We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fantastic stay”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Baobab Beach Resort & Spa
Ranked #5 of 29 Hotels in Diani Beach
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed November 13, 2013

My husband and myself,stayed here from the 12th October 2013 until 27th October 2013, we had a fantastic holiday,the hotel and staff,were great and the accommodation was lovely,we went on safari for three days,to the Masai mara,what an experience! Stayed at Sentrim camp,lovely accommodation in a beautiful setting and everyone made us feel welcome,our safari driver William was a real star,and made our safari,one to remember.
Moses our ,first choice rep,was very professional and helpful,we also done the real African bush tour,we saw what the real Kenya,is like and a must,to see and spend time with the locals,our guide Daniel was amazing and so knowledgeable ,we learnt so much on that trip.
The Baobab entertainment team,were very friendly and we made a few friends amongst them,they put on a different show every night over a two week period,keep up the good work.
At last,but not least,the monkeys,baboons and bush babies really made our holiday,the monkeys and baboons are so cheeky !
I have only been back 3wks and I am missing the hotel,the people and the wonderful Kenya!
Would defiantly recommend a stay at the Baobab.

Room Tip: We stayed in the Baobab section room 220,facing the sea
  • Stayed: October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Jan S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (1,534)
There are newer reviews for Baobab Beach Resort & Spa
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

527 - 533 of 1,534 reviews

Reviewed November 13, 2013

I had a wonderful 3 night stay at this hotel. We were booked into the Maridadi wing (superior room). There are 3 Hotels in one. The original Baobab with Kole Kole and Maridadi on either side, Making this resort rather large in size. The food is an all you can eat buffet with all inclusive local drinks. There was plenty of it to go around. the choices are mainly based on continental cuisine, however they included a small Indian section at each meal. There was no way were going hungry, there was something for everyone. The african night was the best. Cake and dough nuts for Tea were also included. If you are looking for a quiet holiday then the Maridadi wing is the way forward as it is on the quieter side of the resort. Each section has its own swimming pool. Maridadi's being the biggest as it is a 3 tiered cascading pool. Quite Stunning. The rooms were spacious and clean with comfortable 4 poster beds and flat screen TV's. However you only get a shower in each bathroom, A bathtub would have been nice. The staff were friendly and very accommodating. As this is a large resort be prepared to do a fair amount of walking and exploring as there is not map of the resort provided.The beach is absolutely stunning and clean. The beachboys can be a bit too much in your face sometimes which means a quiet walk on the beach is out of the question.

  • Stayed: November 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Parmdeep J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 7, 2013

Stayed here at Baobab Hotel in a superior room at the Maridadi wing. The hotel is huge, perhaps too big and it's an all-inclusive.

Food was ok, good choice daily.

3 sets of pools, all large and good.

Has very wide beach front, so plenty of nice walks and ideal for swimming in the sea.

Rooms were good, clean, but after using the showers, the drains smelled a little, indicating some blockages.

However most disappointing were the drinks, Being all inclusive, choice is limited to local brews and spirits. No fresh juices even during meals. But the beer was limited to one choice and that was watered down, leaving no taste. No need to do this, it's a shame that they did this.

Room Tip: Ask for s superior or de-lux room.
  • Stayed: October 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank Ketan111
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 5, 2013

We went here for our honeymoon through Thompson. Overall, the staff were friendly and the resort itself lovely. Our room was nice, but the bathroom drove me crazy with a terrible smell (I think it's just the drainage system in areas like this!) and poor ventilation that caused water and mould build up. The views around the resort were great! Lovely pools and plenty of beach chairs for everyone. Lots of options for pools too with an infinity pool, a waterfall pool and a normal pool. The resort put on plenty of activities throughout the day and evening, although the evening entertainment was mostly geared towards children.
Our only issue was that we went away on safari for a few days. During this time, someone had been in our room as they evidently used our robes, made themselves cups of tea, and moved a few other items. Nothing was stolen, but it was unsettling. The staff kept telling me it must have been monkeys!! However, I was extra careful to lock all doors and windows and I find it odd that monkeys can boil a kettle, use a mug with a tea bag, and discard the used tea bag in the bin!!
We also did not get a mosquito net which was a shame! We suddenly had one in our room a week and a half into our two week stay! The net was full of holes, so it wasn't very effective anyways, but a mosquito net is definitely something you want.
The food was good, although it became repetitive after a week. We could always find something to eat though (it sounded like many other couples had upgrades but we must have missed out on that). The resort ran out of diet coke for a few days which was strange!
Overall, I think it was a good hotel for Kenya but they did not make us feel special on our honeymoon. It would have been nice for a holiday, but I might have chosen another honeymoon destination if it wasn't for the great safari we went on elsewhere.

  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Devon T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 4, 2013

I live in Nairobi and it is just a quick 1 hour flight down to Diani and the Baobab is a very easy place to be as everything is included. This was my second stay and enjoyed it for all it offers. the pools are beautiful and there is a lot of choice since there are 3 hotels on the property and guests can use any of them. the Kole Kole is very kid friendly while the MariDadi is a bit quieter. Yes, the food is a bit repetitive but you can always find something to meet your dietary requirements. the upgraded rooms are very spacious and airy. However, the beds are quite hard (even for someone who likes a hard bed.) Also, the monkeys and baboons can be annoying even though they have people who try to keep them at bay. The service was typically Kenyan friendly and typically tropical in pace. On another note, we met several couples who had been coming back every year for 35 years so there is something to be said fo

Room Tip: Nearly all of the rooms are set back as the main parts of the resort are closer to the beach.
  • Stayed: October 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank IntlTeacher
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 3, 2013

Do not go here thinking you are going 5 star.. It is more like a 3 star. It is such a shame it is situated on a beautiful beach, but you can't go on there as you get hassled by the locals so much...
The swimming pools were very clean. The drinks available on AI left a lot to be desired. If I have paid for AI I at least expect to find a drink I can drink. It was a very pricey holiday and came home more exhausted than when we arrived.. We couldn't sleep at night as the beds were so uncomfortable. Our mattress was changed twice, but they didn't have a mattress to fit the beds, so added a rolled up duvet to the edge. For all that money not acceptable.
It would have been nice to be advised of the long journey from the airport waiting for 2 hours for the ferry, was a nightmare needing the loo.
The cleanliness of the rooms left a lot to be desired.
The staff were lovely.

  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Msoak
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 3, 2013

We recently stayed in the Maridadi wing at the Baobab resort for 7 days after our safari.
The hotel is very nice, our room was so spacious and always kept very clean.
You can use all of the facilities for the 3 hotels including the restaurants. The food was good, with the cooking stations and the dessert chef always on hand, we would have liked to have seen more themed evenings as sometimes the food was a bit repetitive.
The beach is gorgeous and the sea is typical of the Indian Ocean the only downside is the beach sellers as soon as you step onto the beach you are surrounded.
The transfer from Mombasa airport to the resort is long and interesting. It takes minimum 90 mins and took us 3 hrs to get back this is due to the ferry crossing to get from north to South as there is no bridge so depending on the time of day be prepared.
Other than the couple of points it was a lovely way to end our safari and we would recommend it to anyone

Stayed: October 2013, traveled as a couple
2  Thank Ali N Lee N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Diani Beach hotels
5.1 mi away
Southern Palms Beach Resort
Southern Palms Beach Resort
#9 of 29 in Diani Beach
1,341 reviews
0.6 mi away
The Sands at Nomad
The Sands at Nomad
#10 of 29 in Diani Beach
437 reviews
2.2 mi away
Diani Sea Resort
Diani Sea Resort
#6 of 29 in Diani Beach
1,008 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.1 mi away
Waterlovers Beach Resort
Waterlovers Beach Resort
#2 of 29 in Diani Beach
408 reviews
0.2 mi away
Papillon Lagoon Reef
Papillon Lagoon Reef
#13 of 29 in Diani Beach
609 reviews
7.7 mi away
The Sands At Chale Island
The Sands At Chale Island
#3 of 29 in Diani Beach
541 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Baobab Beach Resort & Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Baobab Beach Resort & Spa

Address: Diani Beach Road, Diani Beach, Ukunda 80400, Kenya
Location: Kenya > Coast Province > Ukunda > Diani Beach
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#3 Top resorts Hotel in Diani Beach
#4 Family Hotel in Diani Beach
#4 Romantic Hotel in Diani Beach
#5 Business Hotel in Diani Beach
#5 On the Beach Hotel in Diani Beach
#5 Luxury Hotel in Diani Beach
Price Range: $160 - $397 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Baobab Beach Resort & Spa 4*
Number of rooms: 321
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located on the world famous Diani Beach. The resort comprises three luxurious properties – The Baobab, The Maridadi and Kole Kole, offering a unique selection of exquisite accommodation and facilities spread across the resort grounds. Guestrooms have been specifically designed to provide paramount comfort and luxury for all our clients. Guests may utilise leisure facilities across the resort including 3 swimming pools, dining areas and much more. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Priceline, Booking.com, TripOnline SA, Agoda and Evoline ltd so you can book your Baobab Beach Resort & Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Baobab - Baobab Beach Hotel Ukunda
The Baobab - Baobab Beach Resort And Spa
Baobab Beach Hotel Diani

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing