We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (815)
Filter reviews
815 results
Traveler rating
418
227
90
46
34
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
418
227
90
46
34
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsfins restaurantthe general managerbeach boysbreakfast and dinnerbeach restauranthalf boardquiet poolfresh towelsanimation teamprivate beachkids clubbeach bedsindian oceanwhite sandbuffet styleevening entertainmentseafood
Filter
Updating list...
89 - 94 of 815 reviews
Reviewed August 30, 2017

Diani Reef Beach and Resort is easily the best resort in Diani Beach. It is truly a fabulous resort and has everything you are looking for.

The resort sits right on a beautiful stretch of the beach with white sand and crystal clear blue water. The pool is spectacular and has a pool bar which is a great time. There is a spa located on the property that is top of the line.

My wife and I stayed here for the last 4 days of our honeymoon and the resort went out of their way to make us feel special and to ensure that we had the most memorable time, it was the trip of a lifetime! The staff was incredibly friendly, attentive and helpful. Every person who worked there,from the front desk, waiters, waitresses, bartenders, and managers, made sure that we had what we needed and were enjoying our stay. Beyond the amazing features and beautiful setting what really makes Diani Reef special is the staff.

I would 100 percent recommend Diani Reef to anyone and if you are on the fence about where to stay then look no further, you will not be disappointed.

  • Stayed: August 2017, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Mark G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management response:Responded September 1, 2017

Dear Guest

Greetings from Diani Reef Beach Resort & Spa!

Thank you for sharing your warm experience with us as we are always glad to hear such lovely feedback from our happy guests. It is a pleasure to know that our bespoke services and the beautiful location exceeded your expectations. Your kind remarks for our associates have been heartily received by them and they look forward to serve you again with the same warmth! We hope your wise recommendation will bring many discerning travelers to us.

Meanwhile, do keep a tab on our social media channels to stay updated with the upcoming offers and deals. We look forward to welcome you for another enriching experience with your partner.

Best Regards,
Resort Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 27, 2017 via mobile

With a group of 20, this resort welcomed us with open arms after we decided to move from Diani Sea resort after just one night. From the moment we arrived we were made to feel welcome and the manager, Praveen, personally came and met us and re-assured us that all our needs would be catered for, a promise that was NOT broken!

The staff we're attentive, personable and always willing to help to ensure we got what we needed. They always came to say hello and welcomed real time feedback. We got to know most on a first name basis and the staff made the experience more enjoyable!

Rooms were clean, wifi available in each room and tv's that worked! Great views of the ocean, although keep those doors closed, unless you want a monkey in your room!!

The pool was spotless and great service from all. The kids in the group fully enjoyed their time at the pool and the activities from the kids club.

Finally the food! The chef is an absolute genius. Catered for all our needs, no matter how difficult the ask, and always personally met us to ensure we were all ok. If home cooked, fresh food is what you are after, this is the place to be!

After our first day at our original Diani Sea resort, we were not hoping for much elsewhere, but the Diani Reef more than compensated for our disappointment and for me, made our holiday one to remember.

Thank you all for all your help and warm hospitality, we will DEFINITELY, be coming back again!

Stayed: August 2017, traveled with family
Thank Heminpatel12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management response:Responded August 30, 2017

Dear Guest,

Greetings from Diani Reef Beach Resort & Spa!

Thank you for the wonderful summary of your experience that speaks highly of each of our offerings. It was a pleasure to host you and it’s good to know that our hospitality services have successfully met your approval. We are delighted to further note that our well-maintained accommodations, hard-working associates and recreational activities have all exceeded your expectations.

Do check out our social media pages for offers you might be interested in. Thank you again for staying with us during your visit to Kenya and we invite you to include us in your future plans.

Best Regards,
Resort Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 25, 2017 via mobile

We where a party of 20 people who moved to this resort after a not so great experience at the Diani Sea resort. All I can say is this resort brought the luxury we wanted to relax as our tail end to our 2 week trip. The staff, warm, helpful, welcoming. Granted while we where there it wasn't very busy, but nevertheless we were really looked after. Nothing was too much, the chef was just superb, he catered speciality dishes we requested, the facilities are fab, nice gym, well maintenance pool area, lovely little pockets of space to relax. Situated on a lovely part of the beach, white sands, just breathtaking! I can't thank all staff enough for making our special trip even more special. Oh yeah and wifi is great, and they show the football!

Stayed: August 2017
Thank Chirrag P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management response:Responded August 30, 2017

Dear Guest,

Greetings from Diani Reef Beach Resort & Spa!

Thank you for taking out time to share your insightful review with us. We are elated that you enjoyed your experience here. Indeed, our team is always on the lookout to provide our guests with a memorable stay filled with comfort. Seeing you shower such accolades on their diligent efforts makes us proud. We are glad that the culinary spread, well-curated by our chef, enhanced your experience. It makes us happy that our resort’s ideal and scenic location impressed you.

It was a pleasure hosting you and we look forward to welcome you back with another memorable experience. Do connect with us through our social media channels and stay updated about the ongoing offers and discounts.

Best Regards,
Resort Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 4, 2017

I not only got a discount when I called to make the booking, but the hotel has excellent rooms that are spacious; working wifi and it has huge grounds and space to walk around. The waiters are very helpful and Gabriel in the reception was very welcoming!

Stayed: August 2017
Thank Patrick M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management response:Responded August 7, 2017

Dear Guest,

Greetings from Diani Reef Beach Resort!

Such a wonderful review with a perfect star rating is a motivation for us. It is nice to know that our diligent associates and regal ambience of our hotel has left you impressed and made your experience even more enriching.
Your kind words about our impeccable assistance have been received with gratitude. We loved hosting you and are eagerly waiting for your next visit.

Best Regards,
Resort Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 19, 2017

I have been to Diani Reef about 10 years ago and the first thing that struck me when I arrived and checked in is that nothing much had changed.

I chose it because 10 years ago they had desserts to die for, a manager who was so very friendly and attentive and always stopped at your table or anywhere he met you to check if you were comfortable and having a good time and great indian food. Unfortunately 10 years later, desserts were just standard fare, we were there for 4 days but never once saw the manager, and the breakfast menu could definitely use some shaking up as it was just the same stuff every single day! I found it strange that the only 4 fruits offered every day were just pineapple, melon, mango and bananas. No Pawpaws, passion and Mango's which are in abundance in the country. But when we requested for pawpaw, it was immediately brought to our table.

The indian food was good and the chef made us hot fresh chapati's (roti's) whenever we arrived. The continental food was also very good. The staff were very friendly and the service was great. They were very accomodative if we asked for anything and would bring it immediately.

The rooms we were in were just the same as we found them 10 years ago, and were showing signs of age and in desperate need of renovation. The Kids club also needs some improvements as balls were missing or pool table damaged etc.

It might also be that occupancy seemed to be quite low being just before elections in Kenya, but having said that, I feel certain standards must be maintained whether you are full house or barely 25% occupancy.

Their tea time was a treat and they had lovely cookies, cakes and pancakes that the kids really enjoyed.

I found their ala carte/snack menu to have crazy prices, e.g a plate of masala chips was for Kshs.650/- !! At all other beach hotels, the most it can be is Kshs.300/-. So this just gives you an idea of how exhorbitant their prices are. It's almost as if they don't want you to order from them!

If I had not been to this hotel 10 years ago when it was newly opened, I would probably not have had any complaints (except their crazy menu pricing). But because I was there when it was new, I have noticed a drop in their standards and overall look and feel and believe this should never happen as standards must always be maintained. Thankfully the service was excellent so it made up for it all and we had a fantastic time and enjoyed every moment of our holiday.

  • Stayed: July 2017, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
1  Thank Farzana Mughal P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management response:Responded August 7, 2017

Dear Guest,

Greetings from Diani Reef Beach Resort and Spa!

Honest feedback from patrons like you is what we always look forward to as they act as the best insight for us to improve, and we thank you for the same. We are elated to know that you are one of our oldest guests and that you chose to stay with us again, even after 10 years. It’s our honour to learn that you and your family had an amazing time with us and enjoyed our seamless services, rich culinary fare and our team’s whole hearted endeavour to make your stay as comfortable as possible. However, we are disheartened to know that your overall experience was marred by few glitches and left you disappointed. The entire team has already been briefed about your feedback and the amendments will be done at the earliest.

Your patronage is very valuable to us and we sincerely hope that you visit us again to experience a stay at par with your expectations.

Best Regards,
Resort Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews