We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“EXCELLENT STAY IN SOUTH COAST (UKUNDA) IN MOMBASA”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Leisure Lodge Beach and Golf Resort
Ranked #22 of 29 Hotels in Diani Beach
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
83 reviews
68 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 51 helpful votes
“EXCELLENT STAY IN SOUTH COAST (UKUNDA) IN MOMBASA”
Reviewed February 8, 2014

Stayed for 2 nights on a Destination wedding invited by a very close friend . The superior Rooms facing the sea were excellent. The beach was clean . Breakfast both continental and vegetarian ( wedding guest only) was excellent. all wedding venues and food was excellent with attention to detail. The manager Mr Executive director Mr. Mutua an old friend personally greeted and also arranged for transport to the Ukunda airstrip for our flight back to Nairobi.


It is the best 2 nights i have spent in many years at Leisure Lodge Hotel. Highly recommended .

Room Tip: Superior rooms facing the sea are best rooms.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank AGM-MARTZ
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Leisure Lodge R, General Manager at Leisure Lodge Beach and Golf Resort, responded to this review, March 18, 2014
It is very satisfying to realize that you were taken good care off during your recent stay with us. Weddings have become very popular at Leisure Lodge Resort chiefly because of our attention to details which we execute precisely as instructed by the customer.

We will endeavour to uphold our standards and obviously be sensitive to all comments that are put forward bad or good.

Once again receive our sincere thanks and we look forward to being of great service to you in the near future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

207 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    75
    68
    35
    18
    11
See reviews for
39
61
14
52
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (55)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Amsterdam, The Netherlands
1 review
Reviewed January 13, 2014

The waiters and waitresses were the best, thank you all for the hard work.
the pool assistants were also the best!
the cooks were amazing, nice variety of food everyday!
Not forgetting JOHN, the best Executive Director ever.
thank you Leisure lodge staff, you made our xmas memorable.

Wish you all the best
we were residents of D5, xmas and New Year.

Room Tip: Ask for the Premier Rooms!
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank irene b
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Leisure Lodge R, General Manager at Leisure Lodge Beach and Golf Resort, responded to this review, January 20, 2014
Happy New Year!
We are extremely encouraged to learn that we actually met or even exceeded your expectation during your recent stay with us.

We had deliberately prepared a solid programme for the festive period and made sure we executed it meticulously with precision. We also realised that this time we were a notch higher and corrected on our last year's mistakes as appraised by our esteemed guests. We will certainly endeavour to play our part and deliver unwavering customer service and attention at all times.

Once again, thank you most sincerely for your commendation and we look forward to welcoming your again to our "sunny side of paradise"
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Buffalo, New York
Level Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed January 2, 2014

Just had a wonderful 5 nights (6days) at this hotel. Food was excellent and a lot of variety. The management was attentive and ensured that we had a good time. The whole staff was excellent from the waiters, to the beach attendant to the housekeeping. The beach was fantastic and as expected. The new - years eve party was super! They even had a special celebration of my sisters birthday and this was in style. The welcome on arrival and the send off on departure was friendly and joyful with song and dance.

Room Tip: ask for Premium rooms with ocean view - these are in Block, A, C, B, D. The best rooms are in C - an...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Romanth W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Leisure Lodge R, General Manager at Leisure Lodge Beach and Golf Resort, responded to this review, January 6, 2014
Dear Romanth

Happy New Year!

Thank you for having stayed with us at the close of 2013 and celebrating with us the new year 2014. We have noted your commendation and we will certainly ensure that we give good service to our esteemed guests like we did to you.

We have received quite some accollades for the new year's celebration and we are glad that we met the anticipated satisfaction.

We look forward to welcoming your again to our resort and wish you a glorious year 2014

Thank you most sincerely.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nairobi, Kenya
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed December 7, 2013

I always knew this hotel as a prestigious one, and was quite excited to learn that I was going to spend a night here. I guess over the years, the sheer size has overwhelmed the management, it's in a bad shape and needs urgent renovations. My bathroom was extremely dirty, tiles had scum!, the taps were rusty, and generally looked like more attention needed for. The housekeeping department. I hope the management are seriously thinking of renovating the badly off units,this can be done in bits so the costs don't weigh the operations down. Service was otherwise ok

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled on business
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Lillian N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Leisure Lodge R, General Manager at Leisure Lodge Beach and Golf Resort, responded to this review, December 16, 2013
Dear Lilian,

May I thank you for have had confidence in us and chose to stay with us. We have noted your comments with a lot of appreciation and even ackowledge with great thanks your advise on renovation plan.

We have planned for renovation which should start beginning of next year and will be done in phases to uplift the standards. We also curry out continuous in-house trainings to enhance service delivery to our esteemed guests.

Your comments have been taken and we will ensure to appropriate measures are taken to safeguard our standards.

Once again may I thank you most sincerely and look forward to welcoming you again at Leisure Lodge Resort.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sofia, Bulgaria
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed October 8, 2013

The place is nice, the garden maintained, but the rooms are in poor condition. Urgent need of an overhaul. The price is too high for what is offered. Leaving the hotel made ​​us pay again all drinks that we had already paid the waiters.A gentleman introduced himself as "nigjt manager" said Believe me you will investigate the case and will pay you back. Already fifth day no trace of him. The hotel did not meet our emails. In conclusion I can say ... terrible!

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank VladimirSh2013
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Leisure Lodge R, Front Office Manager at Leisure Lodge Beach and Golf Resort, responded to this review, October 26, 2013
Dear Sir,

We appreciate your comment and appropriate action plan will be put in place to ensure such incidents or misunderstanding does not arise.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
NAIROB
Level Contributor
24 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
Reviewed September 22, 2013

We stayed at this hotel for a conference recently, the hotel is huge a walk around the whole property is enough exercise. There many nice locations to take photographs the beach , the garden , the caves many sites at the property. The hotel is on the beach front with alot of sitting space .

The rooms were ok but they are old and there is evidence of alot of maintenance required. The conference facility was ok , very peaceful environment. There was a cyber cafe but I didnt need to use it.

The staff were not rude but they just seem disengaged , there was a lady we had to call three times to give attention but we realised she was alone and handling many tasks and was rather confused. The uniforms were worn out , not impressive at all. The management needs to prioritise on some key improvements needed at this hotel. Its a beautiful property with alot of potential . Apart from the conference guest the hotel didnt seem to have other many guest , seems low season .

Nearby there a number of places to visit , all clubs restaurants supermarket - nakumatt are close by . The hotel is however very far from the airport and one needs to cross the ferry then drive for another 20 - 30 minutes to get to the hotel.

On the first day the breakfast was rather poor but on the second day it had improved.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank MsMaa
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Leisure Lodge R, General Manager at Leisure Lodge Beach and Golf Resort, responded to this review, November 3, 2013
Thank you so very much for having stayed with us and more so for your valuable observations and comments. The management has put up comprehensive plan to have a face lift of the facility.

We are doing quite a lot at the moment through training to improve on all guests services and we will surely address your observation on the staff who looked overwhelmed. The staff uniforms are on order and the staff will obviously look more elegant.

The by pass road construction has begun and when finished it will ease the ferry congestion and reduce the connection time to south coast.

Once again, we wish to thank you most sincerely for your observation and candid comments that will help us improve and we assure you of our unwavering dedication to offering customer services that surpasses guest expectation.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lusaka, Zambia
Level Contributor
31 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
Reviewed September 12, 2013

Diani beach is a beautiful place but its quite a distance from the airport as you have to go over a pontoon and the traffic to get to the pontoon is ridiculous.
However, this resort was a great choice, the service is great, the rooms are clean. It would be nice if they could just up the standards in the room, eg the little box tv needs to be replaced with a flat screen.
They charge for laundry, all I needed was for my dress to be ironed and I was charged alot. Also, theres a little boutique by the lobby of the hotel where one can get clothes or a bikini, sandals but expensive too.

  • Stayed October 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Tourist_LadyZm
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Leisure Lodge R, General Manager at Leisure Lodge Beach and Golf Resort, responded to this review, November 4, 2013
We feel very encouraged with your positive comments and the constructive observations.

Crossing the ferry can be hectic but also smooth at certain times. There is a by pass road currently under construction that will relief the pressure from thr ferry and make it easier and quicker to cross over either way.

The facility will soon be upgraded and the television sets are being replaced with the modern flat screens. We have taken note of your comment about boutique prices and this we promise you that they will be reviewed.

We thank you most sincerely and assure you that we are receptive to, and take seriously, every comment given to us.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Diani Beach hotels
1.5 mi away
Jacaranda Indian Ocean Beach Resort
1.0 mi away
Southern Palms Beach Resort
Southern Palms Beach Resort
#10 of 29 in Diani Beach
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,307 reviews
0.8 mi away
AfroChic Diani
AfroChic Diani
#12 of 29 in Diani Beach
5.0 of 5 bubbles 197 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.9 mi away
Diani Sea Resort
Diani Sea Resort
#4 of 29 in Diani Beach
4.5 of 5 bubbles 964 reviews
3.5 mi away
The Sands at Nomad
The Sands at Nomad
#7 of 29 in Diani Beach
4.5 of 5 bubbles 407 reviews
0.1 mi away
Leopard Beach Resort & Spa
Leopard Beach Resort & Spa
#16 of 29 in Diani Beach
4.0 of 5 bubbles 711 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Leisure Lodge Beach and Golf Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Leisure Lodge Beach and Golf Resort

Property: Leisure Lodge Beach and Golf Resort
Address: Diani Beach Rd, Diani Beach, Ukunda 80401, Kenya
Location: Kenya > Coast Province > Ukunda > Diani Beach
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Casino and Gambling Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#7 Top resorts Hotel in Diani Beach
#9 Spa Hotel in Diani Beach
#16 Luxury Hotel in Diani Beach
#20 On the Beach Hotel in Diani Beach
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Leisure Lodge Beach and Golf Resort 4*
Number of rooms: 253
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Welcome to Leisure Lodge Beach,Golf and Conference Resort, situated directly at the beautiful Diani beach!Our attentive team will make your stay most memorable and unforgettable!The Resort is situated 38 km south of Mombasa on a coral cliff offering you breathtaking views of the Indian Ocean. Surrounded by a 10000 square meter large tropical garden, you will find the perfect place to relax and to enjoy your privacy. The hotel and the Bustani Club offer a 600 meter long, gorgeous beach with fine white sand.The Leisure Lodge Beach & Golf Resort is also the only top hotel at the Kenyan south coast with its own golf course! The hotel and Bustani Club offer first class accommodation, animation and relaxation, surpassing the expectations of its guests.A shuttle service is available to the center of Mombasa at an extra charge, and in addition to this, a taxi service at the hotel is at your disposal.The train station is about 35 km. Moi International airport,Mombasa Island is about 42 km away from the hotel. However,the now busy Ukunda Airstrip,highly operational and versatile with majority of the local airlines flying between Diani and Nairobi is approximate 10 minutes drive from the Hotel.In walking distance or within a short taxi drive are shopping facilities, bars, restaurants, discos and banks with ATM's. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Hotwire, Orbitz, Cancelon, Jovago.com, Booking.com, TripOnline SA and HotelQuickly so you can book your Leisure Lodge Beach and Golf Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Leisure Hotel Diani
Leisure Hotel Beach

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing