We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
$25 Amazon.com Gift Card Get yours when you book a hotel on TripAdvisor and review your stay!

“very nice, very friendly hotel” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Diani Sea Lodge

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Diani Beach
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Diani Sea Lodge
Save
You added Diani Sea Lodge to your Saves list
Ranked #17 of 32 Hotels in Diani Beach
Certificate of Excellence
england
Level Contributor
11 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“very nice, very friendly hotel”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 16, 2008

just returned from diani sea lodge after a lovely stay. arrived at the airport with pounds and kenyan shillings to be told they only accepted dollars, not good. rooms were nicely spread out and kept clean by friendly staff. you need deposits for towels and safe key. not a lot of choice on the menu but generally very tasty. easy to get served at the bar but the hotel was only half full. no tv in room but one in main building with live premier football if you're inclined.beach boys were persistant but booked a 2 night safari w.t. safaris and had no problems at all. also booked a trip to wasini island with hami off the beach which turned out to be the highlight of the holiday as i swam with wild dolphins in the middle of the indian ocean. hami also accompannied us and showed us lots of things we would have missed. booked second day and didn't get bothered after that. lovely white beach warm sea but have to be careful of sea urchins. lively bar acoss the road but agin everyone was friendly enough though even if they were always trying to get something off you even the last day got offered a deal for my sea shoes. all in all a very warm and relaxing holiday and i would return to the same hotel if i went back to diani.

  • Liked — you could chat with all the staff about life in kenya, very interesting
  • Disliked — nothing springs to mind
  • Stayed December 2008, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Check in / front desk
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank cheshirecat55
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

396 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    141
    164
    50
    24
    17
See reviews for
85
219
14
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (68)
Date | Rating
  • Czech first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Slovak first
  • Any
English first
Cumbria, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
8 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 12, 2008

Just returned from 2 weeks at Diani Sea Lodge. What a place!
We loved it! Everything was kept very clean, the staff were very helpful and the hotel in general was very good. Nice not to be in an apartment block but instead had a bungalow. No music blaring during the day so you can relax (except when the water aerobics is on). It was just a pity that the guys on the beach made it difficult for us to enjoy the beach properly. Every time you walked down to the water, they were trying to sell you something.
For a change try Ali Barbour's restaurant just up the road from the hotel. They will collect you and drive you back to the hotel if you ask when booking. Fabulous setting in a cave and lovely food. Not cheap but worth it.
Went on a 4 day safari with WT Safaris (next to the Tandoori bar opposite the hotel gates). It was fabulous! Our guide (Ahmedi) was great and went out of his way to give us the best trip possible. Would highly recommend them. When we were unable to get money from the banks to pay for the safari, Anne in their UK office sorted it so we could pay over here otherwise we would have had to cancel.
On the money front, a note to anyone else going to Diani Beach. They have a Barclays bank there and on their website it says they take cards which have Cirrus on them. We took our debit cards and when we got there, they only accept Visa! We were left with what little money we had taken with us.

  • Liked — the views & the laid back feel of the place
  • Disliked — the rep in the hotel was terrible!
  • Stayed November 2008, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Check in / front desk
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
1 Thank dianepattinson111
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Level Contributor
87 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 91 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed November 21, 2008

THE GOOD.
Nice layout od swimming pool, lawn and with great seaview. Best of Diani Beach on your doorstep. Great Staff who are engaging and always willing to oblige and assist you. Own lodge on one floor and quiet. Does not feel like a hotel complex. Endless white sandy beach - best first and last thing in the day to avoid beach boys - safe to walk to forty thieves Bar at night and enjoy the beach to yourselves.
Glorious sunshine, white sandy beach and clear blue waters and great fishes to see.

THE BAD.
Air Con only operates when you are in the room - Offer the receptionist a tip for a second key and leave air con on all day.
I understand from returning guests that the food has gone downhill. it is not bad but very unimaginative and repetative and we were sick of it by week 2. No ala carte restaurant as literature indicated.

THE UGLY.
The Beach Boys are relentless and avoid going into the huts next to the hotels. They are agressive and will prevent you from leaving until you buy something. They will pounce on you on your first day. The street hawkers are just as bad. So basically you find yourselves confined to the hotel compound. You will find yourselves engrossed in the Kenya's poverty and at every opportunity encouraged to part with your cash. Prices for a bangle 100-200 KS; animals a little more. Things are very cheap so do not get get fleeced for £100s of pounds.

EXCURSIONS.
I recommend Pilli Pipa for the best dolphin dhow experience - expensive but worth the money but you can negotiate hard. Cheapest way to dive as well, with them. Dolphins spotted almost every day. Great snorkelling also and great seafoood lunch - I pigged myself. We went twice.

Cheapest way to safari is to join an existing booking - ie if you are the third couple to join 2 existing couple, and you can negotiate down the price. read carefully what each Park offers to gain the best of your trip. Great lodges to stay for animal spotting outside the lodges are Voi Lodge, Ngulli Lodge and Amboseli Lodge in Tsavo East and West ( trees and bushes) and Amboseli (Plains and swamps). Sentrim Lodge serves great food and luxury tents but no animals to see- Top Class fillet steak for lunch.
LOOK around for best prices as there are lots of companies around.

  • Liked — friendly staff
  • Disliked — Too Many Beach boys outside hotel
  • Stayed November 2008, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Check in / front desk
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Sunworshipper003
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Felixstowe
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 21, 2008

We last stayed at Diani Sea lodge in Feb 2007, this was my 2nd visit and my partners 4th. We really like the fact that the rooms are single storey, which means that they are nice and quiet. It's so nice not to be surrounded by other rooms and no stairs when you've had a couple of drinks.

I read in another review that the air-con wasn't good, I found this surprising as I usually had the blanket over my legs by the morning. The rooms were serviced well and the staff never disturbed you. Be mindful of the monkeys trying to rob your room though, my other half was mugged by a group of monkeys for some mints (very funny).

Mark, behind the bar and Daniel, the restaurant manager are lovely. In fact all the staff are great and put us to shame with their language skills especially considering how tough it is to maintain a good education, if only the kids here appreciated what they have!

The food is OK, but who cares when the beer is cold and the view is stunning and it encourages you to try some of the local places. The Forty Thieves does great fish & chips (great for people-watching too) and Ali Baba's is lovely for a more formal night out.

I have not stayed anywhere else in Diani to compare it to but I why would I!

The hotel does tend to have a lot of german guests who do not believe in waiting their turn and can eat an unbelievable amount of food but they are friendly enough.

Overall, this hotel ticks all the boxes and we hope to be going back in Feb 2009.

  • Liked — The staff and rooms
  • Disliked — Can't think of anything.
  • Stayed February 2007, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Check in / front desk
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Fishfans
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Paralimni, Cyprus
2 reviews
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 17, 2008

We stayed at the diani sea lodge for two weeks in January, the rooms were kept very clean and tidy, towels and bed linen were changed every day.
The evening entertainment was good,but the food was like staying at a 4 **** hotel and couldnt be faullted.
Although we had booked a safari, we cancelled this 2 weeks prior to the holiday because of the ongoing problems at the time, i wish we hadnt but our family and friends who were coming from England(we live in Cyprus) with Thomson holidays had there holiday cancelled two days prior to their departure, so in the end althogh we enjoyed our stay we left a week early.
I would go again, and will return one day, i hope in more peaceful times.

  • Liked — Tidy and clean rooms.
  • Disliked — We did not speak German!
  • Stayed January 2008
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Check in / front desk
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank cyprusrascal
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cuijk, The Netherlands
Level Contributor
6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 7, 2007

The hotel was great! Loved the fact that it wasn't a hotel with 300 rooms.

It wasn't really a hotel, you had an apartment in the beautiful garden.

The rooms didn't have a tv or phone but who needs it when you are relaxing in Kenya?

The hotel had a nice pool and was situated next to the beach.
Food & drinks were fine. All-in worked great and you didn't have to wait for a new drink.

Service was amazing! People were friendly and not fake or pushy.

If you want to relax, enjoy the beach, go on a safari and don't want to stay in a commercial hotel go for Diani Sea Lodge!

Stayed July 2006
Helpful?
2 Thank Powerpuffy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
cambridgeshire
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 17, 2007

First sight of Mombasa was a bit of a shock, but on arriving at the Diani Sea lodge it looks good. But when you got in your room red hot air-conditioning not on only use when in room with the heat it did not cool down at night when try to sleep.
On the 4 day my wife felt ill upset tummy but on the 6 day being sick had our own medicine
Went home the 7 day wife went to the doctor and found she had CHOLERA.
We found out from friends still there and 2 of the staff that the pool bar was filling large water bottles on the cool water dispensers from the tap .
Standards of hygiene in Kenya are very low to ours!!! be careful
We contacted Thomson holidays with letters back and fourth for 6 months got no where.
Never a word of sympathy for the wife or compensation
Remember!!!!!!!!
Thomson holidays Like to look after clients.
Sheila & Geo
Cambridgeshire

  • Liked — quite
  • Disliked — poor aircon
  • Stayed November 2006, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Check in / front desk
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank geoCambridgeshire
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Diani Beach
0.8 mi away
Diani Sea Resort
Diani Sea Resort
#6 of 32 in Diani Beach
4.0 of 5 stars 869 reviews
3.7 mi away
Southern Palms Beach Resort
Southern Palms Beach Resort
#8 of 32 in Diani Beach
4.0 of 5 stars 1,205 reviews
0.8 mi away
Waterlovers Beach Resort
Waterlovers Beach Resort
#2 of 32 in Diani Beach
5.0 of 5 stars 328 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.7 mi away
The Sands at Nomad
The Sands at Nomad
#7 of 32 in Diani Beach
4.5 of 5 stars 351 reviews
1.2 mi away
Papillon Lagoon Reef
Papillon Lagoon Reef
#13 of 32 in Diani Beach
4.0 of 5 stars 515 reviews
1.5 mi away
The Baobab - Baobab Beach Resort & Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Diani Sea Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Diani Sea Lodge

Property: Diani Sea Lodge
Address: Diani Beach Road | Ukunda, Diani Beach, Ukunda 80401, Kenya
Location: Kenya > Coast Province > Ukunda > Diani Beach
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free Breakfast Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#12 Romantic Hotel in Diani Beach
#16 On the Beach Hotel in Diani Beach
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Diani Sea Lodge 3*
Number of rooms: 168
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Situated right on the white sand beach of the Indian Ocean, Diani Sea Lodge, an all-inclusive 3+ resort, is surrounded by lush tropical gardens. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Diani Sea Hotel Diani

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing