We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Baobab Beach Resort & Spa
If you like this hotel, you might also be interested in
$139
$115
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Free Parking
  • Pool
$136
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
$211
$158
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Breakfast included
  • Pool
Afrika Pearl & Spa(Diani Beach)(Great Value!)
$95
$83
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Jacaranda Indian Ocean Beach Resort(Diani Beach)(Great Value!)
$115
$101
Hotels.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Pool
The Sands at Nomad(Diani Beach)
$146
$127
Priceline
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$160
Orbitz.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$476
Agoda.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Waterlovers Beach Resort(Diani Beach)
Agoda.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Ocean Village Club(Diani Beach)
No availability for your dates from our partners
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
Reviews (1,678)
Filter reviews
1,678 results
Traveler rating
1,062
437
128
32
19
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
1,062
437
128
32
19
Show reviews that mention
All reviewskole koleinfinity poolmaridadi restauranttapa tapa barjambo teambeach boysmama miathe lion kinginclusive restaurantstier poolday safarimonkeys and baboonsanimation teamevening showstwo weeksour honeymoonmasai mara
FilterAll languages
Updating list...
615 - 620 of 1,678 reviews
Reviewed October 31, 2013

I just came back from kenya where i stayed a bit more than two weeks and i stayed at the baobab. Very nice hotel located in a huge garden with plenty of birds and monkeys (close your windows or you'll see baboons checking on your clothes in the room!!!), nice clean big rooms, friendly staff, great buffet full of choice. I've just been really disappointed with the hotel cab driver named souleyman, beware of the guy, he is a thief, double check the prices you get from the front office or you'll be very surprised when he tells you to pay way more, deal with another person, that's better. I stayed north of mombasa on nyali beach years before and will go back there on my next visit it's alo lot easier to get to mombasa as they have a proper bridge to cross the river!!!

  • Stayed: October 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank francois r
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 27, 2013

Jambo. We stayed at the Baobab Beach Resort and Spa in August 2013 and I have been so depressed on returning home that it has taken all this time to write our review. The Baobab is the best hotel we have had the opportunity to stay in. When we arrived Rosie organised the perfect African welcome when were greeted with African dancers, glasses of cold tropical fruit juice and a very ice cold towel. We was then escorted to the Karubu restaurant where we had breakfast. The welcome received was bar none. We stayed in Room 922 in the Kole Kole wing of the hotel complex. Our room was very clean. We received bottled water daily and fresh towels on request. The hotel staff are a credit to the hotel and are the reason why we are returning to the resort.

We booked all our excursions with JT SAFARIS, Diani Beach, Oppositte Sentido Hotel. Julius arranged a free taxi to and from his new office to book our excursions. All the staff employed by Julius are courteous and have a wealth of experience and the excursions are at least 20% cheaper the the tour operators. I we will be booking the Masai Mara excursion on our return.

Kenya was an exciting country that we have just had a taste of and we cannot wait to return to experience more. ASANTE SANA. KWAHERI.

Stayed: August 2013, traveled with family
3  Thank BritishRAS
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 21, 2013

We are a couple in our late twenties and was on our honeymoon and did 2day beach holiday at Baobab resort,4 day safari and then back to Baobab resort for 4days.
THE ROOM: We had upgraded to the top room Kole Kole Deluxe room. The room was gorgeous & spacious but sadly didn't have an iron, a hairdryer or any alcohol or nibbles in the fridge. With this being a 5 star hotel, i was very disappointed by this. Although it did have a free safe in the room, an umbrella for when it rained and dressing gown and slippers! Always had hot water too. The cleaners did minimal cleaning and with all the monkeys going on the balconies, they left lots of stools which was never cleaned throughout our stay. Due to it being our honeymoon we were left a bowlful of fruit that looked old and ready to throw in the bin, a bottle of red wine and some Kenyan coffee and tea and a letter wishing us a a happy honeymoon.
THE RESORT: is quite small, and our stay was long enough. One of the cleanest hotels I have been too and the staff are up early cleaning the pools, restaurants, etc. I have been to quite a few five star hotels but with this being a very poor country this is more like a three star hotel. FOOD AND DRINK: The food is repetitive and not very nice and so we decided to not visit the a la carte or do dinner on the beach {as we would have liked for our honeymoon} as we thought the food their would also be disappointing. The local drinks also get repetivite and you are charged for local drinks. The coke was flat alot and the staff were very slow at serving even though it wasn't busy at the resort when we were there.
ENTERTAINMENT: the staff work very hard and are friendly. The staff are the same that work by the pool in the day and that of the entainment at night. They try to get everyone joining in all the games in the day but leave you alone if you just want to sun bathe. The night time entertainment is SHOCKING though!!! Actualy one of the worse I've seen! They mimed to all songs and wasn't the best dancers! the choreographer needs sacking and then maybe they might do better as he took all the lead parts and he wasn't the slimmest guy!!! We did enyoy one night which was the acrobats nights!!! they were brilliant! The bars were very quite and if you like playing cards and old peoples games then you will enjoy! The best entertainment at this resort were the monkeys!!!! their hilarious to watch!
THE BEACH: Not the best ive been too. The tide came in in the day and then went out at night. Lots of sea weed in the sand parts. No one sunbathes on the beach....which was really disappointing for us as we love the beach. The men selling stuff on the beach were annoying and very intimidating. Me and my husband tried to take a romantic stroll along the beach and got surrounded by about 6-7 men which wouldn't leave us alone so we ended up leaving the beach!
SAFARI: Is a must. Brilliant experience. Although their is LOTS of travelling involved and thats not just safari...it's travelling to each park. We were up most days at 5-6am, travelling 5-7hours to each park and then going onto the safari park. We did get to see the REAL Kenya though and got to visit a tribe! The accomodations we stayed in were like hotels with hairdryers, showers with hot water and they had shampoo/conditioner nand creams in small bottles. We were told to take 5-10kg of luggage on safari but the other couples on our van had proper suitcases! Lush food on safari too.

Overall, we did enjoy our stay but it wasn't the best holiday/experience we have had. With it being a five star we expect the best.....
It's the most we've paid for a holiday so were quite disappointed! we wont be returning! their is alot of room for improvement for this resort

Room Tip: 'lock' your balcony doors whilst in the room as we were alseep one day after our safari trip to be woken by a monkey in our room eating our pack of cookies!!!!
  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank tes l
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 18, 2013

The beach scene was stunning, the pools were fantastically clean. Our room was excdptionally clean. The food was excellent. I would recommed this resort to a family that loves a warm holiday with lots of pools. We went in December/Januafy and it was fantastically warm weather!

Stayed: January 2013, traveled with family
1  Thank minkyhall
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 16, 2013

This is the type of hotel that some people hate and some people love. Perfect for couples with children. The entertainers are really kind and attentive. Its a huge complex but doesn't feel like one. The white sand beach is wide and slopes gently into the sea, so safe for the kids. The food gets monotonous after a week but as far as buffets go they do a good job. The rooms are large. Easy to fit two adults and two kids into a room. What a shame that Mombasa is such a disgusting mess of a place ... the Baobab is the perfect relaxing holiday after some safari though. Spa treatments are good and really really good value for money.

  • Stayed: October 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank riiiicola
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews