We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
WINNER WONDERLAND
Win Big When You Book on TripAdvisor

“A lovely beach and hotel” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Diani Reef Beach Resort & Spa

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Diani Reef Beach Resort & Spa
Ranked #19 of 32 Hotels in Diani Beach
Certificate of Excellence
Dubai, Dubai, United Arab Emirates
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“A lovely beach and hotel”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 12, 2013

We went to Diani Reef with our 1 year old and 3 year old. They really catered well for the children, and prepared freshly made lunch for them everyday. The staff were very welcoming, helpful and sincere. The beach was one of the best I have been to in a long time. They catered exceptionally well for vegetarians, and food was yummy. However, I felt it was the same sort of food everyday for breakfast and dinner.

The hotel room was clean, but very out dated, and certainly in need of modernisation.

If you are travelling with young children like us, I would not recommend this hotel purely because of its location. It was far out from the airport (2 hour drive). leaving the resort to go anywhere not much fun as it takes over an hour to get to town, which is a long car journey for young children. You are better off staying in the North side of Mombassa.

I would consider going back to this holiday, but maybe when my children are in there teens.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Sonal S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DRBRS, General Manager at Diani Reef Beach Resort & Spa, responded to this review, September 23, 2013
Dear Valued Guest,

It is great to know that your stay with us was a good one and my team and I really appreciate your feedback which will go along way in encouraging us to keep up with the same spirit. Your comments on the way your children were catered for, staff being welcoming, helpful and sincere, best beach and tasty food are well appreciated while the issue of repeation in food offered has been noted and worked on with different weekly menus introduced as we also plan on how to address the issue of renovation.
We will really be honoured to have you back with us and make Diani Reef Beach Resort & Spa your home away from home and appreciate your willingness to patronize us again in future.

Rgds,
General Manager.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

651 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    328
    187
    76
    38
    22
See reviews for
144
350
23
27
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (110)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Mombasa, Coast, Kenya
Level Contributor
9 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 1, 2013

My wife and I couldn't have asked for anything better. From the moment we drove up to the gate, the reception, the check-in, the room, the facilities, the food, the ambience, the sheer flawless hospitality.......we only broke down in tears as we left!!! :)

I would recommend Diani Reef Beach Resort & Spa to ANYONE and EVERYONE!!!

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
Thank DanSonko
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DRBRS, General Manager at Diani Reef Beach Resort & Spa, responded to this review, September 10, 2013
Dear Valued Guest,

It is great to know that your stay with us was a memorable one and my team and I really appreciate your feedback which will go along way in encouraging us to keep up with the same spirit. Your comments on the flawless hospitality from gate reception, check in, room, food, facilities are well noted.
We will really be honoured to have you back with us and make Diani Reef Beach Resort & Spa your home away from home and appreciate your willingness to be our Ambassador.

Rgds,
General Manager.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nairobi, Kenya
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 25, 2013

It was a wonderful and natural place to be.From the environment,the steward and to to the cuisine was something one would wish to go back there and stay as long as it takes.The hotel rooms were spotless, and came with a fabulous welcome pack of fruit on our arrival.

Room Tip: The first floor will give you a good view of the scene
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
Thank Essa72
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DRBRS, General Manager at Diani Reef Beach Resort & Spa, responded to this review, September 10, 2013
Dear Valued Guest,

It is great to know that your stay with us was a natural and cool one and my team and I really appreciate your feedback which will go along way in encouraging us to keep up with the same spirit. Your comments on the quality of food will be shared to our kitchen team, the cool environment, spotless room welcome pack of fruits on arrival is well noted.
We will really be honoured to have you back with us and make Diani Reef Beach Resort & Spa your home away from home.

Rgds,
General Manager.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nairobi, Kenya
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 20, 2013

Diani reef was a really nice and quiet place for our honeymoon that our travel agency proposed when we were looking for something affordable and nice. We were welcomed at the reception with a glass of juice and for diner we were given a congratulation cake that was too big for my husband and I but we really appreciated the gesture.

For their dinner buffer MY OH MY it was really really nice, i kept on going to serve myself all the different food to make sure that i don't go home without a taste of each. I really enjoyed my stay that

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
1 Thank Natishema
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DRBRS, General Manager at Diani Reef Beach Resort & Spa, responded to this review, August 23, 2013
Dear Valued Guest,

It is great to know that your honeymoon stay with us was a wonderful one and my team and really appreciate your feedback which will go along way in encouraging to keep up with the same spirit. Your comments on the quality and variety of food will be shared to our kitchen team, the warm welcome at the reception and the congratulatory cake for your honeymoon appreciation is well noted.
We will really be honoured to have back with us and make Diani Reef Beach Resort & Spa your home away from home.

Rgds,
General Manager.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Glasgow, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
133 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 60 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 7, 2013

We stayed at Diani Reff during a 2 week sarari holiday to Kenya. We stayed in the resort for 11 nights, and spent the other 3 on safari. The hotel rooms were spotless, and came with a fabulous welcome pack of fruit on our arrival. On the first night there was an issue with my air conditioning system leaking, but i was moved straight away and they could not have been more apologetic. The food was of a very high standard, in both the buffet restaurant and the other restaurants (you have to pay a premium for these restaurants). The staff could not have been more attentive and friendly, they really made our holiday very special.
The only downside were the monkeys, who if you give them a chance will enter your room. So keep the balcony doors closed!

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Charlotte T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DRBRS, General Manager at Diani Reef Beach Resort & Spa, responded to this review, August 17, 2013
Dear guest,

Thank you for your nice review of our property. I and the service team appreciate them especially on the clean and spotless rooms & high standards of food offered. Regarding the monkey menace, we are looking at ways of keeping them away from guest areas so that our guests can be more comfortable.

Regards,

The General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oslo, Norway
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 4, 2013

Cant really say enough about this hotel apart from the fact that we will be returning at some point. Rooms were clean and all hotel staff were friendly and helpfull.

The beach is second to none in size and cleanliness , with the brochure pictures if anything not doing full justice to how good it is.

I was able to stay in the sun for longer than I usually can because the strong breeze makes it feel cooler than it actually is in temp....but Beware as you will burn if not covered in factor 20 minimum.



ALL I CAN SAY NOW IS GO AND FIND OUT YOURSELF!!!!

Room Tip: we stayed in a junior suite, simply superb!
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank lewis o
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DRBRS, General Manager at Diani Reef Beach Resort & Spa, responded to this review, August 17, 2013
Dear guest,

Thank you for your nice review of our property. I and the service team appreciate them especially on the cleanliness of rooms and staff friendlyness. Regarding the brochure not doing good justice to us, we are already working on the new designs for both our website and the ebrochure to be completed in due course.

Regards,

The General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
12 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 24, 2013

We spent two nights at Diani Reef prior to moving to a different hotel.

The rooms were clean, however, the bathroom is in need of renovation. The service was amazing as well as the food. The breakfast spread was excellent although only open until 9.30am!

The beach was clean and one of the best spots along this stretch.

The senior management were always visible and speaking to the guests. Will return in the near future however please can the bathroom be updated to modern standards!

Room Tip: Sea Facing rooms on the top floor
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Shah2011
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DRBRS, General Manager at Diani Reef Beach Resort & Spa, responded to this review, August 11, 2013
Dear Valued Guest,
Thank you for your very encouraging review on our resort and wish to assure of our commitment in continuing with the same spirit of offering the best service to all our guests. Your positive feedback on clean beach, amazing service and food, breakfast spread & Management presence felt are noted with appreciation and the same will be shared to all our team members.
Also noted is your feedback on the bathroom modernization and all effort and planning towards achieving the same in progress.

Kind Regards,
General Manager.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Diani Beach hotels
1.2 mi away
Diani Sea Resort
Diani Sea Resort
#5 of 32 in Diani Beach
4.0 of 5 bubbles 906 reviews
1.6 mi away
Southern Palms Beach Resort
Southern Palms Beach Resort
#8 of 32 in Diani Beach
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,248 reviews
2.8 mi away
The Sands at Nomad
The Sands at Nomad
#6 of 32 in Diani Beach
4.5 of 5 bubbles 369 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.0 mi away
Afrika Pearl & Spa
Afrika Pearl & Spa
#16 of 32 in Diani Beach
4.5 of 5 bubbles 122 reviews
1.3 mi away
Waterlovers Beach Resort
Waterlovers Beach Resort
#2 of 32 in Diani Beach
5.0 of 5 bubbles 349 reviews
3.5 mi away
The Baobab - Baobab Beach Resort & Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Diani Reef Beach Resort & Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Diani Reef Beach Resort & Spa

Property: Diani Reef Beach Resort & Spa
Address: Diani Beach Road, Diani Beach, Ukunda 80400, Kenya
Location: Kenya > Coast Province > Ukunda > Diani Beach
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Casino and Gambling Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#6 Top resorts Hotel in Diani Beach
#8 Spa Hotel in Diani Beach
#14 Luxury Hotel in Diani Beach
#18 On the Beach Hotel in Diani Beach
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Diani Reef Beach Resort & Spa 4*
Number of rooms: 143
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Odigeo, Jovago.com, Travelocity and Priceline so you can book your Diani Reef Beach Resort & Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Diani Reef Beach Resort And Spa
Diani Reef Beach Hotel Ukunda
Diani Reef Grand Ukunda

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing