We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
$25 Amazon.com Gift Card Get yours when you book a hotel on TripAdvisor and review your stay!

“Diani Sea Lodge” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Diani Sea Lodge

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Diani Sea Lodge
Ranked #15 of 32 Hotels in Diani Beach
Certificate of Excellence
England
Level Contributor
59 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
“Diani Sea Lodge”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed April 25, 2007

The accomodation - the room, had air con, a shower, mosquito nets, and we had a pretty big room for just the two of us which was wicked. could have a fridge though, our water got pretty heated. fill the sink with cold water and stick your bottle in it - sorted.

The food- was nice, but you need a strong stomach. when they have the outdorr dining thing on a mon and wed, the foods nice, but when its indoors for some reason - not so nice. i was sick. so was about 70% of the hotel.

The staff- the staff are so happy to work, to do anything for you its almost like having your own butler, but theyre so poorly paid it makes you want to give them everything you have. but you cant. i made friends with most of the guys working there and they took us out etc. which was nice, otherwise you get hassled by other people living around the hotel for drinks and money. ive kept in contact with a couple of staff

The pool-
the pool was the best, not the cleanest but i couldnt care, it had seats in it! awesome. so we sat there and got burnt.

The beach-
the beach is like having an outdoor bath. thats how warm it is. ive been to some hot places but this was deffo on e of the nicest beach. the sand was white, it blinds you. the only thing which annoyed my was the beach boys and girls,''buy this'' ''do that'' ''come to my shop'' , all you have to do is say''no thanks ive already got one'' and they walk away.

Entertainment-
was pretty good, a couple of the skits they do are pretty cringeworthy, but some stuff like ''acrobatics'' and some of the dances are amazing. really clever.

Night life-
personally i didnt rate the nightlife only because it wasnt all that.
theres one bar called shakatack (full of prostitutes, its not a rumour, its true) so just be careful, nothing dodgy happens there but watch your man, he'll be covered in women all night. not for the jealous types.
the other bar - tandouri is okay but again with the ''buisness ladies''over there aswell.
the best bar ever in the whoole entire world was forty thieves. no ''ladies'' not much drunken behaviour and fit students.PERFECT.


overall its a wicked place to go, but i'd reccomend taking stomach calming pills, and a fridge. : )
i'd go again as long as i dont get so ill.
thinking about other destinations first then i might pluck up some courage to go to south africa. with a doctor. : )
its pretty ace though, you should go for sure.

  • Liked — the people were too nice
  • Disliked — sickness ruined my holiday
  • Stayed April 2007, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Check in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
1 Thank em2508
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

408 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    148
    168
    51
    24
    17
See reviews for
88
226
14
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (68)
Date | Rating
  • Czech first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Slovak first
  • Any
English first
County Durham
Level Contributor
10 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 11, 2007

Just come back from DSL, didnt want to leave, rooms are basic , however very clean, the staff cant do enough for you. Im a veggie and every night I was able to have a really good meal. Didnt see anyone ill, or hear of any one being ill.

We booked our safari with W&T Safaris opp the hotel, however you can also book with the guy on the beach, fantastic couple of days, please say hello to Ali this cost us £120.00 each, this included over night stay, food however not drinks.

Also took a trip on a dolphin douw, went snorkelling never experience anything like it.. Saw Dolphins and Turtles

Only negative was the air con never felt cool in bedroom.

Yes you have to sign for drinks, but better then having a wrist band, which we saw on other peope from other hotels.

Try a body massage that was an experience!!!!!!

Will def go back asap.

  • Liked — the location
  • Disliked — air con
  • Stayed April 2007, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Check in / front desk
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Ellainec
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hull, UK
Level Contributor
7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
3 of 5 stars Reviewed April 6, 2007

We stayed at Diani Sea lodge from the 19th March for two weeks. When we first arrived we were blown away by the beach it was lovely. Then we went to inspect the room. It was fairly basic but had character about it...a lovely 4 poster bed!

The staff at the hotel were nice and would do anything to help you out. The food sizes were small but you can keep getting more salad or whatever to go with your meal. There is also a snack bar which is open til 4 where they serve pizza, chips spag bol etc. The hotel seems really clean and well organised...especially the animation team who have activities running throughout the day.

The beach boys are a hassle and really stop you from enjoying the beach. We were nice to the and they bothered us...so we were a bit mean to them and they still hassled us!! So we stopped going on the beach!!

The only thing that disapointed me about the holiday is that i became sick and ened up in hospital with a gastroenteritis illness...although i think it may have been sarmanella (??) cause there was quite a few people who were ill around the same time. Anyhow we ended up leaving a week early. The rep for thomson was great (jacob). The safaris range from £80 to £500 going threw thomson. We booked Tsavo east a 2 day safari for £180. But there is nhing else to spend your money on. Its so cheap there.

  • Liked — The staff and character
  • Disliked — the air con was a bitt crap
  • Stayed March 2007, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Check in / front desk
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
Thank joa100
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
north wales
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 25, 2007

we stayed at diani sea lodge the 1st week of march 07,what a wonderful friendly place ,the staff cannot do enough for you if anything at the end of 7 days we felt overloved,beach bums are no problem a simple no gets rid of them,food was really nice if u want more u ask for more,beach fantastic ,sea was warmer than some baths ive had,the whole experience was totally unforgetable, i read a lot of negative reviews on this place before we went and can only conclude that there are people out there that just go on holiday to moan about it,in our opinion this is a really good 3 * hotel with a location to die for HAPPY HAGGLING

Stayed March 2007
Helpful?
1 Thank boingliquidator
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
dorset
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 19, 2007

my trip to Diani sea lodge was even better than i had expected. I really cannot understand other peoples complaints! what people have to remember is that the hotel is only a 2 star!! you cant expect 5 star standards!
The accomodation - the room was lovely, it was clean and had everything we needed, the room had air conditioning, mosquito nets and a lovely balconey.

The food- the food was great, the presentation of the food was great, there was always nice salads, nice fruit and always a great main course. The tables are always presented well with flowers and candles.

The staff-
well what can i say! some of the nicest people i have ever met in my life, i made some real good friends. From the waiters to the cleaners everybody is always smiling and helpfull. The staff work so hard to please the customers, they work such long hours for so little pay and rely mainly on tips.

The pool-
The pool is perfectly adequate for what you need it for (to cool off) its not a huge pool but its till great.

The beach-
The beach is paradise! the only thing that may put people off is the beach boys/girls they do try and get you to buy anything and everything but if you are polite and say no thankyou they leave you alone. The kenyan people on the beach are only trying to make a living and dont mean any harm. The sea is crystal clear and snorkiing is amazing, i would highly reccomend it.

Entertainment-
The entertainment each night was great, there was always somthing different on and its suitable for all agegroups.
There is always somthing to do during the day, the animators at the hotel are wonderfull people and encourage you to get involved with various activities, including water aerobics, mii golf, table tennis, volley ball etc.

Night life-
for those who enjoy going out at night the sea lodge is in a great position, it has a great bar opposite called Tandouri which is always buzzing at night (but not loud enough to hear from the hotel!) its full of locals and tourists so its great to get to know people, but men watch out!! the ladies like tourists!!
also Shak attack is a nightclub just up the road, this is more of a club than a bar, this is more for the younger generation!!

overall its an amazing place thats different to anywhere i have ever been, its quite small and its more of a community than a hotel, you can make great friends with the staff and guests. I will be returning in september this year!!!

  • Liked — EVERYTHING
  • Disliked — EVERYTHING
  • Stayed March 2007
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Check in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
1 Thank kl123
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
uk
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 13, 2007

What a brilliant place very very hot as expected this 2 STAR accomidation and the staff was fantastic ! had a really good holiday much better than expected cos at the end of the day I was in Kenya which unfortunatly is a very poor county and completly diffrent to home (UK) which is why i went. If I wanted a 5 star hotel No1: i would have paid for that treatment and no: 2 if i wanted english food i would have stayed home or booked a week in the Hilton in London but no I wanted to see Kenya and all it had 2 offer and experince their life style and food. Do be careful make sure your eggs are cooked fully as this can give you a bad belly!!

As for the hotel and accommodation we were not let down at all, the pictures we seen on the net were what we got . It was clean and tidy, the ground were kept in top condition and the pool was closed at 6pm every night to be cleaned. The resturant was very hot and did not have air con but that didnt bother me I went to Kenya end of Feb beginning of March to get away from our dark, cold and wet weather . We didnt see any flies or mossies so i was more than happy!!

You will have a fantastic time and be more than please with your stay at diani the animation team will make sure of that!!

we also went on a 1 night safari which was amazing at first we didnt see many animals but on the 2nd drive we seen loads and the 3rd drive was excellent a must for anyone who visits Kenya!!

  • Liked — private bungalow not far to walk to bar!!!
  • Disliked — no air-con in resturant
  • Stayed March 2007, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Check in / front desk
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
2 Thank n18kcy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
North Yorkshire
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed March 11, 2007

I have read the reviews on this website and to be quite honest I cant believe there are some good ones, must of been staying in a totally different place to us!!!! I know this is a two star property, but I would not send my worst enemy here! The "restaurant"
is just a joke. If you like musical chairs then you will be fine. You will have a different table each night and will be sat with whoever. Once you have been seated you will recieve food poisoning served on a plate. The food is not fit for human consumption. The salad bar is in a chiller, but not plugged in, your main course will come before your starter and the drinks will come after your meal. Thats if you have managed to stick it out in the extreme heat. The restaurant is not air conditioned at all and is un bearable. Please do not order a salad from the pool snack bar. I was ill for 1 week and ended up calling the doctor and costing £75 for mediction. One lady ended up on a drip in hospital. She said she would of prefered to stay in hospital than go back to the Diani Sea Lodge. We booked a one night Safari which was ruined by the fact that I was ill and was unable to go on the second part of the trip. But it was worth it just to stay in a decent hotel for the night. The room is very basic with air conditioning only operational when the mainn key is inserted
into a nergy saving socket. So its extremely hot. The dressing room has no curtain hanging over the window so anyone can look in. We found that a towel did the trick. The beach towels are abit musty and are not cleaned daily.

Just outside the hotel there is a bar called Tandori. Be warned gents, you can buy more than a drink here and will be hounded by the local women for their business.

The swimming pool is a danger area with no steps in the deep ended and rust on the other steps, and the tiles cold do with a good scrub.
There is a fantastic bar/restaurant a short walk along the beach called Alibabours and the Forty Thieves. We ate here numerous times and I recomend the prawn cocktain................ its huge! We have been told that this hotel is closing down in May for 3 months for a re fit so things may change. If you are booked in before this time I seriously urge you to be carefull with the food you are eating and if you have any problems then do tell the Management, as the more people who complain the more likely the tour operators will do something about this property.

On a plus...........the hotel is situated on the fantastic beach and the sea is like stepping into a warm bath. Watch out for the sea urchins though. The trades men on the beach do hassle you but if you say no, then they do get the message eventually. The weather is fantastic to with a constant breeze during the day makes the intense sun bearable.

If I was thinking about going back to Kenya we would certainly go for 5 star as this experience has tainted our visit and the likely hood of visiting the country again. Sorry if you are reading this and going on holiday soon, but we feel that people are warned before you get there as we were very dissapointed.

  • Liked — The location of the beach
  • Disliked — Everything
  • Stayed February 2007, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Check in / front desk
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank RobbieandJusty
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Diani Beach hotels
0.8 mi away
Diani Sea Resort
Diani Sea Resort
#5 of 32 in Diani Beach
4.0 of 5 stars 886 reviews
3.7 mi away
Southern Palms Beach Resort
Southern Palms Beach Resort
#7 of 32 in Diani Beach
4.0 of 5 stars 1,225 reviews
0.8 mi away
Waterlovers Beach Resort
Waterlovers Beach Resort
#2 of 32 in Diani Beach
5.0 of 5 stars 335 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.2 mi away
Papillon Lagoon Reef
Papillon Lagoon Reef
#13 of 32 in Diani Beach
4.0 of 5 stars 522 reviews
0.7 mi away
The Sands at Nomad
The Sands at Nomad
#6 of 32 in Diani Beach
4.5 of 5 stars 355 reviews
2.1 mi away
Afrika Pearl & Spa
Afrika Pearl & Spa
#16 of 32 in Diani Beach
4.5 of 5 stars 113 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Diani Sea Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Diani Sea Lodge

Property: Diani Sea Lodge
Address: Diani Beach Road | Ukunda, Diani Beach, Ukunda 80401, Kenya
Location: Kenya > Coast Province > Ukunda > Diani Beach
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free Breakfast Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#12 Romantic Hotel in Diani Beach
#14 On the Beach Hotel in Diani Beach
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Diani Sea Lodge 3*
Number of rooms: 168
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Situated right on the white sand beach of the Indian Ocean, Diani Sea Lodge, an all-inclusive 3+ resort, is surrounded by lush tropical gardens. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Odigeo and Jovago.com so you can book your Diani Sea Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Diani Sea Hotel Diani

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing