We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Baobab Beach Resort & Spa
Nearby Hotels
$136
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
$129
$122
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
$124
$115
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Free Parking
  • Pool
AfroChic Diani(Diani Beach)
$419
$375
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Jacaranda Indian Ocean Beach Resort(Diani Beach)(Great Value!)
$115
$101
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Pool
The Sands at Nomad(Diani Beach)
$146
$127
Priceline
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$159
$140
Priceline
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Breakfast included
  • Pool
$160
Hotels.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Ocean Village Club(Diani Beach)
Priceline
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
Kinondo Kwetu(Diani Beach)
TripAdvisor
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
Reviews (1,678)
Filter reviews
1,678 results
Traveler rating
1,063
437
127
32
19
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
1,063
437
127
32
19
Show reviews that mention
All reviewskole koleinfinity poolmaridadi restauranttapa tapa barjambo teambeach boysmama miathe lion kinginclusive restaurantstier poolday safarimonkeys and baboonsanimation teamevening showstwo weeksour honeymoonmasai mara
FilterAll languages
Updating list...
704 - 709 of 1,678 reviews
Reviewed May 14, 2013

I visit Mombasa every year and have stayed in different hotels,, experienced it all. I booked this holiday via Thomson, it was a very catchy offer. Lets start with the flight..You had to pay for refreshments in a long haul flight. Ridiculous. The journey to the hotel was a good start until we got there and our rooms weren't ready. The reception is the rudest I've seen. They honestly don't care. If you happen to visit and see a man called Sharif at the reception, slap him for being the worst at his job. Food was excellent and so were restaurant staff. Helpful people include general manager Phillip, front of house manager and restaurant supervisor Sylus. Oh and we were tricked into the whole free wifi thing by Thomson. You had to pay extortionate prices for wifi that didn't even work. The Thomson rep wasn't helpful when it came to sorting it out. The pool in the kolekole side was pretty and the beach was clean too. The rooms are average for a 4*. The towels provided are not washed properly and so they look brown. The hotel has its good and bad side. Depends what you are after but stay away from that reception.

  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
6  Thank Coco786
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 14, 2013

The Baobab venue is pretty nice- rooms and grounds are attractive and most of the staff very friendly, suggesting they have been trained well. However, upon closer inspection, this place lacks the culture of a good, well run beach resort or retreat, but rather has more of a cookie-cutter cruise ship type feel (with better design). I would warn anyone under the age of 40 and seeking a beach retreat away from the usual tourist fanfare to avoid this place. Baobab is clearly a regular stop for big mainstream tourist groups, catering to middle aged Europeans, and those who appreciate hearing the overplayed/oversung 'jambo' greeting song. The food is not great (and that is an understatement since it gave me and my biz partner food poisoning). I understand that this happens sometimes, but when I mentioned it to the staff at the front desk, they did not seem surprised, but rather asked me very casually: "Oh, did you have the fish?" Essentially, Baobab was designed as an affordable tourism shop with very rigid rules that some more off-the-beaten-path travelers may find a slight nuisance. For example, they charge ksh 250 for each use of the gym, require you check out at exactly 10 am (even if the resort is largely empty), require you wear pants at dinner or return to change, and only serve espresso drinks at the bar starting at 10am. If you want one at breakfast, you need to go get it yourself. Clearly, people have enjoyed Baobab before, and I think this speaks to the demographic the venue attracts and caters to. Just make sure you fit that demographic, and that you are careful about the food you eat!

Room Tip: Rooms are nice, and many have a view of the beach. Rooms closer to the lobby, overlooking the main pool/restaurant and bar are more convenient to core amenities.
  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
6  Thank pcsweeney
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 13, 2013

The hotel was as good as advertised if not better. We are a family of four with two teenages. We had adjoining rooms which meant we could all be together in one room or seperate for some privacy. The rooms were well equiped and clean. The Karibu restaurant was amazing. A variety of food of a very high standard. The staff were always very friendly and couldn't have been more helpful. Overall a wonderful experience.

  • Stayed: February 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Jayne W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 12, 2013

This was our Honeymoon and I have to say this was the best holiday we have ever had, the hotel could not do enough for you, everything was perfect.

We came back from our safari and they had upgraded us to a suite with beach, garden and pool views.

The food selection in the restaurant was excellent and they catered for all tastes.

The only down fall was the beach boys who could be a pain and pester you when gong down to the beach but we worked out going down the beach at 6pm for a nice walk and they would of all of gone home.

Watch out for the monkeys, they are funny lot especially the baboons, don't try and stop them if they try and take anything off you just let them take it. The Security team do chase them away and some of them are an ace shot with the catapult lol.

Room Tip: Try and get a room in maridadi section it's really nice and close to the pool.
  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank GarryColins
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 8, 2013

We have just returned back home from a stay at the renowned Baobab beach resort.. When booking we were looking forward to getting away and relaxing..
Initial impression of the hotel! FANTASTIC.. even though we were a little late.. the Karibu restaurant and the head waiter managed to get us some food. Settling into our rooms we were extremely impressed.. we were upgraded to the Maridadi wing and it was beautiful.. and it ends there...
Heading into the maridadi restaurant for dinner that evening we were told by an extremely rude waiter that we should have informed them in advance if we were going to eat there so that could have accommodated us.. fair enough.. it was a party of 7 adults and 2 toddlers! sitting down a rude waitress scowled at having us around and giving her a list of the drinks we were ordering.. surprisingly at the foreign crowd they were smiles all around.. the chefs at the food counters were annoyed at my sister for taking her meal from the buffet section and literally asked her to leave the spoon where it was!!!!!!!!! smart responses were always on hand from the staff... from what meat was in the mix etc..
we also noticed that while we waited for over 15 mins to get our drinks the foreign guests were served instantly..
Cleaning the rooms were never done unless we went down to the reception and asked them to do so..

Its quite disheartening that they had an offer for the local Kenyan community whereby you could get a complimentary night free upon booking 3 nights but when the local community does take up the offer it seems like we are more of a drag.. SHAME ON THE STAFF, MANAGEMENT FOR BEHAVING THIS WAY! Being Kenyan learn how to appreciate the people around you, we are welcoming people and not the kind you have portrayed yourself.. !!!

Have to mention the staff at Kole Kole though.. they were amazing.. extremely welcoming and warm.. thank you guys.. the one dining experience we had there was the best and that was it..

Room Tip: Book at Kole Kole.. they are the only hospitable group around.. Maridadi was the worst!
  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Cpatel2013
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews