We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“fantastic holiday! september 2012”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Papillon Lagoon Reef
Ranked #11 of 29 Hotels in Diani Beach
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed September 30, 2012

Wow what can I say! My parents have stayed at this hotel at least 15 times! It was our first time as a family and found everything near on perfect! The hotel is traditional and full of character, the gardens are wonderful and the staff were exceptional!!!! The food was good and plentiful and enough choice for all to find something that they could eat! The daytime animation team went above and beyond to ensure everyone had a great time! Abu. George, Patrick, Francis and Roger! Raphael. Victor and Simon always served with a smile at the bar! Elijah and the rest were exceptional waiters! The beach is amazing! Tsavo East safari unforgettable seeing a huge amount of wildlife! All in all a truly memorable holiday! Aloise does a great job managing the hotel for Tom and Melba and Patrick a great job in the restaurants! Depressed to be home but cannot wait to return!!!

Room Tip: 2nd floor garden rooms are superb!! great view!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
8  Thank yummiemummie41
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (631)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

131 - 137 of 631 reviews

Reviewed September 9, 2012

We stayed here after our Safari Trip in the Masai Mara for 3 nights. I think the amount of time was enough.

Room and facilities- We had to change rooms as when we arrived in our room there were the following problems: broken window so loads of mosquitos flying about, leak from behind the toilet, very dirty sink and shower, fan hanging out from the ceiling by wires and holes in mosquito net. We called the reception and the manager arranged for us to be moved to another room. The room was much better although I found that the bathroom could be cleaner. There was also no tea or coffe making facilities in the room and we found the water in the bathroom to be cold most days even though we were up early at about 8am.

Dry Cleaning- We requested same day dry cleaning and the items were not ready until the next day after we chased the staff up about it.

Staff - The staff were all friendly and very helpful but for such a big hotel there seemed to be a lack of staff. Those that were there were very good though.

Shop - Doesn't stock much but what it does have is good value although cannot be paid for in cash and needs to be added to the room bill.

Meals - The means were fine as we were only there for 3 days so the food did not repeat itself. I particularly enjoyed the pancakes for breakfast and the fresh fruit was very tasty. Afternoon tea is also served from 4-5pm otherwise outside of that it is impossible to get a cup of tea or coffee (outside of breakfast). Dinner was served outside in a nicely lit up area with lots of fairylights. At breakfast we also had to wait for a long time for our drinks to be served, we had been done eating by the time tea was served.

Safe: Paying for a safe per night was a negative. Has to be paid for my cash but strange how they allow some things to be paid by cash and not others (eg gifts from shop).

Beach - The beach is lovely but beware of the beach boys- they are very very pushy. The trick is to ignore them. Even when in the hotel on the sun loungers they will shout over the wall and try and sell you stuff.

We did go to a nice restaurant one evening called Ali Barbour's Cave Restaurant which is a 5 min taxi ride (the hotel can organise), it is set in a cave and serves really good seafood amongst steaks, pasta etc.

Overall I would not go back to the hotel but I can see that it has potential (location, size, good staff) however if there were more staff I think it would make a real difference.

  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Harmonica1982
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 20, 2012

Yes it is one of the ALL INCLUSIVE places on the Southern Beaches of Mombasa, Kenya.

In terms of land area the place is not HUGE, but than it is packed with everything one couple or family with kids need.
Good simple food, Full program and activities to keep one busy,
The heigh lights are the evening local food dinner, dances and performance and the Kenya cocktails on the house with the famous one " DAWA" means MEDICINE.

Beware: Wow unlike what u need to look out for across Kenya as a tourist, at this place to u need to always keep and Eye on the adventurous Monkeys.

Look out for the BIG,BIGGEST BAOBAB tree.

Been there multiple times with family and always luv it.

Room Tip: The place to be incase you do not want to see local places outside and want to spend more time with...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank WeweTu
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 30, 2012

Arrived there smiles galore friendly atmoshere helpful people, loved the feeling of being there relaxed loved the views clean rooms, really want to come back again after 20 years was last here a memory ever lasting LAGOONREEF DIANA BEACH 5 STARS XX

Room Tip: Every room was good
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Paula T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 24, 2012 via mobile

i loved it so much, the food was great esp the barbeque,the staff were very friendly fast and always helpful.the entertainment wasnt so good most times they would ignore the black tourists and only involve the white tourists,the rest was just too good,and i would definately go thea again

  • Stayed: February 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank belzo8
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 28, 2012

this is one amazing place situated right on diani beach , the transfer from mombassa was an eye-opener thats for sure

the hotel is clean and very nice , the food was great and the animation team could not do enough for you

the diving and fishing trip were a bit expensive but we loved it anyway

we went on the fishing trip and gave a fish to the gardener he loved it , from then on we had fresh coconuts when ever we wanted

very friendly place , would love to go back

we went in jan 2009

  • Stayed: June 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank paulandnicnic
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 13, 2012

We are three asian girls in our 30's and stayed here on a short trip to Kenya. First of all I must say the location itself is beautiful (and is the only reason it has 2 stars) wonderful stretch of beach and a lovely pool. What lets this place down is the staff, cleanliness, and food (in that order). We found the staff to be very judgemental and by that I mean we felt we were treated differently to other guests. For example my muslim friend asked whether the meat was halal to which she got a response of 'yes, but are you a real muslim because you dont have a mark on your forehead to show you pray 5 times a day'!!! On another occassion we were asked whether we want any alcohol and when we said no the waitor asked why not!! The reception staff although curteous were not able to make decisions and therefore had to keep ringing managers who were elsewhere. For example we wanted a late check out as our flight was late at night. Standard check out time is 10am and we were told we would have to pay an extra 2000 shillings (about £20) - it might not seem a lot but considering almost all hotels offer a discretion on check out time and we were not even going to be in the room we felt this was a bit much - again they would not shift on this. Instead we had to check out and then offered another room later to have a shower and change - I really dont see the logic i that! With regards to the room we had a family room which was a good size but we had cockroaches in the room every single day - need I say more about the cleanliness!! There also seems to be a shortage of towel at this resort - you are only allowed one at the poolside and if its wet and you want to change it touch luck! In the rooms if you want to request extra towels make sure you let them know hours in advance otherwise you will dry off naturally waiting for a towel! Another word of warning is on booking excursions.We booked with JT safaris (see separate review) and the hotel clearly showed there disatissfaction in not using there own. We were made to go out of the gate to be picked up and would only be allowed in for our drop off because we made a fuss! Finally the food was not that inspiring, ok enough to keep you from going hungry but thats as far as it goes. Overall this hotel and the staff were a real let down and almost put a dampner on our holiday of it wasn't for our great safari trip and the natural beauty of Kenya.

  • Stayed: April 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank Snuffy31
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Diani Beach hotels
4.9 mi away
Southern Palms Beach Resort
Southern Palms Beach Resort
#13 of 29 in Diani Beach
1,397 reviews
0.4 mi away
The Sands at Nomad
The Sands at Nomad
#8 of 29 in Diani Beach
466 reviews
5.3 mi away
Jacaranda Indian Ocean Beach Resort
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2 mi away
Diani Sea Resort
Diani Sea Resort
#6 of 29 in Diani Beach
1,040 reviews
1.3 mi away
Diani Sea Lodge
Diani Sea Lodge
#7 of 29 in Diani Beach
512 reviews
1.9 mi away
Waterlovers Beach Resort
Waterlovers Beach Resort
#2 of 29 in Diani Beach
464 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Papillon Lagoon Reef? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Papillon Lagoon Reef

Address: Diani Beach Road, Diani Beach, Ukunda 80401, Kenya
Location: Kenya > Coast Province > Ukunda > Diani Beach
Amenities:
Restaurant Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#10 Romantic Hotel in Diani Beach
Price Range: $124 - $270 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Papillon Lagoon Reef 3*
Number of rooms: 119
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Priceline so you can book your Papillon Lagoon Reef reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Papillon Lagoon Reef Diani
Papillon Lagoon Reef Hotel Diani

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing