We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Value for money”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Papillon Lagoon Reef
Ranked #12 of 29 Hotels in Diani Beach
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed January 13, 2014 via mobile

I can recommend this place. Food is good, right on the beach and very friendly staff. Good place to spend some relaxing days.

Only minor (!) aspects:
- if you want to go to a shop (or anywhere else) outside the hotel's premises, you have to take a taxi
- wines (both inclusive and bottled) aren't great
- a nearby hotel enjoys its music... but it's quiet later in the night, so no problem with sleeping

Stayed: January 2014, traveled with family
3  Thank KAweilWe
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (613)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

81 - 87 of 613 reviews

Reviewed January 5, 2014

I spent the end of the year 2013 and welcomed the new year at this small but cozy hotel. All the staff very friendly. Food was nice international and local dishes. The wonderful passion juice my favorite and many others. Rooms very clean but the water not for drinking like many countries. Lots of entertainment every day and night but you can also rest if you want to. Wonderful view of the ocean just what I need every morning and long walks on the beach. Swimming, diving and snorkeling even the pool is very nice. Beware of the monkeys though, they are so fast and can grab your food in a second. There is a dress code specially at dinner but I like it 'cause people looks different and proper not like being at the pool whole day & night. I recommend the Papillon even if you speak only german.

  • Stayed: December 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank Marlene S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 21, 2013

We can not forget our holidays in Africa, really sits in the heart. Papillon is a small, cozy hotel with great people. We feel welcome and at home. The rooms are clean and comfortable enough, all thanks goes to our chambermaide. I have never eaten better and tastier food served with a smile and kindness. Thanks Eddie, Hasan, Kim and all whose names I did not remember, you are amazing and of course great bartenders.
The resort is beautifully landscaped, the biggest attraction is definitely monkeys and a beautiful beach. Animators are nice guys, we're having fun together. Thanks to Abouf, Kasim, Tomas, Hamis, Patrick and others, very miss you. Maybe we missed more music during daily activities, but thanks to DJ for good music in the evening.
It's been nice chatting with the beach boys and the Maasai and bathe in the wonderful warm ocean.
Hope see you again!

  • Stayed: December 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank suzyslovenia
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 3, 2013

We stayed for 2 weeks in this beautiful hotel.

Pro:
staff-friendly, helpfull, interested...
rooms-cleaned everyday, spacefull, well equipped
garden-whaaaaw :)
swimming pool-one of nthe most beautiful I've ever seen
temperature-sunny all day/night long
mosquito's-none
beach- incredible
watertemperature-swimmingpool and ocean-yummie


Con:
no cash -euro or dollar-withdrawal
no wifi, nor tv (but u can without them-see pro...:)
eveningshows...poor...

Between pro and con:
dinner-sometimes great, sometimes poor

Beach boys are always present, sometimes boring, sometimes friendly,helpfull...

Safari-booked on the beach-jackall safari-worth every euro...(150€ pp less than in hotel)
3 days Tsavo east /west + Ambroselli with stay in lodge and Kibo safari Tent-great....

Jambo, polle polle and hakuna matata

Room Tip: rooms on floor have no monkees, rooms on 1st and 2nd floor have monkeys on balkoney
See more room tips
  • Stayed: November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Guy W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 29, 2013

My feelings on papillon are that generally you will have an enjoyable stay , the staff in particular are very good and most go out of their way to do their best for you. The food is a bit ' hit and miss ' but you will not go hungry and breakfast and lunch are better than evening meals . There is a dress code for evening - long trousers for men - which is surprising as it is so hot and the hotel has more of a casual feel . Many people don't adhere to the code so management could consider perhaps dropping this code altogether. There isn't wi-fi but there are 2 computers to use in reception which are expensive and slow. The massages are cheap but the therapist does keep using her mobile phone to text and receive calls throughout your session which is a bit annoying to say the least !!!!! The beach is beautiful . . . You will be frequently approached by sellers which appeared to be off putting to a lot of guests. But generally all the beach boys were nice and for sure they have some lovely items for sale - haggle though or they'll let you pay a fortune so just pay what's fair for both sides. The monkeys in the grounds are great to watch , particularly those with babies but some people tried to feed them and stroke them only to ' discover ' they are very aggressive . The rarer colombus monkeys ( black and white ) are beautiful , shy , and you'll see them in the trees late afternoon . Rooms are good - a good size , clean and with excellent air conditioning ( although the hotel does switch this off during the day ) and a powerful ceiling fan . The daily activities programme is very well run indeed and attracts lots of participants - the team organising this programme are excellent . Generally a very good hotel , friendly , comfortable and welcoming - oh and it has a beautiful pool !

  • Stayed: November 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Lynn W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 22, 2013

Just had 4 nights here after our safari. This was ideal as it was great to relax after being blown away by the safari. The service and friendliness of the staff was great. I'd also add that the beach boys, as some have pointed out out, do approach you. I'd suggest, however, that they were even friendlier than the hotel staff and we had an enjoyable time just chatting with them. We did spend money at their market and were quite happy to do so - no pressure. If you actually speak to them and not try to walk away without looking at them you may find that they are fine people doing what most people try to do - earn a living!
Back to the hotel. After staying in some amazing safari lodges with amazing service and really good food, the Papillon was almost disappointing. The staff were generally good (some were excellent). The evening meal was a let down though. The staff seemed to be less attentive and less organised than during the day. And the food was not as good as the lunches. Cold pasta with tinned tomatoes?? The pasta was meant to be hot. Regardless of what time we went, there seemed to be many empty trays on the buffet.
The room was ok. We had a beach view and it was worth it just for the seperate shower cubicle. The bathroom was a bit tired and could have done with a deep clean but overall not too bad.
The grounds are great for chilling out around the pool. And if you need more relaxation, there is the massage option. Very good and incredibly cheap. We each had one a day for our stay!
If you come here after staying in some of the safari lodges you may feel let down but just enjoy the setting and be brave, venture onto the beach and speak to the stall holders. You may surprise yourself by how much you enjoy it!

Room Tip: Beach view rooms have a walk-in shower as well as a bath.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Barry7377
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 18, 2013

Got back from my third visit to the Papillon on the 16th.I was still made so welcome when I got there it even dulled the pain of one and a half days rain.The sun soon came out and everything was back to normal.It was nice to meet all the same people who were there on my previous visits.
They do seem to go out of their way to be helpful. I know it is all geared to money, but hey, what the heck.I was quite surprised how few English people were there. They don't know what they are missing.The food is still as good,nobody should go hungry.My room was still as superb as ever,a credit to the young boy who looks after it.Spotless. I never usually moan about things,but one thing I must say.I hate wearing trousers,but if the rules say long trousers for at dinner, I will abide by those rules but now nobody seems to care.
That little whinge over, anybody who wants a happy,relaxing carefree holiday,I would not hesitate to suggest the Papillon.I go where I want, when I want, so I wouldn,t return if it was not good.
Regards to everybody there,will see you again. Pappamick.

Room Tip: The rooms at the top are still the best,just a bit more walking.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: November 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Michael B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Diani Beach hotels
4.9 mi away
Southern Palms Beach Resort
Southern Palms Beach Resort
#7 of 29 in Diani Beach
1,354 reviews
0.4 mi away
The Sands at Nomad
The Sands at Nomad
#8 of 29 in Diani Beach
444 reviews
5.3 mi away
Jacaranda Indian Ocean Beach Resort
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.3 mi away
Diani Sea Lodge
Diani Sea Lodge
#9 of 29 in Diani Beach
495 reviews
2.0 mi away
Diani Sea Resort
Diani Sea Resort
#6 of 29 in Diani Beach
1,011 reviews
0.6 mi away
Afrika Pearl & Spa
Afrika Pearl & Spa
#17 of 29 in Diani Beach
168 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Papillon Lagoon Reef? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Papillon Lagoon Reef

Address: Diani Beach Road, Diani Beach, Ukunda, Kenya
Location: Kenya > Coast Province > Ukunda > Diani Beach
Amenities:
Restaurant Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#10 Romantic Hotel in Diani Beach
Price Range: $98 - $292 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Papillon Lagoon Reef 3*
Number of rooms: 119
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com and Priceline so you can book your Papillon Lagoon Reef reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Papillon Lagoon Reef Diani
Papillon Lagoon Reef Hotel Diani

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing