We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Drowning” 2 of 5 bubbles
Review of Leisure Lodge Beach and Golf Resort

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Leisure Lodge Beach and Golf Resort
Ranked #21 of 30 Hotels in Diani Beach
Level Contributor
77 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
“Drowning”
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 11, 2012

Spent 8 day between 27th dec to 4 jan 2012. Rooms in my section were way old and and the famous stale smell. Towels were only changed onces only after I asked for them to be changed. No hot water for a full 48hours. The sound of broken wheels on laundry and food trollies woke me up on a couple occasions.

All the meals were a struggle, always looking for waiters, coffee cups and stale warm coffee always arrives well after we had finished eating breakfast. Had to do a salt search at every meal. 10 out of 14 people in our group got runny stomaches. We were on the full board, so all meals were eaten there. With the exception of tea at 4h00 every day food was crap.

The hotel was full over this period, staff totally out of their depth. They were polite, but simply did not have the capacity to deal with the guests. The blame lays with the food and hotel managers. They did nothing but smile.

With hard work by some members of staff it could have been far better.

This ones good hotel, is a disgrace.

  • Stayed December 2011
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Buzzard101
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

204 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    74
    67
    34
    18
    11
See reviews for
38
61
13
51
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (53)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Johannesburg, South Africa
Level Contributor
47 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 8, 2012

I travelled with my husband and 2 young kids, we arrived late in the evening & were shown our rooms - to my surprise our booked "family room" only had a double bed and a single bed .
It could basically only sleep 3 people ( all rooms are like that ) . The room was very small , the management said they would add another bed - but the room was so small it could not fit the 4th bed ! They said that there was nothing they could do about it until morning - We had booked the room several months before I still do not understand WHY they did not have the family room ready for us ?!?
The room also had no towels , after a long day of traveling not only we had to haggle about beds but also about towels.

The following day they "upgraded" us to a bigger room in the newer section of the bahari , and we finally got the extra bed in..

The standard of the hotel is low ( not a 4 star at all ) the rooms are all from 1970 the beds are old , linen frail & smelly ,no hot water or pressure in bathrooms ,
Air cons noisy/leaking - everything is in desperate need for renovation .
After what we paid , I really thought we'd get something better .

The standard of the food was also very very poor , the buffet only got better after the 1st of Jan , when there were less people .
Every evening there is a local band that plays music while you dine , that's about the only highlight .
There is afternoon tea on the terrace with waffle or pancakes , but it is a struggle to get a cup of tea to go with it-it seems like there is not enough staff .

The beach & sea is nice , but the beach chairs of hotel are all mismatched and once again in need of attention . This applies to everything at the hotel .

I would never recommend this hotel to anyone .

  • Stayed January 2012, traveled with family
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank dolcevita_3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tanzania
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 6, 2012

We spent 5 nights at Leisure Lodge over the New Year period. The beach is beautiful and we liked the hotel setting, but the hotel itself is overrated and disappointing. Our room was "very tired". - no aircon the first night , fixed the next morning but again not working that night, 3 TV's before we got one that worked, and very limited channels. We had to ask for towels every evening, bar the last, and the drainage in the shower was bad. There were no nets in the room either and although not many mossies, we were bitten.The room had a view of the beach- that's about it. The buffets were great. We enjoyed the food & different bands playing every evening. Although the staff were very friendly, the service was so so. There was always cutlery missing from the table & never S&P and it took a long time to get the things.. Waffles & Pancakes were available for afternoon tea but actually getting a cup of tea was difficult. There appeared to be 1 poor waiter running around trying to serve everyone. We had 1 teenager & 1 older "kid" with us. The hotel is vast, There are bars & pools everywhere and nothing encourages socialising for them. They played volleyball some evenings at the hotel next door and went to other venues in Diani after dinner. Our first day there we wandered around like idiots with our tennis racquets, looking for the court - which was on the map - no longer existed! The treatment I wanted at the salon- no longer available although still advertised. What irritated me the most was that at 7.15am I was often the only person on the beach but kept getting kicked off the beach lounger i was using - it was "booked" - who knows for whom, and if and when they might decide to come to the beach- rows of empty chairs but I was told to use one of those at the back amongst the rocks. This happened everyday. In the hotel info it stated that there was no need to book a spot on the beach.?. My husband & son enjoyed the golf course. We liked Diani so drove around & looked for alternatives for our next visit. We did have a good break. Leisure Lodge is ok -it's not horrendous- just disappointing and I don't think value for money. It's fine for young kids but my older kids would prefer to stay elsewhere.

  • Stayed December 2011, traveled with family
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank BGLTzn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vlaardingen, Netherlands
Level Contributor
8 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 18, 2011

Its our first time at the Hotel as we have been regulars at Pine Wood Village/ Leopards Beach.So we thought we should try something else and our travel agent suggested this place.now..Here we are ..9 nights at Leisure Lodge and currently staying at K2.

The rooms are oke although a bit out dated.The staff is good and friendly especially Mr.Davies who came to our rescue when dust from the ceiling came down during dinner time and messed our meal.He was so concerned and we even felt that nothing had really happened due to his concern..He is such an Asset in this Resort...A++++++

Now comes today..18/12/11 and we decide to have a drink at Coral bar(i think)..next to the beach.A Mr.Athuman who is our "dedicated waiter" takes our drinks order and brings us the menu.About 45 mins later,the food arrives and we request for more drinks.Apparently we had only taken 2Tusker Malts and on requesting for another,Mr Athuman insist on me taking a Tusker Lager....Reason????They are out of stock at Coral bar and there's no one to bring it down from the other bars....and for him,it was quite a distance apparently.

So...we decide to skip the drinks to go to another bar.5 min later,the same waiter is seen bringing a TUSKER MALT to the table behind us.i asked him where he got that..and he said"from the bar at The pool"..then i asked,why were you then insisting on me taking a lager while you would have gone to the bar to bring a Malt as you did for the table next to us?

He was not amused and not apologetic at all...He simply shrugged his shoulders and went on doing his thing.

Then we asked for our bill which he brought.we pointed out to him that one drink was missing in the bill...Mr.Athuman was not convinced at all that the drink was missing on the bill(just wanted to save him the agony of paying for what he had not consumed)

Finally he went to the bar and brought the right bill with all drinks included."thank you" was apparently too much for him as he picked the bill and walked off after the signature

I think the core business of Leisure Resort is F&B and you should advise all your people to maximize on revenues at all costs/times...Never assume any client in the resort no matter the nationality,age,sex etc

I dont think i would make any orders with this guy...

Ps..Seleman our room cleaner is among the best and we have another 4 nights ahead of us :-)

Room Tip: Bahari area( i think)
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank applevision
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nairobi, Kenya
Level Contributor
44 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 9, 2011

the rooms are nice and the entire compnound is creatively done. A very large compound and one can get lost,but there are maps at strategic locations to guide you.

  • Stayed November 2011, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Chicitakenia
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Level Contributor
51 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 19, 2011

I'm reviewing Leisure lodge after my 5th stay here, over a number of years and at different times of the year. I wouldn't say I'm an expert, but, I would say I know the place very very well indeed.
The first thing that hits you when you get to Leisure, is the warm welcome and the friendliness of the staff. I've always been greeted by the local band singing a welcome song. Followed by a drink and a relatively swift check-in process. I've always stayed in the Bustani Club side of the hotel, which is definitley the 'nicer' part of the hotel. I've also stayed in the Oasis Villas on 3 occassions.
On my latest visit, I was put up on the Baharini hotel side, and I quickly asked to be moved to the Bustani side, although the management said that the Baharini side has been recently refurbished, I found the rooms to be small and the bathrooms dated. I know what the Bustani club offers, so I insisted I be moved. This was taken care of quite swiftly - again good service.

The rooms are large and generally well equipped, they have a lounge area, a big bathroom with his n hers sinks, a dressing area, mini-bar, separate toilet and a double and single bed as well as a balcony with outdoor table and chairs. The furniture varies from room to room and is generally of a good standard. Rooms have airconditioning with remote controls for temparature control. The TV's show a selection of satellite channels including sports and movies.

The dining experience at Leisure varies - depending on the time of year you visit, there will be a different spread - I personally have always enjoyed the food - however, my wife who is vegetarian prefers the spread around peak holiday seasons when the hotel has a designated vegetarian chef.
One great thing at leaisure is that the hotel sets up lunch and dinner at different parts of the hotel each night with some entertainment - I really enjoy this.

The pool areas are generally nice however, the sun umbreallas need to be updated. They are quite old. The pool attendants are possibly the poorest of all the hotel staff as they are slow to repspond when you arrive there - with towels etc. The pool in the Bustani club has a bar, which serves drinks till early evening.

Overall, I think that if you are from Europe or have visited Dubai etc, you will struggle to see how this is a 4 star hotel. Rest assured they have all the services (Spa, Golf Course, Multiple pools, room service, laundry, etc etc) however, the property itself is slightly dated (not so if you are on the Bustani side).

Finally, I would have to say that the service you will receive here, is actually outstanding and this is entirely down to the CEO John Mutua - a highly energetic and cheerful man who is single handedly responsible for this hotels success.

Room Tip: Stay on the Bustani Club side - infact, insist!
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2011, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Anuj R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
12 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 19, 2011

The rooms require urgent renovation. The shower was dripping and the AC would not work in the room. Basic linen in the rooms which requires replacing as well.
Would never go to this hotel again!!Cockroaches and ants everywhere including in the room!

Room Tip: Do not go to this hotel!
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2011, traveled with friends
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Shah2011
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Diani Beach hotels
1.4 mi away
Jacaranda Indian Ocean Beach Resort
0.9 mi away
Southern Palms Beach Resort
Southern Palms Beach Resort
#9 of 30 in Diani Beach
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,295 reviews
0.8 mi away
AfroChic Diani
AfroChic Diani
#12 of 30 in Diani Beach
5.0 of 5 bubbles 193 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.9 mi away
Diani Sea Resort
Diani Sea Resort
#4 of 30 in Diani Beach
4.5 of 5 bubbles 949 reviews
0.2 mi away
Leopard Beach Resort & Spa
Leopard Beach Resort & Spa
#15 of 30 in Diani Beach
4.0 of 5 bubbles 697 reviews
0.9 mi away
Swahili Beach Resort
Swahili Beach Resort
#10 of 30 in Diani Beach
4.0 of 5 bubbles 545 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Leisure Lodge Beach and Golf Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Leisure Lodge Beach and Golf Resort

Property: Leisure Lodge Beach and Golf Resort
Address: Diani Beach Rd, Diani Beach, Ukunda 80401, Kenya
Location: Kenya > Coast Province > Ukunda > Diani Beach
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Casino and Gambling Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#7 Top resorts Hotel in Diani Beach
#9 Spa Hotel in Diani Beach
#16 Luxury Hotel in Diani Beach
#20 On the Beach Hotel in Diani Beach
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Leisure Lodge Beach and Golf Resort 4*
Number of rooms: 253
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Welcome to Leisure Lodge Beach,Golf and Conference Resort, situated directly at the beautiful Diani beach!Our attentive team will make your stay most memorable and unforgettable!The Resort is situated 38 km south of Mombasa on a coral cliff offering you breathtaking views of the Indian Ocean. Surrounded by a 10000 square meter large tropical garden, you will find the perfect place to relax and to enjoy your privacy. The hotel and the Bustani Club offer a 600 meter long, gorgeous beach with fine white sand.The Leisure Lodge Beach & Golf Resort is also the only top hotel at the Kenyan south coast with its own golf course! The hotel and Bustani Club offer first class accommodation, animation and relaxation, surpassing the expectations of its guests.A shuttle service is available to the center of Mombasa at an extra charge, and in addition to this, a taxi service at the hotel is at your disposal.The train station is about 35 km. Moi International airport,Mombasa Island is about 42 km away from the hotel. However,the now busy Ukunda Airstrip,highly operational and versatile with majority of the local airlines flying between Diani and Nairobi is approximate 10 minutes drive from the Hotel.In walking distance or within a short taxi drive are shopping facilities, bars, restaurants, discos and banks with ATM's. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Jovago.com and Expedia so you can book your Leisure Lodge Beach and Golf Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Leisure Hotel Diani
Leisure Hotel Beach

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing