We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Frist time in Kenya”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Baobab Beach Resort & Spa
Ranked #4 of 29 Hotels in Diani Beach
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed December 3, 2013

Travelled as a foursome to Baobab Resort. Start at the very beginning - travelled down to gatwick and arrived very early but were allowed to check in straight away which was a great bonus. Flight dissapointing as it was advertised as the Dreamliner but turned out to be 767. Made worse by the pilot announcing a historic return trip being the last ever 767 trip - rubbed salt into the wound. Transfer to hotel a nightmare due to only two ferries running. We took around 3 hrs but many others took longer. However once we arrived, we had the perfect holiday. We were in standard rooms in Baobab wing - no complaints, no issues with monkeys if you follow instructions regarding doors beling kept closed. They did look in whilst we were unpacking to see if we had brought any juicy items lol.
Food and drinks choice very good. We used all three bars but enjoyed baobob bar in the evening and Maradadi restaurant and Bar for food as we found it was better service only because it was a bit smaller. We did eat in Baobab when we had any early starts and again no complaints. Entertainment was good, plenty of things to do during the day and night if you wanted to within the hotel resort. Often they would stop for a quick chat to see if you were enjoying your stay.
Tipping - take some lower denominations - 50 and 100 Shillings for tipping porters and good service in bar and restaurant / housekeeping etc.
Also on safari, if you get a good driver, expect to tip around 8000 shillings per couple per trip - if not a good driver, reduce accordingly, but check with the tour rep for latest advice when you go. (Edited from previous review)
We packed too many clothes as we didnt know what to expect, but you didnt need any outer wear at night - teeshirts / shirts and long / 3quarter trousers were fine for the men
Staff all very pleasant, one bar man took delight in learning some yorkshire sayings. All very friendly and all very proud of the hotel and their country. They were always keen to answer any questions on any aspect of kenyan life and culture.. Special mention to Timothy and Johnson in the Maradadi restaurant who gave us excellent service throughout our stay.
Beach boys are a pest - we thought we were getting the measure of them walking to the sea from the hotel, but when we tried to walt along the beack they seem to have zones and every 50 metres you were approached by different people. We lasted 10 mins and turned back.
Beach party was excellent - held every other Tuesday. Alternate tuesday there was a pool party at Kole Kole but we didnt get to that.
We did the 4 day safari booked with First choice - very good, no issues
We also did Jambo Mombassa tri (full day) - this was really good as it allowed you to visit a co-operative for wood carvings and their souvenir shop which had fixed and cheaper prices for the carvings. We also had a walk through a fruit / veg market and the old town. We had two guides throughout which provides us with safe walking and no hassle. We then had lunch on a Dhow (old Ship) accompanied by a jazz band whilst we sailed around the estuary. After this we went to halle Park where we fed Giraffes and say hippos, zebras, tortoise and crocs at feeding time - transfer time approx 2 hrs so an early start and late finish
The other excursion we did was for snorkelling / lunch and dolphin watching - both excursions booked via Moses (the Rep) - again a very good trip. Experienced snorkelers were allowed to go further from the boat accompanied by a guide, whilst beginners and less confident swimmers kept in a group with at least two guides and could be towed round using a floating ring of needed. Lunch was buffet on a island - which you used a small transfer boat. Then out for a spot of dolphin watching. - Transfer time for this excursion was approx 1 hr so not to early start and reasonable finish.
We all had a bit of jelly belly but this was probably caused by anti malaria tablets - a bit of an inconvenience but if you take imodiam tables also, it shouldnt spoil the holiday - you just get on with it!!
Take penty of Deet or equivalent anti mossi spray. Plugs are english so dont need adaptors.
On the Monday prior to leaving on the Tuesday we were invited to a cocktail party where senior members of the hotel staff mingled with the guests and encouraged feedback whether good or bad. We thought this was a very good idea and showed they were all proud of the hotel and welcomed personal views.
We all thoroughly enjoyed our holiday and any worry and trepidation we had beforehand was quickly forgotten. We had a great time and will hopefully return to the hotel

Room Tip: standard rooms are fine without the need to upgrade - all had air conditioning, hairdryers and rooms...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: November 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank daz001
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (1,570)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

539 - 545 of 1,570 reviews

Reviewed December 2, 2013

Arrived at Baobab after a long andhot journey due to a 2hr delay at the ferry, all for just a 5 minute crossing, that was soon forgotten once we settled into the hotel. We stayed in the Baobab section and we spent most of our days at the Maridadi end which we found much quieter with it's triple cascading pool and swim up bar.
The food is of a very good standard, especially the vegetarian curries, even the fussiest of eaters can always find something to eat.All the staff are so pleasant and are always willing to help , nothing is ever too much trouble, on our last evening the hotel hosted a cocktail party for all the


guests leaving the next day, a nice gesture.
The beach boys can be persistent but we found them ok, don't be afraid to barter with them, it can be fun
We went on a 4 day safari to Tsavo East and Tsavo West it was a wonderful experience, we were lucky enough to have 2 other couples with us who were great company. We did a similar safari 20 years ago so it was nice togo back again and enjoy the wonderful views from Voi Lodge again, the only downside was on the 3rd day we spent 5 hrs sitting around Savora Lodge waiting to go on a game drive
Overall the Baobab is a wonderful place to holiday, we had a great time and met some lovely people, I would highly recommend this hotel

  • Stayed: November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Gerry M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 27, 2013

just returned from a 2 week break at the baobab resort...once we had arrived after a long ferry delayed journey from the airport we were swiftly shown to our room so our holiday could commence.
Quite a large resort but very well organised, you can use all the facilities so you can choose where to eat ,drink and use whatever pool you like (all very good).After a week of lying round the pool we went on safari with JT (brilliant service) we had a private jeep for the 2 of us which having seen more congested mini buses glad we paid a bit extra as there was more room on board to move around. We travelled to Tsavo east where we seen lots of different animals at close range then onto Voi lodge for a lovely lunch with excellent views including elephants at the water hole. We then drove to Saltlick which is a fabulous place and well worth the drive as we seen lions (eating their kill),leopard,elephants,zebra,giraffe and all sorts of different things that our driver Joseph had spotted. Then shown to our great room overlooking all the wildlife that freely roam all night, difficult to sleep with all that excitement outside as you don't want to miss anything !!!
Another early morning call and off for the best drive of the 2 days, where we seen the lions eating their kill and then witnessed one chasing zebra before calmly walking past our jeep which was the highlight of the trip !!!

I have been reading all sorts of reviews about the hotel and overall I found them to be a bit of the mark...

yes you do get a little bit of hassle from the beach boys but as long as you are firm and polite-No talking just walking-generally was enough for them to take the hint..

The food is a little bit repetitive after 2 weeks but you will always find something to eat...

The entertainment is a bit hit and miss-acrobatic show very good, mama mia very amateurish.....you can make your own mind up.....

We went out twice to Ali Barbour's cave restaurant and found it to be of a very good standard and reasonably priced and would recommend !!

There are a few bars which we went to and we found forty thieves the best good music with impressive surroundings....

Overall I found the 2 weeks good value for money, there will always be different things to moan about but the staff were friendly and the surroundings very good.

  • Stayed: November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank neilc65
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 24, 2013

My partner, my daughter, her friend and I went to the Baobab Beach Resort from the 29th September to 13th October 2013!
We had a wonderful time and would recommend it to anyone going to Kenya. We were at this hotel for 3 nights before going off on a 4 night Safari (an amazing experience which we will review with Glorious Safaris) and then we returned to the Baobab for another 8 nights. After a bit of research, we booked the Safari separately to the hotel so that we were able to keep our room at the Baobab whilst away. (A lot of people have to book out when they go on Safari and we just didn't want the hassle AND it worked out CHEAPER!)

As my daughter and I both had special birthdays in 2013, the hotel upgraded us and we all thought the accommodation was of a very good standard - the rooms were spacious and well maintained! Thank you! We had a view of the gardens and the sea; a true holiday setting!

The hotel is split into 3 different areas, all individual with their own pools, restaurants etc. Guests can choose where they want to sit or eat! The Kole Kole has a beautiful pool but our favourite place was the Maridadi where we sunbathed and swam on most days! It is a quieter area with a swim-up bar!

We ate at all the restaurants but probably used the main one at the Baobab the most in the evenings and the Maridadi for lunch. The food was good. We could always find something! Breakfast had the usual egg/omelette station, bacon, sausages,cereal, toast, bread, fruit, yoghurt etc and lunch and dinner had various meats, vegetables, salads and Asian dishes. Failing all that there was always the Pasta station, freshly cooked! At the Maridadi there was the inevitable Burgers and Pizzas for lunch. And for those people who can't do without chips they were available at all restaurants. My only criticism - there was hardly any icecream!! I LOVE icecream!

The staff at the hotel were friendly and courteous! Jambo, my friends! Can I make a special mention to Eric (slender Eric - Youth worker) who was a barman at the Maridadi pool! He was just brilliant - always smiling, friendly and making everyone welcome! And he worked so hard, going on to work at the Arena bar in the evening! Nice to meet you, Eric! I wish you the very best for the future!

And finally, I can't write my review without mentioning the monkeys and bush babies! The bush babies came out in the evenings and made a noise like a crying baby. They can jump incredibly well! The monkeys, well - what can I say!!! Now I know where the expression 'cheeky Monkey' comes from - they really are! I had my melon and pineapple swiped a couple of times. They also try to get into your room so be warned!! I have to say that the Orangutans did scare me a bit as they are so big but we have to remember that it was their territory first! We really enjoyed the experience and were certainly entertained!

Thank you Baobab for a lovely holiday!

  • Stayed: October 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Yve124
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 23, 2013

Having recently spent 10 days at this resort, we can certainly say that it lives up to its reputation, our accomodation was a superior room in the newer Maradadi wing. We could not fault this room, large with 2 big beds, a huge bathroom and a very large terrace with a wonderful view. The maradadi pool was the quietest area with wonderful views over the pool to the sea. We found the monkeys great fun, and the baboons to be studiously ignored!

We arrived with my wife suffering from an upset stomach, therefore had to make a trip to the hospital, where she was treated by an excellent doctor who prescribed antibiotics and probiotics. Unfortunately on the way back to Baobab, our hospital car was hit from behind by another vehicle. We were shaken up but thought O K, after lunch I was in considerable pain with my back, so phoned reception, very quickly one of the front desk managers arrived at our room with a guy and a wheel chair, and we were whisked off to hospital again. Naturally my wife was very worried about this, but this front desk manager by the name of "Africa Rose" took over, came to hospital with us and turned out to be kind, sympathetic, helpful, and absolutely wonderful. I was treated in hospital and reurned to the resort. Africa rose turned what could have been a nightmare in to a calm and not too bad episode she phoned and caled on us daily to check progress -- -- May God bless you Africa Rose !!!!

Baobab is a super resort, and the food very good, however, as a suggestion, not a criticism, if they were to alternate the 3 restaurants with a la carte and waiter service every three nights, it would add another dimension to the dining experience. Regardlees of this if we find ourseves in Kenya again, Baobab would be a certainty.

Phil & Mike England

Room Tip: All clean but Maradadi fab
See more room tips
  • Stayed: November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Mick404
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 23, 2013

Great holiday
my partner and i stayed in kole kole part off the hotel. We had a lovely room lots of space big balcony overlooking the grounds and infinty pool.
Its a good spot to relax and chill out not to busy. Has its own resterant to bars staff are very welcoming carnt do enough for you.
The Baobab is the maine part of the Hotel and is a bit more lively in the evening.
all in all we had a fantastic time here and will be saving up togo again.

2  Thank Carey L
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveler and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Reviewed November 18, 2013

We stayed for 4 nights at this resort and were not disappointed. The rooms were spacious and kept very clean. Be sure to keep your doors closed or you will have an unexpected guest climb in! There was always a large variety of different foods at the 3 restaurants, we preferred Maridadi as it was smaller and not as busy. It had a smaller selection of food than the main restaurant but was more enjoyable. The beach is amazing, the water is so warm and you could walk for miles.... if you can handle the persistent beach boys. For the most part they will eventually leave you alone, but a few do not want to take no for an answer. We loved our holiday and wouldn't hesitate to go back.

  • Stayed: November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank winterescapist
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Diani Beach hotels
5.1 mi away
Southern Palms Beach Resort
Southern Palms Beach Resort
#8 of 29 in Diani Beach
1,364 reviews
0.6 mi away
The Sands at Nomad
The Sands at Nomad
#7 of 29 in Diani Beach
454 reviews
2.1 mi away
Waterlovers Beach Resort
Waterlovers Beach Resort
#2 of 29 in Diani Beach
433 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
5.6 mi away
Jacaranda Indian Ocean Beach Resort
7.7 mi away
The Sands At Chale Island
The Sands At Chale Island
#3 of 29 in Diani Beach
563 reviews
4.6 mi away
The Maji Beach Boutique Hotel
The Maji Beach Boutique Hotel
#1 of 29 in Diani Beach
293 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Baobab Beach Resort & Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Baobab Beach Resort & Spa

Address: Diani Beach Road, Diani Beach, Ukunda 80400, Kenya
Location: Kenya > Coast Province > Ukunda > Diani Beach
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Top resorts Hotel in Diani Beach
#4 Luxury Hotel in Diani Beach
#4 On the Beach Hotel in Diani Beach
#4 Romantic Hotel in Diani Beach
#4 Family Hotel in Diani Beach
#5 Business Hotel in Diani Beach
Price Range: $164 - $384 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Baobab Beach Resort & Spa 4*
Number of rooms: 321
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located on the world famous Diani Beach. The resort comprises three luxurious properties – The Baobab, The Maridadi and Kole Kole, offering a unique selection of exquisite accommodation and facilities spread across the resort grounds. Guestrooms have been specifically designed to provide paramount comfort and luxury for all our clients. Guests may utilise leisure facilities across the resort including 3 swimming pools, dining areas and much more. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Priceline, Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Travelocity, getaroom.com, Orbitz, Evoline ltd, Agoda and TripOnline SA so you can book your Baobab Beach Resort & Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Baobab - Baobab Beach Hotel Ukunda
The Baobab - Baobab Beach Resort And Spa
Baobab Beach Hotel Diani

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing