We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Chale”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
The Sands At Chale Island
Ranked #3 of 29 Hotels in Diani Beach
Certificate of Excellence
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Chale”
Reviewed December 12, 2011

All perfect except the prices for the day trips are too expensive and the fact that water needs be paid for if not consumed during the meal. If you like Italians this is the Island to go. One thing to remember, dont do a Henna painting as it is completely overpriced and only lasts a week instead of promised 3 weeks.

  • Stayed November 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Marcel72
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

520 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    326
    142
    37
    13
    2
See reviews for
83
309
29
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (62)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Polish first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Losone, Switzerland
Level Contributor
75 reviews
37 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 56 helpful votes
Reviewed November 25, 2011

one of my favourite places in kenya, good for short trips, after a safari, the beach is not the best, great food and service. a small resort to rest and be safe from mass tourism.
not so good for families or single, perfect for couples or friends.

  • Stayed August 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Pascal T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Scottsdale, Arizona
Level Contributor
42 reviews
31 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
Reviewed October 23, 2011

The Sands at Chale Island is an ideal location if you are looking for sun, sand and quiet. It has the benefit of being away from the 'busy'ness of Diani which means no beach boys or hawkers. The bandas facing the ocean are lovely and there is a constant breeze so even if the sun becomes too much, there is always a gentle breeze. The white sand beach is gorgeous - although small. At high tide, the ocean is wonderful for dipping and at low tide is good for checking out the tide pools.

The service by the staff was excellent in the restaurant and on the beach. The free 30 minute massage was lovely and the location of the spa is wonderful... each 'room' is a little hut set in the mangroves. The pools were well maintained and designed.

The food was fine (buffet meals) - nothing to write home about but nothing to really complain about. The fresh fish at lunch and dinner was good and the fruit was plentiful. The pasta was good (after all, this is an Italian property.) It would get a bit boring after a few days I imagine. We did try the seafood restaurant (an additional charge) and while the ambiance and the starters were good, the main entrees (crab and lobster) were not well-seasoned or cooked. It was nice to have plenty of water on the table.

My friend went scuba diving and found the divemaster to be excellent and the prices much more reasonable than on Diani.

All in all, a very relaxing location - a great getaway from Nairobi. Not sure there is enough to do if you are coming to be very active.

Room Tip: Bandas 17 - 30 face the open ocean. (These are the best). Bandas 1 - 13 face an inlet. You defini...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank IntlTeacher
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
53 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
Reviewed October 3, 2011

While the location is out of this world, the basics are very very poor. An all inclusive (full board) booking will give you some of the worst meals you ever experience. The waffle maker does not know how the appliance opperates, breakfast runs out of Bacon, Coffee is stale, beef scallops are so tough it is impossible to cut, the cook fries merilly on the calamari untill it is grade a rubber!! This place needs a good food and bev manager and fast, for the price of staying at Chale the food is shocking !!! The rest is surreal, the beach is perfect, the rooms are great, servcie in general is not bad, I think the manager or owner or both have become so complacent that they think the island by itself is enough of an attraction, wake up !!

Room Tip: The rooms on the water is something spectacular
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank Ipache
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
edinburgh
Level Contributor
257 reviews
69 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 233 helpful votes
Reviewed September 9, 2011

Chale island is a small coral island located about 12km south of Diani Beach.

Although such a small distance it is a world away from the usual mass tourism.

It has a wealth of animal and bird life,naturalsprings and salt lakes in the interior and we went there for the day for the guided tour walk etc.

Chale island is a nature reserve and one third of which is dedicated to the hotel complex.

On the bay with the beautiful white sandy beach is the open air restaurant serving a rich variety of Africanand international dishes and there is a thatched roofed bar for cool drinks.

If the tide is out you are taken by tractor to the island.

Chale island is fully furnished with antiques not only in the public areas but in the guest rooms.

When we arrived we were greeted with a welcome cocktail and then started the island guided walk which takes around one and a half hours.

You will need good walking shoes as rocky and stumps of trees coming from nowhere!!

We were then ready for an excellent lunch which is buffet and we chose seafood which was excellent and plenty of local fruits plus free drinks and tea or coffee.

After lunch we took a boat trip which leads you through the mangroove forest of Gazi Bay.

We then returned in time for afternoon tea and a laze ont he beach and then time to go back.

A lovely day out.

  • Stayed October 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank malaikascotland
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Perth, Australia
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed June 13, 2011

We just loved it at Chale....it was a brilliant time we had as a couple after getting married....loved the nice above the water bandas......was just an awesome experience......the lovely sunsets and the jaccuzi overlooking the ocean......loved the food, the bar and the barman....who made our evenings into relaxing and carefree world....

Room Tip: make sure the jaccuzi works....
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank komal6nku
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Zurich, Switzerland
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed April 8, 2011

Chale Island is a realy special place. The only hotel on the island. rest of the island is a natural reserve. very quiet. Beach only for you. Food realy good.

  • Stayed October 2010, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank alpino_70
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Diani Beach hotels
8.3 mi away
The Sands at Nomad
The Sands at Nomad
#7 of 29 in Diani Beach
4.5 of 5 bubbles 408 reviews
9.8 mi away
Waterlovers Beach Resort
Waterlovers Beach Resort
#2 of 29 in Diani Beach
5.0 of 5 bubbles 378 reviews
9.9 mi away
Diani Sea Resort
Diani Sea Resort
#4 of 29 in Diani Beach
4.5 of 5 bubbles 965 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
12.7 mi away
Southern Palms Beach Resort
Southern Palms Beach Resort
#9 of 29 in Diani Beach
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,307 reviews
7.3 mi away
Afrika Pearl & Spa
Afrika Pearl & Spa
#17 of 29 in Diani Beach
4.5 of 5 bubbles 147 reviews
12.2 mi away
The Maji Beach Boutique Hotel
The Maji Beach Boutique Hotel
#1 of 29 in Diani Beach
5.0 of 5 bubbles 245 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Sands At Chale Island? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Sands At Chale Island

Property: The Sands At Chale Island
Address: P.O. Box 5546 | Diani Beach, Diani Beach, Ukunda 80401, Kenya
Location: Kenya > Coast Province > Ukunda > Diani Beach
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Beverage Selection Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#1 Top resorts Hotel in Diani Beach
#2 Spa Hotel in Diani Beach
#3 On the Beach Hotel in Diani Beach
#3 Luxury Hotel in Diani Beach
#8 Family Hotel in Diani Beach
#9 Romantic Hotel in Diani Beach
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — The Sands At Chale Island 4*
Number of rooms: 50
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Owned and managed by the same team of sister resort The Sands At Nomad, this small, personal "boutique" resort is the perfect island getaway for those seeking the ultimate in relaxation, tranquility and Island flair. The resort was completely renovated in 2006 and has been built with a very strong focus on the envirnmental beauty of the Island. Two swimming pools, a mystical SPA and a well equiped watersports facility fullfil every wish. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Hotwire, Jovago.com, Priceline, Orbitz, Travelocity, Cheap Tickets, Cancelon, Evoline ltd, Expedia, TripOnline SA and HotelQuickly so you can book your The Sands At Chale Island reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Sands At Chale Island Hotel Diani
Sands At Chale Island Ukunda

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing