We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Wish we were going back for Christmas !” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Baobab Beach Resort & Spa

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Baobab Beach Resort & Spa
Ranked #5 of 30 Hotels in Diani Beach
Certificate of Excellence
yorkshire
Level Contributor
34 reviews
29 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 65 helpful votes
“Wish we were going back for Christmas !”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 8, 2009

Stayed at the Baobab last two weeks of November.
Soooooo enjoyed, everything was superb. The food was excellent and plentiful and such alot of choice. Drinks were good... maybe a bit limited .. have to say though that 'Hubby' was a bit disappointed because they served the beer in half pint glasses only .. and then the glass was never full .... I soon got him hooked on the Gin and Tonic's !! The staff were really lovely - so willing to please and always chatting to guests. The accommodation and cleanliness was spot on. Struggled using the balcony .. because of the cheeky monkeys ... but that was no problem, they were so entertaining and comical !
Booked our safari through the famous J.T safaris ( back in the uk ) went to the Masai Mara, 2nights 3 days. FANTASTIC - you must do it ... J.T was certainly a man of his word, don't hesitate with using him you really have not got a thing to worry about. We also went into Mombassa for half a day with him as well and had our own driver and personnel guide as well.
Really Really loved Kenya, It is a very poor country with alot of corupt history. Don't be alarmed when you drive through Mombassa and on to the ferry ... you will see some sight's, they really need tourism to inject money into the country.
Get it Booked !!

  • Stayed November 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank rioYorkshire
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,437 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    935
    368
    94
    26
    14
See reviews for
364
765
43
23
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (325)
Date | Rating
  • Czech first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hungarian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Stowmarket, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
20 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 20, 2009

Well what can I say, the hotel is in a fantastic location and the entertainment, food, staff and faclities were great. It is approx an hour from Mombabsa airport and is a bit of a trek, but it is worth it. We found everyone really helpful and friendly, they just could not do enough for you. We would really recommend and we are going to return next year for our 25th wedding anniversary.

  • Stayed October 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank busa1300
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cheshire
Level Contributor
6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 15, 2009

The hotel is exceptionally clean and I must admit I had some reservations about the standards, going to a 3rd world country but I can say with all honesty they were unfounded. This hotel is a real treat for those who love fresh sea fish, the majority of the fish dishes were exceptionally tasty and grilled in front of you. And boy, do they cook a wicked garlic naan!

In addition to the Baobab, there are 2 sister hotels within close proximity and you can use the facilities of any of the 3 hotels.

There are beds around the hotels which are great for lying on, having a refreshing drink whilst reading your book, followed by a siesta! You may wake up to find a small monkey looking at you or trying to steal the lemon from your empty glass, as I did! As long as you don't provoke them or touch them they are perfectly safe to be near.

It is comical watching the staff taking aim with their catapults when one gets a bit too self assured and attempts to steal food from your plate!

I would definitely recommend learning the Bao board (game), it's quite addictive once you know the rules.

The staff were very friendly, not just the animation team. Said in the bar took us to his village and the school were his children would attend. It was fantastic to experience the real African life.

Each morning, at 9am, in the Baobab restaurant the animation team file at singing to 'good morning, good morning' from Singing in the Rain film and then they tell you the schedule of entertainment for the day. You can't help but smile along with them.

In fact I found myself constantly smiling whilst I was there and was very sad to leave. Even now as I'm typing this I am smiling at all my fond memories.

I would certainly recommend this hotel, along with a safari for an incredible holiday.

The only thing that I would say, is just remember that you have left the rat-race of the UK behind and like many foreign countries the pace of life is much slower than ours and so you may have to wait a little while for the waiters/waitresses to bring your drinks to you. But in the grand scheme of things, it's not such a bad thing stepping off the hampster wheel for a week or two! Chill out and enjoy!



The hotel

  • Stayed October 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Sal7Cheshire
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, England
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 30, 2009

We have just returned from the best trip ever where we spent a week at the Baobab Beach Resort and Spa in Diani Beach. We went there to get married and although we have been to Kenya before, we didn't know what to expect for our wedding. We had the most special and memorable day we could have imagined. Our wedding coordinator/photographer, Renson, was fantastic with every detail and such a lovely, friendly guy. Even when our jaws were aching from all the smiling, he managed to make us laugh for the photos! We had african dancers and a videographer aswell and they were all fantastic, they all made our day absolutely wonderful from start to finish. The hotel was amazing, there are 3 sections to it and it feels like you are in 3 different resorts when you go between them which is great because it is not recommended to leave the resort unless you are going on an excursion. The food was great too, there are 3 buffet restaurants (1 in each section) and there is a huge variety of food to choose from. One of our wedding guests is an extremely fussy eater but they managed to find something to eat at every meal. There are also 2 restaurants to eat at which aren't included in the all inclusive package and we ate at both of them. The food at those was perfect. We also had a full body massage in the spa which was very relaxing and very much recommended! The hotel staff were always friendly, saying Jambo (hello) everytime you walk by and everything was always immaculate. We stayed in a beach bungalow and it was lovely. The monkeys came on to our balcony a lot of the time but as long as the doors were kept closed, it wasnt a problem! We had some young ones wrestling on our balcony one day and it was very amusing to watch! We would definitely recommend this hotel to families or couples and especially as a wedding venue. Thank you so much for an unforgettable experience!

  • Stayed October 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Strali2904
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
yorkshire england
Level Contributor
1 review
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 27, 2009

After a mix up with rooms was sorted out - be carefull, we made First choice confirm in writting that we were booked into Kole Kole, we got upgraded to a deluxe suite or something the girls didn't and it involved a room change after the first night. Sadly one of them left their mobile phone in the room and by the time we realised it had gone - room boy hadn't seen it!!??
Anyway the resort was really good food, nice rooms, friendly staff ,no complaints other than beach sellers (v. persistent) and girl's smelly room (717 I think), maintenance fixed the toilet 3 times before we gave up and demanded a room change.
Fly Safari to Masai was fantastic thanks to Julius at JTSafaris who is a top man, nothing was too much trouble, changed my booking at last minute as I was ill , even sent a driver (Robert also a good man) FOC to take me to the clinic. Also took a couple of local trips with JT excellent value private car I have no hesitation in reccomending Julius and his sister - thanks again Julius!

  • Stayed August 2009, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank steelboy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Derbyshire
Level Contributor
11 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 20, 2009

Stayed at the Baobab Beach Resort from September 7th 2009 for 2 weeks. As it was our honeymoon we wanted to stay somewhere special and this place certainly did not disappiont! Everything was out of this world, the grounds, the staff, the rooms I could go on and on. We upgraded to the Maridadi Wing and the rooms were fantastic, big double sink, walk in shower and widescreen TV.
The food was very varied and there was a theme night each evening so it didnt get boring or repetative. The grounds are all really nice and everywhere you go the staff always greet you with a Jambo Jambo!! In the evenings we drank in th Tapa Tapa bar with a great view of the ocean. The service here was also great, any empty glasses were soon topped up. Inside the hotel they have a spa where both myself and my wife went for a massage this was really relaxing. Nothing was too much trouble for the staff, on first evening they arranged a candle lit dinner for all honeymooners which was really nice. All the pools were clean and the swim up bars were great :-)
We booked a 3 day Safari with JT Safari's to Tsavo East and West. The Safari was a once in a lifetime experience and we saw the big 5 including Rhino. Our guide was called George Bush :-) and he was great, how he spotted some of the animals was beyond me. Julius was very professional he came out to meet us prior to our Safari and phoned each day while we were there to check everything was ok he also gave us some carvings at the end! We stayed in Leporard Lodge which is a must as it is right outside a watering hole and they feed a Leporard each night!! We also stayed in a tent at Aruba Lodge again faultless!
We are well travelled and i never really thought i would want to go back to the same place twice but we would certainly return to Baobab!!!
Tips:
We booked with First Choice, keep an eye on internet prices as they go up and down a lot, if you time it right you can get a great deal. Flights were spot on, book the VIP lounge on your return as the airport is busy and hot with no aircon, for £20 it makes a massive difference!
Take US dollars for your entry visas. I dont see the point in doing it before hand as everyone was in same queue so it was no quicker. Make sure you take bug spray we didnt get eaten alive but we did get a few bites in the evening. Look out for Monkeys :-) they were hilarious and managed to snatch a few things from us but totally harmless! Julius arranged Taxi's for us to the local cash point and local Orphange for free. Take some pens etc for the kids they wil really appricate it. You can swap your larger notes say 1000 sillings for smaller 100 shillings notes at the reception these are better for tips. The staff dont earn a lot so anyhing is welcome, i also left some old T-shirts for the room boys.
All in all a great holiday, dont go without doing a Safari with JT!! Cant wait to go again!

  • Stayed September 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Swini_Bully
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Derbyshire
Level Contributor
16 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 11, 2009

This hotel is very well run very clean and the staff are very good. The location was breathtaking when we first arrived we could not believe what we saw. The choice and quality of food was fantastic. This hotel is sutiable for all ages of travellers as there is something for every one to enjoy.
We had booked our two night safari to Tsavo East & West before we left the UK and were not sure what to expect. This was booked through Julius K. Nzumbi of J.T Safaris(www.julius-safariscom) the service provided by Julius was excellent! The lodges we stayed in were above our expectations, staying the first night in Aruba and the second in Kilaguni Serena. We saw lots of animals including lions and cheetahs thanks to our driver Franco's quick responses to information received over the radio. We would have no worries about booking with Julius again, and are hoping to return again in two years time to do a weeks safari - booked with JT safari's. Many thanks again Julius to you and all your staff for making our safari experience so very good and excellent value for money.

  • Stayed August 2009, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank 4Dreamers
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Diani Beach
2.3 mi away
Diani Sea Resort
Diani Sea Resort
#4 of 30 in Diani Beach
4.5 of 5 bubbles 949 reviews
5.1 mi away
Southern Palms Beach Resort
Southern Palms Beach Resort
#9 of 30 in Diani Beach
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,295 reviews
0.8 mi away
The Sands at Nomad
The Sands at Nomad
#7 of 30 in Diani Beach
4.5 of 5 bubbles 396 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.2 mi away
Waterlovers Beach Resort
Waterlovers Beach Resort
#3 of 30 in Diani Beach
5.0 of 5 bubbles 368 reviews
7.6 mi away
The Sands At Chale Island
The Sands At Chale Island
#2 of 30 in Diani Beach
4.5 of 5 bubbles 500 reviews
23.3 mi away
Voyager Beach Resort
Voyager Beach Resort
#2 of 59 in Mombasa
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,871 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Baobab Beach Resort & Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Baobab Beach Resort & Spa

Property: Baobab Beach Resort & Spa
Address: Diani Beach Road, Diani Beach, Ukunda 80400, Kenya
Location: Kenya > Coast Province > Ukunda > Diani Beach
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Top resorts Hotel in Diani Beach
#4 Family Hotel in Diani Beach
#4 Romantic Hotel in Diani Beach
#5 Luxury Hotel in Diani Beach
#5 On the Beach Hotel in Diani Beach
#5 Business Hotel in Diani Beach
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Baobab Beach Resort & Spa 4*
Number of rooms: 321
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located on the world famous Diani Beach. The resort comprises three luxurious properties – The Baobab, The Maridadi and Kole Kole, offering a unique selection of exquisite accommodation and facilities spread across the resort grounds. Guestrooms have been specifically designed to provide paramount comfort and luxury for all our clients. Guests may utilise leisure facilities across the resort including 3 swimming pools, dining areas and much more. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Agoda and Booking.com so you can book your Baobab Beach Resort & Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Baobab - Baobab Beach Resort And Spa
The Baobab - Baobab Beach Hotel Ukunda
Baobab Beach Hotel Diani

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing