We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
WINNER WONDERLAND
Win Big When You Book on TripAdvisor

“Beautiful hotel with energetic Staff” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Diani Reef Beach Resort & Spa

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Diani Reef Beach Resort & Spa
Ranked #19 of 32 Hotels in Diani Beach
Certificate of Excellence
Pune, India
Level Contributor
49 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
“Beautiful hotel with energetic Staff”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 8, 2013

Been there, couple of years back..but the memories are still fresh because of the excellent customer service provided by the hotel staff. They have a great range of the restaurants and the coffee shop serves excellent buffet from around the world. Another great aspect of the hotel is their spa..one of the best spa visited. The recreation facilities provided for adults and kids makes it an ideal place to visit with family.

Room Tip: Rooms facing the beach and specially the once at the first floor. Also the first floor rooms with a...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Shema1980
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DRBRS, General Manager at Diani Reef Beach Resort & Spa, responded to this review, November 13, 2013
Dear Sheebamallhotra,

It is great to know that your stay with us was a memmorable one while you found our hotel beautiful and my team and I really appreciate your feedback which will go along way in encouraging us to serve our guests better. Your comments on the Excellent customer service, Great range of resturants, Excellent buffet offering & Best Spa are well appreciated.

We will be happy to have you back with us and make Diani Reef Beach Resort & Spa your home away from home during your next visit.

Rgds,
General Manager.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

651 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    328
    187
    76
    38
    22
See reviews for
144
350
23
27
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (110)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Chennai (Madras), India
Level Contributor
211 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 67 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 6, 2013

I stayed here for 2 days. The Hotel and rooms were fantastic. The Resort has a beautiful Swimming pool and is Green. Enjoyed the beach .
Food was good but expensive.
Service was very good especially the customer support person.

Room Tip: Try the Beach facing rooms, has a good view. Also try the rooms on the higher floors so that you can...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank CyrilGubbi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DRBRS, General Manager at Diani Reef Beach Resort & Spa, responded to this review, November 13, 2013
Dear CyrilGubbi,

It is great to know that your stay with us was good and you found our Resort to be GOOD and my team and I really appreciate your feedback which will go along way in encouraging us to serve our guests better. Your comments on Fantastic Hotel / Rooms, Good beach to be enjoyed, Good food & Very Good service are well appreciated. We have also noted your comment on food being expensive which will be put into consideration.

We will be happy to have you back with us and make Diani Reef Beach Resort & Spa your home away from home during your next visit.

Rgds,
General Manager.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Johannesburg, South Africa
Level Contributor
16 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 6, 2013

Sometime in April, we set off to this hotel to celebrate our honeymoon. We checked in and rested a while in the room, the upset started when we decided to take a stroll around the hotel trying figure out what the hotel had to offer. So, as we were walking around the hotel gardens and taking photos due to excitement, a security guard approached us and demanded to know who we were and why we were there! I have never been asked such a question by securities at a hotel before. So, right there, we demanded to know why was this guard asking us such questions and ordered to go ask his manager about us. Realising that we were not budging on the matter, he then stated that a white man who was a guest, sent him to confirm if we were not trespassing at the hotel.How insane! I realised that we were the only couple of colour in the vicinity. I believe that there are other ways to deal with guests who have a challenge seeing ppl of colour around them without having to offend guests!
We also noticed that the stafff at the pool bar and beach side would greet, give attention to the white guests and not bother to even greet us. All I can say is that, this hotel is beautiful but there are still very clear elements of racism and sadly even the black staff towards black guests. As a nonKenyan, I look forward to visiting this country and spend time at the beach but I dread the experience as I have to shout n scream before good service is offered.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank ThuleN
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DRBRS, General Manager at Diani Reef Beach Resort & Spa, responded to this review, November 7, 2013
Dear ThuleN,

Thanks for taking your time to give a belated review on our resort/property . The entire team had taken the raised issues into consideration since we had your sentiments recorded through our own internal guest feedback mechanism and action was taken immediately, with the results being seen from the other various reviews thereafter. However, we are also glad to note that you found the hotel beautiful and also from our records that you enjoyed both the dinner in our Sake Restaurant (Asian) and the Honeymoon Dinner for 2 by the beach. We will be happy to have you staying with us during your next visit, this particular experience not withstanding and assuring you of best service.

Rgds,
General Manager.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nairobi, Kenya
Level Contributor
8 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 31, 2013

I would highly recommend this hotel. Great for the kids had a wonderful time. Great food hospitality. Rooms are fantastic would ask for C20 anytime again.
The rooms set up is really well geared to families. The girls loved the Kids club. Kudos to the management team keep up he good work.

Room Tip: Cottage 20 private and amazing views
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Chris d
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DRBRS, General Manager at Diani Reef Beach Resort & Spa, responded to this review, November 7, 2013
Dear Chris d,

It is great to know that your stay with us was a fantastic one and my team and I really appreciate your feedback which will go along way in encouraging us to serve our guests better. Your comments on the kids enjoying the kids club, great food & fantastic rooms are well appreciated.

We will be happy to have you back with us and make Diani Reef Beach Resort & Spa your home away from home during your next visit.

Rgds,
General Manager.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Colchester, United Kingdom
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 28, 2013

From the moment we arrived we knew were in for something special - and we were not disappointed,
The hotel, staff, food and setting could not have been better. Everyone was very friendly and most helpful. The view from my window was out of this world - looking out to the wonderful beach which was kept clean and there were always loungers and towels.

After being on a four day safari it was just what we needed luxury and pamering.

The Manager was always about asking if everything was o.k which was good customer relations.

Room Tip: Choose second floor for best views - cannot say room number I was sworn to secrecy!!
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
Thank lesley k
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DRBRS, General Manager at Diani Reef Beach Resort & Spa, responded to this review, October 31, 2013
Dear lesley k,

It is great to know that your stay with us was something special and a wonderful one and my team and I really appreciate your feedback which will go along way in encouraging us to serve our guests better. Your comments on the Excellent hotel, staff, food & setting, Room with excellent beach view, Clean beach with loungers & towels, Feeling of Luxury & pampering are well appreciated.

We will be happy to have you back with us and make Diani Reef Beach Resort & Spa your home away from home during your next visit.

Rgds,
General Manager.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nairobi, Kenya
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 28, 2013

After a stressful couple of months in Nairobi needed a break down on the coast and was looking at different options. Diani Reef offered a great package included with a return flight to Nairobi. It turned out to be a great trip. Everything went smoothly with airport pickup. Great service throughout our stay. Adjoining rooms for our group. Rooms were clean and modern. Had a problem with the air conditioning and this was promptly fixed. A great selection of delicious foods at every meal. A really beautiful hotel, with a lot of extras like a pool hall and a modern work out room. Will definitely visit the Diani Reef again!

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
Thank Isaac J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DRBRS, General Manager at Diani Reef Beach Resort & Spa, responded to this review, October 31, 2013
Dear Isaac J,

It is great to know that your stay with us was a great trip from a much needed vacation and my team and I really appreciate your feedback which will go along way in encouraging us to serve our guests better. Your comments on the smooth airport pick up, Great service, Great selection & delicious food & beautiful hotel with extra facilities are well appreciated.

We will be happy to have you back with us and make Diani Reef Beach Resort & Spa your home away from home during your next visit.

Rgds,
General Manager.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Washington DC
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 17, 2013 via mobile

Pros:
Location
Beach
Cons:
No customer service
Bad food
Terrible rooms
Dirty linens
Outdated and rusty bathrooms
Faulty AC units

All in all, wouldn't recommend but from what I've seen maybe you won't find better options. Diani beach is not very popular(at least in October) very quiet. So maybe standards are low

Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
4 Thank Q A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DRBRS, General Manager at Diani Reef Beach Resort & Spa, responded to this review, October 25, 2013
Dear Q A,

Thanks for taking your time to give a review on our resort/property. The entire team has taken the raised issues into consideration and all effort has been put so as to address the same, the results of this is already seen from the other various reviews. However, we are also glad to note that you found the location and the beach to be great. We will be happy to have you staying with us during your next visit, this particular experience not withstanding and assuring you of best service.

Rgds,
General Manager.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Diani Beach hotels
1.2 mi away
Diani Sea Resort
Diani Sea Resort
#5 of 32 in Diani Beach
4.5 of 5 bubbles 908 reviews
1.6 mi away
Southern Palms Beach Resort
Southern Palms Beach Resort
#9 of 32 in Diani Beach
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,249 reviews
2.8 mi away
The Sands at Nomad
The Sands at Nomad
#6 of 32 in Diani Beach
4.5 of 5 bubbles 369 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.0 mi away
Afrika Pearl & Spa
Afrika Pearl & Spa
#16 of 32 in Diani Beach
4.5 of 5 bubbles 123 reviews
1.3 mi away
Waterlovers Beach Resort
Waterlovers Beach Resort
#2 of 32 in Diani Beach
5.0 of 5 bubbles 349 reviews
3.5 mi away
The Baobab - Baobab Beach Resort & Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Diani Reef Beach Resort & Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Diani Reef Beach Resort & Spa

Property: Diani Reef Beach Resort & Spa
Address: Diani Beach Road, Diani Beach, Ukunda 80401, Kenya
Location: Kenya > Coast Province > Ukunda > Diani Beach
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Casino and Gambling Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#6 Top resorts Hotel in Diani Beach
#8 Spa Hotel in Diani Beach
#14 Luxury Hotel in Diani Beach
#18 On the Beach Hotel in Diani Beach
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Diani Reef Beach Resort & Spa 4*
Number of rooms: 143
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Priceline, Expedia, Travelocity, Hotwire, Jovago.com and Odigeo so you can book your Diani Reef Beach Resort & Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Diani Reef Beach Resort And Spa
Diani Reef Beach Hotel Ukunda
Diani Reef Grand Ukunda

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing