We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fantastic, fantastic, fantastic”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Baobab Beach Resort & Spa
Ranked #4 of 29 Hotels in Diani Beach
Certificate of Excellence
Berkshire
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Fantastic, fantastic, fantastic”
Reviewed April 8, 2009

We went here with Thomsons after their week long Best of Kenya safari. After a truly amazing but shattering week on safari, the Baobab was exactly what we needed. The staff were incredible, the food delicious (we haven’t eaten so much in a week before!), the resort was clean, the swimming pools divine and the beach (minus the hawkers) gorgeous. The entertainment team were enthusiastic and there was a wide variety of activities you could participate in but there was no pressure to do so. The evening entertainment shows were at times different but always entertaining. I would recommend this hotel and the Best of Kenya safari to anyone. It was definitely a holiday to remember for all the right reasons.

  • Stayed March 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank ReadingBerkshire
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,501 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    962
    389
    105
    29
    16
See reviews for
388
787
49
24
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (333)
Date | Rating
  • Czech first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hungarian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Sheffield UK
Level 6 Contributor
78 reviews
49 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 94 helpful votes
Reviewed April 4, 2009

Baobab met all our expectations. The main rooms are quite basic but still nice. The beds were really hard though. We upgraded to Maridadi wing which was lovely. Fairly painless to upgrade. Flat screen TV. Huge spacous rooms with kingsize 4 poster bed and lovely crisp white and blue decor. Enormous en suite walk in shower and two washbasins. Fantastic views over the pool and towards the indian ocean. The food was the best we have experienced in all inclusive - and was good by any standards. My husband particularly liked his banana crumble and custard at lunchtimes! The service was excellent. Staff are all friendly and when you think of the levels of poverty in Kenya and how much waste they must see, I can't believe how warm and open they are. There are 3 main swimming pools the centre one is where the entertainment team were based volleyball water polo. aerobics etc. Not my thing but if you get fed up of your book....
We did a Thomson safari which was excellent but pretty pricey.
We chickened out of the beach. We had heard that the beach sellers can be very persistent and thought why face the stress, so we chickened out. I am not keen on sea swimming there is coral in the seas but high tide makes it easier. Take plastic sandals. In any case and my OH does not like sand much but there is a man made sandy beach at maridadi which the beach sellers cannot access. All in all, a fantastic holiday and worth having to have yellow fever jabs and having to take malaria tabs!

  • Stayed March 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
7 Thank alyfenSheffieldUK
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Richmond-upon-Thames, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
Reviewed March 26, 2009

Stayed at Baobab 8th to 23rd March in the Baobab section of the hotel itself. Had wonderful holiday and fantastic safari. Hotel consists of main Baobab section (which is the oldest area) and two higher standard wings the Kole Kole and Maridadi. Our room in Baobab was adequate, king size double bed with en suite and walk in shower, no tv or tea coffe facilities, but clean and tidy with air conditioning and small balcony facing the sea; the two Kole Kole and Maridadi wings are very spacious and well appointed.
No matter where your room is you can use all the hotel facilities, eat in any of the three excellent buffet resturants or use the pools, bars and lounging areas. Because of this the hotel offers very good variety and opportunity to choose whether you want quiet and relaxing Maridadi with its "beach" and three pools including pool bar or plenty of activities at Baobab or Kole Kole with its fantastic infinity pool and two bars.
Evening entertainment at the Amplitheatre starts at 9.30pm and is good by animation team standards, alternatively relax at any of the three bars and lounges.
Whilst there we visited a local school with one of the waiters if you befriend one they will ask you if you'd like to visit but beware as there is always a "commercial oportunity" either personnally or for the family to be exploited once you are there! The waiters can be sacked if caught so be descreet. It was a good experience though and perfectly safe, real eye opener to see a state school and living conditions of the local people.
We booked a two night three day safari with JT Safaris in Tsavo East and West, stayed at two excellent lodges Ashnil and Kilaguni, of which Kilaguni in Tsava West was best and had a real wow factor because of the water hole view. Ten of us from Baobab went on the same trip with two other guests from another hotel in three safari vans (four to a van) had a fantastic time great fun and saw everything except Rhino and Leopard. Good value too.
All in all a great holiday, met some lovely people, were well looked after by the excellent staff and would recommend it to anyone.

  • Stayed March 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
8 Thank Jer-and-Gill
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
kent
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed March 24, 2009

hotel very clean, staff very friendly and helpful. if you are looking to do trips, ie safaris or boat trips, book before going on the net as the holiday companies charge excessive rates.
we did a two day one night safari via www.naturaltoursandsafaris.com, and humphrey organised the best trip we have been on, on any holiday. our guide kim was excellent. we will be going back to the same hotel and will do more trips through humphrey. if you don't like monkeys don't go, as they are every where, they even visit your balcony in the mornings, ( WE FOUND THEM BRILLIANT) its a good idea to take some pens, pencils and note pads with you, just in case you visit any schools, as they are in need of anything like this.

  • Stayed March 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank finnyKent
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manchester UK
Level 6 Contributor
192 reviews
169 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 392 helpful votes
Reviewed March 23, 2009

We arrived at the hotel Baobab, following a 1 hour transfer through the scenic streets of Mombasa, which included a ten minute river crossing by ferry boat.

On arrival at the hotel, we realised that the resort is actually 2 hotels that share the same grounds. This is a big plus as you can use the bars, restaurants and pools of both hotels; which gives considerably more choice and variety to your stay.

We had paid the small increase for a sea facing bungalow and it was certainly worth the small extra. Modern and spacious the room had a balcony, small seating area, double bed, compact en-suite bathroom with walk-in shower (no bath), essential air-conditioning, TV, room safe and tea / coffee making facilities.

We were staying on an ‘all-inclusive’ basis, but could eat and drink in all of the bars and 3 of the 5 restaurants (the other 2 restaurants were cash only). This certainly provided sufficient variety and avoided that ‘groundhog day’ repetition that can hit you after the first week. No need to wear those irritating armbands or sign for your drinks, just relax and enjoy. The free bar service finished at 11PM, but with the long days of sunshine (from 9AM right through to 7PM) everyone had hit the bed by this hour.

The pools were brilliant, a three tier infinity pool with swim-up bar, a more basic pool and finally a large infinity pool. No waiter drinks service at the pools, but a bar is only paces away.

The sea front location meant a gentle breeze and was great for after lunch walks, except for the hassle from the local vendors.

There was no shortage of sun loungers strung across the grounds, albeit some of the cosier poolside spots were quickly taken.

Food was buffet style, with the same food served in all three restaurants; but an extremely wide and varied choice to suit all tastes, with lots of freshly cooked meat and fish at the grill counters.

I would certainly recommend Ali Barbours restaurant, a ten minute taxi ride down the road (they will collect you and drop you back). A most amazing atmosphere, the restaurant is situated in an underground cave, open above to the stars. Very romantic and the food is excellent. Apart from that, there is nothing much in the surrounding area, just one or two quiet bars, so enjoy the hotel and relax. Entertainment in the hotel is basic, so chat and make friends at the bar.

As for the monkeys which roam freely around the resort, you get used to them rather like cats and dogs in the UK. Just don’t walk outside the restaurants with uncovered food.

In summary, the hotel offered excellent value for money and completely changed my expectations of ‘all inclusive’ resorts.

  • Stayed February 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
7 Thank Nick_From_Manchester
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hampshire
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed March 17, 2009

Just returned from a fabulous two week's at the Baobab Beach resort Diani. If you are considering a holiday to Kenya i can't recommend this hotel enough, the room's were great ,monkey's on your balcony, just remember to keep you door screen locked, otherwise no problem. The food was probaly the best we've had abroad (no upset stomach's) there are three pool's including an infinity pool,plenty of bar's to wander to and the entertainment in the evening was good, there was six of us in our party ,all of the same opinion. The staff are very friendly and after reading some negative reviews it seem's to me you get out of people what you put in, nothing was too much trouble for anyone. We booked a safari for two nights with Jtsafaris@yahoo.com also more information at julias.safaris.com these were tailor made to our own specifications, with some recommendation's from Julias.One night at the Ashnil Aruba Hotel and one night at Shimba Hill's, this hotel is built right up in the tree's with a watering hole just beneath, what a fantastic experience!! We saw most animals on our safari except Rhino,mostly thank's to "lucky "our driver. I would highly recommend you book your safari with julias his office is a short cab drive from the Baobab or e-mail him before you go giving him the dates of your stay and
he will collect you from the hotel to discuss your requirements. He is a very sincere man and has a lovely sister called Jameilla. You couldn't possibly be dissapointed

  • Stayed February 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
6 Thank SmilerHampshire
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lytham,Lancashire
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed March 8, 2009

This is a great hotel,fantastic location, the staff are wonderful. We were originally allocated a standard room which was old, tired & gloomy, no TV, definitely not 4 star or four anything.However the ever-helpful reception were able to offer an upgrade to a superior or deluxe, totally new ball game. The better rooms are in the Kole Kole or Madradi wings and are bigger, have lovely 4-poster-type beds and flat screen TV and are well worth the extra money, about £150 for superior and £300 for deluxe per week extra.They also benefit from nicer and less crowded restaurants where the food is great and a less busy pool.We were in the Madradi wing and had a wonderful week, we didn't leave! My wife also enjoyed the spa treatments.

  • Stayed February 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Gartland
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Diani Beach hotels
0.6 mi away
The Sands at Nomad
The Sands at Nomad
#8 of 29 in Diani Beach
423 reviews
5.1 mi away
Southern Palms Beach Resort
Southern Palms Beach Resort
#10 of 29 in Diani Beach
1,324 reviews
2.2 mi away
Diani Sea Resort
Diani Sea Resort
#5 of 29 in Diani Beach
987 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.1 mi away
Waterlovers Beach Resort
Waterlovers Beach Resort
#2 of 29 in Diani Beach
383 reviews
7.7 mi away
The Sands At Chale Island
The Sands At Chale Island
#3 of 29 in Diani Beach
523 reviews
4.6 mi away
The Maji Beach Boutique Hotel
The Maji Beach Boutique Hotel
#1 of 29 in Diani Beach
263 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Baobab Beach Resort & Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Baobab Beach Resort & Spa

Property: Baobab Beach Resort & Spa
Address: Diani Beach Road, Diani Beach, Ukunda 80400, Kenya
Location: Kenya > Coast Province > Ukunda > Diani Beach
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Top resorts Hotel in Diani Beach
#4 Luxury Hotel in Diani Beach
#4 Family Hotel in Diani Beach
#4 Romantic Hotel in Diani Beach
#4 On the Beach Hotel in Diani Beach
#5 Business Hotel in Diani Beach
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Baobab Beach Resort & Spa 4*
Number of rooms: 321
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located on the world famous Diani Beach. The resort comprises three luxurious properties – The Baobab, The Maridadi and Kole Kole, offering a unique selection of exquisite accommodation and facilities spread across the resort grounds. Guestrooms have been specifically designed to provide paramount comfort and luxury for all our clients. Guests may utilise leisure facilities across the resort including 3 swimming pools, dining areas and much more. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Agoda, HotelQuickly and Evoline ltd so you can book your Baobab Beach Resort & Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Baobab - Baobab Beach Hotel Ukunda
The Baobab - Baobab Beach Resort And Spa
Baobab Beach Hotel Diani

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing