We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“AN AMAZING SMALL BEAUTIFUL HOTEL”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of Afrika Pearl & Spa

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Afrika Pearl & Spa
Ranked #17 of 29 Hotels in Diani Beach
Mombasa, Kenya
1 review
“AN AMAZING SMALL BEAUTIFUL HOTEL”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 15, 2014

I stayed with my family for 5 nights in this very beautiful Hotel. everything was ok , lovely staff , lovely beach ( white sand beach ) and perfect view to the Indian Ocean. keep it up afrika pearl !!! i will come back !!!!

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank BONGO R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gilles M, Owner at Afrika Pearl & Spa, responded to this review, August 1, 2014
Thanks, we are family friendly with a kids club and our very spacious family rooms make family holidays ideal.Karibu sana
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

143 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    93
    35
    7
    4
    4
See reviews for
55
49
15
1
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (31)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Kenya
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 29, 2014

Although the hotel has a wide beach-front, the real beauty of the place, is that it is a very personal boutique hotel, with just a small number of rooms.
But although small, the nice surprise was that the hotel includes an air conditioned gymnasium and three separate Jacuzzi’s (two of which are open air). Of course we had to try all three and yes they were all incredibly relaxing.
Our room was huge, clean, and more importantly the new solar showers were hot and powerful.
The Manager suggested that we opt to have dinner away from the main restaurant on our own private open air terrace overlooking the sea. This was a great idea. The sea breeze was very welcome, the service was very efficient and the sea food amazing!
We also liked the cool TV room, which may prompt us to book again for the World Cup!
Roll on June, 2014 - because we simply adored the Afrika Pearl.

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank GarethRobertsKenya
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gilles M, Gérant at Afrika Pearl & Spa, responded to this review, August 29, 2014
Thank you very much! we appreciate your compliments!

Gilles
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York
Level Contributor
26 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 23, 2014

I was staying at another hotel nearby, and one afternoon came here for a massage... The massage was lovely, and outdoors overlooking the beach, and only 1500 KSH (20 dollars?) After my massage I had a few drinks. The managers insisted on showing me the rooms, telling me how good their happy hour was (buy two, get one free), and walking me through a very very impressive menu with 5-6 cuisines. Also that their was a board of the food of the day that looked awesome. Rooms include half board (this means breakfast and dinner) The place seemed pretty empty, but it was amazingly beautiful, and right on the water.

Me and two friends of mine, asked how much a room would be. We were quoted a price for a room with 3 beds. After a little debate we decided to move to this hotel, we got a ride back to our hotel and to get our stuff, and then back to the hotel to check in.

When we got back to the hotel, we were told that a family had moved into their only room that could take 3 people, and we'd have to get too rooms... and no he couldn't offer them to us at the rate we had just been offered. We entered the normal Kenya haggle. Ok, so we go to pay... they only take cash.. yes a "5 star" hotel only takes cash and it takes it up front when you check in.

We are told that because it is so late, we can't order off the regular menu and are presented a dinner menu with two options and a price of 2400 at the bottom. This was very odd for two reasons. 1. The food was free, so their set menu didn't need to have a price. 2. The items on the menu didn't add up to nearly 2400. It takes some debating to convince them that a vegetarian can't eat either of the two options. They agree to make pasta for both our vegetarian, and a friend who decided to come to dinner with us.

At dinner I ordered a glass of wine that was listed at 250, when the bill came I had been charged 300, only after I pointed this out, was I explained that they did not have the 250 ksh wine, but had a bottle by the same name, and same year on the menu that was 300 a glass. I tried to argue that they should have given it to me for 250, and was met with blank stares. We try and pay our bills and are told that we can not, it can only be added to the room. However at the Bar, your tab can not be added to your room and you have to pay immediately...

So, our friend leaves, the 3 of us go to bed, and the next day begins. In the morning you are given a couple of options for the half board breakfast... It's pretty good. I ask if I can get change for 1000 (all ATM's dispense 1000 KSH bills in Kenya, about 12 dollars, with an average income under 100 dollars a month for locals this is a large bill). I am told the hotel doesn't have any change... so tipping the driver to a boat trip, the boat crew, my lunch restaurant, etc is out for the day...

When we get back to the hotel around 6, its pretty empty. Our friend who came back with us takes a dip in the pool with one of the girls for a minute and then we go to shower off for dinner. We are presented another menu with just two options (again neither vegetarian). What? Last night you said this limit was because it was so late... No.. these are the only thing you can order, I'm told, the other menu is Ala Cart..Including the meals of the day on the black board. Again it has the 2400 price tag on it (for a 400 KSH soup and a 1100 Ksh sweet and sour pork, and a scoop of icecream). I argue at length that I should be able to order off sum 2400 worth of food... Hell the lobster is only 1700, I'll take that and you can save money on my half board.

While we are arguing the hotel notices our friend who is not staying there is taking a shower... We are scolded, told he isn't allowed in the room, told that he has to pay 500 ksh for having used the pool. I start to argue about this, and I am scolded, and yelled at. Finally they call a manager (since there isn't one on site)... he yells at me about how unreasonable I am, and that while our friend can be there and spend money,he is not allowed in our rooms (despite being walked to our rooms with us the night before) for our security. The manager finally agree's not to charge us, while talking to me like I'm an idiot, but takes a hard line on letting us order off the menu.

Can I say again how awesome their 5 cuisine menu they sold us on the place looked! If they had charged me less and not done half board I would have spent way more, as I was at a luxury resort I likely would have had the Lobster and apps, and a bottle of wine, and maybe the Foie Gras, rather then being pissed off and eating my Tomato soup.

So we are at dinner, and we get the bill from the bar. No happy hour on it, I get this corrected and and we pay our bar bill, they give us the wrong change, and tell us its cause they don't have enough when we ask (they don't mention it when they put the bills down). We get our dinner bills for that night... They are wrong, and we get the wrong change. Each time we have to get change it takes about a half hour. We ask for our bills for the night before... They take about an hour to be "tallied". They are totally wrong, it takes another half hour to get them fixed...

Finally this is all done, I ask for them to have a taxi for me to the airport at 6:15... In the morning instead of getting me a taxi they take me in their landrover, then they charge me more then 3 times what a taxi would cost.... this was a final goodbye.

I have been few more beautiful places, the beds were soft, the showers were nice, the site is literally over looking one of the most wonderful white beaches in the world, but the service, the feeling of barely being tolerated, the endless challenge in getting anything or anything done makes this a poor poor choice.

Last notes that didn't fit in the above review.
My safe was broken, I was told it'd be fixed while we were out the next day.. It was not.

Having got a sun burn, they didn't have any lotion (at a luxury beach resort) that i could use, but I could but a bottle of aloe lotion for 1750 (22ish dollars).

One of our friends who came to dinner the 2nd night was black. He called from the gate that they wouldn't let him. We asked that he be let in, and were told he would be. 10 minutes later he called that he still wasn't let in. One of us had to walk to the gate to get him.

If they hired someone who knew how to run a hotel, this would get a 5 star review...

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank HookahMike
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gilles M, Owner at Afrika Pearl & Spa, responded to this review, April 25, 2014
We appreciate your stay with us and your comments
Our credit machines had a problem and we had to return them to Barclays, we are expecting replacements anytime
We did our best and offered you wi-fi free and a discount for accommodation and charged Kshs 7 000 instead of Kshs 9 775 on half board
Our hotel policies do not allow non-residents of the hotel to go to our rooms, if they come and use the swimming pool, we normally charge extra but in your case we did not charge
We have fixed transfer costs which are approximately the normal costs in other beach hotels of Kshs 1 500 to Ukunda Airstrip, we used a land cruiser
All our hotel visitors should have a form of identification and your guest had none, so the security had to seek authorisation
Our office opens at 08h00 so the Kshs 1 000 change is only available once the office is open and in your case it was 06h00
We apologise for the safe issue, it was a mistake on our side
We have done our very best for the last five months and we are sorry 98% of our guests have been very happy, we are one very fantastic place and we have to take care of all our guests.
We will be very happy to host you again
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Isle of Man, United Kingdom
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 12, 2014

This is a very nice hotel, with a great taste, and virtually facing the ocean. Quiet hotel, cool breeze from the beach friendly and helpful staff, rooms with an African touch, but a refreshingly great reception. Had a massage and twas perfect. This place is More than value for money Try it out i had a great time with my family.

  • Stayed February 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Antonia A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gilles M, Gérant at Afrika Pearl & Spa, responded to this review, August 29, 2014
Google Translation
Ravi que notre établissement ait répondu pleinement à vos attentes!…

Gilles
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Diani Beach hotels
2.6 mi away
Diani Sea Resort
Diani Sea Resort
#4 of 29 in Diani Beach
4.5 of 5 bubbles 956 reviews
1.0 mi away
The Sands at Nomad
The Sands at Nomad
#7 of 29 in Diani Beach
4.5 of 5 bubbles 403 reviews
5.9 mi away
Jacaranda Indian Ocean Beach Resort
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.5 mi away
Waterlovers Beach Resort
Waterlovers Beach Resort
#2 of 29 in Diani Beach
5.0 of 5 bubbles 375 reviews
5.4 mi away
Southern Palms Beach Resort
Southern Palms Beach Resort
#10 of 29 in Diani Beach
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,305 reviews
7.3 mi away
The Sands At Chale Island
The Sands At Chale Island
#3 of 29 in Diani Beach
4.5 of 5 bubbles 517 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Afrika Pearl & Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Afrika Pearl & Spa

Property: Afrika Pearl & Spa
Address: Diani Beach, Ukunda 80401, Kenya
Location: Kenya > Coast Province > Ukunda > Diani Beach
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Beverage Selection Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #17 of 29 Hotels in Diani Beach
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Afrika Pearl & Spa 4*
Number of rooms: 17
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Hotwire, Expedia, Travelocity, Orbitz, Jovago.com and Agoda so you can book your Afrika Pearl & Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing