We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Everything we expected and more”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Baobab Beach Resort & Spa
Ranked #5 of 29 Hotels in Diani Beach
Certificate of Excellence
sheffield england
Level Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
“Everything we expected and more”
Reviewed July 18, 2009

This place was fantastic.Just the transfer from the airport is an experience in its self with everybody in the streets making and selling things.We stayed in the maridadi part of the hotel which was the quieter end of the property but there are other parts that are more lively like the baobab or kole kole areas.If you are an animal lover you will love this place by far the best is the many types of monkeys which get up to all kinds of mischief stealing food from tables and the many waiters chasing them with catapults(the monkeys always win).All the staff are fantasic and will always greet you with Jambo no matter how many times you will pass them,they always have time to talk to you and will help out with anything.We also went on safari with hits safaris(you can get the web site from T A )they were very good and a resonable price we saw the big 5 and cheaters and many other animals.Just be prepared to be hassled every time you stop outside the game parks to buy things, they will even want to trade with you for the shoes you are waring.The thing to do is bring old football shirts or tee shirts with you and you can give them to some of the people they seem to like that.
Overall it was a magnificent holiday one which we will never forget and will definatly be going back.

  • Stayed July 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank patty&kenny
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,472 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    951
    379
    99
    28
    15
See reviews for
375
779
45
24
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (330)
Date | Rating
  • Czech first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hungarian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Suffolk
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed July 15, 2009

Just got back from Baobab and I have to say what a fabulous place it is. We stayed in a bungalow which was in the trees but it had all the facilities even a resident lizard! I was a little concerned with all the negative reviews on here but I can honestly say I would go back and will go back. All facilities are open and the staff make it so special. We had a few showers and cloudy days but no one can change the weather. Want to be there now!!

  • Stayed July 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank bounty2408
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
wales
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed July 13, 2009

We have just returned from an excellent two week trip to the Baobab Beach Resort, Kenya, and already missing it... Before booking this trip, my partner and i were looking for a perfect place to go away to get married, so we decided to try Kenya and first choice recomended the Baobab. I have never written any sort of review before but we were that impressed by this place that i decided to give it a go....

On arrival to the hotel we were greeted with cocktails and a very warm and happy welcome. Once checked in we were shown to our rooms very quickly so there was no time wasted waiting about.. For the first few days we stayed in one of the bungalows, the room was good very clean and we would have been quite happy staying there, but as we booked a wedding package we were to be upgraded on our wedding day.

First impressions were great.. The gardens were beautiful, and the monkeys were everywhere.....the beach looked fantastic and the pools looked great too. We spent the first few days exploring and settling in and it wasnt long before we made a few friends.

We arrived on the Tuesday and planned to get married on the Friday. We met RENSON our wedding planner, he was fantastic, he arranged the wedding exactly as we wanted, and told us not to worry about a thing..He even upgraded us a day early to the Maridadi Wing which was amazing...On our wedding day we sunbathed till 1230, then went back to our room to get ready and he came and collected us at 230 and took us to our chosen wedding destination. The ceremony went perfectly and the weather was great, (so much less stressfull than weddings back home...)

The beach was great. We went for a beach walk with one of the entertainment team, We were a bit weiry about venturing onto the beach because i heard that the beach boys hassle you into buying carvings from them, but as we found out, they are very friendly and are happy just walking and talking with you.. If you dont want to buy anything just walk on by an say no thanks, they will soon leave u alone. They are just earning a living after all. We did buy a few thing from them at the end of the holiday, at a very reasonable price too,Just be prepaired to haggle them down and dont give in!!!! Oh and if you have any old football or rugby shirts you can swap them for gifts..

The food was great too. Ive read reviews about it being repettative and boring?? What a load of crap!!! There was different food to try EVERY nite, but some people just didnt want too try new things, and it was all cooked fresh in front of you. Oh and the chefs and staff were fantastic and very friendly.

We were also looking to book a safari and after reading a few reviews on trip advisor we decided to call julius... He made our holiday complete.. We aranged to meet him at the front gate, as he is not allowed on site. he helped us choose the perfect safari for a VERY good price....Dont book with the hotel or first choice because they rip you off......
Oh yes... and if you ask you might get some free gifts from julius too!!!!!!!!
THANK YOU JULIUS !!!!!!!!
I have written a seperate review about the safari so look it up to find out more.....

We found that the Baobab is in the perfect location, beautiful surroundings, and gardens full of wildlife..we loved the monkeys.. your not supposed to feed them but lots of people were.. you just have to be a bit more careful of the baboons as they can be quite intimidating sometimes.

There was some maitenance work going on whilst we were there but it didnt bother us one bit, the workmen were never in your way or loud, to be honest we hardly seen them(i am aware that some guests have complained, but from what i can see they complained about everything.. suppose you cant please everyone!!!!)

The night entertainment was good..The staff made the best out of what little they had to entertain you with, but it was good overall.. and the massi dancers were great too!!!

overall we had a fantastic time at the baobab, and look forward to returning in the near future

  • Stayed June 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank markjburchell
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Derby
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed July 12, 2009

All 5 pools (3 are linked), 4 bars and 4 restaurants opened 1st July so last week better than first. 1 bar and 1 a-la-carte stayed shut as it was quiet.
Food was excellent, one of the best we've had for an all-inclusive. The 3 all-inc served the same food but it was nice to have a change of venue. Didn't try the a-la-carte (only 1 was open) but someone did and didn't rate it. Both of us did have seriously dodgy stomachs which we put down to Malarone, but still on it now and tummies are OK. Hard to believe it was the food as we both eat vey different and everything was so fresh and served hot.
Saw the 4 types of monkeys, they made our holiday. The small monkeys are 'slightly mischievous' and will enter your room, steal food off restaurant tables, rummage though unattended bags at side of pool etc - HOW GREAT IS THAT? much better than going to Skegness.
Went on 2 trips with Julius of JT Safaries (see seperate review) this may sound like every other review but he was EXCELLENT. Nothing was too much trouble, prices were excellent and customer service better than anything you will receive in England. Masai Mara was a dream come true. Would have booked even more trips but 'tummy troubles' confined us to hotel for longer than we wanted.

  • Stayed July 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank dave-coll
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Berkshire
Level Contributor
14 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
Reviewed July 9, 2009

We loved the wildlife around the hotel. The monkeys were hilarious as were the baboons although a bit more intimidating! The Iguana who walked around the sunbeds was also great to watch as people didn't see him coming and many a scream was heard when he walked out from under their beds. In the evening the bush babies in the restaurant were so cute and loved to be fed bananas, so if you love animals you'll love this experience.
Unfortunately while we were there the Kole Kole was shut and the 2nd pool was being worked on nwhich spoilt things a bit. There are loads of sunbeds around the hotel but if you wanted to be next to the pool you'd be lucky as people were leaving towels out very early to get a spot! Once all the pools are open I'm sure it would be lovely.
I enjoyed the food in the restaurant and thought they did a great job although at the end of 2 weeks I was getting a bit fed up with it but that can't be helped. We both had upset stomachs the whole holiday which was unusual for us but I don't know whether to blame that on the food, Malorone tablets or whatever. I was cross that Thomson advertised 2 all inclusive restaurants in their brochure but in fact there was only 1. I was looking forward to having a choice.
When we first got there the beach boys were awful but I think security spoke to them as after a few days they backed off. They still came up to us but if you said 'no thanks' firmly they left you alone. It's also worth going on the beach after dinner when it's dark as there are no boys around but if the tides out it's great fun watching the crabs. There is a light from the hotel so and security watching so you're quite safe.
We went on safari with JT Safari after reading good reviews on this site. We emailed and booked from home and met them on our first day to pay the deposit and sort out arrangements. It was brilliant and I would definately advise anybody to go with them. Having the bus to yourselves makes so much difference and we saw the big 5 - most people didn't see the rhino. Ngulia (might have spelt that wrong) Lodge is a must stay as although it is a bit rough around the edges, the wildlife there was exceptional. We saw a leopard in the evening while we were eating dinner and porcupines were wandering around and when we woke up there were elephants outside the window.
All in all we loved the holiday although probably wouldn't go again simply because we've done that now and like to try different things.

  • Stayed June 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank CatLoverBerkshire
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Halesowen
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed July 8, 2009

The Baobab was a fantastic hotel and we could not ask for anywhere better. The staff were very friendly and welcoming - Jacob the Thomson rep was brilliant and a great help.

The food was really nice, every night was a theme night so many types of food to choose from. There was food available all day but outside of breakfast, lunch and dinner, this tended to be sandwiches and snack foods which some people may not like – personally we didn’t mind, as if you eat the main meals, you don’t really want to eat anything in between anyway.

The entertainment throughout the day was fun and the shows on the evening were brilliant. One of the highlights of the resort is the wildlife - the best were the monkeys. They were so funny and entertaining, they do pinch off your plate if you’re not looking but at the end of the day its all inclusive there is plenty to go around! We did sneakily feed the monkeys our balcony but its an amazing experience I will proberly not get to have again unless I go back.

The beach was beautiful but alas, only to look at, as you can not go on the beach unless you enjoy getting ambushed and pestered by the beach boys wanting you to buy things off them - unless you are prepared to be very rude and ignore them completely, they will I’m afraid ruin any trip to the beach you try to undertake – the good news, the hotel is right on the beach front so in some ways, we didn’t miss the beach that much.

The trips were a little bit expensive but we suspect that’s because Thomson were obviously taking their cut – we did look at booking locally and a few people told us that’s the way to go rather than book through Thomson.

We feel that a bit let down by Thomson who didn’t properly explain the setup of the resort to us and we feel they kind of mis-sold the holiday a little bit (the resort is actually composed of three different parts, the Baobab is the standard accommodation, the Maradabi Wing is the deluxe and the Kole Kole is the premium. Most of the photos in the brochure are of the Kole Kole part…) – we felt they kind of just sold us a ‘platinum’ holiday and built up a some expectations that turned out to be false… but that’s not to say we wouldn’t have gone anyway, it’s just better to know what you are getting before you go, rather than find your initially a bit disappointed. If you know the pro’s and con’s, and decide to go, then you won’t mind when you find you don’t have a tv in your room etc, because you decided that wasn’t something you were fussed about etc.

In conclusion, the resort is fantastic, just make sure you research exactly what you are getting so if you decide to come, you won’t feel let down. The resort is beautiful, the staff\entertainers great and the food wonderful. Just not that impressed with Thomson marketing really.

I only have one bad comment to make and that was the many fruit flies that I kept finding on my fruit… but again, the hotel did try the best they could to cover things up, but in reality, you are in a tropical environment, and the fruit flies are part of that I’m afraid.

  • Stayed June 2009, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Freckles24
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Harlow
Level Contributor
7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed July 8, 2009

Just got back after spending a week at the Baobab Resort in Dinai Beach, and what a week! Made all the more special by JT Safari's, Julius and his team of guides. My friend heard about JT on Trip Advisor and so we decided to contact them whilst in Kenya. Best thing we could have done as they are by far better than the other tour companies especially the larger one's such as Pollmans.

Our tour operator (Thomson) wanted more than double the rate of JT and we would have had a strict itinerary and had to share with others. JT is completely different. It is both personal and fully changeable to what "You" want to do. The tour guides are very friendly and knowledgeble and let you go at your pace. You really will believe in their saying "As long as you are happy"

We used JT twice in the week, one to Shimba Falls and one on the Mombasa city tour. Both were excellent in content and value. The guides make you feel at ease and especially in Momabasa (which at first is quite daunting) very safe!

You will simply be blown away by the service just as we were.

If you want a great experience then only use one tour operator - JT Safari's.

Julius even made us some wood carving's and didn't want anything for them!

We will be visiting Kenya again in a couple of years and will definitely be using JT again.

  • Stayed July 2009, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Artful_Midget
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Diani Beach
2.2 mi away
Diani Sea Resort
Diani Sea Resort
#4 of 29 in Diani Beach
4.5 of 5 bubbles 964 reviews
0.6 mi away
The Sands at Nomad
The Sands at Nomad
#7 of 29 in Diani Beach
4.5 of 5 bubbles 406 reviews
5.1 mi away
Southern Palms Beach Resort
Southern Palms Beach Resort
#10 of 29 in Diani Beach
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,307 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.1 mi away
Waterlovers Beach Resort
Waterlovers Beach Resort
#2 of 29 in Diani Beach
5.0 of 5 bubbles 378 reviews
7.7 mi away
The Sands At Chale Island
The Sands At Chale Island
#3 of 29 in Diani Beach
4.5 of 5 bubbles 520 reviews
23.2 mi away
Voyager Beach Resort
Voyager Beach Resort
#2 of 58 in Mombasa
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,924 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Baobab Beach Resort & Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Baobab Beach Resort & Spa

Property: Baobab Beach Resort & Spa
Address: Diani Beach Road, Diani Beach, Ukunda 80400, Kenya
Location: Kenya > Coast Province > Ukunda > Diani Beach
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Top resorts Hotel in Diani Beach
#4 Romantic Hotel in Diani Beach
#4 Family Hotel in Diani Beach
#5 On the Beach Hotel in Diani Beach
#5 Business Hotel in Diani Beach
#5 Luxury Hotel in Diani Beach
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Baobab Beach Resort & Spa 4*
Number of rooms: 321
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located on the world famous Diani Beach. The resort comprises three luxurious properties – The Baobab, The Maridadi and Kole Kole, offering a unique selection of exquisite accommodation and facilities spread across the resort grounds. Guestrooms have been specifically designed to provide paramount comfort and luxury for all our clients. Guests may utilise leisure facilities across the resort including 3 swimming pools, dining areas and much more. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Agoda, Evoline ltd, Jovago.com, TripOnline SA and HotelQuickly so you can book your Baobab Beach Resort & Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Baobab - Baobab Beach Hotel Ukunda
The Baobab - Baobab Beach Resort And Spa
Baobab Beach Hotel Diani

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing