We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
WINNER WONDERLAND
Win Big When You Book on TripAdvisor

“Honeymooners choose wisely” 3 of 5 bubbles
Review of Diani Sea Lodge

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Diani Sea Lodge
Ranked #14 of 32 Hotels in Diani Beach
Certificate of Excellence
Rayleigh, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Honeymooners choose wisely”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 18, 2013

After an ex-tenuous and torturous trip back from the beautiful country that is Kenya, I have found myself reaching for the laptop prior to a long deserved sleep to comprise what both my new wife and I had endured on our Honeymoon, at the Diani sea Lodge. On arrival from a remembered and fantastic four day safari, my wife and i found our self overwhelmed with the beauty Diani sea lodge had to offer... Lavish white stone walls, African architecture a king would be happy to visit, wild coconut trees and not to mention probably the best beech view we have ever seen. On our continued excitement we were also met with exceptional service from the staff on our arrival (and i must say this continued over the holiday). Only to be slightly discomforted by that fact that although a weaved love heart left on our front door and a (Warm) fruit basket was a nice touch, we both felt and heard that honeymooners were prioritised with the highest of service elsewhere. We both agreed at the end of the holiday we were not met as honeymooners but as regular holiday goers. Discussions from over honeymooners (at others close by resorts) it was the little touches that made what they thought was a special occasion and made us both feel quite jealous of this fact that our counterpart had received a bottle of wine in there room or a small present/icon to back with them e.g. giraffe statue. Do not get me wrong we do not ask for the red carpet to be laid but examples that could be seen as unique could have gone a long way. The worst part of our stay at Diani sea lodge was unfortunately the food. The hotel continued to portray its self as high class/five star etc with its dress code and formal wear. This was downplayed by that fact that the choice and standard of food was only camouflaged in its high standards of service by its staff. Every night there seemed to be a change if fine cuisine theme: African, BBQ, Asian which were always accompanied by the side orders of potatoes, rice, (Bland) pasta and cubes of wheat & flour. It got to our fourth night of continued pedigree chum and potatoes where we finally had enough of risking a night of problematic bowel movements and decided to eat at the many local fine (and affordable) restaurants in the area (Yibba Yabba, Ali Barbours). Lastly but not least I feel I may be over dramatic on this due to my ignorance in domestic culture regarding the locals, but it seemed to be a continuous strain to be able to walk from the beach to the sea in comfort without being pestered by, what can only be seen as persistent second hand car dealers, coming from all angles. My wife was so intermediated by the persists of the locals it took her four days to courage to the lavish waters, only to be met by 3 salesman sprinting from the perimeters of what seemed like 'no-mans land' barraging her with sales pushes. from this point not only my wife would not venture into the sea, it was seen this was met by other residents at the hotel as well. I am not a usual blogger and moaner regarding things of this sort but i felt it was my duty to other holiday/honeymooner goers to communicate this. Other pros and cons include: All inc was awful, when checking out (at 10am) you have to pay for beverages even if you leave at night; if like my wife you are all about the tan, you may be upset bout the fact movement of sunbeds is essential every hour due to many palm trees; on many occasions our towels were not changed; (Hate this one) the straws and paper coverings are re-used... YUCK!!! Snack bar is great (Ham and cheese toastie), ample amounts of tea and coffee (Biscuits/cake too); no matter the time of day staff are always happy; entertainment crew were fantastic and always a joy to watch; very clean and large spacious rooms

Room Tip: Rained about 3 out of our ten days... had only cards and communal TV to tend with. If I went again i...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Matthew C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

423 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    158
    171
    53
    24
    17
See reviews for
91
231
16
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (68)
Date | Rating
  • Czech first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Slovak first
  • Any
English first
england
Level Contributor
7 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 9, 2013

We arrived at the hotel at 10.30pm after a 10 hour delay at Addis Ababa airport. We were offered a welcome drink and told a late meal had been kept for us. We decided it was too late to eat so were shown to our room.
The bedroom and bathroom were lovely and clean unlike a previous review that had stated it was dirty. We were in 206 on the 1st floor of a building towards the back of the hotel near the road.
The following morning we were given a card to collect our beach towel. We had a choice of loungers to lay on. Activities go on throughout the day by the animation team such as volleyball, bowles, darts, aquacise etc.
The food is lovely. For breakfast there is continental quiosants, toast or English breakfast.
Lunchtime can be eaten at the beach bar ie toasted sandwiches, pizza, chips etc or at the main restaurant.
In the evening there is fresh soup to begin with then the main course. Salad bar, meal option ie lasagne, beef stragonoff and freshly cooked grill options ie fish, beef. About 4-5 dessert options and fruit. They also have themed nights.
Evening entertainment is by locals from 9 -10pm and is good entertainment especially the bands on Thurs eves.
We found the beach boys annoying at first but you can do either of two things. Say Jambo to them which encourages them to walk with you and push their wares or ignore them.
If you did the first option then number 1 would leave then number 2,3,4 would follow afterwards
I found the second option worked well for me as they would start by asking are you German...English...Italian? If I didnt answer and kept my head down they would walk away and tell the rest not to bother so I could walk along the beach unhindered. Always check the prices for items they are selling before buying. They tried to sell us a giraffe for 700s when they were only 300s in hotel reception shop.
Tipping... I read their was lots of tipping to do but decided to leave it until the last day and tipped those I felt were good to me. They suggest you tip into the tip box in reception for everyone which is opened every 3 months and shared but was told by a staff member that they only get 50 shillings each then.
We chartered a little motor boat with two lads from Davis and Abdalla in the hotel grounds and went to the reef to snorkel and along the coast. This was nice as not with a boatful of people and could do as we liked for 4 hours.
The hotel arranges different visits to an orphanage, the local village etc They basically arrange the taxis for you.
The monkeys can be a pain. They seemed to like our balcony so couldn't leave the door open at all or they would come in the room. They do have the option of a mesh screen though to let air in. On the loungers keep your things in a bag as they are very quick at grabbing things and running. Some security men are good at keeping them away others aren't bothered.
Well what can I say about the staff.... they are excellent!!!! They ask your name on first meeting you and remember it. They all have a smile and make the place what it is!!!!!!!!!!! A great hotel.
Thank you Beth, Hamed, Mohammed, Mark, Martin, Michael, Nyawa, Dollar etc etc

Room Tip: My only negative about the whole hotel was the pillows. They are thin and hard! I found my neck supp...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank bubblylittleme
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Southam, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
14 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 9, 2013

Hi all we have just returned (8th Sept 2013) from the most amazing experience. Our stay at the Diani Sea Resort Kenya was really lovely, food was great and the people are so friendly. After a long journey we were greeted at the hotel with ice cold drinks and dancers it was a lovely greeting. The staff really look after you and cannot do enough for you.
The monkeys at the hotel are really entertaining but do not leave you balcony door open they will pinch anything. Our first day we had a sleep in the afternoon with the door open, my daughter woke me telling me there was a monkey sat on the table, he had come in and was sat quite happily eating fruit that had been left for us. We found it really funny, they are so cheeky!!
The beach is beautiful and the sea is lovely, one problem is the beach boys, they hassal you all the time to buy their items and the also have a fantastic memory! just be firm but not rude to them and walk away.
Joseph under the tree sells some lovely wood carvings we bought loads home, again though you will be hassalled be firm and always barter with them or they will rip you off, make sure you understand your Kenyan shillings when you go out as it is so easy to get confused.

You cannot go to Kenya without going to Safari, we went on safari with JT Safaris (Julius is the owner of the company) what a fantastic, efficient, genuine person he is. Julius has an office near the hotel, if you go to the entrance of the hotel and turn left his office is next to Joseph under the tree who sells the wood carvings. Julius and his team are absolutely brilliant. I found out about him on trip advisor and every thing you read is true to its word. We did the 2 nights 3 day safari in Tsava East staying in Ashnil Aruba Lodge (fantastic place, immaculate, food lovely) and Tsavo West staying in Saltlick Lodge (on stilts again lovely).
I cannot recommend JT Safaris enough, we booked through email in march and paid a deposit through our bank, he emailed us to confirm he had received it and did a private package for us the jeeps are land cruisers and they are personal to yourselves, lots of room, we had Tito the driver he was brilliant, what he could see and point out was amazing, he was very knowledgeable and taught us loads.
JT sends a driver to pick you up before your safari where you go to his office and make sure everything is organised, he then invites you back the day after your safari to pay the balance and to ensure you are satisfied with everything, he also gives you a gift .

We would love to go again what an experience loved every minute of it!!! x

Room Tip: we stayed in a normal room with air con, hair drier view of the pool and of the sea it was lovely
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank thaynesmanager
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Southport, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 5, 2013

Before my wife and I travelled we read a few bad reports on here and so we were a bit nervous about what awaited us.
We arrived mid afternoon after four days safari tired,aching and dusty.With in twenty minutes we,
'd checked in.The room was spotless a bowl of fruit on the table.
A long hot shower later and we went for a wander.
The whole place was welcoming,the staff always ready with a smile(whatever their boss pays them,it's not enough.They turn a great place into an absolute pleasure).
The food was great,loads of different choices,the chefs all ready to chat.The service was superb.
Take a snorkel and mask,its like sticking your head in an aquarium.I did the the scuba course.WOW,
The beach sellers are a pain in the you know where but they are trying to clear the problem.After the initial assault they tend to leave you be(ish).

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank PedroHendo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
lancashire uk
Level Contributor
8 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 15, 2013

We stayed at Diani Sea Lodge for 15 nights from 1st July.We had been on safari so just wanted to relax during our stay.We found the hotel to be excellent.We stayed in room 140 which was a bungalow room,very spacious,plenty of storage space and kept spotlessly clean.The staff were all nice and would always greet you with "Jambo" and a smile.It wouldn,t be fair to single out individual staff members but we found them all to be very friendly and good at their particular jobs.We found the food to be very good and varied.A walk along the beach to the 40 Thieves Bar is well worth it especially at weekends when there is a live band playing.Its true the local beach boys are a bit of a hassle but we told them we had done our safari and weren,t doing any trips so we had no problem .We visited the sister hotel a couple of times [Diani Sea Resort] and although a 4 star we were happy to have stayed were we were at the Diani Sea Lodge.We would stay again and recommend.

Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank mick5898
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Southend
Level Contributor
29 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 2, 2013

We come and stayed here before and after our safari trip. The rooms were nice as we were in a separate lodge, but we had a rat that lived outside the door in a drainage ditch. On your walk around there are monkeys all over being cheeky. But if your on the beach keep your stuff out of the site of monkeys as they would come down the trees and take stuff, it's funny when the stuff isn't yours. There was a lot of Germans so had to be quick in the morning to get a subbed as they "reserve" them with their towels before they went to bed, so sometimes you can't get a good spot. The food was lovely. The staff were nice. And if you go on to the beach you will be harassed by the locals that don't take no for an answer, its the same if you leave the resort unfortunately. On our drive there we was in a private mini bus and as we got on to the boat to cross the river we were told to shut the windows (in scorching heat) due to the locals taking stuff from tourists.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Hannah G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
kent
Level Contributor
10 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 30, 2013

Just returned from Diani Sea Lodge we loved it,the staff were amazing and so friendly the food was really good the only down side were the beach sellers and the sellers on the road they are pests and do not understand no,we made some amazing friends and would go back

Room Tip: we did,nt upgrade to a superior room we were happy with our room and those in the upgraded rooms wer...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank juneymal
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Diani Beach hotels
0.8 mi away
Diani Sea Resort
Diani Sea Resort
#5 of 32 in Diani Beach
4.0 of 5 bubbles 905 reviews
3.7 mi away
Southern Palms Beach Resort
Southern Palms Beach Resort
#8 of 32 in Diani Beach
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,248 reviews
0.8 mi away
Waterlovers Beach Resort
Waterlovers Beach Resort
#2 of 32 in Diani Beach
5.0 of 5 bubbles 349 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.7 mi away
The Sands at Nomad
The Sands at Nomad
#6 of 32 in Diani Beach
4.5 of 5 bubbles 369 reviews
1.2 mi away
Papillon Lagoon Reef
Papillon Lagoon Reef
#13 of 32 in Diani Beach
4.0 of 5 bubbles 544 reviews
2.1 mi away
Afrika Pearl & Spa
Afrika Pearl & Spa
#16 of 32 in Diani Beach
4.5 of 5 bubbles 122 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Diani Sea Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Diani Sea Lodge

Property: Diani Sea Lodge
Address: Diani Beach Road | Ukunda, Diani Beach, Ukunda 80400, Kenya
Location: Kenya > Coast Province > Ukunda > Diani Beach
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free Breakfast Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#12 Romantic Hotel in Diani Beach
#13 On the Beach Hotel in Diani Beach
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Diani Sea Lodge 3*
Number of rooms: 168
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Situated right on the white sand beach of the Indian Ocean, Diani Sea Lodge, an all-inclusive 3+ resort, is surrounded by lush tropical gardens. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Odigeo and Jovago.com so you can book your Diani Sea Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Diani Sea Hotel Diani

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing