We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very pleasant stay”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of The Sands at Nomad

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
The Sands at Nomad
Ranked #7 of 29 Hotels in Diani Beach
Certificate of Excellence
Level Contributor
18 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
“Very pleasant stay”
Reviewed January 21, 2013

We spent two nights here, 18-20/01/2013. We booked a cottage on the beach, location fantastic.the cottages are the best place in the resort. Booking a cheaper forest view room we would not have enjoyed the pleasant view and "noise" of the Indian Ocean from the room. We had two dinner à la carte: food very good, maybe a bit expensive. As it was off season, I suppose, there were also many trainees as waiters: maybe too much invasive, often asking whether everything was good or trying to take plates away while they were still full of food. They'll learn how to be good waiter. However, everything here is fantastic and relaxing. Beautiful place to stay.

Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Diabolik1971
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

402 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    290
    80
    14
    8
    10
See reviews for
72
221
31
10
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (65)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hungarian first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Russian first
  • Slovak first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
uk
Level Contributor
52 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 61 helpful votes
Reviewed January 16, 2013

While i do not stay at tbe hotel,as I have my own place i do like to take the family to the beach bar and know that all will be well nevcer a disappointment.But that is to be expected romthe same owner as Leonardos.Attention to detail in furniture etc is fine a man who is very obviously in love with wood as a material.
The staff always in clean uniforms and good with children.
The food is what a lot of people call good and it is for Kenya ,however If compered to what you would get from a hotel in Europe of the same quality it is still 10 years behind but then 99% of Kenya food outlets have not cjhanged in the last 10 years and I feel this may cost them in the future.Yes the prices are "for Kenya" at the higher end but again for a European less than a high stret cafe .If you want a quiet relaxing afternoon in a family friendly (no drunks) atmosphere then this is the place to go and do so while the kids play on a perfect beach in clear sight.Hopefully a restauranrt in DIANI will start to offer some high end cuisine soon especially as the raw materials would make this easily affordable.
Finally the only thing I not so much disliked but found a bit of a mish mash was the Christmas bazaar where all the staff were wearing SANT CLAUS hats in a 35c heat wave
Plus points for the owner who eco credentials in helping to maintain some of the last remaining natural woodland on Diani commendable

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank beltanefire
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hargeisa
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed October 29, 2012

My partner and I just spent a super nice weekend at the Sands at Nomad. We arrived to the hotel without any previous booking and in the first night we stayed usual Sea Breeze hotel room. In the next day we changed the room to sea view room, which was just AMAZING! it was directly on the beach and had even a jacuzzi on the balcony with view to the sea. We were welcomed with a plate full of fresh fruits and a with the friendliest smiles. In addition to wonderful location and very professional and friendly staff it was also surprising how privet we felt there while there were actually quite a number of other guests.
It truly was very nice and relaxing experience even though it was just for the weekend. I am definitely planning to stay there again when i take my holidays on Diani. My family is coming to visit me in Africa in the beginning of 2013 and to give them the best holidays when visiting Diani i am planning to book them at the Sands at Nomad as well.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Tiina T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
18 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed October 22, 2012

Loved the hotel. this is our third visit and their consistency is commendable.the staff is extremely helpful and friendly.The beach is awesome and the atmosphere is so peaceful. The food is great too... we had a wonderful time and look forward to going there again next year :)

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank jumur
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York, New York, United States
Level Contributor
9 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed September 25, 2012

Gorgeous landscape, impeccable service, fantastic food, and spacious rooms. The hotel is right on one of the most beautiful beaches I have ever seen. I felt like I was in an oasis it was so quiet and relaxing. The staff was incredibly helpful and made our stay even very enjoyable through their kindness and service.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Tuohy A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
7 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
Reviewed September 11, 2012

Beautiful boutique hotel,amazing beach and gardens, very good restaurant - great food and not expensive at all- and also very nice staff. It´s quiet and exclusive,perfect to relax and enjoy the sun and the Inidian Ocean. Very different to the other resorts around in Diani Beach.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank TaraZv
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bonn, Germany
Level Contributor
9 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed August 16, 2012

We have spent one week at the hotel.The breakfast buffet is traditional, but other than that, the food is really good. The rooms are nice and clean but small at the main building. If you booked a cottage at the beach - you made the best choice.The staff is very service minded. The beach ist great but it is a public beach and the the peddlers are really pushy, so you often decide to spend the day at the pool.

Room Tip: If you booked a cottage at the beach - you made the best choice.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Alexander W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Diani Beach hotels
1.6 mi away
Diani Sea Resort
Diani Sea Resort
#4 of 29 in Diani Beach
955 reviews
1.5 mi away
Waterlovers Beach Resort
Waterlovers Beach Resort
#2 of 29 in Diani Beach
373 reviews
4.4 mi away
Southern Palms Beach Resort
Southern Palms Beach Resort
#9 of 29 in Diani Beach
1,302 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.0 mi away
Afrika Pearl & Spa
Afrika Pearl & Spa
#17 of 29 in Diani Beach
142 reviews
8.3 mi away
The Sands At Chale Island
The Sands At Chale Island
#3 of 29 in Diani Beach
512 reviews
0.6 mi away
Baobab Beach Resort & Spa
Baobab Beach Resort & Spa
#5 of 29 in Diani Beach
1,453 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Sands at Nomad? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Sands at Nomad

Property: The Sands at Nomad
Address: Diani Beach, Diani Beach, Ukunda, Kenya
Location: Kenya > Coast Province > Ukunda > Diani Beach
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Beverage Selection Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#3 Romantic Hotel in Diani Beach
#3 Spa Hotel in Diani Beach
#5 Family Hotel in Diani Beach
#7 Luxury Hotel in Diani Beach
#7 On the Beach Hotel in Diani Beach
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:5 star — The Sands at Nomad 5*
Number of rooms: 37
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Hotel is set amid 25 acres of indigenous forest fronted by 225 meters of Kenyas most unspoilt stretches of white sand and aquamarine sea. All rooms with en-suite bathroom, hairdryer, individual air condition. Minibar, Safe, Satelite TV, Telephone and Internet access, 24 hour room service.The restaurant offers a wide selection of international cuisine, pastas, pizzas & Japanese dishes. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Hotwire, Orbitz, Priceline, Travelocity, Jovago.com, Booking.com, Agoda, TripOnline SA and HotelQuickly so you can book your The Sands at Nomad reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Sands At Nomad Hotel Diani
Sands At Nomad Diani
Sands At Nomad Hotel Diani

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing