We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Lovely hotel, shame about the towels!” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Diani Reef Beach Resort & Spa

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Diani Reef Beach Resort & Spa
Ranked #19 of 32 Hotels in Diani Beach
Certificate of Excellence
Wirral Merseyside
Level Contributor
11 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Lovely hotel, shame about the towels!”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 13, 2013

Beautiful hotel with friendly, helpful staff. However, this hotel is seriously let down by the quality of the towels which were only fit for rags. Also not impressed by the bed linen which felt horrible, together with the bed being hard and the pillows uncomfortable this resulted in 5 nights of very little sleep. The beach is stunning but to walk on it you have to run the gauntlet of beach sellers. Obviously this is out of the control of the hotel! They do, however, provide company if you do want to take a walk. My sister and I took them up on this offer and had a fabulous walk with 2 of the Animation Team: Hafsa and Esther. Thank you both so much, you and your team are an asset to the Diani Reef, we thoroughly enjoyed all the evening entertainment you provided. I must also mention the staff in the dining room, particularly Peter, who were lovely and our Room Attendant, Omar, who saved us from a particularly aggressive monkey who had his eye on our Pringles!! Travellers beware, they can smell a banana from 100 metres!

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank HilaryH1957
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DRBRS, General Manager at Diani Reef Beach Resort & Spa, responded to this review, October 14, 2013
Dear HilaryH1957,

It is great to know that in general you found our resort to be a lovely hotel and my team and I really appreciate your feedback which will go along way in encouraging us to serve our guests better. Your comments on the hotel being beautiful, Friendly & Helpful staff, Great animation team and in particular Hafsa & Esther (Animation), Peter (Dining) & Omar (Rooms) are well appreciated communicated to the said staff. We also noted your feedback on the poor quality of towels & bed linen which is being addressed with a plan to replace the same at an advanced stage.

We will be happy to have you back with us and make Diani Reef Beach Resort & Spa your home away from home.

Rgds,
General Manager.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

652 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    328
    187
    77
    38
    22
See reviews for
145
350
23
27
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (110)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Chester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
21 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 10, 2013

Very nice hotel, rooms, grounds,pool areas and restaurant are all good, the only thing that let's this hotel down is the quality of the bedroom linen! The towels,sheets and duvets are awful! However the staff are lovely, I especially want to mention Omar our room attendant, Peter our waiter and Esta and Hafsa who took us on a lovely beach walk and entertained us in the evenings.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Angela705
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DRBRS, General Manager at Diani Reef Beach Resort & Spa, responded to this review, October 14, 2013
Dear Angela705,

It is great to know that in general you found our resort very nice especially Rooms, Grounds, Pool areas and Restaurant and my team and I really appreciate your feedback which will go along way in encouraging us to serve our guests better. Your comments on the lovely staff and in particular Omar, Peter, Esther & Hafsa are well appreciated and communicated to the same staff. We have also noted your feedback on the poor quality of bedroom linen and the same is being addressed with a paln to replace the same at an advance stage.

We will be happy to have you back with us and make Diani Reef Beach Resort & Spa your home away from home.

Rgds,
General Manager.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nairobi, Kenya
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 8, 2013

We had our wedding here a month ago & it was amazing!! with the help of a wedding planner, the event was exactly as i pictured it to be & the pictures prove it! The food was amazing, the cake...not a crumb was left! :) all our guests really enjoyed themselves. No complaints except housekeeping would take too long to clean the rooms & having children, it could get quite messy :)

Room Tip: the tall coconut trees block the clear view of the ocean but we had a good room though we spent most...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank gazonx
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DRBRS, General Manager at Diani Reef Beach Resort & Spa, responded to this review, October 14, 2013
Dear gazonx,

It is great to know that your wedding event and stay with us was an amazing one and my team and I really appreciate your feedback which will go along way in encouraging us to serve our guests better. Your comments on the help from a wedding planner, amazing food, excellent wedding cake eaten to the last bit are well appreciated. We also noted your comment on housekeeping taking long to make your room and immediately implemented giving priority of cleaning to guests with children.

We will be happy to have you back with us and make Diani Reef Beach Resort & Spa your home away from home and a venue for family reunion in future.

Rgds,
General Manager.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Midland, Texas
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 7, 2013

Very nice resort on the beach. Lobby is very impressive, spacious, with coral reef under the glass tile floor. You can sit there on comfortable sofas and watch fish swimming under your feet!

Beach is pretty, tropical, same goes for the resort pool. Lots of activities available, staff tries to engage everyone to play water sports, attend evening disco, etc.

Hotel has a good number of restaurants serving variety of local foods. My favorite was a seafood restaurant on the beach. While dining in the Japanese restaurant in the main building my first dinner choice wasn't available, my second choice- I didn't care much for it. The manager noticed it and it was written off the bill and I was also treated to a different dish which was much better and no charge! It was a nice touch.

Pool closes a little early at 6 pm but it gets dark shortly after anyways, so no problem.

Staff was extremly friendly and came to talk, ask questions about my trip, life, etc frequently. Their attentiveness was nice but I like to keep to myself so it shortly started to bother me. I don't know if this was because I woman travelling solo and maybe they thought I need company?

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank ladybug_Midland_TX
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DRBRS, General Manager at Diani Reef Beach Resort & Spa, responded to this review, October 9, 2013
Dear Ladybug_Midland,

It is great to know that your stay with us was a great experience and my team and I really appreciate your feedback which will go along way in encouraging us to serve our guests better. Your comments on the Impressive Lobby, Engaging Staff, Seafood Restaurant at the beach, very friendly staff & the spot on gesture of the manager are well appreciated.

We will be happy to have you back with us and make Diani Reef Beach Resort & Spa your home away from home and appreciate your willingness to patronize us again in future.

Rgds,
General Manager.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reading,England
Level Contributor
41 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 2, 2013

Arrived having got a late deal off the internet and both my wife and I loved it here. Sure the hotel and a worn feel and may need a bit of love and attention but the place was clean and friendly with free wifi. Our seaview room was clean and comfortable it could have done with a make over but hey this is Africa and the whole experience was glorious and made an ideal 7 day winter break.
Our biggest surprise was the standard of food . My hopes were not high but how wrong we were. The food was excellent, well presented tasted great with good variety and fresh. One dinner was outside on the front lawn and a local Masai tribe were in attendance and it was great to see them dancing and it gave us the opportunity to buy a few trinkets off them.

We did a one day safari and hired a guide and land rover through the hotel with 3 other ladies who we met which meant we had a private safari for a very reasonable price.

Tea and cakes were served in the afternoon - delicious :)

I'm not into hotel entertainment but a couple of the shows put on we're really good.

Much better than we anticipated and we certainly would like to come back .

An ideal beach holiday with the safari opportunity if you so wish.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank BeachBumReading
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DRBRS, General Manager at Diani Reef Beach Resort & Spa, responded to this review, October 3, 2013
Dear Valued Guest,

It is great to know that your stay with us was an ideal beach holiday and my team and I really appreciate your feedback which will go along way in encouraging us to keep up with the same spirit. Your comments on the clean and friendly atmosphere, Clean & Comfortable Seaview room, excellent standard of food offered, delicious afternoon tea & cakes offered etc are well appreciated.

We will be happy to have you back with us and make Diani Reef Beach Resort & Spa your home away from home and appreciate your willingness to patronize us again in future.

Rgds,
General Manager.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 30, 2013

We actually did enjoy our stay at Diani Reef, until we had an unfortunate run in with the manager. While out for the afternoon, monkeys broke into our room from the outside, despite the door being locked, and created quite a disaster in our room. After the whole event, I decided to test the patio lock and found that even when it is locked, it could be jiggled and would open extremely easily. I took a video of this and took it to the manager, Andrew, to ask for some compensation because this monkey invasion really ruined our day at the hotel and took a long time to get sorted out. Andrew was unable to grasp the fact that the fault was with the lock on the room despite me showing the video of how easy it is to open. Keeping in mind that it was 7pm, we were already late to leave for a wedding reception and were leaving early the next morning, the only thing Andrew offered after long negotiations was an upgrade to a suite for the night, which was of no use to us because we weren't going to be there. Andrew simply did not listen to us and created a very uncomfortable situation in the lobby in front of other guests. We didn't pay to have our room broken into by monkeys because their locks don't work. The customer service by everyone else in the hotel was exceptional - but it was too bad that manager didn't share the same expertise as his staff. Our interactions with him really ruined our experience at that hotel, even more than the shock of coming and finding our room ransacked by monkeys. It's a shame, because we can see the potential for this place, but if we ever return we certainly will not be staying here again.

  • Stayed September 2013
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Blakh
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DRBRS, General Manager at Diani Reef Beach Resort & Spa, responded to this review, October 2, 2013
Dear Our Valued Guest,

Thanks for taking your time to give a review on our resort/property. The entire team has taken the raised issue into consideration and all effort has been put so as to address the same. It is unfortunate that our manager on duty's offer to upgrade you to a Suite did not meet your satisfaction. However, we are also glad to note that the customer serviice of all other staff was exceptional and the same compliments have been passed to them. We will be happy to have you staying with us during your next visit, this particular experience not withstanding and assuring you of best service.

Rgds,
General Manager.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mombasa
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 17, 2013

I have always driven past this hotel and twice some years ago went in for a drink but I was not prepared for the experience I got during our stay! We arrived early evening on Friday after a long working day and the wait for the ferry with two tired teenage kids really on edge. The receptionist was really good as he checked us in and by the time we were going to the room we were in really high spirit!? Amazing! The staff know there job. As big as the place is,it's designed in such a way that there is so much privacy and its peaceful! Every evening the dinner setting was different and food was good. Lovely time we had .

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank aishalieberg
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DRBRS, General Manager at Diani Reef Beach Resort & Spa, responded to this review, September 23, 2013
Dear Valued Guest,

It is great to know that your stay with us was an amazing one and my team and I really appreciate your feedback which will go along way in encouraging us to keep up with the same spirit. Your comments on the good reception, knowlegeable staff, resort being set up in a private and peaceful manner and the different evening set ups with good food are well noted.
We will really be honoured to have you back with us and make Diani Reef Beach Resort & Spa your home away from home and appreciate your willingness to patronize us again in future.

Rgds,
General Manager.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Diani Beach hotels
1.2 mi away
Diani Sea Resort
Diani Sea Resort
#5 of 32 in Diani Beach
4.5 of 5 bubbles 909 reviews
1.6 mi away
Southern Palms Beach Resort
Southern Palms Beach Resort
#9 of 32 in Diani Beach
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,250 reviews
2.8 mi away
The Sands at Nomad
The Sands at Nomad
#6 of 32 in Diani Beach
4.5 of 5 bubbles 369 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.0 mi away
Afrika Pearl & Spa
Afrika Pearl & Spa
#16 of 32 in Diani Beach
4.5 of 5 bubbles 123 reviews
1.3 mi away
Waterlovers Beach Resort
Waterlovers Beach Resort
#2 of 32 in Diani Beach
5.0 of 5 bubbles 350 reviews
3.5 mi away
The Baobab - Baobab Beach Resort & Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Diani Reef Beach Resort & Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Diani Reef Beach Resort & Spa

Property: Diani Reef Beach Resort & Spa
Address: Diani Beach Road, Diani Beach, Ukunda 80401, Kenya
Location: Kenya > Coast Province > Ukunda > Diani Beach
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Casino and Gambling Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#6 Top resorts Hotel in Diani Beach
#8 Spa Hotel in Diani Beach
#14 Luxury Hotel in Diani Beach
#18 On the Beach Hotel in Diani Beach
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Diani Reef Beach Resort & Spa 4*
Number of rooms: 143
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Travelocity, Jovago.com, Odigeo, Expedia and Priceline so you can book your Diani Reef Beach Resort & Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Diani Reef Beach Resort And Spa
Diani Reef Beach Hotel Ukunda
Diani Reef Grand Ukunda

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing