We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Amazing!!!”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Baobab Beach Resort & Spa
Ranked #5 of 29 Hotels in Diani Beach
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed February 28, 2013

It was our 25th wedding anniversary and we wanted to celebrate.with a really special holiday .
We couldn't have chosen a better place.We have always loved staying at fully inclusive hotels
And this was one of the best we have stayed at.
Superb location ,wonderful food and the staff were so kind and helpful,especially at one in the morning when you hear a mosquito in the room ! They were there in 5 mins with spray and net for the bed!Talking of Mosquitos that was the only one we saw in 2wks, even when we went on safari.We had really gone overboard with the repellent and didn't hardly use any of it.
If you come here you have to do a safari ,what an incredible experience.
All in all I will have very fond memories of this wonderful holiday and can't wait to come back .

Room Tip: The hotel is set into 3 areas Maridadi ,Baobab and kole kole each with their own bars and restaurant...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Dizzytrout
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (1,545)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

660 - 666 of 1,546 reviews

Reviewed February 25, 2013

We stayed here in feb for two weeks, our whole experience was amazing, we travelled with thompsons economy which our only complaint was we had to pay for drinks, other airlines don't charge on a long haul flight. We stayed in the baobab resort with a garden view, the room was lovely and clean, so close to the maridadi pool, one of the reasons we booked this hotel was for the infinity pool on kole kole, we used this pool a couple of times, but the animation team use this pool for its activities and found it noisy for us, we used the maridadi pool which also is an infinity pool over looking the other pool, bar and beach. The food was amazing plenty of choice, we used the restaurant near the tapa tapa bar for evening tea, and the maridadi for breakfast and lunch food also amazing. We were able to get a sun bed every day, towels are put down early, but we didn't find this a problem. The staff are so friendly, always smiling and saying jambo as they pass you! The animation team are fantastic the evening shows are really good. We did two trips through thompsons, we did experience Mombasa, with the dhow meal, craft village and then Halley park, we would not do this again as the morning to us was a waste of time, we where taken to a Mombasa market which was not for tourists, the trip would of been better with just the craft market, dhow meal and Halley park. The craft market is a must, fascinating watching wooden crafts been made and so cheap. The other trip was pili pipa which was really good but we would book through jt safaris Julius was fantastic and is so much cheaper than thompsons. Our rep with thompsons Andy was so helpful. We did a four day safari to tsavo east, west and amboseli with jt safari from the little orange hut, he arranges to pick you up from the hotel, takes to his office to arrange fink details, then takes you back, his service is fantastic so personal, we travelled with George the guide who is amazing, we definitely recomend him and will request him when we book next year, he made our safari perfect. We paid half the cost as others who when with there travel company, we travelled on our own in a jeep which was really good as the small buses looked so cramped. We felt so safe travelling around with withbgeorge as there were just the two of us (two girls aged 29 and 30) we also visited ali barbours cave for a meal, they come and pick you up, eating in the cave wave fantastic the food was out standing, the service was 5 star we will be returning!!! Our holiday was fantastic no faults we will be re booking for next year!

Stayed: February 2013, traveled with friends
4  Thank flange82
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 25, 2013

It was like being in paradise, the hotel is set in beautiful surroundings over looking the white sandy beach. Everyone is so friendly and helpful. "jambo"
The food was superb and the effort the staff put in with a different colour theme each day in the restaurant.

  • Stayed: February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank LondonHollydays
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 20, 2013

We have just arrived back and couldn't wait to write this review. We were a party of 10, ages from 50 to 69 years and had an amazing time, the food excellent very good range for vegetarians, the staff so friendly and helpful all you have to do is ask, the rooms perfect, the atmosphere amazing, well everything was fantastic the best holiday ever, nothing was to much trouble especially as we were a big party, we stayed in the superior rooms over looking the pool on the Baobab side of the resort, this is the quieter side as the Kole Kole side has all the daytime entertainment around the pool, thats not to say if you wanted that you can, its just a slow 5 minute walk along the resort path which is beautiful.The other residents (Velvet monkeys) of the resort are very entertaining to watch. I would go back to this resort rather than any other in Kenya. We can't review the spa as we did not use it but it did look a lovely place.

Room Tip: Top floor of the Baobab superior rooms are quite, private but up stairs with no lift.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank D L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 20, 2013

From my wife. Very friendly, relaxing, food was good, not enough shade around the pool, spa was a disappointment. My take endorses the above with four more comments.
The first comment is that the hotel was aware it was our anniversary and decorated the bed with flowers which was a very nice touch. The bouquet I ordered was lovely.

The second comment is to advise you to please be careful about any organised tours you get, even the ones accessed through the hotel. We ordered a taxi as a day tour and what should have been 10,800 KSH; 2000 KSH for a guide to Forte Jesus and 800 KSH each to get into Forte Jesus. What we ended up paying was 12,400 for the taxi; 7000 KSH for the guide and for three of us getting in. 7000 KSH is a good monthly salary for any worker in Kenya. I challenged the guide and he returned 2000 KSH. He kept the 600 KSH inviting me to tip him at the end of our tour. I tipped an insulting 50 KSH alongside the 600 he already had. My wife saw the guide pass the 50 tip straight to our taxi driver, obviously an arrangement they have. One of the seat belts in the back of the care was broken. Generally life is hard for the Kenyan people, average age of 50 to 60, political corruption high, perhaps it’s no wonder that these things happen.

Thirdly I tried some windsurfing next to the hotel, Charlie’s crab and they were a bit lax on life vests you need to ask for these and although they have some neoprene shoes, best to take your own. There can be sea urchins, small rocks in the sea.

Fourthly; this is a very good quality hotel and deserves Thompson’s platinum status. Staff, are very helpful and friendly. The hotel Baggage carriers will take your bags and show you your room. It’s normal to tip them 100 KSH. The rest of the staff tips, do this at the end of your holiday in their staff tip box. Our room was a nice size, clean and tidy, lots of sun and oh yes, get up around 5.30am to reserve your sun lounger if you want a shaded area. Lots of pool side bars and all inclusive means their local drinks are included branded drinks pay roughly 500 KSH for these. Have a great holiday, learn to barter and enjoy Kenya.

  • Stayed: February 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank PhillWheatley
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 20, 2013

This all-inclusive resort spoils you and almost forces you to relax. The are lots of things to do, but we mostly did nothing at all, which was what we needed. Meals are served at set times, and the quality and quantity are excellent, though the included drinks are mediocre and anything better is overpriced. If you want the taxi to drop you off and then pick you up a few days later (relaxed and well-fed), this is a great spot!

  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank wwschu
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 19, 2013

Excellent 'all-in' hotel. Great service, great food, great location, magnificent views !
We stayed in the Deluxe room in the Maridadi wing and it was worth the upgrade. Spacious room and bathroom. Big terrace with great view on the beach.
Different swimming pools spread over the Resort as well as bars and restaurants. We liked the Maridadi section since much 'calmer' than the Baobab section. I don't think I would have get the same experience and satisfaction in the Baobab part (rooms look rather small), but the area if splendid all over the resort.
Local people immediately address you when you put 1 foot on the beach but they are polite (even if they will not hesitate to insist) and if you tell them a couple of times in a calm & polite way that you are not interested they will leave you alone.
The food is good and the staff is excellent.
We even could get a late check-out (gathering together in 1 of our 2 rooms till 3 pm) without any cost.

Room Tip: If you like a more calm area go for the Maridadi part. If you like a more 'mass' feeling an...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Michelopvakantie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Diani Beach hotels
5.1 mi away
Southern Palms Beach Resort
Southern Palms Beach Resort
#7 of 29 in Diani Beach
1,351 reviews
0.6 mi away
The Sands at Nomad
The Sands at Nomad
#8 of 29 in Diani Beach
444 reviews
2.1 mi away
Waterlovers Beach Resort
Waterlovers Beach Resort
#2 of 29 in Diani Beach
426 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.2 mi away
Diani Sea Resort
Diani Sea Resort
#6 of 29 in Diani Beach
1,011 reviews
0.2 mi away
Papillon Lagoon Reef
Papillon Lagoon Reef
#13 of 29 in Diani Beach
613 reviews
5.6 mi away
Jacaranda Indian Ocean Beach Resort
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Baobab Beach Resort & Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Baobab Beach Resort & Spa

Address: Diani Beach Road, Diani Beach, Ukunda 80400, Kenya
Phone Number:
Location: Kenya > Coast Province > Ukunda > Diani Beach
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#3 Top resorts Hotel in Diani Beach
#4 Family Hotel in Diani Beach
#4 Romantic Hotel in Diani Beach
#5 On the Beach Hotel in Diani Beach
#5 Luxury Hotel in Diani Beach
#5 Business Hotel in Diani Beach
Price Range: $158 - $397 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Baobab Beach Resort & Spa 4*
Number of rooms: 321
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located on the world famous Diani Beach. The resort comprises three luxurious properties – The Baobab, The Maridadi and Kole Kole, offering a unique selection of exquisite accommodation and facilities spread across the resort grounds. Guestrooms have been specifically designed to provide paramount comfort and luxury for all our clients. Guests may utilise leisure facilities across the resort including 3 swimming pools, dining areas and much more. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Priceline, Orbitz, Booking.com, TripOnline SA, Agoda and Evoline ltd so you can book your Baobab Beach Resort & Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Baobab - Baobab Beach Resort And Spa
The Baobab - Baobab Beach Hotel Ukunda
Baobab Beach Hotel Diani

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing