
“Wonderful Vacation”
Reviewed June 10, 2014 for a stay in June 2014
4
people found this review helpful

We arrived at Villa Kapungu to a warm welcome from the staff who took us around the property and we were very impressed with the Villa and its facilities. The chef Kalindi prepares wonderful meals with the care, quality and attention and as there were only 2 of us, what we really liked about this Vacation is that if the staff have little to do you can give them time off and have some private time. They are not restricted to staying at the Villa if the customer gives them time off.The staff were really friendly and knowledgeable and we had a fantastic stay in a tranquil setting, yet a short distance to the main supermarkets. restaurants and bars. The chef bought fresh vegetables, fruit, eggs and meat and fish which he will buy much cheaper than supermarket prices, yet all good quality produce.

We could not recommend this Villa highly enough. We had the most peaceful stay and already planning our next visit to Diani Beach and Villa Kapungu.

Date of stay: June 2014
How easy was it to book the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The Villa's facilities and quiet location
Liked least: Internet access was a sporadic
Traveling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children Large groups
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a vacation rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from inquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travelers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travelers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing