We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“nice hotel but beach out of bounds”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Baobab Beach Resort & Spa
Ranked #4 of 29 Hotels in Diani Beach
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed September 29, 2008

Without any doubt the hotel is of a high standard and the people
in the hotel are very friendly. Food is of a good standard but there was only one restaurant open so it can get a bit busy unless you pay to eat al la carte

If you enjoy swimming in the sea, water sports, beach games this is not the hotel or resort for you. The beach boys are aggressive and will not leave you alone irrespective of how many times you thank them but tell them your not interested. Hotel states water sports are included but none were available in Sept 08

If you are thinking about going to this hotel you should also be aware that if you want to go on safari it is approx 4 hours by jeep each way to Tsavo East game park.

  • Stayed: September 2008, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank HANTS72
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (1,596)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

1,223 - 1,229 of 1,596 reviews

Reviewed September 16, 2008

I stayed here again after two really good stays previously, however this time I was disappointed! The changes that have been made have not been all for the good and some of the friendly faces seem to have disappeared. The food is still good and the rooms are clean and well kept and most of the staff work hard to please.

It is a shame that the new works has spoilt a little of the forest feel that had been there on prior visits, however the new theatre seem good although paying for drinks when there is now happening.

After reading in the brochures (I checked again on my return to see if things had changed as previously the music at night had been really great) We were disappointed by the music even the classical music is no longer so relaxing it is not so good now. As a young couple we really missed the evening music, It used to be lively and played a good mix of music that suited everyone however it seems the Crazy DJ is no longer there and he had such good music, really up to date and you rarely heard the same songs but now you can predict what is being played. It was sometimes more interesting to walk on the beach and listen to the hotel further down that was playing more modern European music or we went out to a local disco however previously we havent needed too as the hotel provided good music. At times the DJ this time didn't even know what songs we were requesting and seemed not to be bothered to even look to see if he had them we were just met with Dont' know it or dont have it it was never like this with the other DJ if he didn't have a certain tune he would find another by the artist he really made an effort but nowadays they seem to play what they want to hear. I believe the Crazy DJ is also the same person who took the main part in the evening show called the Crazy Show this show will never be as good without him, anyone who has seen it will know what we mean I have never laughed as much as when I watched this show last year and it seems the audience young and old all really enjoyed the show.

The animation team still work as hard as ever however some of the shows lack the real good dancing skills that were clear to see previously again I dont know if this is due to some staff not being there.

The activities are really good still during the day and the animation team respect if you say no but are always trying hard to get people to join in.

All in all we were somewhat disappointed as now we feel this hotel has lost some of its lively character that made it a hotel to suit all age ranges of people. We went back this time to get the feel of how it would be to have our wedding there but we have been left unsure.

  • Stayed: August 2008, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
3  Thank Ukundagirl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 11, 2008

We paid to upgrade to the Kole Kole part of the hotel, and for the quality of the room it was worth it. The room was large and airy, with a double shower and double basins. The balcony was large enough for a double lounger and table & chairs. The cleaning and servicing of the room was excellent, and when we informed reception that our aircon broke down, the engineer arrived about 2 minutes later and fixed it.
Like other reviewers, we found the Baobab side of the hotel to be more appealing during the day. It has a quieter pool area, and more trees/plants making it shadier and more attractive. All guests took their meals at the Kole Kole restaurant, as the Baobab one was closed (not enough guests to warrant opening both). The food is absolutely superb, being cooked fresh for you by the chefs, with a marvellous variety every day.
Stopping the all-inclusive bar at 11 seemed a bit early, they will serve drinks after this time but you are charged for them.
The entertainment was of a high standard, with some talented dancers and acrobats. However, be warned that the entertainment area has just been moved from the Kole Kole over to the new Baobab amphitheatre, and you can no longer get all-inclusive drinks while watching it, as the bar is chargeable. This seems a bit cheeky for a hotel which offers drinks and entertainment as part of it's all-inclusive package.
The facilities at the gym were of a high standard, and the instructor there (George) was very helpful. If you pack your fit kit you will also appreciate the daily step-aerobics and stretching classes, which I enjoyed.
The main downside was the beachboys. There were loads of them (I saw 25 of them mob 4 tourists who stepped onto the beach). It was not possible to have a stroll on the beach, as they were constantly at us with their chatter and trying to split us up and stop us from walking along. They would not take no for an answer, and as they work in teams of 5 or 6, once you got away from one team another one would start pestering you (and telling you how the other team were bad people and you shouldn't trust them!).
The whole time we were there I never saw more than 3 or 4 tourists on the beach at a time, and none of them stayed long. The only time to go down there was when the tide came in and you could splash in the waves.
This is a huge shame, as there is a beautiful reef and it would be perfect if you could pop down there to swim/snorkel without being bothered.

  • Stayed: September 2008, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
4  Thank fatbobSomerset
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 10, 2008

We returned from the Baobab in early August after a fantastic trip. The hotel, and its sister hotel Kole Kole are fantastic. We took our two young boys and they had a great time, but there weren't many other youngsters around for them to play with.

The entertainment team worked really hard during the day and night and are certainly good value. They run a busy sport schedule by day and put on excellent shows at night.

The highlight for all of us was the safari. We used JT Safaris (www.julius-safaris.com) who we got in touch with before we went having read good reviews on Tripadvisor. We weren't disappointed. Julius met us in our hotel to go through exactly what we wanted from the trip and he didn't let us down. He even asked our kids which animals they liked, only to surprise them at the end of the trip with carvings of giraffes, lions, a bush baby and a frog. A great touch that really made it for the kids.

The hotel's food choice was excellent and we would definitely recommend Baobab and Kole Kole.

  • Stayed: July 2008, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank MatthewandSusan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 8, 2008

Well what can I say our 2 weeks (end of Aug 2008) stay in Baobab Beach Resort was the best holiday I have experienced. Due to the layout of the gardens and trees monkeys roam wild throughout the resort, be careful since they will steal food and take bags, if you leave your doors/windows open they will enter your room and they make a real mess.. Take note of the ‘don’t feed the monkey’ you will only cause conflict between the locals and monkeys so just watch and admire the wild monkeys. The all-inclusive restaurant food is of the highest quality with lots of variation. The only problem is that the all inclusive finishes at 11pm and drinks need to be paid for after this time, bar closes at midnight, also you can only have the local Tusker draft keg beer which is okay but you are charge if you want bottle beers of Tusker. The animation team are outstanding and every evening the team puts on entertaining and quality shows which consist of dancing and acrobatics. The beach is overrun with beach boys trying to sell you things. This is a real pain and unfortunately this means the beach is out of bounds but I guess they need to make a living. There are plenty of sun beds around the complex so sunbathing is no problem, the friendliness of the staff who never stop smiling and helping you out made the holiday. They cannot do enough to make your holiday enjoyable nothing is too much trouble. For our safari we used JT Safari we emailed Julius and it does take time to get return emails due to the internet coverage in Kenya. We arranged to met Julius in the hotel lobby on the evening of our arrival, Julius was there and we discussed the different types of safari available and the costs, Julius gave us time to think about our trip and came back the next evening. We decided on the 2 night 3 day safari to Tsov east and west. Julius asked for only for a small deposit with payment on return from the Safari. Can you believe that? On the day of the trip start 5 am Julius turned up with the driver to make sure all was well and introduce our driver Peter, who turned out to be a diamond. Could spot animals even through he was driving, Peter went out of his way to make sure our safari was the best. Thank you Peter and Julius. Be warned there is a lot of driving and long spells in the vehicle.
If you are looking to do a safari I highly recommend JT Safari the customer service is second to none, they really care about you having a great time and go out of their way to make sure it happens cares. We were so impressed with JT Safari that we booked a trip to Wasini Island it was a great price and we had a fabulous time and the lunch we had on the island was perfect.

  • Stayed: August 2008, traveled with family
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
3  Thank whfa2004
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 27, 2008

A wonderful holiday. We stayed at the Kole Kole side and were most impressed with the spacious rooms and great view of the Indian Ocean. The daily visits from the baboons and monkeys were seen as a nuisance by some but our family thoroughly enjoyed watching them..very entertaining. We have stayed at many all-inclusive hotels and the food here was of an excellent standard and with such a wide range of dishes we were never disappointed. All the staff were so polite and helpful and the animation team worked so hard trying to ensure that everyone enjoyed themselves. The shows each evening were of a high standard and the acrobats were amazing.
We booked a safari to Governor's Camp In the Masai Mara and arranged this with WT Safaris who are based in Diani but have a contact in the UK. This was fantastic. The camp was perfect, and were so lucky to see all the big cats including the leopard. I cannot reccomend this holday highly enough. Please go to Kenya and experience this wonderful country. We visited an orphanage and our gifts were gratefully received and we were given such a warm reception. We found everyone to be charming and polite and at no time felt intimadated. The beach boys only want to improve their English and would leave you to walk along the beautiful beach alone if you asked.

  • Stayed: August 2008, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
4  Thank jayjaygee
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 24, 2008

We stayed there recently and were quite satisfied. Before booking this hotel I have read the positive reviews but, when arriving there, I realized that some of them were about Kole-Kole (the new wing of Baobab Resort) and not about the hotel itself.

The rooms are neat and simple, if you expect the 4 or 5 star confort from Europe, you won't find it here but in Kole-Kole. In my opinion, Baobab is a 3 star hotel a bit overpriced for the room but the surroundings and the whole complex are worth the money. If you are looking for a quiet and natural environment, go there. If the room is also important and you want some more space and light, go for Kole-Kole (and pay the difference).

All three meals are taken in Kole-Kole since the restaurant in Baobab is closed (don't know why). Only the afternoon tea & coffee are served close to the pool. Here is also the monkeys' kingdom: be careful since they try everything to steal food (I had one monkey jumping in my hand and steal on donut).

The personnel is very friendly and eager to help. Although the place was nice, we stayed only 2 days and then left for a safari. When returned, we moved to Kole-Kole (the difference seemed to me very reasonable for the big difference in comfort).

  • Stayed: August 2008, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
5  Thank Raresh
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Diani Beach hotels
5.1 mi away
Southern Palms Beach Resort
Southern Palms Beach Resort
#13 of 29 in Diani Beach
1,397 reviews
0.6 mi away
The Sands at Nomad
The Sands at Nomad
#8 of 29 in Diani Beach
466 reviews
2.1 mi away
Waterlovers Beach Resort
Waterlovers Beach Resort
#2 of 29 in Diani Beach
466 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.2 mi away
Diani Sea Resort
Diani Sea Resort
#5 of 29 in Diani Beach
1,043 reviews
5.6 mi away
Jacaranda Indian Ocean Beach Resort
7.7 mi away
The Sands At Chale Island
The Sands At Chale Island
#3 of 29 in Diani Beach
581 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Baobab Beach Resort & Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Baobab Beach Resort & Spa

Address: Diani Beach Road, Diani Beach, Ukunda 80400, Kenya
Location: Kenya > Coast Province > Ukunda > Diani Beach
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Top resorts Hotel in Diani Beach
#4 Family Hotel in Diani Beach
#4 On the Beach Hotel in Diani Beach
#4 Romantic Hotel in Diani Beach
#4 Luxury Hotel in Diani Beach
#5 Business Hotel in Diani Beach
Price Range: $185 - $465 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Baobab Beach Resort & Spa 4*
Number of rooms: 321
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located on the world famous Diani Beach. The resort comprises three luxurious properties – The Baobab, The Maridadi and Kole Kole, offering a unique selection of exquisite accommodation and facilities spread across the resort grounds. Guestrooms have been specifically designed to provide paramount comfort and luxury for all our clients. Guests may utilise leisure facilities across the resort including 3 swimming pools, dining areas and much more. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Orbitz, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Priceline, Booking.com, Agoda, getaroom.com, Evoline ltd and TripOnline SA so you can book your Baobab Beach Resort & Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Baobab - Baobab Beach Hotel Ukunda
The Baobab - Baobab Beach Resort And Spa
Baobab Beach Hotel Diani

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing