We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Baobab Beach Resort & Spa
Nearby Hotels
Blue Marlin Beach Hotel(Diani Beach)(Great Value!)
$102
Hotels.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
AfroChic Diani(Diani Beach)
$419
$375
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Afrika Pearl & Spa(Diani Beach)
$93
$82
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$131
$110
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
The Sands at Nomad(Diani Beach)
$125
$108
Agoda.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Jacaranda Indian Ocean Beach Resort(Diani Beach)(Great Value!)
$109
$98
Orbitz.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Pool
$216
HotelsClick
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Breakfast included
  • Pool
$138
$130
TripAdvisor
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Pool
TripAdvisor
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
TripAdvisor
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Reviews (1,694)
Filter reviews
1,694 results
Traveler rating
1,073
438
131
32
20
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
1,073
438
131
32
20
Show reviews that mention
All reviewskole koleinfinity poolmaridadi restauranttapa tapa barjambo teambeach boysmama miathe lion kinginclusive restaurantstier poolday safarimonkeys and baboonsanimation teamevening showstwo weeksour honeymoonmasai mara
Filter
Updating list...
839 - 844 of 1,694 reviews
Reviewed July 23, 2012

Firstly I would like to say, that the Baobab Beach Resort and Spa is a wonderful hotel, beautiful location, wonderful food and the staff cannot do enough for you and always happy and smiling. The Safari was wonderful and I shall never forget the sites we were lucky enough to witness, like the elephants at the watering hole...... However, there is a but, I would like to ask the Managment of the hotel why oh why did they allow over 100 Asian students ( hard to guess their ages, but I would guess anything between the ages of 16 and 18) into their hotel unchaparoned and completely a law upon themselves. They were rude, arrogant, extremely rude to the bar and waiting staff and had no thought for anyone else staying at the resort. They were allowed to be unruly, Management never seemed to intervene and tell them that their behaviour was unacceptable.....an example of this is my husband and I were booked for an early trip to meet the coach at reception at 5.20am and they were all in reception, making a row, swearing and again disregarding their surroundings. there were security guards plus reception staff witnessing this, but nothing was said to them. Meal times were horrendous, we always tried to have our meals at times when they werent in the restaurants, but because there were so many of them, we could not avoid them at all. In fact it got to the stage whereby I would have rather missed meals than to sit anywhere near them. The hotel has strict rules about men wearing long trousers in the evening to the meals in the restuarant and the majority of the students came in their pyjamas and got away with it. I have to say it was almost as if Management were scared of rocking the boat with them. They are obviously kids from rich families and we understand that they were guests as we were but why would a group of youngsters want to come to a hotel such as the Baobab other then to drink from 10am to 12 midnight (which is exactly what they did) because it was all inclusive and cause a nuisance. A couple who were also on holiday at the same time (Late June to early July) witnessed one of the kids punch his girlfriends lights out right outside their apartment in the early hours of the morning! Shocking to say the least. Another guest mentioned how the kids were all made to wear wrist bands to stop them bringing in more youngsters from outside of the resort. I have to say I would be ashamed if they were my children!! My husband also had to speak to one of the youngsters who demanded a whisky shouting above everyone else that were at the bar waiting for a drink. I believe the manager of the hotel is is Barry, so please Barry reply to this review and let me know your reasons behind allowing this to go on. I have to say we complained as so many others did in the hotel and we were always told they are leaving tomorrow, but tomorrow never came and they stayed 10 days and nights in all, 10 days of their unruliness. thankfully we went on safari for two of those days and so had a break from it for a short while and they left 3 days before we did, so at least we had 3 days of bliss and so many people were releived at their going home..........This is a holiday we saved up for as we are both 50 this year and it was so dampened by this and I still feel angry and disappointed by Mangement. Barry did say he would welcome any comments on Trip advisor, so here you go Barry, here is one to reply to.

  • Stayed: June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank cinsteveo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 22, 2012

Accommodation
The rooms are nice, spacious and comfortable. We certainly had no trouble sleeping and didn’t find the beds hard. Rooms come with air conditioning, fridge, hairdryer, tv. The en-suite has shower gel and shampoo – although these are a strange luminous colour.

The hotel is large and busy but there is never a sense of being overcrowded and you can always find a quiet spot to sunbathe and chill. Likewise there are plenty of activities to choose from.

Staff
The staff are all very friendly and we cannot complain at all. You always get a friendly ‘Jambo’ and we found the staff both polite and helpful. They are also happy to make conversation with you. Nothing seems too much trouble.

Food
There are 5 restaurants in total – 2 of which are A la carte so you have to pay extra (but hotel guests gain a 20% discount). We chose to eat in the Karibu international all inclusive restaurant and there was an amazing choice of food! Earlier reviews suggest there was a lack of vegetarian choices – this is simply not true because the hotel even caters for vegans! The hotel attracts a large Indian community, many of which are Hindu and therefore vegetarian.

Massive thanks to Ashbabi and his amazing vegetarian curries!

The desserts are quite bland – the chocolate doesn’t really taste like chocolate does in the UK. However the fresh fruit including mango and passionfruit are devine!!

Beach
The beach is amazing!! White sand and turquoise water – all on the ‘door step’ what more can you ask for? You will be crazy not to venture on to the beach!!

Negatives
There are a couple of minor gripes. Firstly the hotel gift shop prices are expensive – notably the wood carving shop, whose prices border on ridiculous! Any wood carvings should be obtained from the beach or Mombasa wood carving village! Secondly we think that more can be done to keep the rooms free of mosquitoes and ants – last year we went to Sri Lanka and they sprayed the rooms and put in plug in devices every evening. Subsequently this year despite our own precautions were bitten several times!

Beach boys
The biggest gripe is the amount of negativity towards the beach boys!! These guys are desperate to make a living and are self employed commission based. They have formed co-operative groups where they share any money made. These guys are cheaper than the hotels, because the tour operators in the hotels charge a premium. In addition they are fully insured and licensed with the Kenyan Tourist Board!

These guys offer exactly the same trips such as safaris, trip to the marine park, glass bottom boat, Shimba Hills, as well as a seafood restaurant further down the beach! We met 2 guys in particular – ‘Ali’ and ‘Captain Mike’ who we befriended – and keep in contact now! These guys are trustworthy – and who are try to save money to gain a driving licence so that they gain full time employment off the beach! They want proper employment not a commission only life on the beach.

There is a wood carving market on the beach – which holds some quality, unique products which you can get at a decent price. Further along the beach to the left there is a ramshackled hut which is easily overlooked - where ‘John’ has some amazing wood carvings – and all are hand carved on site.

WT Safaris
We used WT for our 3 day safari at Fig Tree Camp in the Masai Mara (see separate review) and were impressed with them, in particular their customer service. Negotiations and confirmations were made so much easier using their UK representative, Anne Sanderson, Kenyan Travel Services. Anne’s unique knowledge and experience in Kenyan life was invaluable in making our choices. We paid a small deposit to Anne in £ sterling and received booking confirmation and invoices directly from her. Anne arranged an informal meeting with WT on our arrival in Kenya where we discussed our safari with Peter.

A huge thank you goes to Peter who advised us to change our initial camp choice. We were initially going to Olumara but because heavy rainfall in that area was making it difficult to pass, we were given the option of changing to the Fig Tree Camp – at no extra cost and was a much better location!

We also used Peter to arrange a visit to a school/orphange (non-tourist) where we took sweets and pencils as gifts (but wished we had taken more items). We also had a half day Mombasa tour, which includes the wood carving village. The benefits of booking with WT was that we had a car with a driver to ourselves – no organised tour and it was totally flexible, meaning we could stay as little or as long at any one place!

Thought of the day
Kenya is an amazing holiday destination, great climate, great beach, amazing wildlife and great people. Please consider booking your excursions with local companies, which ensures that the revenue goes to the local economy rather than into the wallets of the fat cats in the UK.

  • Stayed: July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank LincolnshireFoodie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 20, 2012

Stayed at the Baobab beach resort from the 2nd July to 17th July, with a 3 day safari in the Masi Mara.

recently returned from are holiday in Kenya, had an amazing time.

Did a lot of research on which resorts to stay at Diani beach, and choose the Baobab beach resort and Spa. The hotel is very large resort with 3 swimming pools and 3 buffet restauraunts, the main courses where all very nice with a lot of variety, the deserts where a little bland and dry so stayed away from these most of the time. Seemed like they had been sitting there to long.

Are hotel room was very nice and spacious with a balcony, mini fridge and large double bed etc. The room was very nice. The two negatives about the room are that the bed was very hard and that the mini fridge was empty. All the all inclusive resorts I've been to before have at least had a fridge filled with bottled water. This would of been a nice touch.

The three swimming pools, grounds all nicely kept and everything looks well looked after.

loved all the monkeys around, jumping around causing mischief and coming on to a balconys really was quite amazing every morning waking up to monkeys at the door. Don't think everyone liked the monkeys being around and got a bit annoyed, don't really understand why,?.

The evening entertainment. We saw 4 of the shows and 2 of them where good the other 2 where dreadful. Michael Jackson MTV night was a shambles, the dancing was bad, outfits where bad, didn't no where to look all had random clothes on. Chriography needs working on desperately, the group of friends we met on holiday couldn't believe what we where seeing.

The other bad show was the lion king, chriography was better but it was a bit like watching a pirate film, where the sound doesn't go with what you are seeing, the speakers where to boome overpowered the show and did remind me of a school play.

I heard that the shows have been the same for the last 3 years, so maybe a change is needed.

On a good not the acrobats and Masi Mara dances where very good.



One gripe was one night At 01.15 in the morning we where woken by the loud sound system from a wedding party going on, the sound was shocking and there was no way we could sleep with it on, we called reception and complained of which they said they would ask the DJ to turn it down. Nothing happened tho.. No warning that there would be loud music so late!

Also the selection of drinks for all inclusive is pretty poor, not many cocktails, more international drinks need to be included.

Paying for the gym also amazed me and my partner, first all inclusive I've been to and you have to pay to use the gym! Complete con!




Excursions. In short
Jambo Mombasa city tour. Really enjoyed this excursion well worth the money. Full packed day with lots of history and sites seeing, along with luch on a dowl boat. Excellent.

Shimba Hills. Waste of money, this excursion was awful, 3 hours driving around we saw no animals, the lunch we had at the lodge was cold and steak tasted like salt, after another 2 hours going to the elephant sanctuary of which we only saw elephants miles away we ended up at unused camp resort, place was dirty and hadn't had customers In months the manager had told us. This excursion is not recommended.


Masi Mara.
Had an excellent time here, staying at the governors camp. Saw the big 5. The best thing about the Masi Mara is that the drivers can go off road, and get close to the action. Got some amazing pictures.
The food, accommodation and staff where amazing. Really recommended.


Other than the entertainment, deserts, mini fride, hard bed etc, we did have a really good holiday took over 2000 pictures, if baobab can iron out some of the things we have mentioned we would come back. A lot of them are just simple things.




Stayed: July 2012, traveled as a couple
6  Thank SiandnasLesta
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 16, 2012

Jambo.
Let's get the Negatives out of the way First.I read these review's that say average, disappointing and then they nik pick.Why then do they come to a third world country.Please stay away and go to Cannes,Monaco,and the like instead and pay through the nose for your Al la cart.The Baobab is an Oasis in a country that has high unemployment and sight's that make you realize how lucky we really are back home.Having got that out of the way the Baobab did not disappoint.We upgraded to the Baobab Superior Room and was well worth the extra cost.The room was Large,Bed huge,Shower/bathroom very spacious and all Cleaned on a daily basis.Lack of a Mini Bar was a bit of a disappointment as most of the All Inclusive's that we have stayed at have this facility.Choice of Drink's at the Bar's is a little bit limited which i think need's to be addressed.Although All-Inclusive you have to pay for any International Drink's.We could not fault the Food but if you happen to be Vegan or a Vegetarian you would be very limited.The Staff are with-out a doubt the most Polite of people that we have had the pleasure of meeting.So many thank's to Justin (time),Diana (love you),Said (so Polite),Ziro (who has the most infectious Laugh),the 2 Emmanuel's, Daniel (the Chef),Robert (Roberto) who need's to put on some weight and need's a girl friend,Philip (who changes his Birth Home every day,Thoya,Joseph,Frederick,Gerard (Stephen), Cat-man (the Cleaner),Drena and Jane (so good Looking).If i have missed any,then i apologize,you were all so friendly.The Monkey's are both amusing and mischievousness.Don't leave anything lying around because they will have it.Make doubly sure that you keep your Door's shut because if they get in your room they will destroy it.They will also pinch the food right out of your Hand's.The Complex is Large and the Garden's well tended and quite Beautiful with lot's of Wild Life to see.The Beach is Amazing but has a Sea Weed problem.At low tide it's great for Snorkeling.There is a RED BUOY just off the beach which mark's an underground Spring,this is rumored to have claimed a life but we heard about 4 different stories so which one is true is anyone's guess.One off the biggest gripes is about the Beach Boy's.I don't know what the problem is These Guy's are offering services far cheaper than the Big Fish are.These people come to work every day on empty stomach's.If they don't get a sell then they go home on an empty stomach.Okay,they swarm on you but no different than a salesman would in any shop back home.No sale,No food.We bought all of our gift's from these people with no problem,s and were more than pleased.Our favorite Beach Boy's were Samson (look's and talk's like a Jamaican) and Mohamed (his side Kick).These guy's are worth knowing as they will offer you offer you some great services.Our Favorite was a Glass Bottom Boat Trip which included some Fishing and looking for Sea-Life in the many Rock Pool's about 1/4 Mile off the Beach.If you want some really good Hand-Crafted good's then see James Bond and he will walk you around the small Market just off the Beach.We did one of the Safari Trip's through our First Choice Rep.but Samson can offer just as good a Deal.We did a Three Day,Two Night at Tsavo West and Tsavo East.First Lodge was at Aruba (Tsavo West ).This was okay but on the second night we stayed at a Tent at Severin,this was Awesome.We were lucky enough to see 4 of the Big Five.The Rhino was the only one we didn't see.The high-lite for me was seeing a Leopard at a small ravine in Tsavo East.The average Kenyan in a full time job earn's roughly £50.00 a month so please Tip well.Feed the Small Fish and not the Big Fish.Accept the Beach Boy's rather than treat them as vermin.Put yourselves in their situation.Would we go back,too right we would.

Room Tip: Upgrade to Baobab Superior or above.Tip well.Enjoy.
See more room tips

Room Tip: Upgrade to Baobab Superior or Kole Kole
  • Stayed: June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
6  Thank Bigalseamills
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 16, 2012

We returned from our holiday 2 weeks ago. The Baobab Hotel is a beautiful hotel offering a great choice of food. My partner chose this hotel for our honeymoon as the brochure said it was ideal fro couples and honeymoons. We were very disappointed to find on our 2nd day a group of 146 students had been booked in! They were very rude, loud and totally dis- respectful. We had to complain several times to the hotel. We were glad we had a safari booked in the middle of our holiday so we could get away from the noise. This was the best thing ever and would recommend this to anyone. The staff at the hotel were so friendly and nothing was too much trouble.

Room Tip: Do not book the first grade rooms
  • Stayed: June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Tammy B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews