We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
$25 Amazon.com Gift Card Get yours when you book a hotel on TripAdvisor and review your stay!

“Simply natural and cool place” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Diani Reef Beach Resort & Spa

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Diani Reef Beach Resort & Spa
Ranked #19 of 32 Hotels in Diani Beach
Certificate of Excellence
Nairobi, Kenya
1 review
“Simply natural and cool place”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 25, 2013

It was a wonderful and natural place to be.From the environment,the steward and to to the cuisine was something one would wish to go back there and stay as long as it takes.The hotel rooms were spotless, and came with a fabulous welcome pack of fruit on our arrival.

Room Tip: The first floor will give you a good view of the scene
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
Thank Essa72
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DRBRS, General Manager at Diani Reef Beach Resort & Spa, responded to this review, September 10, 2013
Dear Valued Guest,

It is great to know that your stay with us was a natural and cool one and my team and I really appreciate your feedback which will go along way in encouraging us to keep up with the same spirit. Your comments on the quality of food will be shared to our kitchen team, the cool environment, spotless room welcome pack of fruits on arrival is well noted.
We will really be honoured to have you back with us and make Diani Reef Beach Resort & Spa your home away from home.

Rgds,
General Manager.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

647 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    326
    186
    75
    38
    22
See reviews for
142
350
23
25
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (108)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Nairobi, Kenya
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 20, 2013

Diani reef was a really nice and quiet place for our honeymoon that our travel agency proposed when we were looking for something affordable and nice. We were welcomed at the reception with a glass of juice and for diner we were given a congratulation cake that was too big for my husband and I but we really appreciated the gesture.

For their dinner buffer MY OH MY it was really really nice, i kept on going to serve myself all the different food to make sure that i don't go home without a taste of each. I really enjoyed my stay that

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
1 Thank Natishema
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DRBRS, General Manager at Diani Reef Beach Resort & Spa, responded to this review, August 23, 2013
Dear Valued Guest,

It is great to know that your honeymoon stay with us was a wonderful one and my team and really appreciate your feedback which will go along way in encouraging to keep up with the same spirit. Your comments on the quality and variety of food will be shared to our kitchen team, the warm welcome at the reception and the congratulatory cake for your honeymoon appreciation is well noted.
We will really be honoured to have back with us and make Diani Reef Beach Resort & Spa your home away from home.

Rgds,
General Manager.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Glasgow, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
134 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 61 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 7, 2013

We stayed at Diani Reff during a 2 week sarari holiday to Kenya. We stayed in the resort for 11 nights, and spent the other 3 on safari. The hotel rooms were spotless, and came with a fabulous welcome pack of fruit on our arrival. On the first night there was an issue with my air conditioning system leaking, but i was moved straight away and they could not have been more apologetic. The food was of a very high standard, in both the buffet restaurant and the other restaurants (you have to pay a premium for these restaurants). The staff could not have been more attentive and friendly, they really made our holiday very special.
The only downside were the monkeys, who if you give them a chance will enter your room. So keep the balcony doors closed!

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Charlotte T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DRBRS, General Manager at Diani Reef Beach Resort & Spa, responded to this review, August 17, 2013
Dear guest,

Thank you for your nice review of our property. I and the service team appreciate them especially on the clean and spotless rooms & high standards of food offered. Regarding the monkey menace, we are looking at ways of keeping them away from guest areas so that our guests can be more comfortable.

Regards,

The General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oslo, Norway
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 4, 2013

Cant really say enough about this hotel apart from the fact that we will be returning at some point. Rooms were clean and all hotel staff were friendly and helpfull.

The beach is second to none in size and cleanliness , with the brochure pictures if anything not doing full justice to how good it is.

I was able to stay in the sun for longer than I usually can because the strong breeze makes it feel cooler than it actually is in temp....but Beware as you will burn if not covered in factor 20 minimum.



ALL I CAN SAY NOW IS GO AND FIND OUT YOURSELF!!!!

Room Tip: we stayed in a junior suite, simply superb!
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank lewis o
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DRBRS, General Manager at Diani Reef Beach Resort & Spa, responded to this review, August 17, 2013
Dear guest,

Thank you for your nice review of our property. I and the service team appreciate them especially on the cleanliness of rooms and staff friendlyness. Regarding the brochure not doing good justice to us, we are already working on the new designs for both our website and the ebrochure to be completed in due course.

Regards,

The General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
12 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 24, 2013

We spent two nights at Diani Reef prior to moving to a different hotel.

The rooms were clean, however, the bathroom is in need of renovation. The service was amazing as well as the food. The breakfast spread was excellent although only open until 9.30am!

The beach was clean and one of the best spots along this stretch.

The senior management were always visible and speaking to the guests. Will return in the near future however please can the bathroom be updated to modern standards!

Room Tip: Sea Facing rooms on the top floor
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Shah2011
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DRBRS, General Manager at Diani Reef Beach Resort & Spa, responded to this review, August 11, 2013
Dear Valued Guest,
Thank you for your very encouraging review on our resort and wish to assure of our commitment in continuing with the same spirit of offering the best service to all our guests. Your positive feedback on clean beach, amazing service and food, breakfast spread & Management presence felt are noted with appreciation and the same will be shared to all our team members.
Also noted is your feedback on the bathroom modernization and all effort and planning towards achieving the same in progress.

Kind Regards,
General Manager.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nairobi, Kenya
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 3, 2013

This is a very nice place to go when you want to just relax. The staff are pleasant and the food is really nice. They have special theme nights you should try. The swimming pool has a very nice pool bar and there is always a life guard around. You should also try the burgers, yum!

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank PittMbai
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DRBRS, General Manager at Diani Reef Beach Resort & Spa, responded to this review, August 11, 2013
Dear Guest,

I wish to take the opportunity to thank you for taking your time to give feedback about your saty with us during your last visit. My team and I are glad that your experience with us was positive and especially on pleasant staff and nice food in particular the burgers. The same will be coomunicated to all so that we keep up with the same spirit so that we continue making all our guests experience to be memorable & comfortable.

Kind regards,
General Manager.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
nairobi - lon not found.
Level Contributor
12 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 14, 2013

This is a huge resort stays in a very nice place with stunning view.

The staff is very friendly and efficient, I still remember some names like Mareen at the Kids club, Hamadi at the Restaurant, Celestino at the Front Beach Bar. The lounge is big and luminous, the food in the restaurant is good especially the Asian section.

As said, the resort is very big with a large number of rooms to manage, I believe the management has a huge quantity of things to deal with everyday. There are some issues need to be improved:

- All the ramps are without handrails and are quite dangerous as they are not evident, no one reminds you to mind your step and it is risky to fall anytime if you don't pay attention.
- The lift is used only for staff and it's not so friendly for family with strollers or handicap with wheeling chair or simply if you have heavy luggage you will need some help from the staff.
- The water in the bathroom is often brown!
- The door lock didn't work all the time and we often have to ask for support. I thing the system should be changed but it will require a lot of money.
- There is only 1 cleaner for each floor and there are so many rooms to clean, so at 12.30 when we finished the lunch and the kids need to have a rest, our room was not cleaned yet so we had to waited at the pool until the cleaner finish our room or asked her/him to come back later.
- The beach is not so clean and has a lot of seaweed. I found an old flip-flop floating in the water and brought it on the shore. I told a guy (who seemed to be a supervisor of the staff who work in the garden passing by) that I found some garbage and showed him, he just walked away without saying anything. I don't know if he cared much about keeping the beach clean or not.
- The beverage in the hotel is quite expensive and cost almost 3 times more than price from supermarket, while guest is not allowed to take in any kind of beverage. This is why most people who commented here were not so happy. I think the management could think about other ways to offer to the guests like pay 3000 shillings/day and get ALL-YOU-CAN-DRINK, for example.
- The management could also think about different packages options, like package for elder people who spent a month in the resort, package for couple, for people from NBO, for family with kids, for groups, ect.
- The shows at 9PM are interesting but I saw very few persons asked for drinking. I suppose because of the prices for beverage, the location (it is very windy) and the show (short, 30 mins) so people that walked in late for seeing the last mins of the show then go away.

Despite all of that, we did like a lot the swimming pool and the Asian food in the restaurant.
We would come back to these place again.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank pvph79
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DRBRS, General Manager at Diani Reef Beach Resort & Spa, responded to this review, August 8, 2013
Dear Guest,

Thanks for taking your time to give a review on our resort/property. The entire team has taken the raised issues into consideration and all effort has been put so as to address the same. We will be glad to have you staying with us during your next visit and assuring you of best service.

Rgds,
General Manager.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Diani Beach hotels
0.0 mi away
Diani Sea Resort
Diani Sea Resort
#5 of 32 in Diani Beach
4.0 of 5 stars 885 reviews
1.6 mi away
Southern Palms Beach Resort
Southern Palms Beach Resort
#7 of 32 in Diani Beach
4.0 of 5 stars 1,223 reviews
1.3 mi away
Waterlovers Beach Resort
Waterlovers Beach Resort
#2 of 32 in Diani Beach
5.0 of 5 stars 336 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.8 mi away
The Sands at Nomad
The Sands at Nomad
#6 of 32 in Diani Beach
4.5 of 5 stars 355 reviews
0.0 mi away
Afrika Pearl & Spa
Afrika Pearl & Spa
#15 of 32 in Diani Beach
4.5 of 5 stars 113 reviews
3.5 mi away
The Baobab - Baobab Beach Resort & Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Diani Reef Beach Resort & Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Diani Reef Beach Resort & Spa

Property: Diani Reef Beach Resort & Spa
Address: Diani Beach Road, Diani Beach, Ukunda 80401, Kenya
Location: Kenya > Coast Province > Ukunda > Diani Beach
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Casino and Gambling Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#6 Top resorts Hotel in Diani Beach
#8 Spa Hotel in Diani Beach
#15 Luxury Hotel in Diani Beach
#18 On the Beach Hotel in Diani Beach
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Diani Reef Beach Resort & Spa 4*
Number of rooms: 143
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Odigeo, Jovago.com, HotelTravel.com, Agoda, Priceline and Hotwire so you can book your Diani Reef Beach Resort & Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Diani Reef Beach Resort And Spa
Diani Reef Beach Hotel Ukunda
Diani Reef Grand Ukunda

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing