We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A nice hotel - on a stunning beach a good simple break”
Review of Diani Sea Lodge

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Diani Sea Lodge
Ranked #10 of 29 Hotels in Diani Beach
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed May 22, 2011

The is a good hotel - great staff, nice food and amazing location.

We arrived and a few other guests had problems with their room (no A/C in the basic rooms) but we were fine, the room is clean with a nice all inclusive mini bar. The bed was big and comfy. We had sea views from our balcony which was nice.

The food is good a nice mix - a good amount of local food on offer, this always included meat, fish and veg dishes. The staff are also great - very helpful and friendly.

Locals - you are warned about the beach boys in other reviews. they are pleasant if you just say no, they will push you to buy souvenirs, trips and safaris.

The beach boys will try to get you to buy souvenirs on the first day - DON'T but first day you can use the hotel shop as a bench mark for the prices of the goods - which are the same quality.

Sea trips
We used Captain Hami for our glass boat snorkeling trip - this was great it didn't cost much approx £12 but we had almost 2 hours in the water trip itself was about 3 hours. This was a great experience. and Captain Hami was fantastic in both taking us to good places but he also really looked after us (including a week swimmer in the group who he took round by hand the whole way) We would highly recommend him if you choose to go out snorkeling or dolphin trip to the sea safari.

For Safari we went with Julius K. Nzumbi of J.T Safaris (JULIUS TACT SAFARIS) (www.julius-safaris.com) - there are other people claiming to be JT but these guys were fantastic.

We went on a one night (two day) trip to Tsavo East - our driver (Hamadi) was fantastic and very knowledgeable having been a drivers for over 8 yrs. We only booked to leave the night before (booked at 5pm left at 7am) so even if you decide to go last minute you can. The drive there was a bit hairy - but this is just the driving style. But once we got to Tsavo East we had a fantastic time - we got very lucky in the number of animals we saw, everywhere we looked there were animals of all descriptions (Lions, elephants, water buffalo, giraffes, cheetah and even a leopard)

The hotel on safari was nice - 5 star but not a European 5 star, but still very nice.

We also ate at Ali Babas which was good but not as good as we had hoped It would be. The service was great but we had the lobster - but it was only a half lobster and no claw which I was surprised at given the price. But the starters and desserts were good.

The forty thieves bar (Ali Babas beach bar) was nice will a good selection of meals and drinks -- a pleasant way to spend an evening watching the tide go out and the crabs start to play.

Room Tip: Book a sea view for A/C and mini bar
  • Stayed: April 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank LincolnC
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (493)
There are newer reviews for Diani Sea Lodge
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

184 - 190 of 493 reviews

Reviewed May 17, 2011

right from the start this hotel failed to deliver a basically clean room, we were moved within an hour of arrival as our room was so dirty. the towels smell awful as they are washed in brackish water (which is what you shower in ) old, run down and shabby hotel. we only ended up here as we booked a last minute safari and this was the second part, wish we had gone home after the safari - which was fabulous.
the saltwater pool is large but thats the only good thing to say, its full of dead bugs and I cringe to think whats in the filters. we all came home with salmonella virus which was not due to our lack of hygiene ( I disinfected the whole room). the staff all smell of body odour which is not great at breakfast time. definitely wont be going anywhere near this place again. the transfer from/to the airport is tedious and harrowing.

Room Tip: moan and make a fuss about the poor standards.
  • Stayed: May 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank tr34cle
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 6, 2011

This hotel is in need of a make over its quite run down. the food was not bad but we found that they served the same fried fish for three days which limited your choice because they only served fish, a meat dish and vegetarian. the breakfast was good nice bacon and the food and the beach bar very good. The staff were good infact they make this hotel. The rooms are adequate but they really need to sort out the aircon. The first morning we arrived we went to look at the beach you felt like you were fresh meat the beach boys were unbelievable. We booked our safari with WT safaris who i'm sure you will meet on the first day. We paid £250 per adult and £125 for teenagers this was for two night three day safari which was fantastic. We saved so much money by not going through the rep and you all end up at the same accomodation so theirs just no need to waste your money. Our driver was called richa and he was brilliant. the safaris are all inclusive except drinks and the food is excellent. we also booked the dolphin trip with wt brilliant trip you actually swim with the dolphins £30. anyway once youve booked the safari they sales rep on the beach leave you alone so you just have to tackle the beach boys just be firm its your holiday and knock them down most things their selling are only worh 100 shilling. They are all registered with the local police so dont ley them intimidate you. The beach is beautiful especially if you get up early to avoid the beach sellers you can walk for miles. the entertainment in the hotel is average like the drinks they really dont want you to get drunk ask if you want more spirit they will give it you. we went to local bars forty thieves and nomads for a decent alcoholic drink. The africans in the bars are ok and brilliant to watch when the footballs on they love it. Overall i loved kenya and the whole experience just wished i,d booked a better hotel and was a little more street wise when it came to the beach boys. A little tip take lots of sweets for the children especially when on safari they run to the road and its heart breaking when you got nothing and their shouts sweets and if the driver offers to stop a a masi village do

Room Tip: no
  • Stayed: April 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank julie2863
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 4, 2011

We stayed for two weeks over the Easter holidays.
we have been to Kenya 3 times now, each time staying somewhere different. Out of the 3 hotels we have stayed in this was my least favourite, but this is a perfectly good hotel if you are on a budget. Basically I would say that the First Choice descriptions are pretty accurate. the rooms are very basic, but that's what you expect for the price. You can get upgrade to a BAHARI room, but we didn't spend any time in our rooms so we just had the basic family room. Family rooms are more like a bungalow style with two bedrooms and a larger and very nice bathroom. The main bedroom is air conditioned, but the other bedroom just has a fan. If you are taking children to this hotel and are having a family room you need to consider taking a fan. The ceiling fan did nothing for the temperature so my Son often ended up sleeping in with us because his room was unbearably hot. I really mean unbearable. I couldn't have slept in there some nights so I wouldn't have made my child. I just felt too guilty, no exaggeration.
Some of the staff are wonderful, some are quite surly and slow. the animation team are all great and will keep you busy if you wish or leave you alone if not.
The hotel organises trips out and glass bottom boat tours. Go to all of them, they are all pretty good for the price, although do expect to be 'sold to' by traders.
food was really good and the pizza and pasta in the snack bar were delicious and just the right size.
if you like a really firm massage the lady there is great. Very basic room and little conversation except to get you to turn over etc but she is very efficient and you will feel great after. It only cost £4.50! Bargain! Take her a mango juice before you go in and she will think you are fab!
The pool is really quite deep, but there is a paddling pool and a smaller shallow part.
I think that if it weren't for a few rude or lazy staff this hotel provides the base for an excellent holiday. I just know what to expect from a proper kenyan welcome and I think that bothered me more than anything.
We paid just over £2000 for all three of us to go for two weeks which I think is a fair price for this hotel. Some people had paid £4500 for the same period of time for the same as us and I would never part with that sort of money for here.

Room Tip: move the bed under the air con
  • Stayed: April 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank vanessaBrighton
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 4, 2011

We arrived in April for 2 weeks on an all inclusive basis. The first week was spent doing nothing apart from getting a tan.
The weather was really good with a constant breeze coming from the sea to keep the temperature and humidity bearable.
The hotel was a reasonable three star. The rooms were clean, reasonable size, a gigantic bed and bedding and towels were changed every day. The air conditioning worked well.
The dining room looked over the gardens and the swimming pool and was open to the outside to allow the breeze in.
The food was OK, just what you would expect from a buffet style menu. It got a bit repetative after a week and the quality seemed to go down a bit.
All the staff were pleasent, very helpful and always had a smile for you. In particular the houskeeing staff and the food and beverages manageress. Wonderful lady, always smiling and asking if everything was OK. Very happy to listen to any comments or complaints and willing to do something about it.
The animation staff worked hard to keep everybody entertained without being too pushy. The evening entertainment was quite good but again repated itself after a week.
If you want a reasonable hotel, great postion, very good staff all at a very good price go to the Diani Sea Lodge. We paid well under £700 each for a fortnight.
In the second week we went on various trips.
We went on a three day safari with JT Tours. Several people we met at the hotel had booked with him, some before they went via the internet. Everybody had a great time, good vehicles, great guides and all pretty lucky with the animals. The amzing thing was that apart from a small deposit JT didn't ask for any money. You only paid after you had had the trip!
We went on a boat trip, booked on the beach with Capitain Hami. Again he couldn't do enough for us, great trip, wonderful coral.
We had dinner one night at Ali Barbers. Great food, amazing venue. Just don't expect it to be cheap. By Kenyan standards it is expensive but compared to UK prices it was very reaonable.

Room Tip: The upgrade to the Bahari rooms is worth it.
  • Stayed: April 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank MichaelF321
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 1, 2011

i went to Dinai sea lodge with my girlfriend in April 2011. we only went for the week and the 1st thing i would advise is to go for longer because its a very long flight and transfer just for 7 days. talking about the transfer, don't believe the people that say its only a hour because its more like 3! the main reason for this is the ferry. there is a ferry that you need to use to get out of Mombasa, trouble is everyone else is using it! the ferry trip is only 10mins long its the queue that adds up the time! when you get to the hotel, you will notice that it is very clean but not as nice as the other hotels on the strip. when we booked we paid extra for the superior room and soon found out that it was no different to a standard room! it was a bad location, very small, no fridge, no tv/hair dryer and very dark! the room you want is a baharmy room, its got everything you need, bigger and a great sea view! the staff are every friendly, one thing that will become very tiresome is the sellers on beach! they are relentless! they will not take no for a answer and any chance they get they will be on you trying to sell you something! failing that they just ask for money! and as for the beach, I'm sure its very nice under all the sea weed, and the coral is full of sea urchins. swimming in the sea is very difficult in the mornings due to the tide! food is good, but very repetitive. ali barbours is a restaurant that you have to go to! its a restaurant in caves with excellent food and service. overall the hotel was good, not as good as the other hotels on the beach but that is reflective in the price. we did have a fantastic time here, very relaxing! we wish we had thought about bringing some extra items of clothing and toys for the people there as they greatly appreciate it a lot.

Room Tip: get a Baharmy room
  • Stayed: April 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank eandj2025
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 13, 2011

The service was very good, the staff are all friendly and cant do enough for you. Food is good, snack bar is OK. We went there a few times as we didnt want another 4 course lunch. Soooooooooooo much food!. The beach boys didnt cause us a problem although there were quite a few on the beach. The Water in the sea must have been about 30 degrees, gorgeous. We went on a boat trip in a glass bottom boat, was really good. 2 day safari at Tsavo east, booked it before we went. Our guide Clyde was brilliant so knowledgable and a really nice guy. What a trip amazing, saw lots of animals 3 out of the big 5. Went into an orphanage, took clothes, books, pencils with us. Could have bought the kids home. Also went to Masai villiage, an eye opener really good.

  • Stayed: March 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank barb150
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Diani Beach hotels
0.8 mi away
Diani Sea Resort
Diani Sea Resort
#6 of 29 in Diani Beach
1,008 reviews
3.6 mi away
Southern Palms Beach Resort
Southern Palms Beach Resort
#8 of 29 in Diani Beach
1,340 reviews
1.3 mi away
Papillon Lagoon Reef
Papillon Lagoon Reef
#13 of 29 in Diani Beach
609 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.9 mi away
The Sands at Nomad
The Sands at Nomad
#9 of 29 in Diani Beach
437 reviews
4.1 mi away
Jacaranda Indian Ocean Beach Resort
1.8 mi away
Afrika Pearl & Spa
Afrika Pearl & Spa
#17 of 29 in Diani Beach
163 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Diani Sea Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Diani Sea Lodge

Address: Diani Beach Road | Ukunda, Diani Beach, Ukunda 80400, Kenya
Location: Kenya > Coast Province > Ukunda > Diani Beach
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free Breakfast Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#10 On the Beach Hotel in Diani Beach
#12 Romantic Hotel in Diani Beach
Price Range: $114 - $275 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Diani Sea Lodge 3*
Number of rooms: 168
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Situated right on the white sand beach of the Indian Ocean, Diani Sea Lodge, an all-inclusive 3+ resort, is surrounded by lush tropical gardens. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com and Priceline so you can book your Diani Sea Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Diani Sea Hotel Diani

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing