We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent hotel and holiday”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Papillon Lagoon Reef
Ranked #13 of 29 Hotels in Diani Beach
Certificate of Excellence
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Excellent hotel and holiday”
Reviewed November 17, 2013 via mobile

Weve. Just got back from the papillon and had a great time we upgraded to the beach front rooms at 24 dollar a night each because you get free mini bar safe tv and your nearer to the pool restuarant beach and amenities the food we thought was excellent good selection every day different choices etc there's not a lot of places near by to visit shops restaurants etc without getting a tuc tuc or taxi mini bus but not for western type of places reel African not many English at all anywhere plenty of Germans in the hotel so you didn't have anyone to chat to but the staff are all very friendly and speak good English we booked our trips from outside the complex because there a lot cheaper we went on a village bike ride which opens your eyes how they really live it's amazing we English don't no where born went to a local school where the children are from three up to about ten which had been abandoned from there parents that was sad we gave them books crayons sweets they really appreciate tiny things in life next we went snorkelling at wasini island that's a good day out then a one night two day safari brilliant to get to see nature at its best real and true we payed £30 for the bike ride £65 for the wasini island and £150 for the jeep safari you can get them a bit cheaper but these trips where more private six on the boat six on the jeep so you pay a bit more all in all a great time the only draw back is the beach boys you carnt get in and out of the sea without them pestering you lovely beach were you carnt even sunbathe and if you tell one no there's another 150 to reject for us that was the only problem

Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Kip O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

599 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    281
    221
    62
    19
    16
See reviews for
149
315
26
3
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (74)
Date | Rating
  • Czech first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Nairobi, Nairobi, Kenya
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed November 10, 2013

I really loved my stay here. From the first day to the last I felt catered to and got to relax as I intended. The staff were so helpful and friendly and accommodating. They have beach volleyball, water polo and aerobics among other activities. The only downfall was the food, not as great but still good nonetheless. I highly recommend it to anyone.

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Clara M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Exeter, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
8 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
Reviewed October 29, 2013

Me and my friend stayed here for 11 nights 15-25 october. We had a warm welcome and were shown to our room. The room and bathroom was clean, with a shower. The hotel staff are so friendly and welcoming and can't do enough for you. We were all inclusive, and the food was amazing. 7:30-10:30 breakfast, full fry up, cereal, croissants, tea etc. 12:30-2:30 lunch, different every time, homemade burgers and chips, stir fry, pasta, toasties etc. Dinner is served 7:30-9:30 wide variety again,pasta, salad, beef, chicken, fish.

The hotel is well suited for families, friends and couples. The hotel is very clean and the staff work very hard all day to keep it clean. The pool staff invite you to do activities for examples, pool aerobics, beach volleyball, darts etc, everyone joins in but you don't have to.

The drinks were nice, real sprite, coke etc. Beer is the local Kenyan tusker.

The beach is stunning, just be careful of the beach boys they can be pushy, just need you to tell them no, and they tend to leave you alone, on the hand some are very friendly and will show you where all the fish and crabs are and generally want to just chat.

All in all this hotel was perfect for us, if you go on a safari the reception will do an early morning wake up call and breakfast. The shop in the hotel opens 10-8 and sells, cigarettes, magnets, suncream etc. The swimming pool gives you towels for sun beds and there is always plenty of sun beds for everyone!

Be careful of the monkeys, the hotels is full of them, they are cutes, loads of babies etc, but they like to take your drink and can be snappy. But we had hardly any problems with them.

Definitely would return to this hotel!

Had an amazing holiday.

Room Tip: Ask for a sea view room, sometimes if no ones in them they will give you a free upgrade.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank MeganExeter
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Northampton, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
21 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
Reviewed October 15, 2013

Visited this hotel 12 months ago and returned again this year! Perfect base to return to after a safari!!

Everything just wonderful from the hotel staff to the animators, gardeners the wildlife the weather and meeting hotel guests from previous visit! It was like 'coming home'!

The desserts have definitely improved so well done chef!!! People do need to remember that they are in Kenya and not London or Paris when moaning about the food e.t.c the staff do an outstanding job to ensure that standards are met I have sampled far far worse in many western locations!

The only small issue we had this year was guests feeding the monkeys from their balconies! Despite the numerous signs saying not to it was still happening! My son, understandably ,did not want the monkeys jumping all over the balcony but with the guests below us constantly feeding them we were swamped! These are WILD animals to be watched and admired from a distance not to encourage on to your back or shoulders like 1 French lady was doing.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
6 Thank yummiemummie41
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nairobi, Kenya
Level 2 Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed October 8, 2013

I stayed here for 4 nights but it felt like 1 day. All the staff were friendly. The owner came to make sure all was well. The pool, the gardens and the dinning areas were very nice. There was an entertaining theme night also that was nice. The rates were very affordable. I recommend it to any one who wants a quiet place to relax.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank PittMbai
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manchester, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
46 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
Reviewed October 3, 2013

I stayed here for a week in July 2013. The hotel staff were very friendly and the communal areas were very well maintained and presentable. The bars, pool and garden areas, which includes a small toddler/child pool which the children loved, were also well maintained, clean and tidy.

I would recommend staying here, It is right on the beach, where there are a few hawkers selling their wares, but they are all friendly enough. If you don't want to buy from them just say so and they leave you alone. I prefer to chat and have a laugh, talking about everyday things which they love.

The hotel food was decent enough, although I did get a bit bored of it by the end of the week and did see a couple of cockroaches in the dinning hall. Although the whole area was cleaned regularly by staff, so I really did not see this as an issue, we are in Africa, that should be remembered. The hotel does have several steps heading down from the reception area to the pool, gardens, beach and breakfast areas. There are also several rooms up near the reception end, as we were; however the steps really were not an issue for us (I'm not the fittest and in my 40's) and we have young children and a pram. There is two routes down, one traverses down so the steps are not steep, there are a few of them though, so ask for a room near the beach or pool if you are concerned.

We had a family room and the children bed area was behind a curtain which was good, we put a blanket up at the window to blackout the morning sun and we all slept very well. the were even two bathroom which the hotel and holiday company website did not mention. There are several Resident monkeys, which the kids loved to see, even though the try to drink any unwatched drinks next to the sun lounger. The staff are generally on top of things though.

The actual hotel location was decent enough too, about 5 miles from the small centre of Diani where there are a couple of banks, ATM's and shops, including groceries. You can also book safaris from here, I noted the prices seemed a little cheaper than we bought in the UK. We also ate out a couple of nights in local restaurants and there was some great food. Very much worth while. I never felt unsafe either and indeed the locals we met were all very friendly.

Overall this hotel is a 3 star in my opinion and worth a stay for sure. I would recommend it for everyone from couples of various ages, families and groups of friends. The hotel put shows on for an hour or two in the evenings, followed by a small disco. It was not rowdy and loud, and the music stops at midnight.

Room Tip: We liked the family rooms near to the hotel reception, spacious, quiet and clean.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Doug I
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bratislava, Slovakia
Level 3 Contributor
9 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed October 2, 2013

The hotel is very pretty with very good people working there. Yes it might be little older, but the services are as good as you can get anywhere. The hotel area is nice, beach is great (I reccommend snorkeling trip which you can purchase in Diving Center right in the hotel or cheaper trip from the beach boys in front of the hotel). Room was large and very nice, always perfectly clean. Food was great. I would return there anytime...

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank DebiQue
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Diani Beach hotels
4.9 mi away
Southern Palms Beach Resort
Southern Palms Beach Resort
#9 of 29 in Diani Beach
1,330 reviews
0.4 mi away
The Sands at Nomad
The Sands at Nomad
#7 of 29 in Diani Beach
431 reviews
2.0 mi away
Diani Sea Resort
Diani Sea Resort
#5 of 29 in Diani Beach
995 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
5.3 mi away
Jacaranda Indian Ocean Beach Resort
0.6 mi away
Afrika Pearl & Spa
Afrika Pearl & Spa
#17 of 29 in Diani Beach
160 reviews
1.9 mi away
Waterlovers Beach Resort
Waterlovers Beach Resort
#2 of 29 in Diani Beach
390 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Papillon Lagoon Reef? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Papillon Lagoon Reef

Property: Papillon Lagoon Reef
Address: Diani Beach Road, Diani Beach, Ukunda, Kenya
Location: Kenya > Coast Province > Ukunda > Diani Beach
Amenities:
Restaurant Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#10 Romantic Hotel in Diani Beach
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Papillon Lagoon Reef 3*
Number of rooms: 119
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Priceline and Booking.com so you can book your Papillon Lagoon Reef reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Papillon Lagoon Reef Diani
Papillon Lagoon Reef Hotel Diani

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing