We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Amazing place- gorgeous and phenomenal service”
Review of Alfajiri Villas

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Diani Beach
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Alfajiri Villas
NYC
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Amazing place- gorgeous and phenomenal service”
Reviewed August 28, 2011

We spent 4 days here at the end of our honeymoon (the first part of our trip was spent on safari). The service here was incredible and the setting is amazing. We stayed in the beach villa which was gorgeous. We had the entire villa to ourselves, which included a huge pool overlooking the beach. The food was amazing as well and the owner (Fabrizio) and our butler (Zuma) made our stay that much better. We hope to return one day!

  • Stayed August 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank hassy614
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

45 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    41
    3
    0
    0
    1
See reviews for
25
18
Solo
0
1
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (11)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
1 review
Reviewed March 10, 2011

This has been our third visit to Al Fajiri. Every time we think it can't be as good as the previous time... but it is!!
The setting and decor is stunning. Every morning our hosts Fabrizio and Marika would visit to make sure everything was good and also to decide on the menu and activities for the day. The food is to die for, activities could range from kite surfing to walks on deserted and stunning beaches.
I could go on and on, but can't recommend it more to anyone who wants an outstanding and elegant holiday.

  • Stayed January 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank SKL0nd0n
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
LONDON
Level Contributor
10 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed February 24, 2011

It's rather difficult to describe Paradise. After all, none of us have ever been there. But if it promises to be even half as good as Alfajiri Villas, then it might be a good idea to live a saintly life from now on. This is the place of dreams. Where visionary design and art greets you around every corner. The location, overlooking and next to the Ocean is sublime and the mediterranean influenced cuisine is outstanding and beautifully presented. The wine list is both extensive and well chosen and if that's not enough, you're attended by staff who cater for your every whim with style and discretion. Tsuma, who looked after us during our stay, is probably one of the nicest people you could hope to meet. This can also be said of Marika, the owner, who always has time to ensure your day and meals are composed to perfection. We just spent 6 nights in the beach villa. We wish it had been 6 weeks.
Roger and Sue Kennedy. Surrey.

  • Stayed February 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank LondonArkennardy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
roma
Level Contributor
7 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed December 23, 2010

This is our third time here at Alfajiri as after numerous vacations around the world we haven’t found better place for a family like ours with three young children age ranging from 14 to 8 years of age. Our children are enthusiastic every year to come back to Alfajiri because of the different activities this amazing location can offer from Scuba Diving to kite surfing, which keeps them always busy and happy. This year we had an amazing new experience where I went with my two children on quad cultural tour in the Shimba Hills, where we had a lot of fun and saw the real African life.
As for us adults, I am a businessman and I really enjoy the total privacy and a massage every day where I can regenerate from all my daily life. Here I can also combine it with my favorite sports such as my early morning jog and a round of golf in the afternoon.
Another aspect I noticed is how sustainable Alfajiri runs, they support the local people such as the fishermen as well as all the foods are a local produce; such as vegetables and fruits that are locally hand picked.
Here the food and service is outstanding, we would decide every morning our daily menu, Alfajiri accommodated all our needs as our children have different preferences from me. My children love it here. What we found very special what having our private butlers Geoffrey and Martin looking after us from early morning to late night.
The rooms are very comfortable and very clean as well as every room has a different feel to it due to its interior decor. The view from the villa and the bedrooms are incredible, as its located on a cliff overlooking the Indian Ocean. We think it priceless to be able to have such privacy and tranquility at Alfajiri, this is where I get the best sleep ever.
I can very well say this is the only place where I feel comfortable as in my own house.
This is the best vacation ever and I would recommend it to anyone

  • Stayed December 2010, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank fborghese
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Milan, Italy
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed September 20, 2010

Alfajiri villas are outstanding, located in a magic spot, right on a cliff overlooking the Indian Ocean. Impeccable service, total privacy and superb cuisine with a Mediterranean influence, made our stay unforgettable. We stayed in both the Cliff and the Garden Villa for two weeks, with out two children. It has been a very relaxing holiday as all was planed and organized for us on a daily base by Fabrizio and Marika, the owners, that are always on call in case any thing is needed . Every morning we could decide our menu, rich of fresh seafood and home made pastas, menus are prepared at your discretion and meals served and at any time.

Our private butler Ephraim and his staff, has provided us with an impeccable and discreet service, our beach guide, Ali has been at disposal for our children, to keep an eye on them and to entertain them with games. Rooms are all different in each villas, and each room with a special motive and with a strong influence from India and Morocco, reflecting the personal touch of the Marika , being the mastermind behind the interior décor. The gardens, merging with the blue water of the ocean, are rich with local palms trees, frangipani and bougainvilleas. We particularly enjoyed our private pool, as children could play without being afraid of disturbing other guests

What is making Alfajiri such a special place is the fact that is managed by the two owners. Marika and Fabrizio took care of us with savoir faire and competence, they personally organized everything for us: a driver is always available at any time to drive us to the beach or shopping or to the near by Golf course, Ali our guide, who accompanied us for walks on the beach and for snorkelling at the coral reef. At the end of the busy day Marika always scheduled for us a relaxing massage on our private massage gazebo, overlooking the ocean. All included in the cost charged to us

We certainly recommend Alfajiri it’s a splendid romantic and luxurious place and perfect for families. The owners are sweet, discrete and take care of us in a unique manner.

  • Stayed August 2010, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank fabia-fil
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
Level Contributor
63 reviews
30 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 110 helpful votes
Reviewed August 22, 2010

First the positives - the pasta, pizza and fresh seafood were wonderful & the service from Joeffry & Martin was impeccable, other than that our stay was terribly disappointing.

The rooms are dated and appear dirty, (area carpets are stained and shower curtains need to be replaced as they were moldy.) The air conditioner in the main bedroom only worked 25% of the time and the toilettes didn't flush. Caution needs to taken on walkways as they are not lit at night & uneven. Beds were very uncomfortable. The grounds and gardens are not well maintained. We stayed in both the Cliff Villa and the Garden Villa and both need a major overall.

Upon our arrival from safari, we wanted to take a hot shower but the water heater was broken.

We were hoping to spend time on the beach relaxing but the beach directly outside the villa was rocky crags with no sandy area. To get to a swimmable beach we had to be chaperoned (beach boys scamming every 3 minutes) about 1 mile away. There were no chairs to sit it and it was littered with garbage. We learned that the coral reef in front of the villa is dead because the coral has been broken off by the beach boys to sell to tourists. We had hoped to snorkel but that was a day's outing requiring a drive towards Tanzania.

They advertise many inclusive services but this was also disappointing. The massage therapist answered her cell phone twice - unbelievable! My son hoped to golf with his father, but couldn't be accommodated with golf clubs. The hot tub was filthy and unusable.

While the owners were pleasant, they seemed tired and uninterested in rectifying the glitches.

  • Stayed August 2010, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
13 Thank adventurefamilyfive
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DianibeachCoco, Owner at Alfajiri Villas, responded to this review, December 20, 2010
We were very sorry to hear that you did not enjoy your stay with us but also very surprised, considering that we met twice daily during your stay and you never brought to our attention your feelings.

I am very pleased that you complimented the food and the service at Alfajiri as these are two of the most important elements of anyone's vacation, however I would like to clarify on some of the points raise in your feed back.


1) I totally agree that the ringing of the phone during the massage was unacceptable and I apologised at the time and again now and I have discussed this with my team.


2) Unfortunately the weather was uncharacteristically bad during your short stay and this did make it very difficult for you to enjoy the full Alfajiri experience. Alfajiri is set right on the beach and is at its finest when the sun is shining. We do however have a range of activities for when the weather is poor including massages, games, TV and DVDs, shopping excursions etc.


3) With a lot of rain and with small children it is not easy to keep white carpets clean.


4) Regarding the beds being uncomfortable, we have never had a comment like this in 10 years of operation and reading the other comments on this page it looks like other guest do not share your feelings.


5) The AC was working perfectly, but being in Kenya, we still have frequent power fluctuations . For this reason we have Sollateck voltage stabilizer installed to protect the AC and in case of high voltage, they will switch off the AC. In the moment power is back to normal voltage they will again supply power to the AC.


6)At Alfajiri we have 6 sets of golf clubs available for use for our clients and we include green fees in our rate at the 18 hole Leisure Lodge Golf Resort, but we do not have set of clubs suitable for a 10 year old child .


7) On the arrival day when you arrived at 11h30 and we did had a problem with the water heater and I advised you about the problem and apologised for the inconvenience. We sorted out the problem and by 14h00 the problem was fixed and the you had hot water.


8) In relation to the beach, I am not sure who told you such a sad story about the coral reef being dead and luckily it is not correct. Also there is no garbage on the beach right in front of our villa as each morning our team pick up any litter which may have been brought in by the tide. This occurs all the way along Diani Beach and each hotel keeps their area of beach clean. Admittedly during strong winds and spring tides seaweed, palm leaves and coconuts can be found on the beach at low tide.


In conclusion I feel you were very unlucky with the weather during your stay and this meant you were unable to fully enjoy their experience. GOOD WEATHER is very important and to have 3 days of rain out of 3 days stay will make fell miserable and an happy anyone. Also surely Alfajiri Villas was not what you were expecting
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Washington DC, District of Columbia
1 review
Reviewed July 5, 2010

As other reviewers have stated this is a very neat property which is perfect as a getaway from the normal routine. What made this so perfect was having a private pool and attentive but discrete staff who took excellent care of us.

There are a couple minor problems. First, they don't accept credit cards so you must wire payment in full in advance. Next, trying to walk by yourself on the beach is impossible because of the local 'beach boys' who will hassle you for money. The villas do provide an escort to help ward this off but it is annoying to require a chaperone. Local police take bribes from the 'beach boys' to look the other way. Kenyan corruption at its finest! The travel from the main airport to the property requries a ferry ride and is a bit long - no water was provided by the driver/vehicle. Surely an ice chest with some cold water could be arranged?? Last, internet was difficult because we couldn't get a connection to the main router and the usb stick modem had to be borrowed from a friend of the owner and we felt guilty about the inconvience to them.

  • Stayed May 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank mesmeris
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Diani Beach hotels
3.1 mi away
The Sands at Nomad
The Sands at Nomad
#8 of 29 in Diani Beach
417 reviews
1.6 mi away
Waterlovers Beach Resort
Waterlovers Beach Resort
#3 of 29 in Diani Beach
378 reviews
1.1 mi away
AfroChic Diani
AfroChic Diani
#11 of 29 in Diani Beach
200 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.6 mi away
Diani Sea Resort
Diani Sea Resort
#5 of 29 in Diani Beach
976 reviews
0.8 mi away
The Maji Beach Boutique Hotel
The Maji Beach Boutique Hotel
#1 of 29 in Diani Beach
256 reviews
0.2 mi away
Leopard Beach Resort & Spa
Leopard Beach Resort & Spa
#15 of 29 in Diani Beach
713 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Alfajiri Villas? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Alfajiri Villas

Property: Alfajiri Villas
Address: Beach Plot 996, Diani Beach, Ukunda 454-80400, Kenya
Location: Kenya > Coast Province > Ukunda > Diani Beach
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Beverage Selection Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #14 of 65 Specialty Lodging in Diani Beach
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 12
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A stylish collection of private villas considered the most exclusive hideaway on the East African coast. Three individually-styled villas enjoy secluded locations, perched on coral cliffs that overlook the white sands of Diani beach and the Indian Ocean. The decor reflects the local heritage and Asian influences, with bright, flowing fabrics, high Makuti roofs, wooden beams and carved Lamu doors. The award-winning service includes personal butlers chefs, masseuses and nannies. At Alfajiri the concept is as you please! Private dining is a la carte, served al fresco or in your villa - your choice, as too is the cuisine - local, natural, organic, daily fresh seafood and fish and even homemade pastas. Just tell your personal chef what suits your taste. Feeling energetic? Alfajiri boasts a range of activities; golf at a nearby 18 hole Golf course, Kite surfing, snorkeling, diving, safaris - even docile whale sharks in the ocean and the elephants in the hills are there for the asking. A vehicle is available for trips within Diani beach. For those with children, a selection of toys and friendly nannies on duty 24 hours ensures that the little ones are taken care of. No matter which villa you choose they all have one thing in common, total seclusion in the very best of Kenyan natural luxury. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Alfajiri Villas Hotel Diani

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing