We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Fantastic until we were evacuated!” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Baobab Beach Resort & Spa

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Baobab Beach Resort & Spa
Ranked #5 of 30 Hotels in Diani Beach
Certificate of Excellence
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Fantastic until we were evacuated!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 18, 2014

Unfortunately our stay was cut far too short due to british tourist evacuation. However when allowed we will be going straight back! Staff were so friendly espescially reps moses and mercy who I very much hope to see when me and my girlfriend return!

Regarding things to do there are so many excursions just take your wallet! safaris to scuba diving boat trips camel riding snorkeling archery spice market etc etc etc theres so much to do I struggle to see how people ran out.

The rooms are decent remember your in a poor part of africa and personally added to my experience and my girlfriend was even happy with them and thats saying something.

Downside would be the beach. Unfortunately the beach belongs to the looky looky men and you wont find more than a few tourists on it due to the harrasment. However the pool does directly sit looking over the sea.

I would recommend this hotel and kenya to everyone although maybe not for young kids. We went in rainy season and despite not having or full two weeks there was no rain and plenty hot enough for us. Such a fantastic place and as soon as the travel ban is lifted we shall return.

Happy holidays

  • Stayed May 2014
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
5 Thank JLiddard
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,443 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    937
    370
    95
    27
    14
See reviews for
366
768
43
23
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (326)
Date | Rating
  • Czech first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hungarian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 15, 2014

Just returned after a 2 week holiday to the Baobab with my wife. The resort was beautiful and well maintained however after returning from Safari I felt there was not much to do.

I can only assume the place livens up a bit during the high season, but the Jambo team seemed very lethargic and staff around the activity areas made you feel as if you were bothering them by requesting to try activities e.g archery, beach walks.

The beach was absolutely stunning however it was deserted, To most people this sounds like paradise but with an empty beach comes an army of beach sellers. They outnumbered tourists on the beach at a ratio of 10:1. The word "no" was not something they have come to understand yet, they would follow you for the length of your walk along the beach then beg with you to spend money. Unfortunately the only way to deal with them was to be down right rude and some people are not comfortable with this.

The food at the hotel was to an OK standard. However on the downside it was very repetitive. You would find that whatever was left over at dinner would be served again at breakfast. I for one wouldn't eat saag aloo or banana crumble and custard for breakfast and would assume most people would agree!! Also another downfall was the food in the buffet serving trays was always cold, the only time food was served hot was if it was cooked in front of you on one of the grills.

On the plus side the staff were out of this world, everyone would go out of their way to help you whether you tip or not. This was right through the hotel from the waiters on breakfast to the pool attendants exchanging towels!

We went on the 3 night Ndogo adventure safari organised by Thomson. The safari itself was carried out by Pollmans and I can't recommend them enough. Our tour guide Mohammed was amazing, every question we asked he had answers for them all. His knowledge on every animal we saw was excellent, and his spotting ability was unreal. We found a lot of other visitors queuing behind us as our guide always seemed to be the one spotting. If we ever go back to Kenya on safari we would personally ask for Mohammed to take us, he was that good!

All in all the holiday itself was brilliant purely for the amazing time we had on safari. If I was to return to Kenya it would be during the High season though, just to have a better chance of not being hounded by the beach boys!

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Michael R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nairobi, Kenya
Level Contributor
13 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 15, 2014

We spent four nights with my wife in Baobab Beach Resort & spa. Since we were celebrating our thirty years wedding anniversary we were to look for a better place, hence the search. Our search settled us to this prestigious resort and we booked it to spent our holiday there. It actually never disappointed, i would say. All our expectations were met. Our room was located at Baobab wing and was so spacious & very clean with smart and clean clothing. The other wings were KOLEKOLE & MARIDADI. Each wing had a swimming pool but our preferred pool was at Maridadi wing, a trio- pool, water spilling from one pool to the other. This pool is quiet and is manned by very active and nice guys. we didn't change restaurants, all through we dinned at the restaurant near the Baobab reception. it was all inclusive and every thing worked well. Talk of any category of food, the choice is enormous, be careful you may leave out any type of food you want thinking its not there because the counters are many. If you are a guest here, you will not regret. The entire staff is taking public relation and customer care very highly, they are so friendly, talk nicely with a sense of humor. The beach was nice and we enjoyed swimming in the ocean although at times the water was very violent and no body dared enter the sea at that time. Every evening we attended entertainments at porini amphitheatre. This was wow! The dancers performed so well. We missed it the first day we left the hotel! Having said all these, we had a small hitch with our CAKE on our third day, the day we were to cerebrate our wedding anniversary. This we had to invite the intervention of the operations Manager, Mr Philip Mbugua and the problem was quickly sorted out. Thank you Mr Mbugua for the extra mile you went to make us comfortable. All in all we had a great holiday and anniversary.We sincerely thank the entire Baobab team, without whom our anniversary holiday could not be that GREAT!!... We will come again.

Room Tip: All rooms are suitable here, but i prefer rooms in 2 or 3 floors, where you have a wide and far vie...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Joshuacaleb
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bolton, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 15, 2014 via mobile

Just come back from this amazing holiday had time of our life. Staff are amazing the beach is beautiful the beach boys are a pain!! But you get used to them. Will definately return next year but not in May too much rain but got a great tan!!! Can't wait to go back. Safari booked through Julius Nzumbi who has been brilliant (jt safari) and our driver Ken was wonderful. Make sure you visit the Ali Barbour Cave restaurant stunningly beautiful x

  • Stayed May 2014
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank NicolaJayneDooley
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Southampton, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 13, 2014

We stayed for our first 2 days in a kole kole deluxe room, which was fantastic. We also got a few gifts (wine, fruit and tea and coffee from the shop) as on honeymoon. This section had the best pool which was an infinity pool. Also had a good bar and snack section.
After our safari we came back and the hotel had upgraded us to a bunglow in the maridadi section which a lovely view of the sea.
The beach was gorgeous, however the beach boys will do their very best to make you buy something.
We ate mostly in the maridadi section and the food was of good quality, but could be repetitive.
The staff were all very friendly, and we felt safe in hotel.
Our room was cleaned in the morning and then again whilst we were at dinner.
Our Recommendations:
Eat out at Ali Barbas - rep or reception will book a table and it will provide a shuttle bus. The restaurant is in a cave with an open roof, and the food was amazing! Best steak ever!
Pili pipa trip - snorkling or diving, lovely lunch of fresh crab (or chicken) and great views.
Go on a safari
Take stuff you would be willing to donate (old tshirts, flip flops, pens, pencils etc), your rep or reception arrange for it to go those in need. They are very grateful.

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank sam e
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nairobi, Kenya
Level Contributor
9 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 12, 2014

Visit Mombasa frequently but usually stay in North. Purposed to visit Diani area and indeed distance was worth the choice. Stayed at Maridadi wing. Meals were delicious and spoilt for choice. But wish pool attendants would be more helpful to those who don't know how to swim especially because we werent aware that one should carry own floaters. Stayed 2 nights but recommend a longer stay.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank 569Ruth569
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rotherham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 11, 2014

This is only the second time in nearly 20 years of travelling I have ever wished to return to an hotel I have been to before, well I wasn't disappointed the first time around in 2011 and I wasn't disappointed this time too. The sea view from our room was sheer bliss.
The staff work tirelessly, the hotel is of high standard and very clean, the entertainment is excellent for a wide age range. When asked by work collegues if I enjoyed it more or less than the last time my reply was I enjoyed it just as much.
Well done to all the Baobab Beach Resort staff you do an excellent job, I would not hesitate to come back again if I ever visit Kenya again

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank kazzymeg
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Diani Beach
2.3 mi away
Diani Sea Resort
Diani Sea Resort
#4 of 30 in Diani Beach
4.5 of 5 bubbles 949 reviews
0.8 mi away
The Sands at Nomad
The Sands at Nomad
#7 of 30 in Diani Beach
4.5 of 5 bubbles 397 reviews
5.1 mi away
Southern Palms Beach Resort
Southern Palms Beach Resort
#9 of 30 in Diani Beach
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,295 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.2 mi away
Waterlovers Beach Resort
Waterlovers Beach Resort
#3 of 30 in Diani Beach
5.0 of 5 bubbles 369 reviews
7.6 mi away
The Sands At Chale Island
The Sands At Chale Island
#2 of 30 in Diani Beach
4.5 of 5 bubbles 501 reviews
23.3 mi away
Voyager Beach Resort
Voyager Beach Resort
#1 of 59 in Mombasa
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,875 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Baobab Beach Resort & Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Baobab Beach Resort & Spa

Property: Baobab Beach Resort & Spa
Address: Diani Beach Road, Diani Beach, Ukunda 80400, Kenya
Location: Kenya > Coast Province > Ukunda > Diani Beach
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Top resorts Hotel in Diani Beach
#4 Family Hotel in Diani Beach
#4 Romantic Hotel in Diani Beach
#5 On the Beach Hotel in Diani Beach
#5 Luxury Hotel in Diani Beach
#5 Business Hotel in Diani Beach
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Baobab Beach Resort & Spa 4*
Number of rooms: 321
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located on the world famous Diani Beach. The resort comprises three luxurious properties – The Baobab, The Maridadi and Kole Kole, offering a unique selection of exquisite accommodation and facilities spread across the resort grounds. Guestrooms have been specifically designed to provide paramount comfort and luxury for all our clients. Guests may utilise leisure facilities across the resort including 3 swimming pools, dining areas and much more. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com and Agoda so you can book your Baobab Beach Resort & Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Baobab - Baobab Beach Resort And Spa
The Baobab - Baobab Beach Hotel Ukunda
Baobab Beach Hotel Diani

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing